BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

J K Moving Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 673-8487 View Additional Phone Numbers 44112 Mercure Circle, Sterling, VA 20166 http://www.jkmoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J K Moving Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J K Moving Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 19, 1997 Business started: 01/19/1979
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 1065394.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles S. Kuhn, President Mr. Tom Grass, General Manager, JK Maryland Ms. Connie Owens, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles S. Kuhn, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Connie Owens, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers

Alternate Business Names
J K Moving & Storage Inc. JK Moving & Storage, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 44112 Mercure Circle

    Sterling, VA 20166 (703) 260-4282

  • 7561 Lindbergh Drive - Maryland Office

    Gaithersburg, MD 20879 (301) 340-6683

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 457-9255(Phone)
  • (202) 626-0028(Phone)
  • (240) 793-4163(Phone)
  • (301) 309-1247(Phone)
  • (301) 309-1516(Phone)
  • (301) 654-6057(Phone)
  • (301) 870-1476(Phone)
  • (540) 349-9313(Phone)
  • (703) 260-3056(Phone)
  • (703) 260-3089(Phone)
  • (703) 260-3320(Phone)
  • (703) 260-4282(Phone)
  • (703) 385-8969(Phone)
  • (703) 485-1738(Phone)
  • (703) 777-1719(Phone)
  • (703) 260-3311 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired JK Moving through our relocation company to move our stuff from NYC to VA. They broke a number of items and we submitted a claim for them. One of the items was a damaged hard drive where we had to pay a data recovery service to recover our very important data (pictures of our kids since they were born). It was $3800 to recover it. They refused to pay for it even though they paid for the damaged hard drive, basically admitting it was their falt and they damaged it. We were shocked they wouldn't pay for the data recovery since it was their falt. We would like to get compensated for the data since they broke the hard drive.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for data recovery from the damaged hard drive.

Business Response: August 12, 2013

Dear **. ******;

We regret we were not able to resolve **. and ***. *******’s move claim to their satisfaction; however, we have made every attempt to settle this claim fairly and reasonably. JK did pack and move this customer’s items from New York to Virginia in May. This shipment was delivered to residence on 05/22/2013; on 05/28/2013 we were notified there was a problem with their portable hard drive unit and we immediately forwarded them a claim form to complete and return as well as instructions on how to prepare the form and not to repair or replace any items as it may void their claim.

On 06/10/2013 **. ******* emailed our Claims Team stating there was damage to their hard drive, requiring replacement as well as a damaged dresser and missing umbrella pole. He reported that the IT company, ***** ******, he had retained would not recover his data until their invoice of $3854.00 was paid and asked how quickly the claim would be settled. The Claims Team responded stating that since an actual claim had not been filed, they could not make any determinations regarding responsibility or what items would be covered.

On 06/11/2013 JK received the completed claim form via email from **. and ***. *******. Our Claims Team immediately acknowledged receipt of the claim form via email, also instructing the *******’s no actions should be taken to repair or replace any items until the claim has been resolved or it could void their claim. Our Claims Team then began the adjudication process of the claim, contacting ***** ****** as well as other firms to document the nature of the damage, if it was transit related, and the repair requirements and costs. However, it was discovered **. and ***. ******* had already had the repairs done to their hard drive, prior to the authorization - so it was not available for inspection.

On 07/11/2013 our Claims Manager, ***. ***** *****, sent the *******’s an itemized breakdown of the settlement JK was making regarding the claim.

No allowance was made for the recovery of the missing data claimed to be on the hard drive as we are not responsible for digital data, photos, etc. as well as the following reasons:

•    The recovery action was taken prior to inspection and responsibility for the data loss being established.

•    This action was taken prior to JK’s acknowledgement and acceptance of these costs as well as JK did not have the opportunity to inspect the claimed damage prior to it being restored. JK has its own technical resources and these services could have been performed for a much reduced rate had JK been given the opportunity to inspect and repair the device.

In closing, JK regrets any of these damages occurred to the *******’s shipment while in our care and their filing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau. We value the opportunity to provide quality services to every one of our customers and we have tried to make fair and reasonable settlement with the *******’s to include allowing for all of the other claimed damages or loss. However, their taking the damaged hard drive and having the data transferred prior to allowing JK to inspect as well as acknowledge and agree to accept responsibility for the cost did not give JK the ability to properly determine responsibility as well as have the data recovered at fraction of the cost claimed through its own resources.

We are always committed to resolve these matters in the fairest way possible. Pursuant to Surface Transportation Board guidelines, JK is willing to submit this matter to arbitration through the AMSA Household Goods Dispute Settlement Program if the *******’s so desire.

Please let us know if you need any additional documentation. JK values its standing with the BBB and would like to provide any information to support how this determination was made.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  JK Moving told us to get a quote on the recovery and that is what we did.  The data was not recovered until we were informed by JK Moving that they were not going to pay for it.  This is a flat out lie by JK Moving in an effort to not pay for property that they damaged.  They admit they damaged our hard drive yet they will not pay to recover the data on it.  There is no way JK Moving services has a high tech enough IT department to recover this data.  We took it to several other computer shops with data recovery services prior to sending to ***** ****** and no one could recover the data because the drive was so badly damaged in the move.  ***** ****** is a highly technical highly specialized service.  Even with their service they were not able to recover all of our data.  So we are still out data that is very valuable to us due to JK Moving's negligence.  This is a matter of right and wrong.  If you look at all the reviews for JK Moving online, they do this to everyone.  They try to get out of paying for goods they damaged with everyone they move.  It's amazing no one has held them accountable. 


Regards,

***** *******








Business Response: Dear **. ******; We just wanted to follow up regarding the above referenced complaint. We are happy to report that we have been able to resolve this matter with **. and ***. *******.  We were able to reach an agreement to allow $1927 towards half of the data recovery cost (we had previously allowed for all other claimed items and settled), which **. ******* found acceptable given the circumstance. We regret the length of time it took to bring this matter to a close, but are happy that we were able to resolve it amicably. If we can provide any other information on this complaint please let us know. Thank you for your attention to this matter. Regards, ***** ********DirectorJK Moving Services | Government Services and Customer CareD ###-###-####  F ###-###-#### 
***** ******* ******* ********* ** *****
JKmoving.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2012 Delivery Issues
4/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1