BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joe Moholland Moving Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Joe Moholland Moving Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Joe Moholland Moving Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/01/1987 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is 486221 AUTHORIZED FOR Property.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Owen J Moholland, President Mr. Tom Liberty, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Liberty, GM
Principal: Mr. Owen J Moholland, President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 15481 Farm Creek Dr

    Woodbridge, VA 22191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Joe Mulholland moving are crooks!. From beginning to end they have made mistakes and the entire experience was horrible. This company's business practices are not above board and clearly predatory to consumers.To start the estimators will severely underestimate the size of the move to get to agree to using their services. Our estimator John G*******, underestimated the weight and number boxes etc by more than 40%. What is worse is the 90% of the packing was done when he arrived for the survey and we carefully went over the contents of each box. He then proceeded to tell me he guarantees his estimates and it could be lest it will never be more than his estimates. Obviously this was incorrect considering his estimate was 2160lbs and the true weight was over 3700lbs. Another thing discussed was additional storage time and I was verbally quoted $60 per month. The next phase of move was not as bad because the actual movers were nice. However, they did not have all the item tags needed and used two rolls. This led to some items being double tagged several items and did not notate others. This led to an incomplete/inaccurate inventory and them losing at least one box on the inventory and several more because many items are currently missing. In my opinion worse experience came when we wanted our items delivered. The price ballooned to twice the original quote. Considering, we had the items in storage longer than estimated an increase was expected. However, with 2 separate verbal quotes of $60/ month for storage this seemed crazy. They had no explanation and could not provide us with reasoning nor an agreement to these terms. Weeks later they FABRICATED documentation with ONLY digital signatures stating both of our names agreeing very vague terms. The digital signatures were even placed in spots marked for handwritten signatures. My wife had never even seen half of the documents produced never mind signed them. Our items were held hostage. Eventually, we paid over 7k to get our property.

Desired Settlement: I would like the original agreement reinstated. An addendum added for the verbally agreed upon additional storage time. Therefore they would be responsible for the any costs I incurred over that amount. This amounts to approximately $2600.

Business Response: June 2, 2015

***** ******
The Better Business Bureau

*****,

I am writing to you in regards to a complaint that was filed with the Better Business Bureau against Joe Moholland Moving by Antonio S******.  The complaint was received by the BBB on 4/25/15 and given an ID of ********.

My estimator John G******* gave **** ******* an estimate for services on 11/7/2013 at 3:30 pm.  At that time he gave ** ******* a quote for two months of storage at our warehouse in Woodbridge VA and then a long distance move to Austin Texas.  

The quote that was given was based on the items ** ******* indicated were to be included in the shipment, a minimal amount of packing to include a flat screen TV box and boxes for the mattress and box spring, shuttle services at origin, transportation into storage, the first day of storage, 59 additional days of storage, extended valuation to cover the shipment while in storage, valuation to cover the shipment during transportation and transportation from Virginia to Texas.  At no time during the estimating process was Mr ******* present.  

The shipment was booked and signed for using a ********* ******* eAcceptance tool.  This is an internet based tool used for paperless signing of document.  All documents signed using this method are legal and binding. 

The ******* shipment was picked up on 11/30/2013 and put into storage in transit at our warehouse in Woodbridge VA.  The shipment was estimated to weigh 2,160lbs.  Upon arrival at our facility it was found to weigh 3720lbs. (See attached weight ticket.) 

Storage charges fall under Non-Bound Services.  The result of this is that the cost for the transportation into storage, the first day of storage, subsequent days of storage as well as the storage valuation went up.  To compound this instead of only being in storage for 60 days as originally planned the shipment ended up in storage from November of 2013 until March of 2015.  

When a shipment goes into SIT (storage in transit) the long distance portion of the moving contract is put on hold.  When the storage duration reaches 180 days the long distance portion of the moving contract terminates and the storage shipment converts to permanent storage with no change to the monthly cost to the customer.  

** ******* reached out to us in March of 2015 to have his storage shipment delivered to him in Texas.  We gave him a quote of $7,513.68 inclusive of all services from the date of pick up through delivery.  (Inclusive of almost 16 months of storage.)  At no time did we hold the shipment hostage as ** ******* indicates.  We only stated that charges would have to be brought current before the shipment could be released from storage.  At the request of ** ******* we also provided a quote of $4,754.95 for him to pick up the items at our warehouse in Virginia for transportation to Texas himself.  


** ******* decided that he would rather pick up the shipment himself.  He picked up the shipment on April 3 2015 and drove it to Texas himself after paying the $4,754.95 due.  

If there are any questions or if I can make anything more clear please do not hesitate to contact me.  

Best,


Thomas L******
Business Manager
Joe Moholland Moving
***** **** ***** *****
Woodbridge VA 22191
Cell  ###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Joe Moholland Moving Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart