BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

International Moving Services Inc

Phone: (703) 751-6400 View Additional Phone Numbers 4412-14 Wheeler Ave, Alexandria, VA 22304 http://www.imsmover.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Moving Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Moving Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1974
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is DOT#348872.

Business Management
Mr. George Harrington, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Harrington, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
I M S Inc
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 370-7152 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I.M.S. was supposed to ship belongings of mine from *** ****, NY to ******, Germany but lost the whole shipment. No help was provided, no search done or refund offered. The shipment was worth approx. $25,000- $30,000, not included items of personal worth or none replaceable items.

Desired Settlement: Either find the shipment or refund of the value of all items plus cost of shipping (since not done) and an apology.

Business Response: *** ****** had his goods shipped by IMS Inc to *** Germany via a shipping container. A declared total value was declared by him to be 4100 euros.  Insurance was arranged in this amount. *** Germany says they have not been able to locate the goods , therefore the shipment was declared lost and he was given the insurance company’s name and numbers to file the total loss.  Of course we would support this claim. In the interim, the insurance company representative had been in touch with ********* by e-mail requesting his bank account information and proof of value, which would be the application listing the value. We thought the matter closed until we received a letter from his attorney demanding a fantastic sum of money given the replacement and insured value of the goods.  Of course, we sincerely apologize for the loss of the shipment, which in our 38 year history is an extremely rare occurrence. As ***** has been handling the shipment, I  list below her attempts to arrange the matter for *********.  In attachment: - Insurance Value list from *** ****** detailing 4.100.00 Euro ( I attach a translation)- email between *** ****** and me about the lost shipment, see the dates.- letter/email from ******** to *** ******, they was letting him know the claim number and that they are taking care of it and also was asking him about his bank information and a proof of the valued HHG *** ****** never answered the Insurance company it seems. The claim is still open and pending. I was since 01/21/2013  with **. ****** in contact about looking, searching for  his HHG .I wrote *** ****** on  03/22/2013 that ******** is taking care now of his lost shipment and they need Bank Info and proof of the value from his HHG. On 03/22/2013 was his answer that he would not longer stay contact with me because he has an attorney now.- letter from attorney in attachment. The whole time from the beginning *** Bremen and I were in  contact about his lost shipment.and still we are checking. to see if they can locate the shipment. You can see all the different prices on his Insurance list, attorney letter and BBB   I fail to see that a complaint like this, for $ 17,000, is something that any company can take seriously, given the proven circumstances. Many thanks and kin regards ****** *. **********
I.M.S., Inc International Moving Service
4412-14 Wheeler Avenue
Alexandria VA 22304
Tel; *** ###-###-####
Cell: *** *** *** ****
Fax: *** ###-###-####
Toll-Free * *** *** ****
www.imsmover.com
info@imsmover.com 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Please view my response (in blue) below the certain claims IMS made.

 
*** ****** had his goods shipped by IMS Inc to *** Germany via a shipping container. 

IMS is using *** Germany's name and forms fraudulently. As *** ********* from *** confirmed they used a contract form of ***, for which they have no right nor contract to. IMS should have also been contacted to cease this kind of misrepresentation.

A declared total value was declared by him to be 4100 euros.  Insurance was arranged in this amount. *** Germany says they have not been able to locate the goods , therefore the shipment was declared lost and he was given the insurance company’s name and numbers to file the total loss.  Of course we would support this claim. In the interim, the insurance company representative had been in touch with ********* by e-mail requesting his bank account information and proof of value, which would be the application listing the value. 
We thought the matter closed until we received a letter from his attorney demanding a fantastic sum of money given the replacement and insured value of the goods.  

The "fantastic sum of money" as *** ********** put it is entirely based on receipts. This phrasing is a perfect example of what to expect once they receive the money upfront.

Of course, we sincerely apologize for the loss of the shipment, which in our 38 year history is an extremely rare occurrence. 

My opinion of rare is another than 7 complaints with the BBB within just the last three years and that is just the number of people who took the effort to file a complaint. 

As ***** has been handling the shipment, I  list below her attempts to arrange the matter for *********.  In attachment: - Insurance Value list from *** ****** detailing 4.100.00 Euro ( I attach a translation)- email between *** ****** and me about the lost shipment, see the dates.- letter/email from ******** to *** ******, they was letting him know the claim number and that they are taking care of it and also was asking him about his bank information and a proof of the valued HHG *** ****** never answered the Insurance company it seems. The claim is still open and pending. I was since 01/21/2013  with **. ****** in contact about looking, searching for  his HHG .I wrote *** ****** on  03/22/2013 that ******** is taking care now of his lost shipment and they need Bank Info and proof of the value from his HHG. 

This is true, the insurance is taking care. 

On 03/22/2013 was his answer that he would not longer stay contact with me because he has an attorney now.- letter from attorney in attachment. The whole time from the beginning *** ****** and I were in  contact about his lost shipment.and still we are checking. to see if they can locate the shipment. 

A quote from *** "There are no shipping documents nor documents that a shipment to *** actually took place." It seems to say the least odd, that *** has received no documents whatsoever and IMS is claiming they are in close contact. Shouldn't the receiving party at least have the shipping documents? All I heard was excuses that *** lost the shipment in their storage, but *** NEVER received anything.
 
You can see all the different prices on his Insurance list, attorney letter and BBB   I fail to see that a complaint like this, for $ 17,000, is something that any company can take seriously, given the proven circumstances. Many thanks and kin regards ****** *. **********

Dear *** **********, the complaint was about your service and the way you handle business, not about the value. But *** **********'s statement stands for itself, if he says that he can't take the complaint seriously! Shouldn't a good company take any complaint seriously no matter the value? Especially if the proven circumstances stand on misrepresentation, bad documentation and very selective statements.  

The reason why I filed the complaint is to warn every customer not to fall for the BBB rating this business has. As one can see this is by far not the only complaint and the way IMS seems to solve problems is to make the customer look bad and only tell halve the truth, not to say lie. Up until they received the money everything went fine, afterwards customer service was literally none existent. To be honest, it is also my fault that I wasn't thorough enough in regards to documentation and insurance. I should have noticed  when I saw the shipping documents and contract forms (which they were not even allowed to use), that this was a bad idea and what kind of company IMS is. Unfortunately I already payed. Last but not least it is an impudence what they call "proven circumstances", lying by omission is not a prove! 


Regards,

**** ******








Business Response: As you can see from the string, we have tried to apologize to the customer for the problems he has been facing.  We have offered to assist in any insurance claim, which is the proper forum for  any claim in the moving business to be filed.  I have not tried to dodge any claim whatsoever, although I apologize for the slowness in my responses due to high season. Handling hundreds of shipments a year ,  a case of loss or damage world wide a year is possible. Is it desirable, no, of course not. Over our almost  40 years of experience I would actually say that our performance has been pretty good, and you are the ones to judge.  I am unsure from where the 7 complaints he cites in his complaint stem, as when I do a search on our company I arrive at 1 closed complaint in the last 3 years.  Sifting through his complaint, and sarcasm and emotion and allegations of fraud aside, there seems to be at the crux of the matter  a major problem in the insured value being quite a lot underneath what he feels is a real value of the goods.  Insurance as you know does not work this way. This is like you pay insurance on a 10 year old car, and want it replaced with a brand new one after an accident. It just won’t happen. Talking about lying by omission....really! We have been close partners with *** in Germany for many years, and they can confirm that we have never dodged responsibility for our damages, nor have we ever been advised until now not to use their forms.  To be correct, they have asked us not to to avoid confusion, and we have certainly agreed. As they are in the German language they have been used for convenience of our representative for whom English is a second language too and *** has never worried about it until now, and we have sent numerous shipments to them over the years. However  the payment of  a claim for a previously  undeclared amount of $ 17,000 for a declared and insured value of 4100 euros is not going to happen either, and  I must challenge his definition of realistic claim.  We take realistic claims very seriously, otherwise we never would have made it to our almost 40 years  of business and have the references that we do have. I have 7 books of letters and e-mails to back that fact up, and it appears clear from the tone , especially of his last mail, that he has the idea of  pursuing a vendetta which the facts of the matter clearly do not support. Did we make a mistake, yes, of course. Are we trying to assist reasonably, we think so . But I think you can see  clearly the facts by the tone of the mails that he is trying to bring down our rating singlehandedly, which I do hope you wouldn’t allow to happen. Again, we sincerely apologize, no business wants customers to be unhappy and write such complaints. We still stand willing to support any insurance claim with ******** that the customer wants to present to them. Kind regards ******  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2013 Delivery Issues
1