This business is not BBB accredited.

J A Transportation, Incorporated

Phone: (484) 368-3032 View Additional Phone Numbers 5 Portland Rd  Ste 300, West Conshohocken, PA 19428 http://www.cwmas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J A Transportation, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J A Transportation, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2002 Business started: 03/01/2001 in PA Business started locally: 03/01/2001 Business incorporated 02/05/2001 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jacob Amar, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jacob Amar, President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Countrywide Moving & Storage
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5 Portland Rd
    Ste 300

    West Conshohocken, PA 19428

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In order to get my business, this moving company told me that it would deliver goods on a certain date. After they picked up my belongings, they misled me about the shipment's progress which increased my expenses. Between pickup and delivery several things happened: (1) This company told me over a period of days and on at least two occasions (including towards the end of the first week that they had my belongings) that my goods were on the way and had left PA. (2) Afterwards, and a week into my cross-country drive, the driver admitted that he hadn't even left Pennsylvania. (3) This company failed to return multiple phone calls or call back when they said they would, (4) they told me that I was the one responsible for reaching out to their subcontractor truck, (5) the delivery person brushed me off when I tried to reach him, (6) the delivery person would not provide an actual ETA, and when I asked him on a Friday whether he could give me some information on the delivery whether he could give me some certainty so that I, my wife, and my dogs could do some planning, he replied "I will on Monday lol." In other words, after 2 weeks and the company lying to me, the driver treated my predicament as if it was a joke. (7) Upon arrival the driver locked his keys in the car and couldn't get started until a key company unlocked his cabin door. This made me late to work that afternoon. However, the driver eventually said that he had to leave (before finishing unpacking) because he had to get to another job. (8) The company nearly destroyed or destroyed several pieces of furniture (in one instance, it is clear they tried to conceal it. (They also treated fragile items as non-fragile. One of the movers literally spun a box marked "fragile" around vertically in front of me. (9) When I tried to get compensation for the extra time that my wife and I had to spend on the road because we didn't have our belongings, a representative of the company threatened me. (10) The moving person in PA used high pressure tactics to try to get a $350-$700 tip from me.

Desired Settlement: (1) apology for failing to deliver as promised, (2) apology for being a jerk (3) cash equivalent of the cost of hotel for period of time after Nov. 2.

Business Response:

When we negotiate a contract with our customers, we are very clear about how the move will proceed. There is considerable back and forth communication between the customer and our office in order to get everything right. We do not (or need to) use hard-sell tactics.  In this instance, the delay was initially caused by the customer’s changing the departure date for the move. This delay changed the entire scenario of the trip. The truck we originally scheduled would have been a direct, coast-to-coast trip which would have taken place had the customer kept his original move date. The second truck, that was the one that left on the changed departure date included several stops across country. However, that being stated, the delivery of the customers goods was accomplished WITHIN THE TIME FRAME STIPULATED ON THE CONTRACT.

The customer has described many issues regarding the delivery person one of which is  the fact that he locked his keys in the truck (item7).  This could happen to anyone. Item 7 also states that the driver said he had to leave (before finishing unpacking) saying he had to get to another job. We must make it clear that according to the contract,  we are responsible for unloading and assembling whatever was disassembled, but not unpacking as the customer did not request nor pay for this service.  All these issues were all addressed in an email he received from the operation manager of the delivery company.

Regarding the damages to the furniture, we will forward the damages claim form to our Claims Department for handling.

The bulk of the customer’s complaint is directed at the third party delivery company. What does concern us, however, is his statement that we ignored his phone calls (item 3) - we did not ignore his phone calls. We called him several times. We also do not use high pressure tactics regarding the gratuity (item 10). Our suggested gratuity is clearly stated on a hand-out given to the customer at the time we perform the estimate before the job is booked.. Thirdly, I can recall no instance where the customer was threatened as described in item (9). In reality, the customer threatened us saying he would notify the AG’s office in Pa, file a consumer complaint to the US DOT and file a complaint with the BBB.

The customer clearly did not have his expectations met. However, we stand by our statement that his delivery was accomplished within the time frame stipulated on the contract.  Countrywide Moving and Storage has not broken any law nor intentionally misled the customer to get his business. We did our best to accommodate his needs. The trip suffered delays for reasons beyond our control. Unfortunately, all our explanations did not prevent the customer from submitting the complaint to the BBB.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


The company did use hardball tactics and misrepresented the course of the trip along the way and I still believed they induced me into the contract fraudulently.

Talk is cheap and they can make whatever assertions they want, but their lip service fails to compensate me for the loss that I suffered do to their incompetence and malfeasance.

Regards,

******* *******








Business Response:

Countrywide Moving and Storage stands behind its claim that we did nothing wrong regarding the move of this customer. The customer says that he is an attorney. Given that claim, how could he allow himself to be misled as to the services we said we would provide? There are many, many moving companies he could have chosen. Why did he choose us if he felt we were using hardball tactics and induced him into the contract fraudulently.

It is our contention that this customer has created a situation that he believes will earn him monetary compensation. We agree that he was stressed over the events that took place and not having his expectations met but we also feel, after all the back and forth correspondence with his list of complaints, that he is someone who cannot be satisfied by any amount of reasonable explanations.

We are considering this our final response to this complaint. There is nothing further we can add.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The company's response is predicated on my being able to see into the future.

This company lied to me about when my goods would arrive and where after they were picked up. The hardball tactics they used were at or around the time of pickup, after I had already provided information on my trip time. It's outrageous to think that I could have switched to a different mover on the day that these guys came to pick up my belongings.

To this day, the company has never addressed the key issue: that they told me that my goods had left PA and were on the way when they were not. Everything that they've admitted, they have sought to minimize and, in the meantime, smear me.

The compensation that I have been seeking is reasonable room and board for about a week and for which I have receipts. In other words, the claim that somehow I am seeking to turn this my financial advantage is crazy.

This company engages in unfair trade practices and consumers should be cautious to avoid companies like this in the future.

Regards,

******* *******









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J A Transportation, Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)