BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Interstate Van Lines Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Interstate Van Lines Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1943 Business incorporated: 01/19/1943 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Fluharty, Vice President Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Fluharty, Vice President Sales
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Ace Van & Storage Ambassador Worldwide Moving Interstate International Inc. Interstate Moving Systems
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 5801 Rolling Road

    Springfield, VA 22151 (703) 226-3176

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 773-3555(Phone)
  • (703) 226-3176(Phone)
  • (703) 260-0100(Phone)
  • (703) 569-2121(Phone)
  • (703) 569-2125(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from ******* *******, VA to ******* FL in November, 2012. Our belongings were in storage at their facility from July through October, 2012. When our belongings were delivered to our new home, many items were damaged or broken beyond repair. We had purchased the higher level of insurance coverage, but it didn't cover much of the loss. The bookkeeping at their office was horrible. We went back and forth for months trying to get things reconciled. I finally worked with ******** at their accounting section for two days going over everything line item by line item. We received refunds for the overpayments and thought that was the end of it. It is now August, 2013. In May, one of their representatives said that we owe them over $700 for an overpayment. I have reminded them over and again as they continue to call and email, that I went through the charges line by line with ******** early this year, and she agreed that everything - everything - reconciled to zero. They continue to harass us. Now they threaten to turn us over to collection. We lost our 31-year-old daughter suddenly in early May. We don't have the emotional reserve to be dealing with their harassment. They know this, yet they continue to threaten us.

Desired Settlement: I want them to do their own work, reconcile their own account. I cannot do their work for them. It's all been reconciled, it took days to do so, but we got it done early this year, and their people agreed that all was reconciled to zero balance on both sides. .I want them to leave me alone.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to **. ********'s complaint.  I am the Director of Quality Control at Interstate Van Lines and am in the process of reviewing the entire file and will respond by Friday, August 9th, 2013.  As a company, we take pride in satisfying each and every customer we move.  Additionally, we take every complaint seriously and strive to continuously improve our processes to better serve our customers. 

Dear **. ********,

My name is ***** *********** and I’m the Director of Quality Control.  I am deeply and sincerely sorry for the frustration you’ve experienced with our company.  Further, I have reviewed your file and have recommended that the amount refunded your credit card should be written off.  You will not be receiving any additional notices, phone calls or emails from Interstate regarding the disputed dollar amount.  If you have any questions, you can reach me by email or by calling my direct extension at ************.   I understand the level of stress this has put on you and your family and I sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire management team at Interstate.

 

***** ***********

 

***** *********** | Director, Quality Control & Process Improvement

Interstate Service Group, Inc.

5801 Rolling Road | Springfield, VA 22152

(p) ************* **** **** | (d) ************

*************************** | MoveInterstate.com

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am active duty personel and my household goods were picked up (undamaged) and in good shape from **********. My household goods were shipped to **************** and when delivered mutilple items were damaged. Brand new bedroom furniture scratched and legs broken. $3000.00 couch sectional damaged (arm broken, leather torn and bruised which caused discoloration. Mattress set torn and that is a safety hazard with the springs of the mattress hanging out. Fireplace scratched and other furniture scratched and damaged. The packers/movers did not handle my furniture with care. They were careless with my belongings and you can tell that neither of my items were stacked, covered, wrapped and handled carefully. I only had my bedroom set for 4 months before delivery.

Desired Settlement: I am only offered $425.00 for my damaged couch and it should be replaced. I have never been so disrespected in my life with the total of what will be offered to me for the damage of my belongings. The offer total was 1525.00 which includes what would be used for the repairs for my couch and barely anything lefted over to repair any of my other damaged goods. I will never recommend this company to any other service member and I will direct this company to the Army and other branches of services to not do business with them because they are getting over with serving their business but then destroying hardworkers personal goods. I will not except $425.00 for a couch that can not be fixed the wood is broken where the pull out bed is located and that is a safety hazard. I am disgusted and very upset that I have to replace my own furniture due to the neglance of their service. Never again will I go through them and I will ensure that not another service member do. I want my living room furniture replaced with at lease half the value and my mattress set replaced as well. I did not have it this way when sent so I want it back to the way it was.

Business Response:

Thank you for informing me about the complaint received from one of our military customers through the BBB.  I will need to research the entire move as well as the claims process in order to adequately respond.

This will be researched and a reply will be made by April 3rd.

Thank you,

***** ***********

Director of Quality Control

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

I sincerely apologize for the delayed response.  I received notice of the complaint on Sunday March 24, 2012 and responded on the 25th that I would review the file and provide further insight to the complaint.  When I logged onto the system April 3rd to respond, a message was displayed stating there was no action to be taken at the time.  Thank you for the second message so that I can adequately respond! 

We take pride in satisfying each and every customer we move and are sorry *** ******* experienced damage to her household good items. Upon review of the the file, her household goods were packed and picked up at origin in ******** ** between November 28th and 29th, 2012, and delivered on January 16th, 2013 to ******** ***  A claim was filed for $5,245 on February 7th, 2013 and a settlement was offered for $1,535 on March 6th.  The military claims process includes a thorough inspection of the damaged items to determine a fair and reasonable settlement based on either repair or replacement estimates.  The full value claimed for *** ******* dining table top, fireplace, tv stand, and blender were paid as a result of the inspection report.  Based on the report an offer of settlement was made for either replacement cost or repair cost estimates for claimed amounts associated with a sofa, dining table, TV cord, box spring, mattress, dresser and chest. 

Two additional sofas were claimed totaling $1,900; however, upon review of the documented paperwork completed by the driver and signed by *** ******* at origin, the items claimed had pre-existing damages.  Per Comptroller General Decision B-193182, the GAO states that a carrier cannot be held liable for pre-existing damages as shown on the origin inventory.  The burden lies with the claimant to prove beyond a doubt that the damage claimed is not, in fact, the same as what is noted on the inventory, but is new and transit-related.  Without proof of new damage, a prima facie case of carrier liability is not established.

 Further and a critical point I need to address in my response, under the military program rules, *** ******* may transfer the claimed items where agreement was not reached to the military claims office (MCO) for consideration.   The MCO determines the final decision for settlement.   At this point in time, *** ******* hasn’t transferred any items to the MCO or returned our settlement check.  I have determined our Customer Service office complied with the rules set forth in the military claims program.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to respond and I’m available for any questions you may have concerning this complaint.  I’ve attached a copy of our claim settlement letter sent to *** *******.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ***********

 

 

Director, Quality Control & Process Improvement

Interstate Service Group, Inc.

**** ******* **** * ************ ** ***** *** ************* **** **** * *** ************ *************************** * ****************** ******* ***************** ******************* **************************** ************ ************************ ********************* ****************** ***************** ******************************** ******************** ************* ******** ******* ******** *********** **********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

This company is terrible and I will never allow them to move my belongings again nor give them business. In so many words this Company Sucks and I am very disappointed and disgusted with their services.


Regards,

******* *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/20/2012 Delivery Issues
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2012 Delivery Issues
11/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1