BBB Accredited Business since

Original Moving & Storage, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 962-1511 View Additional Phone Numbers 11401 Grandview Ave Ste 5, Silver Spring, MD 20902 http://www.originalmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Original Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Original Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Original Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2005 Business started: 08/24/2004 in MD Business started locally: 08/24/2004 Business incorporated 09/24/2004 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1299659.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ilan Hasan, Owner Ms. Jennifer Hasan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ilan Hasan, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
DC Local Movers Rockville Commercial Moving
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 11401 Grandview Ave Ste 5

    Silver Spring, MD 20902 (301) 962-1511 (703) 820-0060 (301) 962-1577 (301) 962-1533 (866) 977-3279 (301) 244-4720 (301) 962-1566 (202) 469-3730

  • 13811 Arctic Ave

    Rockville, MD 20853

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired original moving and storage on July 13th to help me move from Alexandria, VA to Arlington, VA. I spoke to Jennifer, who quoted me the price of $365 with no hidden fees.. While we were talking, I mention that I was still shopping around and that I would back to her. She instantly told me to watch out for other companies as they tend to hide fee at the end of the moving day process. After shopping around, I decided to go ahead and go with them, seeing that Jennifer sounded very honest on the phone. I called and set up my moving day for August, 2 2014 Moving day came and everything was going smoothly. The movers were excellent. They were very polite and made sure that they didn't break anything. When everything was finished, the mover called the headquarter to help him complete the paperwork. As his was talking to Mr. E (manager?) on speaker phone, I heard the price go up to $420- $470, They added another hour for moving from one place to another. I was never told this on the phone ( a hidden fee). I got upset and overtook the conversation, saying that it was supposed to be $365. Mr. E, who was rude to me went back and forth. i asked for Jennifer seeing that I was getting no where. Jennifer, instead of being understanding and nice was also very rude to me. I ended up paying a total of $465, which including a $100 security deposit. Even if I was wrong and mistook what Jennifer told me on the phone while making the arrangements, I felt that I was spoken rudely and that I was dumb,

Desired Settlement: I would like the person in charge, (not Jennifer or Mr. E) to call me and apologize for the poor customer behavior that I encountered and to be refund the additional $100 that I ended up paying for.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

I am replying to the complaint made by ******* ******. Please review our side of the story.
**** ****** called our office while shopping around for moving estimates. Since she had a very small move, I had mentioned to her that we require a minimum of 2 hours of labor, one hour of travel time, and a $35 fuel and mileage surcharge fee. Total minimum charges would be $365.00. **** ****** indicated that she was still shopping around with other companies and I had advised her to make sure she compares apples to apples and be aware of companies that would add hidden fees. **** ****** did not understand that the total of $365.00 would give her only 2 hours of labor, one hour of travel time, and a $35 fuel and mileage surcharge fee, and therefore thinks she was charged incorrectly. Since it is only an estimate, if we need to work longer, **** ****** would be liable for that time. The movers started working at 9:12 a.m. and finished by 12 p.m.. The movers provided **** ****** with 3 hours of labor, therefore her total was higher than her estimate. She was charged for 3 hours of labor, one hour of travel time, and a one time $35 fuel and mileage surcharge fee. On the day of the move while speaking with Sabrina, I had tried to explain to her that the move took longer than the estimated 2 hours of labor, therefore she was billed an additional hour, but she didn't understand. Original Moving did not add any hidden fees like **** ****** claims. Original Moving only charged for the time our movers had provided labor for. 
The poor customer service behavior **** ****** claims is basically answers to the questions that she did not want to hear. We feel that Original Moving provided **** ****** with great service at a great price. We do not find any reason to refund **** ****** the $100.00 she desires. 
Please find the attached initial estimate and the actual contract from the day of the move.
Thank you,
Jennifer

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:It's not about the money anymore, it is done and over with. There was miscommunication about price and the amount of time that was estimated on both parties. However the  customer service that I received on  August 2nd from Jennifer and Mr. E was unprofessional and rude. The "great customer service" that I  got was having both of them raise their voice at me during our  phone conversation. Instead of letting me talk, they kept  interrupting me saying that I was not understanding.  They treated me like an idiot. Moving is very stressful and i will say that i got upset and raise my voice back at them as well. However i'm  the customer. There is a huge different between the two. Customer service is all about  having an understanding  where the customer is coming from and calming  the situation down. They unprofessional behavior made it worst, They could have easily resolved the situation right there and then,


I have worked in customer service and have seen my share of upset customers for the past 5 years, and never experience anyone on the front line raise their voice backt.  I don't expected an apologize from them, seeing how they run their business. I will not be referring them to anybody. 
Regards,

******* ******



10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had contracted with Original Moving & Storage to move our belongings from a 1BR apartment in the District of Columbia to a 3BR condo in Silver Spring on July 13, 2013. We had used Original Moving & Storage for our previous move in June 2009 and were happy with the prior service -- and happy to be supporting the local economy by using a local company. On July 12th, I received a phone call from ******** from Original Moving & Storage requesting that we move up our move-out time the following morning from 10 am to 8 am. This was to accommodate a move that was scheduled on the 12th that the movers weren't able to complete. We compromised and said Original Moving & Storage could arrive at 9 am. When the movers arrived -- a man named *** was the team leader, with two other men -- they walked through our apartment expressing frustration: sighing and groaning about how much stuff we had to move. *** said it would take more than the six hours we were quoted. The team began moving our things haphazardly -- loading boxes and furniture together on the dolly instead of packing all the boxes into the truck first. This was problematic because when the team unloaded at the new unit, they placed boxes in the areas where large furniture items were supposed to go. Ultimately this resulted in us having to move furniture and boxes throughout the apartment again and again in order to properly arrange the furniture. This was especially frustrating because the whole reason we hired a moving company was so that we would not have to move items ourselves. We paid for the moving service and then were forced to do it again ourselves. Further, boxes that were marked "Fragile: Barware" were stacked underneath boxes of books. Boxes that were marked "OFC" (office) were found in the living room. Automotive grease from the truck was tracked onto our new carpet and down the stairs. The same automotive grease was smeared along the side of our queen mattress and full futon cover. The queen box spring was also torn. As we unpacked, we found several glasses and other fragile kitchen items shattered, broken, and cracked. We genuinely feel Original Moving & Storage were careless with our belongings. We also feel that *** and his team took advantage of our time. The 1BR apartment was packed into the truck by 12:30 on July 13th. It had taken them just over three hours to load the truck -- this made us hopeful that they would be able to unload the truck in a similar amount of time, perhaps only taking one extra hour more than we were quoted. *** told us that they would meet us at the new unit, and that they were going to stop for five extra minutes to go through a drive through to get some lunch. We said this was fine. While we arrived at the new unit by 1:00 pm, *** and the two other movers did not arrive with the truck until between 1:45 and 2:00 pm. The men worked for the next hour unloading. Then, from 3:00-4:00 pm the three men sat in the moving truck laughing and drinking bottled water. During this hour, they only carried in the stained futon cover, two bookshelves, and three boxes of books. When I walked out to the truck to ask if everything was okay, *** told me they were taking a break because it was too hot. When I asked if they would be finished by 5 o'clock, which is the time he used to calculate my price, he said yes, that all they had left to move were the ten-or-so boxes left on the truck's tailgate. The team from Original Moving & Storage were finished with those boxes by 4:20, though I was charged for labor until 5 pm. Between the long lunch hour the three men took and the hour they spent taking a break in the truck, two hours of time were wasted -- though we were charged for them. I was upset by this because I had agreed to move an hour earlier to accommodate Original Moving & Storage's schedule and, rather than using that extra time, I felt the three movers worked especially slowly just to bill us for as long as they could. Before Original Moving & Storage left our home on July 13th, I showed *** the automotive grease stain along the side of our futon cover. *** apologized for the stain and told us his mother owned a dry cleaning company and she would be able to remove the stain. *** offered to take the stained futon cover with him so that he could bring it to his mother's dry cleaners on Monday, July 15th and return it to us by the end of that week, which would be Friday, July 19th. We agreed to this plan as a way to resolve the issue, and gave *** the stained futon cover. *** also let us know that he already called his boss about the stained cover and informed him/her that he would be taking care of the cleaning. *** said he lived in the neighborhood and would have no trouble dropping off the cleaned cover. *** also provided me with his cell phone number so that I could be in touch with him (###-###-####). We did not receive any communication from *** or Original Moving & Storage throughout the following week. I then called ***'s cell phone during the weekend of July 19-21 to ask him about the status of the futon cover. He said he had been outside of Maryland and was not able to take it to his mother's dry cleaner. I informed *** that we would be out of the country from July 22-31, but he could drop it off with my mother-in-law, who would be staying at our home while we were away. *** said he would do this. When we returned from abroad on July 31st, *** had not dropped of the futon cover or communicated with us in any way. On August 8th, I called Original Moving & Storage to make them aware of the situation. The man who answered the phone took my name, phone number, my estimate #******, and told me he would figure out what's going on and call me back the following day -- I never received that phone call. Also on August 8th, I called *** directly on his cell phone. He told me he had been out of touch for so long because he had lost my phone number and he didn't have a copy of the contract with my information. He said he had stopped by our house but we were not there. He asked me to text him my home number because he was driving as we were talking and he couldn't write it down. He said he would call me back to tell me when he would deliver the futon cover. On August 12th I received a text message from *** stating: "Hey **** is *** i am on vacations i try to go with the futon cover soon is possible." It is now August 28th and we still do not have our futon cover -- either stained or cleaned.

Desired Settlement: A refund in the form of a credit on the charge card used for a minimum of two hours of labor ($238). Replacement of one green, microfiber full-size futon cover or funds to cover a replacement ($100). Funds to cover replacing, repairing, or cleaning the following damaged goods: queen mattress stained with automotive grease, futon cover stained with automotive grease, carpet on stairs stained with automotive grease, queen box spring torn, 4 glasses shattered, bowl and mug broken, 4-in-1 grill foot cracked off ($200). A written apology.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

 
After carefully reviewing *** ***** contract ,I see that the initial estimate we gave her over the phone was revised prior to Original Moving preforming any type of work on the day of her move 7/13/2013. Due to a visual walk through by our Forman we advised *** ***** that it will take about 8 hours to complete her move.Original Moving  did not provide ** ***** a mattress cover in order to protect her mattress & mattress cover because she did not want to purchase any packing supplies, which of course be an additional fee.When a customer packs their own boxes Original Moving canot be responsable for anything that was packed by owner,when Original Moving preforms packing services we are responsable 100%.Customers that refuses to pay for packing supplies  are not liable to put in a claim, due to them agreeing to move the item as is. As a  courtesy my worker ***  offered ** ***** to take it to his moms place in order to clean it.Original Moving was not aware that *** had taken the cover from *** ***** until we recived a call from her.*** told her that he would talk to *** and will get back to her.*** called *** and *** told him that the mattress cover got stained during the move due to the customer not want to pay any additional fee to protect her mattress & mattress cover and he felt  really bad so he offered to take it and pay from his own pocket the fee to clean it. *** advised us that he will be calling ** ***** and work on getting the mattress cover back to her asap . By all said *** had good intention to make the customer happy.*** advised us that he made two attempts but the customer was not home.
I feel that the customer is over exaggerating  in order to get some credit I feel that *** offered to take the mattress cover in good faith.
Customer initialed  starting time as well as finish time on the contracts so i do not see why if the guys finished working at 4:20 just like *** ***** said she will initial next to the 5 pm finish time,This issue was not brought to Original Moving prior to this complaint.
As a courtesy Original Moving  is willing to compensate ** ***** for $50.00


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Original Moving & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)