BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Gulliver's Movers, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 838-7645 View Additional Phone Numbers 5500 Lafayette Pl, Hyattsville, MD 20781 http://www.gulliversmovers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gulliver's Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gulliver's Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 1997 Business started: 03/19/1990 in VA Business started locally: 03/19/1990 Business incorporated: 01/10/1990 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 766464.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph P Kinneary, President Robert P Kinneary Mr. Jason E White, VP/GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph P Kinneary, President
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Gullivers Moving
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 1001 N Fillmore St

    Arlington, VA 22201 (703) 838-7645

  • 5500 Lafayette Pl

    Hyattsville, MD 20781 (301) 209-0513 (301) 209-0514 (202) 483-9579

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 483-9579(Phone)
  • (301) 209-0513(Phone)
  • (301) 209-0514(Phone)
  • (240) 582-9117 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Delivery Issues
11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I utilized Gullivers Movers for my move on 8/1 within my apartment complex in ****** ****** (from **** ******* *** to **** ***** **** ****, which is about 1/2 a block apart). My move time, which I booked over a month in advance, was scheduled to start at 900am, and I had received an estimate for a 2 man crew for a 4 to 6 hour move. The crew did not arrive until after 1000a (outside of the 9a-930a window), and did not call until they were nearby. When they arrived, they discovered the ramp to their truck was broken and they would not be able to use it for the move. It took 10 hours to move a 1 bedroom apartment with everything packed ahead of time and no unusual items (the team even complimented me on my organization). Admittedly, the building I moved out of had one small elevator that added to the moving time, however, I feel that the ramp problem probably added 2 or 3 hours to the move. Last time I moved, it took less than 8 hours, and that included a cross town drive. For example, every time something heavy need to go into the truck, the man working in the apartment had to stop what he was doing and go down and to help lift it into the truck. Though I was upstairs most of the time, when I was downstairs, I watched as they tried to lift one of the large bins into the truck and it was too heavy and everything fell out onto the ground. Fortunately, nothing was broken in that bin, but they had to stop and put all these items in one at a time. However, it seems like things were handled a little rougher than if they had been able to run things up the ramp (ie, thrown into the truck instead of run up the ramp). The team foreman even said he didn’t really appreciate the job because he didn’t expect it to be 10 hours. He said they should have sent 3 people, and I don’t understand why I wasn’t given that option when I called for a estimate. The company is very familiar with my complex, so much so their information and a 5% coupon is in the welcome packet they give out at the leasing office, it seems that they should aware of the challenges those building might have posed. In addition, when I expressed my displeasure to the supervisor during check out about how much longer this move went over the estimate, I was simply offered at 5% discount, which felt a little insulting, since I already had coupon for 5% off (which I mentioned). Since the move finished afterhours (at 7p), I left a message that night and called first thing the next day to follow up. I was told to speak with *****, and over the next 7 days left several messages for him to call me, and he never returned a single call. Finally, I was able to get him on the phone the next week. I expressed the same sentiments to him I’ve outlined above. He offered to give me a credit for one hour. To this date, that credit has not been applied to my credit card. He also said any credit beyond that would require speaking with the General Manager, so he took my information and said he’d leave a message to call me. I never recieved any phone call. I also emailed the General Manager, ***** *****, twice. Once on 8/21 and again on 9/24 with no response. The last email I said if I did not hear from him by 10/1, I would be filing this complaint. I had several items damaged, including 2 legs to my couch which were broken off completely. The team told me about this right away and said they had called in. They even took the broken legs with them so the repair man could fix them correctly. He said someone would be out in a week or so, and even took pictures to help speed up the repair. I also discovered after the move in, a chunk of the fabric in my ottoman was torn, the leather on my couch was really scuffed up, and there was significant damage to my bookshelves. I called several times to find out the status of the repairs and seem to get different answers. Last time I called (on August 15th), I was transferred to the cell phone of the person who handles the repairs, which was the first time I’d ever even been told I had to speak with that person. He asked me to text him because he was in transit and he’d be in touch to make an appointment to come take a look at the damage. I texted him immediately after hanging up the phone (on Aug 15th at 1214pm) have not heard from him since. I've had to move forward and fix most of the items myself at my own expense. This despite the company's website claim that "event of damage, our dedicated repair man will ensure a satisfactory, timely resolution." In all, I probably made dozens of calls to Gullivers to try and get some resolution. I never once got a return phone call from them. When I was able to get someone on the phone, I was usually given different instructions or made promises that were never followed through on. Despite my frustration, I was always polite and professional, and I don't feel like their response gave me the same courtesy.

Desired Settlement: I had used this company for a move 3 years prior. I had been incredibly happy with their service at that time which is why I chose them for this move. At this point, I would never use their service again and will never recommend them to anyone else. While a move always ends up costing a little more, between the added time as a result of their faulty equipment and the repairs I had to pay for, I've spent about $1400 on this move, which is almost double the estimate I recieved initially. That doesn't even count the time I spent just trying to get some resolution from them. They have not met the terms of their service, and therefore, I would like a full refund of the amount I was charged for the move. If they provide this, I will absorb the cost for the repairs. If they only provide a partial refund, I would then like to be refunded for the cost of repairing the items damaged in the moving process. Since they have not credited my credit card as promised in the past, I would like a check for those funds.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Per our telephone agreement on January 3rd, I was to receive a refund totaling $441. This was to reflect the amount they went over their estimate plus an additional $100 for the damaged items they did not repair. ***** *****, General Manager of Gulliver's Movers, said a check for that amount less $98 had already been sent and would arrive by or on 1/9/14. As of 1/16/14, that check has not been received and is now a week overdue, which I believe is beyond what one might reasonably chalk up to normal mail delivery delays. 

During that same 1/3/14 conversation, **. ***** had indicated that they had sent a check for $98 in August, which was why my refund was less $98. I informed him that I had never received this check and asked that it be reissued. **. ***** agreed to do so. I asked that he please call to let me know the check had been reissued and when I might expect it. **. ***** again agreed. I followed up via email on 1/6/14 to again ask per our agreement for confirmation the check had been reissued. **. *****'s reply was simply the confirmation number for the check issued August that was never received and nothing else. When I again asked for confirmation he had requested the check be reissued, I got no reply. As of 1/16/14, I have not received this check either or any indication that check has been reissued.

I did notice in his reply to the Better Business Bureau that **. ***** had several different refund amounts listed. In the BOL, he said he was refunding $541, and in the response letter he said had issued a check for $339 (which, plus the additional $98, only equals $437). However, our understanding per the 1/3/14 telephone conversation was a refund in the amount $441. **. ***** asked repeatedly if I would close the complaint, and I made it very clear both verbally and in writing that I would do so when I had received the full $441. (something I am still willing to do)

Therefore, I reject the company's response, as they have not met the terms of the agreement made on 1/3/14 since the full refund has not been received.

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response: I am holding in my hand....the returned check from **s ******.   it was returned to us as undeliverable. I can have her pick up this check and the other or we need a valid address and time to deliver it to her.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

The address listed on the check is incomplete which is why it has been returned. It does not include the apartment number, which, in addition to being in their records from my actual move, was reflected on the BBB Complaint and also confirmed in my phone conversation with **. ***** when we agreed to this settlement. I assume this was also the case on the $98 check they claimed to have sent in August.

I understand that this was likely just an error of ommission on the part of the bank. However, it could have been easily sorted if someone from Gullivers had contacted me when the Postal Office returned them with a sticker that said "incomplete address" either time it occured. I have emailed **. ***** the correct address and requested that he resend both checks. When I recieve those, I will accept and close the complaint.


Regards,

********* *******








Business Response: Company provided both checks to *** ******* to settle the complaint.  

1/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Gulliver's Movers to assist me with moving a 1 bedroom apartment. The movers either lost or stole a backpack during the move that contained a laptop and an ipod. The movers also either lost or stole the keys to both my new apartment and my old apartment. I have repeatedly called the company regarding the incident, including immediately after the movers left, and have gotten no assistance regarding replacement of the lost or stolen items or any explanation for why these items never made it to my new apartment. I was just told that the individual who I need to speak to is out of the office for five days and there is no one else I can speak to regarding these lost items. In addition, the company quoted me a $98/hour price for the move and on the day of the move after the job was completed increased the price to $138/hour without any prior warning. It took several calls with the company before they agreed to charge the original quoted price of $98/hour. It has been a nightmare experience hiring them and would counsel anyone to avoid hiring them for any move.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either return the backpack and keys or provide compensation for the cost of the items in the backpack and the cost to get replacement keys made.

2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service