BBB Accredited Business since

Mashav Relocation, LLC

Phone: (866) 775-3121 12022 Old Baltimore Pike, Beltsville, MD 20705 http://www.mashavrelocation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mashav Relocation, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mashav Relocation, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mashav Relocation, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2011 Business started: 02/18/2009 in MD Business started locally: 02/18/2009 Business incorporated 02/18/2009 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1861735 Active.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Moshe Hodara, Member/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Moshe Hodara, Member/Manager
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 12022 Old Baltimore Pike

    Beltsville, MD 20705

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2016 Delivery Issues
12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Mashav Relocation to move from McLean, VA to Venice, CA on May 20th, 2015. I only used Mashav because they assured me that they would handle the move by themselves all the way to California. I did not want to deal with a company that was going to transfer the items to a 3rd party that I had not done research on beforehand. Upon delivery in Venice, CA we discovered that 2 of the 28 boxes were missing after going through the inventory form with the new company that delivered the goods. The form showed that Mashav never transferred the boxes to them. On top of that, I was charged an additional $250 just to unload the items, after I had already agreed on a final price in the contract! On top of approximately $2,500 in personal items located in the boxes, irreplaceable momentos such as yearbooks, diplomas, and various items purchased in different countries cannot be replaced. On June 12, 2015 I filed a Claims Form with Mashav and have not heard anything regarding the form since. They only will reiterate the fact that they cannot find the boxes and believe that there were left in my home...which is not the case. We numbered and labeled every box and inventoried what was inside. I watched them load all of the boxes into the truck and then tipped the movers before they drove away. The boxes were lost or stolen in the transition.

Desired Settlement: If Mashav Relocation had been upfront with me from the beginning about using a 3rd party to transport my items, I never would have used them. I have heard far too many horror stories stemming from this exact situation and purposely tried to avoid it. The fact that they lied to me about the service being provided and then failed to deliver my items, voids the contract in my opinion and I feel that I am entitled to a full refund of the $1,952.50, plus the additional $250 in cash that was extorted from me in order to unload my items.

Business Response:

We sent the claim form to our client back on 6/12/15 and didn't receive anything back yet, we cannot issue any refund without the claim form filled up.

Delivery issue- it is very common in the moving industry to use a 3rd party carrier for long distance moves and we never lied to our customers about that. We always say there is a possibility for it.

The client was charged $250.00 extra upon delivery for a shuttle service fee since he lives on a very narrow street and we couldn't fit the big truck into his apartment complex, the client was aware of this optional service before he choose our company and it is stated clearly on the contract and estimate.

Customer was ready for delivery in Venice CA from 6/3/2015 and received his delivery exactly on time. (It could have been delivered up to 21 business days from that day as per our contract).

However, it seems we did lose the two boxes and we would like to composite the client.

We kindly ask the client to fill up the claim form emailed to him 6/12/15 so we can process it properly and find suitable compensation for his lose. Going around the web and trying to shame our company reputation will not help to resolve this matter.

Below, our respond to the client email back on 6/12/2015, 

  Dear Mr. *****,

 

I’m sorry to hear about your missing items. I have conducted a thorough investigation evolving the drivers, crew, staff members and other clients that received services around the same time. We have checked our storage facility and cameras multiple times and again I am sorry to report that your boxes are nowhere to be found.

A claim form is attached, please be sure to fill it out and either mail it back or fax it to me, and I’ll be sure to personally handle it. 

Our fax number is ###-###-####

Mailing address: ***** *** ********* ****, MD 20705

 

I can assure you that if we gather any new information regarding your boxes, we will inform you and send it to you immediately.

 

 Sincerely,

Mashav Relocation

  

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I relocated from Maryland to Texas and did what I thought was a lot of research before selecting a moving company. After many calls, I spoke with Rachel of Mashav Relocating and we sent many emails back and forth to confirm various details of the move. I expressed to her that I was highly concerned about the move, as I would be coordinating it by myself and that since it was such a large and extensive move, I was very particular about the company I would choose. Rachel made several calls to me in attempts to secure my business and was constantly working to assure me that Mashav was a reputable company. She advised that in order to properly quote me for the move, I would have to complete and online itemization, which would allow for me to insert what I had, how much I had, etc. (ex: 2 couches, 1 dresser, etc.) I completed the itemized list and provided it to Rachel. We discussed further particulars in that I would be moving from a single family home to an apartment, which had stairs and that I had several fragile items that would need to be carefully wrapped (glass dining table, mirrors, etc.) After man conversations, we agreed on a price and I provided the deposit to secure my date. When the movers arrived on the date of my move, the foreman (leader of the moving crew) started walking around my house advising that my move would actually cost substantially more, because although I advised I had 2 couches, they were “plush” couches that had “a lot” of stuffing and he would charge me extra for them. Further, he said that I had itemized a large dresser and large dresser-chest, but because of the length he would have to charge more. He literally went around the house and stated that my furniture was “large” furniture and he would need to charge me more than what was agreed to in the contract. Now, to be clear, I have two standard three-person couches from ****** furniture… while the cushions may be full, it’s certainly no larger than any other couch – same with any of my other furniture – everything was standard in measurement. When it was all said and done and all of my items were loaded onto the truck, I was charged just under $800 additional during the pick up. Because this was such a large move and I was under a timeline, I felt I had no choice, but to pay the additional fee to be sure my items arrived safely in Texas. Once the men left, naturally, I did a once more through the house and found that there were multiple areas in which the walls of my home were damaged. One area so significant, that a piece of the wall was chipped out of place (of course, they never mentioned it). The company advised that I would be provided 48 hour notice prior to the delivery, as they have a 3-14 day wide delivery window and would like to give you a chance to make arrangements. Well, that did not happen. The day before the delivery was to occur, I received a call from a man named Ofer who said he would be here in the morning to deliver my items. He advised that his company had “received my items” and I would be the first delivery on his route. This struck me as unacceptable because when I spoke with Rachel, she specifically told me that they do NOT turn over your belongings and that your belongings stay within their direct employees possession. Ofer made it clear that his company had it now and that payment should be made out to him. It is clear that the company through Rachel provided false information and they had clearly sold/split the contract for my delivery with an outside company, which I did not agree to when I signed on with Mashav. Further, he tried to suggest that I owed them an additional $150 for the stairs at my delivery location – which makes no sense. The policy of the company clearly states that the first flight of stairs is free and that each additional fight is $75 each. Obviously, if I live on the third floor, there are TWO flights of stairs from the ground level to myself. Accordingly, I had already paid the solitary $75 payment due to the company. Now, Ofer was trying to suggest that there were more steps involved and that I should provide additional payment. I refused and told him that they were trying to swindle money yet again and that I would not be paying it. The morning of the delivery, Ofer arrived with three other men. The three men were the only ones working as Ofer sat in his air conditioned truck and contributed in no way for approximately 3+ hours. It was not until he came upstairs to rush the 3 men (who were putting things back together) that he actually lifted a finger. He told me that they were only going to put together my bed and dining room table and that they would not assemble anything else (I also had a kitchen table, coffee tables and a desk). This made absolutely no sense because the contract clearly states that I am paying for things to be disassembled at pick up and reassembled at delivery. He said “we don’t do that” and started to rush the men, stating they had 3 more jobs to do for the day and to “not be bothered” with anymore of my stuff. The men started to work more quickly and Ofer laughed at them saying, “They don’t even understand what I am saying”… clearly mocking the fact that they were Hispanic. He spoke to them horrendously and not to mention, they had manual everything – no power tools, so I am not sure how quickly he expected them to get things done. More than that, Ofer found it appropriate to yell at me about a couch that would not fit into one of my back rooms – advising that it was “stupid to even try”... mind you, the couch could fit in the room, but he was adamant about rushing to their next jobs. When I told him it was not appropriate to yell at me 1) because it’s rude and 2) because I am a customer and he is providing a service, he threw his hands up and said “I quit, speak to the other guys” and began to stomp off – clearly, I was not supposed to stand up for myself. I reviewed everything and realized I was missing an entire coffee table, as well as the legs to another coffee table. Ofer again started yelling stating that everything was off from my area of the truck and nothing was left. My friend asked to go back down and look with him and sure enough – there were the remainder of my items. Had I not inquired about them, I would have been without those items. The final irritation and inappropriate behavior of this move was as they left. They literally left a pile of trash in front of my door – boxes, tape and other things in a massive pile. I asked Ofer why they were not taking the mess either with them or to the dumpster and he said “I don’t take trash” which makes no sense because anytime movers come to move you in or move you out, they take their boxes, tape and remaining messy items with them. It was just blatantly clear that Ofer was rude and in a hurry and would no longer be concerned about the job. Overall, my experience with Mashav was absolutely miserable. I was charged $800 over my contract amount on the spot, my items arrived without agreed upon notice, they attempted to swindle additional money from me for flights of stairs that didn’t exist, they left items UNASSEMBLED in my home, left trash in front of my home from me to clean up and finally, disrespected me in both tone and language. I am absolutely FLOORED by the treatment I have received and would never use their services again, let alone recommend them to someone else.

Business Response:

Client's move was taken under a binding estimate. A binding estimate is not a bid or a contract. It is a quotation of the approximate cost based on a list of items provided by the client. The final cost is determined by the actual list of items and volume that was at the customer’s home. So, in this case, the client received a binding estimate during the initial order for service and a binding contract at pick up time, for which she signed and approved. More goods were tendered at pickup day. The customer was informed that if she wishes to ship all the extra items the cost would increase. Mashav Relocation handed the bill of lading to the customer at the end of the pick up to review and to sign.

Customer signed and paid about half of het total new bill. At no point until delivery time, customer informed Mashav Relocation her concerns regarding the new bill.

Delivery issues:

Customer was notified at least 24 hours before the delivery date. We never notify our customers 48 hours before we arrive, that wasn’t discussed with us before and we never promised that to the customer.

Stairs fee:

Customer moved into apartment in the 3rd floor. The customer was aware of our stairs fee policy which is 1st flight of stairs is free and any additional flight of stairs will be $75 extra.

Mashav Relocation waived the stairs fee for the 3rd floor as a common courtesy.

Trash:

Drivers are not allowed to take customer’s trash.

Unassembled items:

The driver wasn’t able to assemble one of the customer’s furniture because he did not have the manual instructions. The rest of the furniture assembled according to the customer’s request.

However, customer satisfaction is our first priority and we would like to compensate *** ***** for all of her issues with our company for the amount of $75.00. This is on top of the $75.00 that we waived for the stairs.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mashav Relocation, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart