BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Georgetown Moving and Storage Company

Phone: (703) 889-8899 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 North Glebe Road Suite 1010, Arlington, VA 22201 http://georgetownmoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgetown Moving and Storage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Georgetown Moving and Storage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2009 Business started: 05/05/2001 Business started locally: 05/05/2001 Business incorporated: 08/23/2007 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 1675188 - MC615665.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Doreta Borecka, President Mr. Jim Al, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Al, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Doreta Borecka, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Douglas & Douglas, Inc Georgetown Moving & Storage Co.
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 1100 North Glebe Road Suite 1010

    Arlington, VA 22201

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 536-3868(Phone)
  • (301) 715-3899(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had many problems on my most recent move with Georgetown Moving and Storage. Both properties involved in the move sustained extensive structural damage. Some repairs have been made but the response has been extremely slow. We had extensive damage to a few pieces of furniture and the repairs were not satisfactory. (couch frame and all 4 legs broken, cubicle severely scratched). It has never taken more than 7 hours door to door moving us with a 2 men moving crew and truck. Georgetown estimated 6-8 hours and the 3 man crew arrived and stated that it should take no more than 6 hours. The 3 man crew took 13 hours to complete the move and in the process caused the above issues. The crew admitted later that 2 of them were new and had never been put through training. The office staff was very elusive and then nasty to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I think my two pieces of furniture should be replaced and that I should be charged no more than 6 hours for the moving service. Had an experienced crew been sent and properly supervised, I believe that the move would have taken a normal number of hours and my property and residences would not have been damaged.

Business Response:

Dear BBB. and **. *****

Let me answer to all issues here:

After the move claim form received by company with few issues that most of the me has been resolved:

- **** bookcase - fixed

- sofa -> small issue on the BOTTOM (not visible from regular use), frame and **** type legs (stapled not even glued by manufacture) -  were fixed.   

- walls .... I wish to ask what customer have in mind while writing about "extensive structural damage", seriously? structural? I was notices many marks on the dry wall, all was patched and sanded, ready to be paint. Drywall is definitely not a structural issue.

**. ***** have my personal cell phone number, last message was exchanged on 07/15:

Me" I am checking your availability to accomplish the repairs"

*****: "It would be later afternoon today or maybe Thursday .. or this weekend"

Me" Today will not work but after tomorrow evening anytime"

*****" I won't be home before 6 tomorrow"

... and that's all, never heard nothing until this complain and customer mention something about "slow response"? I wish to mention customer making this issue difficult from his own site, as a company representing repair man I wish to resolve it asap but how can I do this if customer do not want to set any appointment.

Additionally I wish to mention customer have just basic insurance of 60 cents per pound and company in his case is not obligated to send anybody to mane any repairs (do not have full replacement value insurance and **** pressed wood is NOT insured - customer signed agreement)

Thank you

***

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

-The response (or lack thereof) initially didn't allow for any repairs at my previous residence.  Floors were scratched, holes put in walls, structural corners damaged.  These repairs have already been made. 

-The in house repairman was never prepared to fix anything in one trip, could not match paint, etc.  Was not qualified to do any such repairs therefore not an acceptable solution.  There is always a reason not to finish or not to show up...this is not acceptable- an outside, third party, QUALIFIED contractor should be doing any repairs.

-Still completely ignored is the final bill which is also unacceptable.  I was told by the estimator and the crew that the job should take no longer than 6 hours.  I have done the same move in the past with a 2 man crew and it has never taken over 7 hours.  The crew that Georgetown Moving sent was inexperienced and 2 employees were admittedly untrained.  The three of them took 13 hours to complete our move including all of the damages to residences and personal property.  The bill has yet to be amended. 

-I will not have ANY employee of Georgetown Moving enter my residence again.  This company does not take professional responsibility for its actions in or out of the office and consumers must be made aware.


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response:

Customer response is obviously false and coming from low educated knowledge about general contracting subject, let me remind customer quote about "structural damage" issue while scratching a wall ....

Contactor have more than 8 years in experience with general contracting and wood working and providing his services for 3 major moving companies in the area . We have already 2 appointments (let me quote customer : " There is always a reason not to finish or not to show up". That's obvious a lie. On the 2nd time paint for the walls did not match, that's true, that is why I ask customer to provide me detailed info about the paint and as I have mention before 3 weeks ago, I have  asked customer to set day and time because paint is ready, customer have refused the meeting (can send actual picture of cell phone text conversation) .

Also customer have informed that any issue on the bill will be processed after repairs are done, unfortunately due a customer resistance to the repairs company will not participate with any discount at that moment. Customer paid for time exactly what was required to move his goods. I wish to mention that was a lot of things.

I wish to quote few thinks customer AGREED and SIGNED on the paperwork on the day of the move and I will be able to provide scanned copy on request:

DECLARATION OF VALUE:
Unless additional insurance is purchased, the agreed or declared value of property will not exceed $0.60 per pound per article, up to a maximum of $50 per article.
Additional Full Value Protection insurance is available upon request and the minimum Declared Value must be equal $6.00 times the estimated weight of your shipment.
Please be advised that if additional insurance is not purchased, basic valuation cover is a limit on carrier's liability for loss of or damage to your goods while they are in its
custody and control.

Translation: customer did not purchase additional insurance, company was not obligated at all to sent anybody to do any repairs for him. Company did it to provide high quality of service and customer refused.

LIABILITY:
Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. is not liable for glass, marble, lamps, artwork, TV's and stereos, unless they are disconnected, serviced, boxed and/or crated by
Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. and all related charges are listed on the Bill of Lading. Georgetown Moving and Storage Co. do not take responsibility for the internal
workings of electronic equipment. No Carrier shall be liable for wall or floor damage. Furthermore, Georgetown Moving and Storage does not take responsibility for pressed
wood furniture assembled by owner
, valuables, jewelry, documents or any valuable papers, currency or stamps, live plants or acts of God.

TRANSLATION: no comments, customer read and agreed with terms and conditions. 

GENERAL NOTICES:
Estimate is based on the items listed by customer and only those items are included in the cost. Any additional items, information, packing of boxes and/or storage not
included on the estimate may result in additional cost and may alter the final cost of the bill.

Translation: customer have more items to move so it took longer for movers to accomplish project

 

and on the end:

Customer acknowledges that read Rights and Responsibilities statement, Declaration of Value, Important and General Notices. Customer acknowledges that all information
listed on the Estimate is correct. By reserving the date, Customer agrees to all Terms and Conditions

 

Please let me know if you wish to keep original paint and wardrobe rack or should be returned to the store, since professional contractor is not enough skilled to perform some basic wall touch ups?

Thank you

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


As a final response I will use a few bullet points to keep it short.  To the BBB- I think it is obvious what kind of company I have been dealing with from these responses.  They have been both unprofessional and unapologetic for what happened to me, my stuff, and my residences.  My credit card company had much trouble with contacting the office and then was treated very unprofessionally on many occasions by Dorata.  I am not lying and have no reason to do so.  Any responsible business owner knows that a contract is not something to hide behind and does not fully shield it from liability when shady business practice is concerned. 

-  I did have trouble with setting up repair appointments and ceased contact.  I do not consider someone who cannot match a basic paint color "qualified" to do any repairs to homes or furniture and I think anyone would agree with me.  This same individual damaged a hanging rack of ours due to carelessness while attempting to fix our couch. 

-Again, I have moved the same about of stuff using 2 men and it has never taken more than 7 hours.  I can provide the BBB with the name and number of this company to verify.  Georgetown Moving took 13 hours with 3 men.  The crew leader is the ONLY employee who apologized for all of the mishaps.  he said, "*****, I am really sorry about everything that has happened, it should never have taken this long either.  They (the management) sent me out here with two new guys who have not even been through any training."   I don't think anything else needs to be said about the overbilling issue.

-I was a victim of blatant mismanagement by Georgetown Moving that caused damage to my property and further financial harm with the bill.  A nasty response is not a resolution I will accept.






 


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response:

Again, as terms and conditions stays company do not guarantee that estimated hours will not be exceeded due size number of items added by customer, move took simply longer.

About the customer, let me prove his communication issue, let me quote first : "I do not consider someone who cannot match a basic paint color "qualified" to do any repairs to homes or furniture and I think anyone would agree with me. " Yes, I do agree, I did NOT match the pain, just took sample to Home Depot and they did it, easy and simple, nothing else. When I have realized that paint made by them do not matched, have asked customer about original paint name and store was purchase and few days later 1 gallon of paint was ready to accomplish repair but ... customer refused service, and as we see now for wrong reason.

Let me quote more: "This same individual damaged a hanging rack of ours due to carelessness while attempting to fix our couch. ", Yes, that's is correct, I did not realized about the damage because room I was working was packed like storage unit with 40 boxes and some clothes, and I have to tilt the sofa up side down, but again, I HAVE PURCHASED NEW ONE FOR YOU LADY!!!, is ready for delivery and you know about that!!

I simply think we have a basic communication problem, customer obviously do not understand the process of repairs and do not listed when feedback from company coming to her. I am sorry about that.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Please read the responses from the "Business".

Nothing said explains anything and no means of resolution has been proposed at all.

This is becoming ridiculous.

Regards,

***** ********








2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues