BBB Accredited Business since

Georgetown Moving and Storage Company

Phone: (703) 889-8899 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 N Glebe Rd Ste 1010, Arlington, VA 22201 http://georgetownmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgetown Moving and Storage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Georgetown Moving and Storage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Georgetown Moving and Storage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2009 Business started: 05/05/2001 Business started locally: 05/05/2001 Business incorporated 08/23/2007 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1675188 - MC615665.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Doreta Borecka, President Mr. Jim Al, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Al, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Doreta Borecka, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Douglas & Douglas, Inc Georgetown Moving & Storage Co.
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 1100 N Glebe Rd Ste 1010

    Arlington, VA 22201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem: Georgetown Moving & Storage company is refusing to pay the amount contracted under the general liability authorized under "Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Bureau of the U.S. Department of Transportation;" under which terms the "Standard Declaration of Value/Basic Valuation," the maximum $50 per article is paid for items 83 lbs or greater. The damages were incurred during Georgetown's move of my belongings from Arlington VA and transport and delivery to New York City location. The eight (8) items destroyed in the move include 2 Cabinets, a Wardrobe, 2 Sideboards, Glass Desk, 2 Tier Glass Table, and a Wood-Carved Floor Lamp, which were all greater than 83 lbs. Loss/ damage in the amount of $400 is expected base on the terms and conditions of the general agreement, and should be credited to my original form of payment. On April 23rd Georgetown (GT) advised me in an email that "upon examining the supporting pictures of damage to the specified items you were found qualified for reimbursement." However, they are only willing to pay $150 for loss/damages. Their decision to only pay $150 was based on 2 issues, both of which were incorrect: 1) Claim they accepted a larger shipment. -The size of the truck GT send was based on their original estimate and was used to move by belongings. The crew only loaded what the truck's capacity could accommodate. They only took what the crew said "fit in the truck" they had. 2) They provided the extra 3rd men on the delivery/unloading location free of charge. - I did have a conversation with *** (the GT Manager) on Fri. 2/28th. concerning an additional person for the offloading in NY. He advised a 3rd person was not available at that time. I hired an additional man to help on the NY end and was surprised when a 3rd person appeared with the GT crew. Further, the number of men loading or unloading can impact time, however it has absolutely nothing to do with care and the skill of professional movers. GT's statement that it could "definitely prevent exposing your belongings to any damage if the content of the household goods was specified correctly so they would accommodate us with more men and revaluate the time needed to accomplish both parts of the project," has no baring whatsoever on the fact that my furniture sustained extensive damage while in Georgetown's possession. The damage to my items could only have taken place: (1) by being crushed during loading, (2) during the overnight storage, (3) during transport to New York, or at each of these 3 points. The arrival of my shipment was scheduled for March 1st at 3pm in NYC, however the truck did not arrive at my home until well after 6pm with the damaged load. The movers phoned us for directions and advised they got lost and encountered heavy traffic. Therefore the original time estimate played neither a role in the actual move nor the damage done. A copy of the email from Georgetown, and my email reply, will be forwarded for your review. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome: - The settlement of Damage/Loss claim in the amount of $400, to be paid as check or credited to original form of payment (credit card), in accordance with general liability authorized under Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Bureau of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Business Response:

Dear BBB

60 cents per pound up to $50 per item is the maximum amount customer can receive for missing, again missing, not existing or burned item. If for example desk is damaged, we try to evaluate the damage value, as an example, smashed mirror in BMW do not make it to loose entire value, just for example 2% of damaged value. $400 that customer is required is taken from the sky.

Lets start from beginning and let me explain customer greed behavior that cause all the issues. We did have provided flat, do not exceed rate for interstate transportation. Obviously when she realized that she did all to abuse this. Let me quote movers "she was running to the store to purchased more and more boxes like 3 or 4 times". Truck was huge, is a 26 foot box truck rated for 1300 cubic feet, her estimate was approx. 710 cubic feet. She has generated so much more boxes and additional stuff that truck was completely FULL! Yes, almost twice more. As a company, we were forced by this individual to give 1 more men to do unload and still 3 our men and 1 her (useless and untrained) worked many, many hours to unload the truck. There will be no issues if customer will move exactly what the listed on the quote.

As today customer have unpaid invoice of $683.00 for additional transportation expenses including more cargo + extra crew member. Until payment is not completed, we will not resolve any claim.

Thank you

***

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
1) No balance is due Georgetown Moving & Storage. Their claim of a $683 unpaid invoice is FALSE!

The contracted flat rate agreed was paid in full upon move completion March 1st, 2014. 
On April 23, 2014 Georgetown Moving & Storage sent an email stating: " Your Claim Account ******  has been processed and upon examining the supporting pictures of damage to the specified items you were found qualified for reimbursement."  They further advised "We have accepted larger shipment within the same price and have provided the extra 3rd men on the delivery/unloading location free of charge. Georgetown also wrote: "Please note that the Long Distance flat rate is built and provided strictly based on the List of Inventory/ provided by Customer/ Table of Measurement and weight." The size and capacity of the truck sent my Georgetown for the job was the only one used.
 
2) Their crew reported upon arriving there were significantly more items, pieces of furniture and specially boxes than anticipated. They did however only load what was suppose to be the capacity for the truck.  As stated in my original claim "only the items that fit in the truck contracted for, using Georgetown's telephone size estimate, were loaded." A larger truck was not used or requested; the crew advised when the tuck was full. All boxes/items that did not fit in the Georgetown truck that was contracted for were transported by other means arranged by me. The size of the truck and the load taken should have nothing to do with the extensive damage incurred to my belongings.  

3) The proposed $150 is not in line with the general liability authorized under Released Rates Orders of the Surface Transportation Bureau of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Under the terms of the "Standard Declaration of Value/Basic Valuation sent and agreed with Georgetown," the maximum $50 per article is paid for items 83 lbs or greater. The eight (8) items destroyed in the move included: 2 Cabinets, a Wardrobe, 2 Sideboards, Glass Desk, 2 Tier Glass Table, and a Wood-Carved Floor Lamp, which were all greater than 83 lbs.  Therefore, the loss/ damage in the amount of $400 is expected and can be credited to my original form of payment. Georgetown is now trying to base their settlement offer on an arbitrary amount of $150  claiming less loss then proven via documentation.      
 
4) The damage to my items could only have taken place: (a) by being crushed during loading, (b) during the overnight storage, (c) during transport to New York, or at each of these 3 points. The arrival of my shipment was scheduled for March 1st at 3pm in NYC, however the truck did not arrive at my home until well after 6pm with the damaged load. The movers phoned us for directions and advised they got lost and encountered heavy traffic. Therefore the original time estimate played neither a role in the actual move nor the damage done. 

5) As for the number of crew members assigned for the move, I am sure you are aware that the number of men loading or unloading can impact time, however it has absolutely nothing to do with care and the skill of professional movers. Georgetown's statement that it could "definitely prevent exposing your belongings to any damage if the content of our household goods was  
specified correctly so you would accommodate us with more men crew and revaluate the time needed to accomplish both parts of the project..." has no baring whatsoever on the fact that my furniture sustained extensive damage while in Georgetown's possession. 
Regards,
***** ****** 
 








Business Response:

The main reason company was forced to add extra men on unload because of the customer greed. Size of the truck is a good example, her estimate was to load the truck approx. half full and customer replaying truck was completely full!. Exactly, this is so much stuff she generated to take advantage of the flat rate. Flat rate is based on the furniture list, we do have a written statement form the driver that customer went to get and purchase boxes at least 3 times .. and added much more stuff to the truck that double size was not enough.

Another aspect is number of BBB complains about our long distance practices, is 0, so how is possible we do not have any issues with regular good customers but some individual making it in this case?

Yes, outstanding bill was sent to her with request to pay in 30 days or will be submitted to collection agency.

Again, she has huge problem with understanding  basic match, so I will write slow. If something cost 5000 dollars 10 years ago and will be damages, 2 factors will be taken. 1 Do we have full value insurance as extra paid? If yes, there is deductible level, if not is a 60 cents per pound up to $50 when items was stolen or burned out so cannot be use completely. Additionally $5000 item if was purchased 10 years ago is NOT worth so much now and sentimental value does not count. Every year item looking its value for approx. 10%, so $5000 dollar item after ten years cost just $500 if was stolen ... If item was just scratched loosing for example 2-3%, .In her case weight is in action so if 200 pounds dresser was scratched lost just 3%- >6 pounds * 60 cents = $3.60 of lost value. How much she paid is relevant if we dealing with free of charge insurance, for cheap customer, we do have cheap deal. She will receive $150 insurance claim after paying outstanding transportation fee for extra items.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
First,  I DO NOT OWN A BALANCE ON THE MOVE CHARGE; GEORGETOWN MOVERS DID NOT SEND ME AN ADDITIONAL INVOICE, JUST AN EMAIL SAYING MY CLAIM WAS VALID AND THEY WOULD PAY $150. A copy of that email was provided with my last reply. They billed at a "FLAT RATE" and I only used the truck they sent to accommodate the job. In addition, I was told on the day of the move-out that they WOULD NOT HAVE AN ADDITIONAL PERSON AVAILABLE TO SEND FOR THE MOVE-IN. Therefore I could not have known or agreed to pay for another men.  

Second, the reply is extremely difficult to understand, but it appears the person who sent it did NOT read my reply to Georgetown's initial reply to this complaint. It does not matter how many boxes I had, Georgetown only took what fit on the truck sent based on their estimate.
Is there another course of action available to resolve this issue through the BB Bureau at this point? Georgetown movers is not telling the truth about an outstanding bill, or the terms of the Agreement covering damages/loss. The company is being very unethical in its handling of this matter. 
Regards,

***** ******








8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had many problems on my most recent move with Georgetown Moving and Storage. Both properties involved in the move sustained extensive structural damage. Some repairs have been made but the response has been extremely slow. We had extensive damage to a few pieces of furniture and the repairs were not satisfactory. (couch frame and all 4 legs broken, cubicle severely scratched). It has never taken more than 7 hours door to door moving us with a 2 men moving crew and truck. Georgetown estimated 6-8 hours and the 3 man crew arrived and stated that it should take no more than 6 hours. The 3 man crew took 13 hours to complete the move and in the process caused the above issues. The crew admitted later that 2 of them were new and had never been put through training. The office staff was very elusive and then nasty to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I think my two pieces of furniture should be replaced and that I should be charged no more than 6 hours for the moving service. Had an experienced crew been sent and properly supervised, I believe that the move would have taken a normal number of hours and my property and residences would not have been damaged.

Business Response:

Dear BBB. and **. *****

Let me answer to all issues here:

After the move claim form received by company with few issues that most of the me has been resolved:

- **** bookcase - fixed

- sofa -> small issue on the BOTTOM (not visible from regular use), frame and **** type legs (stapled not even glued by manufacture) -  were fixed.   

- walls .... I wish to ask what customer have in mind while writing about "extensive structural damage", seriously? structural? I was notices many marks on the dry wall, all was patched and sanded, ready to be paint. Drywall is definitely not a structural issue.

**. ***** have my personal cell phone number, last message was exchanged on 07/15:

Me" I am checking your availability to accomplish the repairs"

*****: "It would be later afternoon today or maybe Thursday .. or this weekend"

Me" Today will not work but after tomorrow evening anytime"

*****" I won't be home before 6 tomorrow"

... and that's all, never heard nothing until this complain and customer mention something about "slow response"? I wish to mention customer making this issue difficult from his own site, as a company representing repair man I wish to resolve it asap but how can I do this if customer do not want to set any appointment.

Additionally I wish to mention customer have just basic insurance of 60 cents per pound and company in his case is not obligated to send anybody to mane any repairs (do not have full replacement value insurance and **** pressed wood is NOT insured - customer signed agreement)

Thank you

***

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

-The response (or lack thereof) initially didn't allow for any repairs at my previous residence.  Floors were scratched, holes put in walls, structural corners damaged.  These repairs have already been made. 

-The in house repairman was never prepared to fix anything in one trip, could not match paint, etc.  Was not qualified to do any such repairs therefore not an acceptable solution.  There is always a reason not to finish or not to show up...this is not acceptable- an outside, third party, QUALIFIED contractor should be doing any repairs.

-Still completely ignored is the final bill which is also unacceptable.  I was told by the estimator and the crew that the job should take no longer than 6 hours.  I have done the same move in the past with a 2 man crew and it has never taken over 7 hours.  The crew that Georgetown Moving sent was inexperienced and 2 employees were admittedly untrained.  The three of them took 13 hours to complete our move including all of the damages to residences and personal property.  The bill has yet to be amended. 

-I will not have ANY employee of Georgetown Moving enter my residence again.  This company does not take professional responsibility for its actions in or out of the office and consumers must be made aware.


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response:

Customer response is obviously false and coming from low educated knowledge about general contracting subject, let me remind customer quote about "structural damage" issue while scratching a wall ....

Contactor have more than 8 years in experience with general contracting and wood working and providing his services for 3 major moving companies in the area . We have already 2 appointments (let me quote customer : " There is always a reason not to finish or not to show up". That's obvious a lie. On the 2nd time paint for the walls did not match, that's true, that is why I ask customer to provide me detailed info about the paint and as I have mention before 3 weeks ago, I have  asked customer to set day and time because paint is ready, customer have refused the meeting (can send actual picture of cell phone text conversation) .

Also customer have informed that any issue on the bill will be processed after repairs are done, unfortunately due a customer resistance to the repairs company will not participate with any discount at that moment. Customer paid for time exactly what was required to move his goods. I wish to mention that was a lot of things.

I wish to quote few thinks customer AGREED and SIGNED on the paperwork on the day of the move and I will be able to provide scanned copy on request:

DECLARATION OF VALUE:
Unless additional insurance is purchased, the agreed or declared value of property will not exceed $0.60 per pound per article, up to a maximum of $50 per article.
Additional Full Value Protection insurance is available upon request and the minimum Declared Value must be equal $6.00 times the estimated weight of your shipment.
Please be advised that if additional insurance is not purchased, basic valuation cover is a limit on carrier's liability for loss of or damage to your goods while they are in its
custody and control.

Translation: customer did not purchase additional insurance, company was not obligated at all to sent anybody to do any repairs for him. Company did it to provide high quality of service and customer refused.

LIABILITY:
Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. is not liable for glass, marble, lamps, artwork, TV's and stereos, unless they are disconnected, serviced, boxed and/or crated by
Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. and all related charges are listed on the Bill of Lading. Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. do not take responsibility for the internal
workings of electronic equipment. No Carrier shall be liable for wall or floor damage. Furthermore, Georgetown Moving and Storage does not take responsibility for pressed
wood furniture assembled by owner
, valuables, jewelry, documents or any valuable papers, currency or stamps, live plants or acts of God.

TRANSLATION: no comments, customer read and agreed with terms and conditions. 

GENERAL NOTICES:
Estimate is based on the items listed by customer and only those items are included in the cost. Any additional items, information, packing of boxes and/or storage not
included on the estimate may result in additional cost and may alter the final cost of the bill.

Translation: customer have more items to move so it took longer for movers to accomplish project

 

and on the end:

Customer acknowledges that read Rights and Responsibilities statement, Declaration of Value, Important and General Notices. Customer acknowledges that all information
listed on the Estimate is correct. By reserving the date, Customer agrees to all Terms and Conditions

 

Please let me know if you wish to keep original paint and wardrobe rack or should be returned to the store, since professional contractor is not enough skilled to perform some basic wall touch ups?

Thank you

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


As a final response I will use a few bullet points to keep it short.  To the BBB- I think it is obvious what kind of company I have been dealing with from these responses.  They have been both unprofessional and unapologetic for what happened to me, my stuff, and my residences.  My credit card company had much trouble with contacting the office and then was treated very unprofessionally on many occasions by Dorata.  I am not lying and have no reason to do so.  Any responsible business owner knows that a contract is not something to hide behind and does not fully shield it from liability when shady business practice is concerned. 

-  I did have trouble with setting up repair appointments and ceased contact.  I do not consider someone who cannot match a basic paint color "qualified" to do any repairs to homes or furniture and I think anyone would agree with me.  This same individual damaged a hanging rack of ours due to carelessness while attempting to fix our couch. 

-Again, I have moved the same about of stuff using 2 men and it has never taken more than 7 hours.  I can provide the BBB with the name and number of this company to verify.  Georgetown Moving took 13 hours with 3 men.  The crew leader is the ONLY employee who apologized for all of the mishaps.  he said, "*****, I am really sorry about everything that has happened, it should never have taken this long either.  They (the management) sent me out here with two new guys who have not even been through any training."   I don't think anything else needs to be said about the overbilling issue.

-I was a victim of blatant mismanagement by Georgetown Moving that caused damage to my property and further financial harm with the bill.  A nasty response is not a resolution I will accept.






 


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response:

Again, as terms and conditions stays company do not guarantee that estimated hours will not be exceeded due size number of items added by customer, move took simply longer.

About the customer, let me prove his communication issue, let me quote first : "I do not consider someone who cannot match a basic paint color "qualified" to do any repairs to homes or furniture and I think anyone would agree with me. " Yes, I do agree, I did NOT match the pain, just took sample to Home Depot and they did it, easy and simple, nothing else. When I have realized that paint made by them do not matched, have asked customer about original paint name and store was purchase and few days later 1 gallon of paint was ready to accomplish repair but ... customer refused service, and as we see now for wrong reason.

Let me quote more: "This same individual damaged a hanging rack of ours due to carelessness while attempting to fix our couch. ", Yes, that's is correct, I did not realized about the damage because room I was working was packed like storage unit with 40 boxes and some clothes, and I have to tilt the sofa up side down, but again, I HAVE PURCHASED NEW ONE FOR YOU LADY!!!, is ready for delivery and you know about that!!

I simply think we have a basic communication problem, customer obviously do not understand the process of repairs and do not listed when feedback from company coming to her. I am sorry about that.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Please read the responses from the "Business".

Nothing said explains anything and no means of resolution has been proposed at all.

This is becoming ridiculous.

Regards,

***** ********








2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues