This business is not BBB accredited.

Excalibur Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (301) 637-3637 View Additional Phone Numbers 12221 Parklawn Drive- Suite 200 E, Rockville, MD 20852 http://www.excalibur-movers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Excalibur Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Excalibur Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2011 Business started: 03/18/2011 in MD Business started locally: 03/18/2011 Business incorporated 03/09/2011 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is 742546.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eli Cohen, Owner Mr. Itai Landsberg, Partner Ms. Emma Costa, Relocation Consultant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eli Cohen, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Emma Costa, Relocation Consultant
Principal: Mr. Itai Landsberg, Partner
Business Category

Movers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12221 Parklawn Drive- Suite 200 E

    Rockville, MD 20852 (301) 637-3637

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excalibur Moving Company has my personal property and will not release it to my designated moving and storage company despite repeated attempts to secure my property. I would like my personal property out of their storage facility and a full-refund for their failure to honor our contract ($1,500). I chose Excalibur Moving Company to move and store my personal property. They picked up my property on or about 26 April 2014. While at my house, they dropped my piano from their truck lift (appraised damages $3,750.00). When the Company billed me, they billed me for 4 hours of work. I disputed the charges (they charged the half an hour from reloading my piano and calling their manager, Eli). They finally agreed not to charge me the half hour, but then added .2 hours it took to clear the disputed charge. I called Eli the next week to coordinate an appraisal for my piano. When the appraiser arrived, they refused to uncover the entire piano for his inspection, and wanted to charge me to resend the appraiser into the unit to better inspect it. Eli cursed at me over the phone, and when I asked to speak to his supervisor, he refused to let me speak to anybody other than him. I called multiple times requesting to speak to his supervisor, but he continued to refuse and berate me over the phone. I called Eli at 6:04 PM on 30 June to inform him that I had coordinated a new moving company to pick up and store my personal property on 17 July 2014. Eli said he would still charge me for the entire month, but to call Excalibur within a few days of moving to confirm the move-out date. I confirmed the 17 July move-out with Excalibur’s relocation consultant, Autumn, on Monday 14 July. I told her the moving company, *** ***** ********, would arrive between 9 – 11 am on Thursday 17 July; and that their manager, *****, would call to confirm the move on Wednesday 16 July. ***** called me on Wednesday, and told me Eli at Excalibur would not permit him to move my personal property on Thursday because he was “too busy”. Eli further told ***** that I had not coordinated with Excalibur. I called Autumn back at Excalibur, and she acknowledged our conversation earlier in the week, and said Thursday would no longer work for them. ******** and Excalibur arranged a new date to pick up my personal property on Friday 18 July at 8:00 A.M. ***** called me on Friday at 8:18 A.M. and said Excalibur would not cooperate to move my personal property out of their storage unit. *** ***** arrived 15 minutes early, and waited past their appointment time for Eli to open my unit. Eli eventually showed up, began a verbal altercation with one of *****’s drivers, and further denied *** ***** adequate time to pack out and inspect my personal property (he reportedly offered no more. I called Eli, and informed him that his actions were inconsistent with good business practices, and that I wanted my personal property out of his storage facility immediately. He refused to listen to me, and tried to speak over me to drown me out. I was not happy. I told him to let me finish, and he refused. I informed him I would contact an attorney. Excalibur has consistently delivered sub-par service to me, Eli has cursed at and berated me, re fuses to let me speak to somebody more senior than him, and he continues to fabricate excuses to not provide adequate time for my new moving company to pack-out and store my personal property. I called a local ********* attorney, who referred me to the Maryland Attorney General.

Desired Settlement: I would like my personal property out of their storage facility and a refund. EXCALIBUR MOVING COMPANY Eli, Manager ***** ******** ** *********, MD ***** WITNESSES: PIANO ADJUSTOR ***** ******* ********************** ***** *** * **** *** ***** ******** *****, Manager ###-###-####

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
We are providing this response just as a courtesy; we don't have a membership with the BBB or any interest in being a member of your company. We just decided to give a short explanation to the complaint made by ******* *********. Everything he is saying is a lie and also incorrect. He is welcome to come to get his stuff at any time, and there were no damages made to his piano. He was given all information prior to reserving his move with us and only charged for the time the guys were working. His total was $774 and not the amount he mentioned; he is trying to make money from moving companies. He is welcome to take us to court if he thinks we need to give him anything. The whole story he is giving about his move is a complete lie. We are tired of answering the complaints of lying customers.
Excalibur Moving and Storage Team

12/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the company initially to get a moving estimate. When I talked to the representative on the phone, she did not seem attentive to details so I told her I did not want to schedule an estimate. They sent me a **** ** ******** credit card processed form for $75.00 to my email address. I replied to the credit card form telling the sender that I would report them to the BBB. I received a call from them stating that the credit card form was sent by accident. They then sent a barrage of emails to my email address and they continue to send quotes and other spam to my email address.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending emails to my email address.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

This is the office manager **** at Excalibur Moving and Storage. We are contacting you regarding the complaint Id # *******. We did contact *** ******; he went online and submitted his information to three different moving lead providers. As we work with almost all of the providers we contacted him because we understood it was urgent to contact him. He was ignoring our calls and emails and never responded to let us know he was not interested in our services. When *** ****** asked us to stop calling and emai!ing him that is what we did.

The only thing *** ****** was concerned about is that we sent him a receipt that was meant for a different customer, That happens sometimes when there is a lot of traffic and there are many people calling. There was no reason for him to go online. He is acting ridiculously about this matter. We are trying to conduct our business. I hope that in the end BBB is not going to submit this complaint, because we are just trying to do our business. I am expecting the BBB not to even consider complaints like these. There is no reason for him to complain because there was no service given to him by us or any deal made between Excalibur and this man. He has been removed from our contact list anyway.

By the way on the lead provider policy it says very clearly that when you submit your information you are entering into an agreement between you and the moving lead provider. It also states that any company can call you as much as they want until you answer, or call and say you don't need the service anymore, or ask us to stop calling you. Excalibur Moving and storage did what they were supposed to do by law and the moving lead policy.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
It suggests that the harassment of prospects and sending false charges by their employees is justified. The complaint is legitimate and should help to inform others of what to expect from the Excaliber Moving Company.
 
Thankfully, we were moved by *** **** ****** ******* who would never think of harassing a prospect or sending a false invoice.  *** **** ****** ******* was phenomenal and should be the model for Excalibur Moving Company and all moving companies.  That should not be a surprise when *** **** ****** ******* has an A rating while Excalibur has an F rating on BBB and perhaps others.


Regards,

*** ******








Business Response: To whom it may concerns,

I am contacting you regarding the complaint ID *******. It looks like we are about to waist too much of our important time. I want to mention It very clearly; we did not give any service to this man *** ******. His issue with us has nothing to do with our business. We did not harass him or bother him for nothing. We did call him a few times asking if he needed the service- We removed him from our database when he said he didn't need the service. We are not trying to waste time on this matter. I am expecting the BBB to not contact me regarding this matter anymore. WE DID NOT PROVIDE ANY SERVICE TO THIS MAN. He probably has a personal problem and next time he should not go online and submit his information for a moving service. That way he will not be "harassed" by other moving companies.

Sincerely,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Excalibur Moving & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)