BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Interstate Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Interstate Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Interstate Van Lines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1943 in VA Business incorporated 01/19/1943 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 32658.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald W. Gallier, Vice President, Quality Control Mr. Randy Fluharty, Vice President Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald W. Gallier, Vice President, Quality Control
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Ace Van & Storage Ambassador Worldwide Moving Interstate International Inc. Interstate Moving Systems
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 5801 Rolling Rd

    Springfield, VA 22152 (800) 745-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/25/2015 Delivery Issues
5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The military assigned Interstate Moving to move my household goods from *******, NY to *******, WA. My household goods were picked up from my house in *******, NY on May 29, 2014 and sat in a warehouse for 22 days before they were loaded on to a delivery truck on June 20, 2014. The military required Interstate to deliver my goods to *******, WA on or before June 30, 2014. Interstate now reports that they will be delivering the goods on July 3, 2014. This is unacceptable that my goods sat in a warehouse for three full weeks before loading them on to a delivery truck and a delivery date of four days late. Traveling across the country to an unknown place is stressful enough and having to live out of suit cases and sleep on the floor of an empty apartment adds on to the stress that I am under with an upcoming deployment.

Desired Settlement: Goods should not sit in a warehouse for three weeks before they are loaded on to a truck. A driver should be assigned the shipment upon receipt of the contract with the government and not wait until the shipment is picked up from a residence.

Business Response:

This customer is correct in his statement concerning the missed delivery date of June 30 and we sincerely regret the inconvenience that this caused this family. We can fully understand the frustration expressed in this complaint and we certainly sympathize with the customer’s position.

Unfortunately the time frame on this move, the last week of June, is the most challenging for the entire moving industry and does result in some service failures that are unavoidable. We make every effort to minimize the impact on our customers, especially our military members, but as in this case total satisfaction is not always achieved.

We were in contact with this customer on June 12 by our Move Manager and on June 19 by our Customer Service Manager and from June 30 to present date by our Director of Military Affairs. These conversations were all concerning the probability that the June 30 delivery date would be missed and looking for acceptable alternative dates.

The customer has been advised to file an inconvenience claim with us based on the military recommended standards and we stand ready to pay all reasonable cost that comply with those standards.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the company refuses to address the issue that my furniture sat in a storage unit for 22 days before it was picked up by the company's subcontractor.  The company also should not accept a contract if it knows it cannot fulfill the terms (ie: deliver by a required date).


Regards,

********* ****








Business Response:

We regret that this customer rejects our apology and explanation. Since this is a Military move he should report these issues to the Military Transportation office having jurisdiction over this move. We have advised this customer of this option several times, but we have not been notified that this has occurred.

It is the prerogative and responsibility of every military member to report and seek assistance from their designated transportation office if he/she believes that the service that they received was deficient. The transportation office awards all house hold goods contracts and they have the authority to to judge the severity of a service failure and also a process to enforce the proper execution of those contracts.

I am not sure what else could be said on done to eliviate this complaint.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the business fails to take responsibility for not fulfilling its contract.  Instead, the business tells me to take it up with the Military Transportation Office.  When the business was asked if this move was not a military contract, would the shipment be handled differently and would more be done to ensure an on time delivery, the answer was yes.  It took a complaint to the BBB to get an "apology". I was told several times that "it is what it is" and the business has no control over the status of the shipment because a subcontractor had already been assigned to the shipment.


Regards,

********* ****








7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this company for a staging purposes and storage for a house I was selling. The price was $756 and this included delivery prior to May 2014. There were no additional charges stated or written. I noticed 3 charges on my card for $316.67, $40.00, and $45.00, none were authorized. Contacted Interstate and they said it was their mistake for only one charge of the $250, which I already paid. The other charges were for storage. They never mentioned a storage fee and did not explain the variance in the charges. I cancelled my card and disputed the charges. This company is running a scam and should not be trusted with your credit card info. Very low integrity and commitment in correcting their error.

Desired Settlement: Refund the bogus charges stated earlier.

Business Response:

In response to **. ********’s complaint, I do concur with his portrayal of the event but find his conclusion completely unfounded. There was a written order for $756 that included specific services to be provided. The order called for utilizing two storage containers, and packing one box. It then specified storing the two containers for two months and delivering the shipment back to his house at the end of two months; the charges for that special service was in fact $756.

In the process of the packing and pick up, **. ******** requested from the Movers to pack additional items and to fill three containers instead of two as stipulated on the original contract, which was done as requested. The three containers then were stored in our warehouse, at his request, for three months instead of two months as originally stipulated in the contract. These kind of extra services being added during a move are not unusual in this business, and our movers are trained to accommodate every reasonable request from customers.  **. ******** was charged for these extra services in accordance with established prices.

However, it is true that a new order for additional services was not issued in writing by **. ******** and the prices for additional services were not specified in writing by us. As a matter of fact the sales department was unaware of the extra services until billing occurred from signed receipt for services rendered. To my knowledge he has not denied requesting the extra services, he has only denied knowing that additional services would incur additional charges.

 In addition, when the storage was delivered out the delivery charge was deducted from the charge card in accordance with normal procedures. That charge was in error, because the special package purchased by **. ******** includes delivery out and was covered by the original $756. That charge was reversed and credited to his card as soon as it was brought to our attention. In addition, all other charges above the original $756 were reversed and credited back to **. ********.

It is fair to say that the lack of communication within our organization did contribute to an unfortunate misunderstanding and for that we apologize. Although we regret any customer dissatisfaction, we believe that our 67 years of quality service in this market stands in contrast to the unfounded allegations being made in this complaint.

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The vendor is making false claims in regards to reversing the charge. Still to this day, I did not receive credit for the overage. This vendor did no follow up and I have reached out several times to resolve directly to no avail. This company is not true to its word and even in writing, they continue to not offer apologies or a real resolution to their clear business deception.


Regards,

****** ********








Consumer Response: Spoke with **. ******** re: status of complaint, he said that he received his refund and it is resolved. 

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a military move from Rhode Island to Nebraska, Interstate Van Lines hired packers with little or no training or experience with military moves. Significant damage was done to my furniture and other property. A claim was filed in September of 2013 but was denied. From the moment the packers arrived, there were obvious indication that they were substandard. They did not even bring boxes or tape with them! They had to drive to **** ***** to purchase some. After the first day of a scheduled two day pack job, I inspected some boxes and found them to be totally unsatisfactory. The first box I inspected had a game system and a photo album with absolutely no packing paper! The box was only 1/4 of the way filled. The second day, they did not even show up. After calling for several hours, I discovered that they intended to finishing packing the day of the scheduled move. Having recently moved, I knew that this proposal was ridiculous and impossible if they were going to do a good job. Sure enough, the morning of the move, the Navy inspector came and determined that every box needed to be repacked because the packers were doing such a poor job. Of course, there was no time so they did not repack anything. Meanwhile, the supervisor ran out of numbered stickers and inventory sheets, so my property was being loaded with no tracking. Due to their poor service, they stayed at my house until 11:00 pm that night. They even asked my wife to go buy them coffee and donuts from down the street! When my property arrived four weeks later, it practically fell out of the truck because it was loaded so poorly. Every stick of my furniture was scratched or dinged up. The driver stated that he had never seen such poor loading. I filed a claim within 75 days, but upon later checking on the status of the claim, I was told that it had not gone through on the website. I immediately refilled. A month later, a furniture repairman came to my house to survey the damage for purposes of an estimate. Several months later, I called Interstate to obtain an update and they stated that the estimate had not gone through. Eventually, they denied my claim citing the failure to notify within 75 days.

Desired Settlement: Pay to repair my damaged furniture and replace my broken property.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to review the complaint made by **. ****** on Sunday, April 27th, 2014. As a company we take pride in pleasing every customer and are sincerely sorry **. ****** is not satisfied with his relocation experience.   **. ******'s claim was denied due to the Department of Defense Transportation Regulations that require military members to submit their Notice of Loss and Damage and subsequent claims within seventy-five days of delivery. The claim was received on October 28, 2013, twenty-nine days past the military directed allowance of time.  Additionally, a review was conducted by our Customer Service and Claims Manager of **. ******'s submitted claim and subsequent denial and found no remarks, notices, comments on any of the customer signed shipping documents referencing loss and/or damage at the time of delivery.  Under these same military regulations, the customer may transfer any items disagreed or disputed to the military Transportation Management Office for review and consideration. **. ****** has transferred his entire claim to the Military Claims Office and their investigation and review is pending. In the event the Military Claims Office allows the claim to be processed, a thorough review will be conducted in a timely and reasonable manner.

Thank you for your consideration while reviewing our response to the Better Business Bureau.  If you have any questions, I'm available to discuss. 

***** ***********

Director of Quality Control & Process Improvement

 

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from ******* *******, VA to ******* FL in November, 2012. Our belongings were in storage at their facility from July through October, 2012. When our belongings were delivered to our new home, many items were damaged or broken beyond repair. We had purchased the higher level of insurance coverage, but it didn't cover much of the loss. The bookkeeping at their office was horrible. We went back and forth for months trying to get things reconciled. I finally worked with ******** at their accounting section for two days going over everything line item by line item. We received refunds for the overpayments and thought that was the end of it. It is now August, 2013. In May, one of their representatives said that we owe them over $700 for an overpayment. I have reminded them over and again as they continue to call and email, that I went through the charges line by line with ******** early this year, and she agreed that everything - everything - reconciled to zero. They continue to harass us. Now they threaten to turn us over to collection. We lost our 31-year-old daughter suddenly in early May. We don't have the emotional reserve to be dealing with their harassment. They know this, yet they continue to threaten us.

Desired Settlement: I want them to do their own work, reconcile their own account. I cannot do their work for them. It's all been reconciled, it took days to do so, but we got it done early this year, and their people agreed that all was reconciled to zero balance on both sides. .I want them to leave me alone.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to **. ********'s complaint.  I am the Director of Quality Control at Interstate Van Lines and am in the process of reviewing the entire file and will respond by Friday, August 9th, 2013.  As a company, we take pride in satisfying each and every customer we move.  Additionally, we take every complaint seriously and strive to continuously improve our processes to better serve our customers. 

Dear **. ********,

My name is ***** *********** and I’m the Director of Quality Control.  I am deeply and sincerely sorry for the frustration you’ve experienced with our company.  Further, I have reviewed your file and have recommended that the amount refunded your credit card should be written off.  You will not be receiving any additional notices, phone calls or emails from Interstate regarding the disputed dollar amount.  If you have any questions, you can reach me by email or by calling my direct extension at ************.   I understand the level of stress this has put on you and your family and I sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire management team at Interstate.

 

***** ***********

 

***** *********** | Director, Quality Control & Process Improvement

Interstate Service Group, Inc.

5801 Rolling Road | Springfield, VA 22152

(p) ************* **** **** | (d) ************

*************************** | MoveInterstate.com

 

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am active duty personel and my household goods were picked up (undamaged) and in good shape from **********. My household goods were shipped to **************** and when delivered mutilple items were damaged. Brand new bedroom furniture scratched and legs broken. $3000.00 couch sectional damaged (arm broken, leather torn and bruised which caused discoloration. Mattress set torn and that is a safety hazard with the springs of the mattress hanging out. Fireplace scratched and other furniture scratched and damaged. The packers/movers did not handle my furniture with care. They were careless with my belongings and you can tell that neither of my items were stacked, covered, wrapped and handled carefully. I only had my bedroom set for 4 months before delivery.

Desired Settlement: I am only offered $425.00 for my damaged couch and it should be replaced. I have never been so disrespected in my life with the total of what will be offered to me for the damage of my belongings. The offer total was 1525.00 which includes what would be used for the repairs for my couch and barely anything lefted over to repair any of my other damaged goods. I will never recommend this company to any other service member and I will direct this company to the Army and other branches of services to not do business with them because they are getting over with serving their business but then destroying hardworkers personal goods. I will not except $425.00 for a couch that can not be fixed the wood is broken where the pull out bed is located and that is a safety hazard. I am disgusted and very upset that I have to replace my own furniture due to the neglance of their service. Never again will I go through them and I will ensure that not another service member do. I want my living room furniture replaced with at lease half the value and my mattress set replaced as well. I did not have it this way when sent so I want it back to the way it was.

Business Response:

Thank you for informing me about the complaint received from one of our military customers through the BBB.  I will need to research the entire move as well as the claims process in order to adequately respond.

This will be researched and a reply will be made by April 3rd.

Thank you,

***** ***********

Director of Quality Control

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

I sincerely apologize for the delayed response.  I received notice of the complaint on Sunday March 24, 2012 and responded on the 25th that I would review the file and provide further insight to the complaint.  When I logged onto the system April 3rd to respond, a message was displayed stating there was no action to be taken at the time.  Thank you for the second message so that I can adequately respond! 

We take pride in satisfying each and every customer we move and are sorry *** ******* experienced damage to her household good items. Upon review of the the file, her household goods were packed and picked up at origin in ******** ** between November 28th and 29th, 2012, and delivered on January 16th, 2013 to ******** ***  A claim was filed for $5,245 on February 7th, 2013 and a settlement was offered for $1,535 on March 6th.  The military claims process includes a thorough inspection of the damaged items to determine a fair and reasonable settlement based on either repair or replacement estimates.  The full value claimed for *** ******* dining table top, fireplace, tv stand, and blender were paid as a result of the inspection report.  Based on the report an offer of settlement was made for either replacement cost or repair cost estimates for claimed amounts associated with a sofa, dining table, TV cord, box spring, mattress, dresser and chest. 

Two additional sofas were claimed totaling $1,900; however, upon review of the documented paperwork completed by the driver and signed by *** ******* at origin, the items claimed had pre-existing damages.  Per Comptroller General Decision B-193182, the GAO states that a carrier cannot be held liable for pre-existing damages as shown on the origin inventory.  The burden lies with the claimant to prove beyond a doubt that the damage claimed is not, in fact, the same as what is noted on the inventory, but is new and transit-related.  Without proof of new damage, a prima facie case of carrier liability is not established.

 Further and a critical point I need to address in my response, under the military program rules, *** ******* may transfer the claimed items where agreement was not reached to the military claims office (MCO) for consideration.   The MCO determines the final decision for settlement.   At this point in time, *** ******* hasn’t transferred any items to the MCO or returned our settlement check.  I have determined our Customer Service office complied with the rules set forth in the military claims program.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to respond and I’m available for any questions you may have concerning this complaint.  I’ve attached a copy of our claim settlement letter sent to *** *******.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ***********

 

 

Director, Quality Control & Process Improvement

Interstate Service Group, Inc.

**** ******* **** * ************ ** ***** *** ************* **** **** * *** ************ *************************** * ****************** ******* ***************** ******************* **************************** ************ ************************ ********************* ****************** ***************** ******************************** ******************** ************* ******** ******* ******** *********** **********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

This company is terrible and I will never allow them to move my belongings again nor give them business. In so many words this Company Sucks and I am very disappointed and disgusted with their services.


Regards,

******* *******