BBB Accredited Business since

Georgetown Moving and Storage Company

Phone: (703) 889-8899 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 N Glebe Rd Ste 1010, Arlington, VA 22201 http://georgetownmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgetown Moving and Storage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Georgetown Moving and Storage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Georgetown Moving and Storage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2009 Business started: 05/05/2001 Business started locally: 05/05/2001 Business incorporated 08/23/2007 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1675188 - MC615665.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Doreta Borecka, President Mr. Jim Al, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Al, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Doreta Borecka, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Douglas & Douglas, Inc Georgetown Moving & Storage Co.
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 1100 N Glebe Rd Ste 1010

    Arlington, VA 22201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Delivery Issues
1/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
11/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers damaged property and household goods. Attempt to repair property damages were unacceptable (painted gashes in hardwood and wall vice sanding and painting and colors used don't match). Have made no effort to reimburse for damages to property (e.g., broken glass tabletop, etc.). Ft. Belvoir Garrison Judge Advocate sent settelment offer to Georgetown Moving with no response. This occurred in July 2014 with no engagement from Georgetown Moving to data beyond the on ill-repair.

Desired Settlement: Remit payment per settlement statement ($5,000.00).

Business Response:

Der BBB

All terms and conditions were presented to customer. Because additional insurance was not purchased, our responsibilities ends up to 60 cents per pound up to $50 per item. I can provided proof with her signature on BOL under valuation, so there is no any $5000 insurance fraud request from customer.

We did not have to, but we have send repair man to customer place to customer satisfaction. He fixed damaged drawer, scratches on the floor, trim on the basement entrance and patched basement wall. I wish to point walls and floor damages are not covered at all with basic free of charge insurance.  

Cost of sending repair man exhausted all available founds available form free of charge valuation, so case is closed on our end long time ago.

Again, if requested, I am able to provide agreement with customer and signature under the terms and conditions.

Thank you

Jim

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Acknowledge your message.  To date, the Ft. Belvoir legal office has received no response to the settlement letter sent to Georgetown Moving Company as well.


Regards,

*** ******* ******

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 30, 2014 Georgetown Movers transported household goods and furniture from our former home in Great Falls, Virginia to our new house in Arlington Virginia. During the booking process we told the estimator that our driveway was very steep and that a large moving truck would not be able to safely go up the driveway. We specifically warned Ashely in writing 12/22/2014 that “The new house has a VERY steep driveway that cannot accommodate large trucks” and I included a link to a video file showing the driveway (see attached correspondence). On the morning of the move I instructed the driver NOT to attempt to go up the driveway in our house in Arlington. Once our boxes and furniture were loaded in Great Falls, I drove to the new house in Arlington so I could personally warn them again not to go up our driveway. The Georgetown Moving & Storage employees drove their 25,000 pound moving truck to my street at approximately 1PM on 12/30/2014. I met the driver at the base of my drive and repeated that their truck could not go up the driveway. The Georgetown Moving & Storage Driver looked at me and then looked at the driveway and decided to attempt to drive up the driveway. They proceeded with several attempts to climb up the driveway, gouging the road and destroying about two dozen driveway pavers. On their last attempt, their truck got pinned between the road and the driveway and sank into our lawn (please see Dropbox link for extensive photographs and video files). See Pictures and video files here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7eb6c1i5h2otfkp/AABjHHLp8E3o7bMoy-AkeVpMa?dl=0 I immediately called the management of Georgetown Moving and Storage and told them their vehicle was stuck between the road and my driveway. The manager on duty told me that he would call other people in management to see what they would authorize. I told him the vehicle was “trapped” in my driveway and only a very large commercial tow truck could extricate it. For the next four hours the employees labored helplessly to free the truck (including flagging down passing construction vehicles and truck to see if they could rescue them). I called Georgetown Moving & Storage and said that the employees were not safe and that they should call the proper towing professionals. The employees at the scene indicated to me that the management of Georgetown Moving would “not want to pay $600” for a tow truck. Finally around 8PM on December 30, they called a heavy duty Town Truck which rescued their vehicle. That evening we faxed a demand letter to Georgetown Moving & Storage, indicating that they would be responsible for all damage to our paver driveway and lawn. The next day a manager (Chris?) came over our house. He told us the “damage wasn’t that bad” and that he “might send send GM&S employees over with a couple bags of dirt to make repairs” On the pavers, he claimed that they could be “sanded down” —which is not correct. Once damaged, stone pavers cannot be repaired. I followed up the next week with phone calls to GM&S. His tone was abusive and confrontational: “I don’t need to do anything for 30 days. Go ahead and try to sue us —all you will get is a $100…” We told him that we wanted lawn repairs to to be made by professional landscapers and driveway repaired by experience paver installers — We did not want Georgetown Moving and Storage employees “attempting any repairs” Chris resisted, stating “he will decide how repairs get made.” We explicitly warned them that GM& Storage employees would not be allowed on our property to “make repairs.” We have waited weeks and have heard nothing back. Obviously, you can’t make landscaping repairs during the winter, but we want to get assurances that professional landscapers will repair the large hole and long trench made by the sinking moving truck. Or better yet, give us money so that we can hire our own professional landscapers so that we can ensure the work is done properly… We contacted the only qualified driveway repair person we could find and he told us repairs to our paver driveway would cost approximately $300.

Desired Settlement: We want to be reimbursed for the repairs to our driveway and our lawn. The driveway will cost $300. We don't have any estimates from landscaping companies. (we don't want Georgetown Moving & Storage employees coming to our home to attempt repairs)

Business Response:

Dear BBB / Mr. *****

Yes, I have showed quite soon on 12/31/14 just after damage was done. Did not really have to since we do have 90 days to examine an evaluate any damage but since I have received 2 voice messages and a fax sent by customer I have decided to act asap.

Yes again, When I looked at grass "damaged" by truck tire I have offered fix on the next few days. Again it was just a little mark tire like 6 feet long and 1 feet square mark on the grass, no big deal, especially for many of our guys that used to work doing landscaping, but not, Mr. ***** had some problem with that.

Some bricks on the driveway. I have examined them and those 3 concrete bricks were just slightly scratched on the surface, no big deal, no damaged, no broken just I guess for visual effect slightly scratched. if he decided to replace them is OK but because some salesman quoted him for $300 do not mean it value this much.

Grass issue. *****, is February! Look around, today was 27 degrees. From November all landscaping companies doing snow removal and winter preparation so nobody will fix your grass, not even employees of BBB.  **** ***** do not sell grass in rolls and ground is too frozen to even starting this subject.

But since you are so hurry, I will offer you $20 and you can start to fixing it anytime.

I can add $20 for those slightly damaged bricks since those are definitely not classify to be replaced, just top needs to be send, nothing more. Those driveway bricks are made by pouring concrete in the mold, those can be cut and polish. Some salesman want to make money by offering "replacement only" idea. We do not think that is required but can offer $20 as well.

Thank you

Jim 

 

Business Response:

Dear BBB / Customer

"Because table is scratched, does not mean it should be replaced. Is still functional but have lost its value of some percentage value"

bricks are not damaged, not broken, not cracked. Just have small scratch on surface. Customer get an estimate for replacing, we do not think is a necessary action.

Grass damage is also simple task.

Yes it was 13ton truck, but it did not made Grand Canyon in front of your house, just a ditch.

Again, case will be resolved long time ago, if customer allow us to complete the repairs. We can offer $80. It will definitely cover little paint to fix small scratch on the bricks and 2 bags of dirt to cover ditch plus grass seeds.  

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As we previously stated it will cost $300 to fix the driveway pavers and it will cost at least $100 to fix the lawn damage.


The offer of $80 is too low to cover the cost of the necessary repairs...

Remember, Georgetown Movers damaged our property --they gouged more than a dozen driveway pavers when their truck entered our driveway. 
Their truck sank into our lawn and further damaged the lawn along the right side when their 25,000 pound truck was finally towed out of our lawn.

Georgetown Movers is obligated to fully reimburse us for the repair costs...

Again, please review the VIDEOs and photographs of the damage created by Georgetown Movers:

*************************************************************************

Regards,

***** **********








11/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our brand new (new construction) house with Georgetown Movers in early/mid 2014. The moving company had our furniture in storage for approximately 2 months. The movers showed up several hours late for the move with nothing to protect our flooring, resulting in severe damage to parts of the hard wood flooring. They were careless in moving the furniture inside our hallways, resulting in holes and severe drywall/paint damage (again, the house is brand new/never been lived in). Beyond the wall/floor damage, several pieces of our furniture were severely scratched, dented, ruined, our $3K couch had a foot completely displaced, as did a leather chair. The boards in our front porch are also severely scratched with no way to repair except completely replace. We were under the impression according to their website that they do everything to protect furniture, which clearly didn't happen. I have moved several times in the past and dealt with the insurance company of the movers to handle damages, which have never been so severe. Instead of putting us in touch with the insurance company, Jim, who I believe to be the owner, came out to "inspect" damages. He offered to repair damages, but given the carelessness with the move, and lack of qualifications for furniture/home repair given he owns a moving company, we were not comfortable putting our repairs in his hands. I've asked for the insurance company contact information on several occasions, which he has failed to provide us. The repairs will cost us thousands of dollars, not to mention the hassle of having to deal with all of this after purchasing a brand new construction house. I have not yet submitted negative reviews to ******, or ****, etc in hopes that we can get reimbursed and properly refunded from the move.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of our moving costs associated with the move and storage of our furniture.

Business Response:

Dear BBB

Thank you so much for contacting us regarding this case.

Yes, customer moved to our storage for 2 months and after that time move to the new house. I wish to point that movers were late on the unload but customer completely forgetting highly rain that day and the fact that her shipment from storage had to be loaded to the truck at the morning after that. Small delay happened but did not have any major influence on the move that day.

It was a rainy day and movers did not have floor protection to place in the house. To compensate this issue, crew chief split crew into 2 groups "outside" and "inside" the house. "Inside" group have had removed shoes so any protection was not required since there is nothing better that movers working with socks.  Obviously as a general manager I have never approved movers to work without foot protection, but this only means how we wish to make our customer happy. We were moving heavy furniture in just the socks to not to damage the floor.

Ronald Reagan said "there you go again". Every customer have a right purchase full replacement valuation. Obviously this customer did not purchase it and went with basic, free of charge valuation. This free valuation was agreed by customer and I do have all paperwork with hand signatures under the agreement as follow: " Unless additional insurance is purchased, the agreed or declared value of property will not exceed $0.60 per pound per article, up to a maximum of $50 per article. Additional Full Value Protection insurance is available upon request and the minimum Declared Value must be equal $6.00 times the estimated weight of your shipment. Please be advised that if additional insurance is not purchased, basic valuation cover is a limit on carrier's liability for loss of or damage to your goods while they are in its custody and control."

Additionally in the liability part is written agreement " No Carrier shall be liable for wall or floor damage.".

If customer will have full valuation purchase, we will count deductible for each item, floors and walls damages. In this case we will not.

I have a pleasure to inspect each item. nothing was seriously damage or broken. Yes, few items had small scratches on the corners what is easy to repair, sofa's leg came out on the old glue connection but  again, little glue and a screw will resolve the problem.

Damages was such simple so I have offered to customer our repair team. Again customer did not spend anything to purchase additional insurance that's will give her right for such a service but I have offered her our repair team for her satisfaction. No, obviously it was not good enough and after few emails from her with some ridicules demands for repair company background and insurance contact we have realized  there is nothing we can in this case. Again customer have refused repair service we have offered for not really valued furniture with some minor scratches on the corners.

I wish to point customers match calculations are obviously wrong. If you have purchased sofa for $3000 does not mean is worth $3000. Each year depreciated value of 8-10% should be removed from the value. That means 10 years old sofa can be worth just up to $300. Now does it mean that sofa with broken leg is worth $0? Again wrong, damage is just a percentage of value and some basic leg set in home depot is like $20 for 4 of them.

For the end, basic valuation for 60 cents per pound up to $50 per item that customer had agreed, customer's damaged was estimated in the range of $60-$80 total, again small dents and scratches plus leg glue. We are willing to provide credit in this range since customer refused our repair services.

Thank you

Jim 

  

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We chose Georgetown Movers based on their credentials according to their website including:  Better Business Bureau A+ rating, ******* **** Super Service, and "Best of Washington" awards.  We have hired movers on several occasions, including a relocation from 1,000 miles away, and have NEVER had such extensive damage to our furniture, walls and floors. Our experience with such highly rated movers like Georgetown Movers has always has always been positive, and we experienced minor damage which we were compensated for fairly and properly.  We take pride in owning high quality furniture and take very good care of it.  It is obvious that Georgetown Movers was VERY careless in storing and moving our furniture.  I have pictures to prove the extent of the damage, which is definitely more than "a few minor scratches" according to Georgetown Movers response.  Some pieces of furniture have chunks of wood broken off, knobs broken off, one table has such severe and deep scratches it appears to have been dragged across concrete.  The damage is a clear indicator that the team did not properly store or move furniture.  Nearly every single piece of furniture is damaged in some way, shape or form (some much worse than others).  Our walls have holes and deep scratches in them, and hardwood floors are damaged and need complete repair.  If we had only a few "minor scratches", I would not be writing to the Better Business Bureau.  This was a BRAND NEW, high end home we moved into, and it looks like we have lived here for 10 years according to our walls.  Our $6K move is going to cost an additional $3K+ in damage repair.  

In all of our moves, we were covered by insurance without needing to purchase any additional insurance.  If we had any idea the extent of damage to walls, floors and furniture, we never would have chosen Georgetown Movers in the first place.  We put trust in hiring Georgetown Movers to move and store our furniture, and feel they are grossly misrepresented by listing such accolades on their website.  How can a moving company basically claim "no liability"?  

Yes, Georgetown Movers offered to have someone come and do repairs.  We asked on two separate occasions, exactly "who" and "what are the qualifications" of the repair person(s).  Based on our experience with Georgetown Movers, we would not trust their team to touch our furniture or walls/floors.  How can Georgetown Movers act on their own behalf for valuing our repairs? This appears a conflict of interest to not allow customers to deal with the insurance company directly.  

If Georgetown Movers does not offer qualifications of who will be doing repairs, we would like to hire our own repair person and be properly compensated/reimbursed.  

Regards








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Actual Quote on Georgetown Movers website:

Full protection for your furniture with free or charge moving blankets, see how we do it ... no scratches, no dents!

Clearly when we saw this and the accolades on Georgetown Moving's website, we thought this would be how our furniture would be handled and we put our trust in their team.  Georgetown Moving damaged SEVERAL pieces of hi-end furniture, put holes in our walls and scratched our brand new hardwood floors.  They clearly did not protect furniture as stated on their website.  We were told to complete an "insurance claim form" outlining damages, which we did.  Georgetown Moving never informed us that even "basic valuation" coverage would be determined by Georgetown Moving, not an independent/objective party.  Where did Georgetown Moving ever make it clear that any damages would be evaluated and determined by the owner himself, not an insurance company or independent party?  It is clear that Georgetown Moving mishandled our furniture, and did not treat it as they state on their website, and now they are refusing to provide any reimbursement for damages.  This move cost us $6,000 and will cost us thousands more in repairs.  This is the most unprofessional business we have ever dealt with. We do not understand how a business can mishandle their client's belongings and take no action to correct the situation, yet be so highly rated by the Better Business Bureau. I am rejecting Georgetown Moving's response and would like a neutral, third party to determine how to properly correct the situation. 

Regards,

****** * **** *******








Business Response: From: Jim<**************************>
Date: Wed, Oct 22, 2014 at 10:45 AM
Subject: RE: Complaint #********
To: ***** ****** <*****************>


Dear *** ******

Please see my additional evidence to support Georgetown Moving in this complaint.

1.       Customer have requested $6000 what is ridicules based on the damages level. Please see attached pictures of the items I had an opportunity to inspect. Most of them are just some corner scratches. None of the item was broken or missing. Additionally to this, sofa’s leg glue came out. All damages are just minor based on the size of the move.

2.       We do offer additional insurance, customer did not purchase it. Please see hand signed agreement and valuation level by customer. Additionally we always sending terms and conditions attached to the estimate before customer have an opportunity to book the move.

3.       Basic valuation under customer’s move was perform is a 60 cents per pound up to $50 per item. This is legal DOT regulated value of coverage. Please see details on the DOT gov. page: (https://www.*************************************************************************

(2) Released Value

The most economical protection available is Released Value, since it is offered at no additional charge. However, the protection is minimal. Under this option, the mover assumes liability for no more than 60 cents per pound per article. For example, if your mover lost or damaged a 10-pound stereo component valued at $1,000, you would only receive $6.00 in compensation (60 cents x 10 pounds).

There is no additional charge for Released Value. However, you must sign a specific statement on the bill of lading or contract agreeing to it. But remember, it compensates you according to the weight of the item, not its actual value. And, if you do not select Released Value, your shipment will automatically be transported at the Full Value Protection level of liability and you will be assessed the applicable charge.

4.    Customer misleading also forcing some kind of “insurance company” involvement is an another misleading, DOT clearly state that:

Full Value Protection and Released Value are not insurance policies governed by State insurance laws; instead, they are Federal contractual tariff levels of liability authorized under Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Board of the U.S. Department of Transportation”

5.    We had offer our customer free of charge repair solution, obviously this is not good comparing to opportunity of requesting $6000 discount from us. Thais is why customer making this case long and difficult. Please be advise we do not have any responsibility to repair anything for her based on the agreement and DOT regulations listed above. Customer has been familiar with all terms so there is not any surprise after the fact.

To maintain good quality from the beginning to the end of customer satisfaction, we had offered free of charge repair, instead of sending check for $80 and have customer with scratched items. By our opinion this is high step ahead towards customer satisfaction. Because customer refused our offer we can only offer some basic gratification based on the basic 60 cents per pound gratification.

Please advise how can we future assist in this case. We are working hard from the beginning to resolve it

Thank you

Jim

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem: Georgetown Moving & Storage company is refusing to pay the amount contracted under the general liability authorized under "Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Bureau of the U.S. Department of Transportation;" under which terms the "Standard Declaration of Value/Basic Valuation," the maximum $50 per article is paid for items 83 lbs or greater. The damages were incurred during Georgetown's move of my belongings from Arlington VA and transport and delivery to New York City location. The eight (8) items destroyed in the move include 2 Cabinets, a Wardrobe, 2 Sideboards, Glass Desk, 2 Tier Glass Table, and a Wood-Carved Floor Lamp, which were all greater than 83 lbs. Loss/ damage in the amount of $400 is expected base on the terms and conditions of the general agreement, and should be credited to my original form of payment. On April 23rd Georgetown (GT) advised me in an email that "upon examining the supporting pictures of damage to the specified items you were found qualified for reimbursement." However, they are only willing to pay $150 for loss/damages. Their decision to only pay $150 was based on 2 issues, both of which were incorrect: 1) Claim they accepted a larger shipment. -The size of the truck GT send was based on their original estimate and was used to move by belongings. The crew only loaded what the truck's capacity could accommodate. They only took what the crew said "fit in the truck" they had. 2) They provided the extra 3rd men on the delivery/unloading location free of charge. - I did have a conversation with *** (the GT Manager) on Fri. 2/28th. concerning an additional person for the offloading in NY. He advised a 3rd person was not available at that time. I hired an additional man to help on the NY end and was surprised when a 3rd person appeared with the GT crew. Further, the number of men loading or unloading can impact time, however it has absolutely nothing to do with care and the skill of professional movers. GT's statement that it could "definitely prevent exposing your belongings to any damage if the content of the household goods was specified correctly so they would accommodate us with more men and revaluate the time needed to accomplish both parts of the project," has no baring whatsoever on the fact that my furniture sustained extensive damage while in Georgetown's possession. The damage to my items could only have taken place: (1) by being crushed during loading, (2) during the overnight storage, (3) during transport to New York, or at each of these 3 points. The arrival of my shipment was scheduled for March 1st at 3pm in NYC, however the truck did not arrive at my home until well after 6pm with the damaged load. The movers phoned us for directions and advised they got lost and encountered heavy traffic. Therefore the original time estimate played neither a role in the actual move nor the damage done. A copy of the email from Georgetown, and my email reply, will be forwarded for your review. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome: - The settlement of Damage/Loss claim in the amount of $400, to be paid as check or credited to original form of payment (credit card), in accordance with general liability authorized under Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Bureau of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Business Response:

Dear BBB

60 cents per pound up to $50 per item is the maximum amount customer can receive for missing, again missing, not existing or burned item. If for example desk is damaged, we try to evaluate the damage value, as an example, smashed mirror in BMW do not make it to loose entire value, just for example 2% of damaged value. $400 that customer is required is taken from the sky.

Lets start from beginning and let me explain customer greed behavior that cause all the issues. We did have provided flat, do not exceed rate for interstate transportation. Obviously when she realized that she did all to abuse this. Let me quote movers "she was running to the store to purchased more and more boxes like 3 or 4 times". Truck was huge, is a 26 foot box truck rated for 1300 cubic feet, her estimate was approx. 710 cubic feet. She has generated so much more boxes and additional stuff that truck was completely FULL! Yes, almost twice more. As a company, we were forced by this individual to give 1 more men to do unload and still 3 our men and 1 her (useless and untrained) worked many, many hours to unload the truck. There will be no issues if customer will move exactly what the listed on the quote.

As today customer have unpaid invoice of $683.00 for additional transportation expenses including more cargo + extra crew member. Until payment is not completed, we will not resolve any claim.

Thank you

***

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
1) No balance is due Georgetown Moving & Storage. Their claim of a $683 unpaid invoice is FALSE!

The contracted flat rate agreed was paid in full upon move completion March 1st, 2014. 
On April 23, 2014 Georgetown Moving & Storage sent an email stating: " Your Claim Account ******  has been processed and upon examining the supporting pictures of damage to the specified items you were found qualified for reimbursement."  They further advised "We have accepted larger shipment within the same price and have provided the extra 3rd men on the delivery/unloading location free of charge. Georgetown also wrote: "Please note that the Long Distance flat rate is built and provided strictly based on the List of Inventory/ provided by Customer/ Table of Measurement and weight." The size and capacity of the truck sent my Georgetown for the job was the only one used.
 
2) Their crew reported upon arriving there were significantly more items, pieces of furniture and specially boxes than anticipated. They did however only load what was suppose to be the capacity for the truck.  As stated in my original claim "only the items that fit in the truck contracted for, using Georgetown's telephone size estimate, were loaded." A larger truck was not used or requested; the crew advised when the tuck was full. All boxes/items that did not fit in the Georgetown truck that was contracted for were transported by other means arranged by me. The size of the truck and the load taken should have nothing to do with the extensive damage incurred to my belongings.  

3) The proposed $150 is not in line with the general liability authorized under Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Bureau of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Under the terms of the "Standard Declaration of Value/Basic Valuation sent and agreed with Georgetown," the maximum $50 per article is paid for items 83 lbs or greater. The eight (8) items destroyed in the move included: 2 Cabinets, a Wardrobe, 2 Sideboards, Glass Desk, 2 Tier Glass Table, and a Wood-Carved Floor Lamp, which were all greater than 83 lbs.  Therefore, the loss/ damage in the amount of $400 is expected and can be credited to my original form of payment. Georgetown is now trying to base their settlement offer on an arbitrary amount of $150  claiming less loss then proven via documentation.      
 
4) The damage to my items could only have taken place: (a) by being crushed during loading, (b) during the overnight storage, (c) during transport to New York, or at each of these 3 points. The arrival of my shipment was scheduled for March 1st at 3pm in NYC, however the truck did not arrive at my home until well after 6pm with the damaged load. The movers phoned us for directions and advised they got lost and encountered heavy traffic. Therefore the original time estimate played neither a role in the actual move nor the damage done. 

5) As for the number of crew members assigned for the move, I am sure you are aware that the number of men loading or unloading can impact time, however it has absolutely nothing to do with care and the skill of professional movers. Georgetown's statement that it could "definitely prevent exposing your belongings to any damage if the content of our household goods was  
specified correctly so you would accommodate us with more men crew and revaluate the time needed to accomplish both parts of the project..." has no baring whatsoever on the fact that my furniture sustained extensive damage while in Georgetown's possession. 
Regards,
***** ****** 
 








Business Response:

The main reason company was forced to add extra men on unload because of the customer greed. Size of the truck is a good example, her estimate was to load the truck approx. half full and customer replaying truck was completely full!. Exactly, this is so much stuff she generated to take advantage of the flat rate. Flat rate is based on the furniture list, we do have a written statement form the driver that customer went to get and purchase boxes at least 3 times .. and added much more stuff to the truck that double size was not enough.

Another aspect is number of BBB complains about our long distance practices, is 0, so how is possible we do not have any issues with regular good customers but some individual making it in this case?

Yes, outstanding bill was sent to her with request to pay in 30 days or will be submitted to collection agency.

Again, she has huge problem with understanding  basic match, so I will write slow. If something cost 5000 dollars 10 years ago and will be damages, 2 factors will be taken. 1 Do we have full value insurance as extra paid? If yes, there is deductible level, if not is a 60 cents per pound up to $50 when items was stolen or burned out so cannot be use completely. Additionally $5000 item if was purchased 10 years ago is NOT worth so much now and sentimental value does not count. Every year item looking its value for approx. 10%, so $5000 dollar item after ten years cost just $500 if was stolen ... If item was just scratched loosing for example 2-3%, .In her case weight is in action so if 200 pounds dresser was scratched lost just 3%- >6 pounds * 60 cents = $3.60 of lost value. How much she paid is relevant if we dealing with free of charge insurance, for cheap customer, we do have cheap deal. She will receive $150 insurance claim after paying outstanding transportation fee for extra items.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
First,  I DO NOT OWN A BALANCE ON THE MOVE CHARGE; GEORGETOWN MOVERS DID NOT SEND ME AN ADDITIONAL INVOICE, JUST AN EMAIL SAYING MY CLAIM WAS VALID AND THEY WOULD PAY $150. A copy of that email was provided with my last reply. They billed at a "FLAT RATE" and I only used the truck they sent to accommodate the job. In addition, I was told on the day of the move-out that they WOULD NOT HAVE AN ADDITIONAL PERSON AVAILABLE TO SEND FOR THE MOVE-IN. Therefore I could not have known or agreed to pay for another men.  

Second, the reply is extremely difficult to understand, but it appears the person who sent it did NOT read my reply to Georgetown's initial reply to this complaint. It does not matter how many boxes I had, Georgetown only took what fit on the truck sent based on their estimate.
Is there another course of action available to resolve this issue through the BB Bureau at this point? Georgetown movers is not telling the truth about an outstanding bill, or the terms of the Agreement covering damages/loss. The company is being very unethical in its handling of this matter. 
Regards,

***** ******








8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had many problems on my most recent move with Georgetown Moving and Storage. Both properties involved in the move sustained extensive structural damage. Some repairs have been made but the response has been extremely slow. We had extensive damage to a few pieces of furniture and the repairs were not satisfactory. (couch frame and all 4 legs broken, cubicle severely scratched). It has never taken more than 7 hours door to door moving us with a 2 men moving crew and truck. Georgetown estimated 6-8 hours and the 3 man crew arrived and stated that it should take no more than 6 hours. The 3 man crew took 13 hours to complete the move and in the process caused the above issues. The crew admitted later that 2 of them were new and had never been put through training. The office staff was very elusive and then nasty to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I think my two pieces of furniture should be replaced and that I should be charged no more than 6 hours for the moving service. Had an experienced crew been sent and properly supervised, I believe that the move would have taken a normal number of hours and my property and residences would not have been damaged.

Business Response:

Dear BBB. and **. *****

Let me answer to all issues here:

After the move claim form received by company with few issues that most of the me has been resolved:

- **** bookcase - fixed

- sofa -> small issue on the BOTTOM (not visible from regular use), frame and **** type legs (stapled not even glued by manufacture) -  were fixed.   

- walls .... I wish to ask what customer have in mind while writing about "extensive structural damage", seriously? structural? I was notices many marks on the dry wall, all was patched and sanded, ready to be paint. Drywall is definitely not a structural issue.

**. ***** have my personal cell phone number, last message was exchanged on 07/15:

Me" I am checking your availability to accomplish the repairs"

*****: "It would be later afternoon today or maybe Thursday .. or this weekend"

Me" Today will not work but after tomorrow evening anytime"

*****" I won't be home before 6 tomorrow"

... and that's all, never heard nothing until this complain and customer mention something about "slow response"? I wish to mention customer making this issue difficult from his own site, as a company representing repair man I wish to resolve it asap but how can I do this if customer do not want to set any appointment.

Additionally I wish to mention customer have just basic insurance of 60 cents per pound and company in his case is not obligated to send anybody to mane any repairs (do not have full replacement value insurance and **** pressed wood is NOT insured - customer signed agreement)

Thank you

***

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

-The response (or lack thereof) initially didn't allow for any repairs at my previous residence.  Floors were scratched, holes put in walls, structural corners damaged.  These repairs have already been made. 

-The in house repairman was never prepared to fix anything in one trip, could not match paint, etc.  Was not qualified to do any such repairs therefore not an acceptable solution.  There is always a reason not to finish or not to show up...this is not acceptable- an outside, third party, QUALIFIED contractor should be doing any repairs.

-Still completely ignored is the final bill which is also unacceptable.  I was told by the estimator and the crew that the job should take no longer than 6 hours.  I have done the same move in the past with a 2 man crew and it has never taken over 7 hours.  The crew that Georgetown Moving sent was inexperienced and 2 employees were admittedly untrained.  The three of them took 13 hours to complete our move including all of the damages to residences and personal property.  The bill has yet to be amended. 

-I will not have ANY employee of Georgetown Moving enter my residence again.  This company does not take professional responsibility for its actions in or out of the office and consumers must be made aware.


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response:

Customer response is obviously false and coming from low educated knowledge about general contracting subject, let me remind customer quote about "structural damage" issue while scratching a wall ....

Contactor have more than 8 years in experience with general contracting and wood working and providing his services for 3 major moving companies in the area . We have already 2 appointments (let me quote customer : " There is always a reason not to finish or not to show up". That's obvious a lie. On the 2nd time paint for the walls did not match, that's true, that is why I ask customer to provide me detailed info about the paint and as I have mention before 3 weeks ago, I have  asked customer to set day and time because paint is ready, customer have refused the meeting (can send actual picture of cell phone text conversation) .

Also customer have informed that any issue on the bill will be processed after repairs are done, unfortunately due a customer resistance to the repairs company will not participate with any discount at that moment. Customer paid for time exactly what was required to move his goods. I wish to mention that was a lot of things.

I wish to quote few thinks customer AGREED and SIGNED on the paperwork on the day of the move and I will be able to provide scanned copy on request:

DECLARATION OF VALUE:
Unless additional insurance is purchased, the agreed or declared value of property will not exceed $0.60 per pound per article, up to a maximum of $50 per article.
Additional Full Value Protection insurance is available upon request and the minimum Declared Value must be equal $6.00 times the estimated weight of your shipment.
Please be advised that if additional insurance is not purchased, basic valuation cover is a limit on carrier's liability for loss of or damage to your goods while they are in its
custody and control.

Translation: customer did not purchase additional insurance, company was not obligated at all to sent anybody to do any repairs for him. Company did it to provide high quality of service and customer refused.

LIABILITY:
Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. is not liable for glass, marble, lamps, artwork, TV's and stereos, unless they are disconnected, serviced, boxed and/or crated by
Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. and all related charges are listed on the Bill of Lading. Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. do not take responsibility for the internal
workings of electronic equipment. No Carrier shall be liable for wall or floor damage. Furthermore, Georgetown Moving and Storage does not take responsibility for pressed
wood furniture assembled by owner
, valuables, jewelry, documents or any valuable papers, currency or stamps, live plants or acts of God.

TRANSLATION: no comments, customer read and agreed with terms and conditions. 

GENERAL NOTICES:
Estimate is based on the items listed by customer and only those items are included in the cost. Any additional items, information, packing of boxes and/or storage not
included on the estimate may result in additional cost and may alter the final cost of the bill.

Translation: customer have more items to move so it took longer for movers to accomplish project

 

and on the end:

Customer acknowledges that read Rights and Responsibilities statement, Declaration of Value, Important and General Notices. Customer acknowledges that all information
listed on the Estimate is correct. By reserving the date, Customer agrees to all Terms and Conditions

 

Please let me know if you wish to keep original paint and wardrobe rack or should be returned to the store, since professional contractor is not enough skilled to perform some basic wall touch ups?

Thank you

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


As a final response I will use a few bullet points to keep it short.  To the BBB- I think it is obvious what kind of company I have been dealing with from these responses.  They have been both unprofessional and unapologetic for what happened to me, my stuff, and my residences.  My credit card company had much trouble with contacting the office and then was treated very unprofessionally on many occasions by Dorata.  I am not lying and have no reason to do so.  Any responsible business owner knows that a contract is not something to hide behind and does not fully shield it from liability when shady business practice is concerned. 

-  I did have trouble with setting up repair appointments and ceased contact.  I do not consider someone who cannot match a basic paint color "qualified" to do any repairs to homes or furniture and I think anyone would agree with me.  This same individual damaged a hanging rack of ours due to carelessness while attempting to fix our couch. 

-Again, I have moved the same about of stuff using 2 men and it has never taken more than 7 hours.  I can provide the BBB with the name and number of this company to verify.  Georgetown Moving took 13 hours with 3 men.  The crew leader is the ONLY employee who apologized for all of the mishaps.  he said, "*****, I am really sorry about everything that has happened, it should never have taken this long either.  They (the management) sent me out here with two new guys who have not even been through any training."   I don't think anything else needs to be said about the overbilling issue.

-I was a victim of blatant mismanagement by Georgetown Moving that caused damage to my property and further financial harm with the bill.  A nasty response is not a resolution I will accept.






 


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response:

Again, as terms and conditions stays company do not guarantee that estimated hours will not be exceeded due size number of items added by customer, move took simply longer.

About the customer, let me prove his communication issue, let me quote first : "I do not consider someone who cannot match a basic paint color "qualified" to do any repairs to homes or furniture and I think anyone would agree with me. " Yes, I do agree, I did NOT match the pain, just took sample to Home Depot and they did it, easy and simple, nothing else. When I have realized that paint made by them do not matched, have asked customer about original paint name and store was purchase and few days later 1 gallon of paint was ready to accomplish repair but ... customer refused service, and as we see now for wrong reason.

Let me quote more: "This same individual damaged a hanging rack of ours due to carelessness while attempting to fix our couch. ", Yes, that's is correct, I did not realized about the damage because room I was working was packed like storage unit with 40 boxes and some clothes, and I have to tilt the sofa up side down, but again, I HAVE PURCHASED NEW ONE FOR YOU LADY!!!, is ready for delivery and you know about that!!

I simply think we have a basic communication problem, customer obviously do not understand the process of repairs and do not listed when feedback from company coming to her. I am sorry about that.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Please read the responses from the "Business".

Nothing said explains anything and no means of resolution has been proposed at all.

This is becoming ridiculous.

Regards,

***** ********









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Georgetown Moving and Storage Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart