BBB Accredited Business since

McKendree Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (301) 932-9981 View Additional Phone Numbers 44 Industrial Park Dr  Ste F, Waldorf, MD 20602 http://www.mckendreemoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McKendree Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McKendree Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McKendree Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2003 in MD Business incorporated 12/01/2003 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1309579.

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is MC#559049.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary McKendree, President Ms. Jeanna Joy, Office Manager Mr. Matthew McKendree, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary McKendree, President
Business Category

Movers Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 44 Industrial Park Dr
    Ste F

    Waldorf, MD 20602 (877) 334-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with McKendree Moving last April to pack, store and move the items of our household. The items were in storage for 3 months and then delivered to our new home. We purchased insurance with the company to cover damage. There was significant damage to many our our items from water as well as breakage from mishandling and poor packing. We documented and provided notification to them of all damage within 10 days of our move. To date, we have received no replacement or reimbursements. We have tried on numerous occasions to contact the company directly and they either don't take our call or say they will call back and never do. We purchased this insurance coverage for $588.00 dollars with a $100.00 deductible. The damage exceeds $2000.00 and includes items that are irreplaceable and unrepairable and our insurance covered up to $70,000 in damage.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our insurance claim processed and be reimbursed for the damaged items.

Business Response:

July 8, 2014

Dear *** ******:

We apologize for the damage that occurred during the Clifford relocation. An itemized breakdown for reimbursement and repair expenses follows:

1. Bobble head doll (**** *****)—reimbursement 25.00

2. Soda glass (**** ****)—reimbursement               5.00

3. Beer glass (*********)—reimbursement                5.00

4. Cake pan plastic cover only—reimbursement     5.00

5. Salt & Pepper shaker—reimbursement              10.00

6. Pillow—reimbursement                                       15.00

7. Sheet Set—reimbursement                                 25.00

8. Cupcake holder—reimbursement                      30.00

9. Bar cabinet—repair cost per ** Furniture Services 400.00

10. Glider chair—Steam-cleaning per ** Furniture Services 100.00

                                                                                   626.00

                                                      Less deductible – 100.00
                                                                                 $520.00

We will promptly mail ****** ******** a reimbursement check in the amount of $520. If you have any questions, please call me directly at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,

Jeanna J.

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response due the following reasons with regards to their "repair expenses":


  1. No problem
  2. Their valuation is from **** but does not include the shipping costs associated.  The amount would be closer to $15-20.
  3. You cannot buy just 1 ********* glass.  The have valued the glass at $5 a glass when I paid approximately $90 for a 6 glass package.  This would make the glass at least $15, but again I can't just buy 1 I have to buy all 6 again.  Additionally, I have not seen the exact replacement glass available anywhere on the internet.  I bought the glasses in Copenhagen, Denmark at the ********* Factory.
  4. You cannot just buy the plastic cover.  You have to buy both the top and the bottom which makes the price higher than $5 and closer to $20.
  5. Again, the reimbursement does not include the cost of shipping and I would have to buy the set not just 1.  Closer to $20.
  6. No problem
  7. I don't know where you can get a complete King Size Bed Sheet set for $25.  This would be closer to $75 for what we paid.
  8. No problem
  9. No Problem
  10. HUGE PROBLEM - I have repeatedly asked to see the report from ** Furniture Services.  My wife, who was present when ** came out, was informed at the time of review that there was mold inside and that the entire glider chair and ottoman would need to be replaced.  Valutation of replacement would be $1000.
These are just what they listed on their attachment sheet.  It does not take into account additional broken items that I forwarded pictures to them.

Please note, that I have recently received a check from McKendree for the stated amount of $520 but I believe I am owed closer to another $1070, give or take.

Regards, 

****** ******** 






Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

McKendree finally agreed to pay an additional $500 to settle the complaint if I agreed to end the complaint and say I was satisfied with the end result. I did that a few a months ago and I have yet to receive a check. This is so sad that I have to come to this forum yet again.


Regards,

****** ********








Business Response: We mailed a check in the amount of $600 today to *** ********. Sorry for delay. Jeanna J**

10/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McKendree Moving & Storage Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)