BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

DC Pro Moving And Storage Inc

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 11525 Monticello Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20902 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dcpromovers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DC Pro Moving And Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for DC Pro Moving And Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for DC Pro Moving And Storage Inc include:

  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 15, 2011 Business started: 08/01/2010 in MD Business started locally: 08/01/2010 Business incorporated: 08/12/2010 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 2067172.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Avraham Perez, Owner Ms. Luna Perez, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Avraham Perez, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Luna Perez, Office Manager
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
DC Pro Movers
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 11525 Monticello Ave

    Silver Spring, MD 20902

  • 1713 S Arlington Ridge Rd

    Arlington, VA 22202

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 570-7220(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is the definition of underhanded. They give you an estimate and the estimate is not even close to what they actually charge you. They get to your new residence to unload and then hit you with a bill that is double what they had quoted you and they refuse to unload the truck until you agree to pay the bill. I would never use this company again, everything seems great until you actually use them. ***, the manager/owner, is rude disrespectful and whenever you ask questions about the bill would just keep saying the same thing over and over and over again "look at this estimate it says there can be other fees." The movers got lost for an hour, more than likely eating lunch and they billed me for that hour saying that they couldn't put my new address in their GPS, so I had to go meet them at a cross street so they could find my new house. The entire experience became extremely stressful at the end of the day which is the exact opposite of why I had chosen to use a moving compay in the first place

Desired Settlement: I would like the original quote of $750 to be honored. They jumped the quote up to $1389 and then dropped it down to $1275.

Business Response:

**** ******** (**********)

 Firstly, I’d like to apologize on behalf of DC Pro Movers for any inconveniences we may have caused you.

 You were given an estimate of $750 for 9 ½ hours of moving, not to include packing supplies and the 7% fuel surcharge.

 When scheduling your move with DC Pro Movers, you signed a form which states that you agree to accept the proposal with an hourly rate quote and do not require the exact number of hours to complete the proposal. Sometimes, the moves take longer than we anticipate. The move took a total of 12 ½ hours (including travel time).

 As you mentioned, the movers got lost on the way to you, which added to the moving time but because of this, we discounted the total price of your move.

 You were charged $314 for packing supplies which you were aware of before the move began. Once again, you signed the form which said that all fabric items and fragile items have to be wrapped for the move. 

 The fuel charge was 7% of the total price- totaling at $91.

 The moving time, packing supplies, and fuel charge came to a total of $1,392.60. We discounted your move from $1,392.60 to $1,275- a total of $117.60. We compensated you a larger amount than the time that the movers were lost for to satisfy you.

 Unfortunately we cannot discount your move any more than previously have. Our movers did their best to deliver your things quickly and in good condition. If there’s anything else we can do for you, please don’t hesitate to ask.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 1, 2013 I made a last-minute arrangement for moving services based on the original moving company NOT SHOWING UP as scheduled -- DC PRO seemed to understand the urgency and, through a series of emailed communications (followed up by phone conversations) we scheduled a move to take place on July 2, 2013. Preliminary emailed estimates offered 3 movers at $85 per hour, but it was decided during a phone conversation that two movers would suffice since there wasn’t a lot to be moved. DC Pro also provided a verbal guarantee that their movers would arrive the next day by 8:00 am. I returned an electronically signed contract on July 1 (copy available) agreeing to 2 movers at $75 per hour who would arrive between 8:00 – 9:00 am to load, transport and unload specified items. These items were described to consist of a large 3-piece sectional sofa, a disassembled desk, an outdoor patio set (table disassembled) and grill, a mini fridge (empty) and a number of pre-packed boxes, along with some other small pieces of miscellaneous furniture (i.e., an empty 2-drawer file cabinet, a 2-shelf bookcase, a 6-shelf bookcase and a glass-top coffee table). The majority of the furniture (including mattresses, mirrors, computers and tv’s), fragile items, kitchen items (including furniture, dishes, cookware, appliances and food) and hanging clothing had already been moved. On the morning of the move, the movers called several times between 8:36 am and 10:32 am to advise that they would be late, stating first that there were issues with the truck and later that they were tied up in traffic. When they arrived at 10:55 (in what appeared to be a rental truck) there were 3 movers rather than the 2 agreed upon and I was told that I needed to sign their new contract for 3 movers (which showed a hand-written rate that was actually higher than the company advertised) – they argued that since they were late (due to being tired from not finishing a job in VA until 10 pm the previous night) it would be to my benefit to have 3 movers get the job done faster -- at this point I felt that I had no choice (we were already 2 days late getting out of the rented home) so I signed and initialed several pages of documents that were required to be signed prior to beginning the job. I was not offered copies of any of these pages (but was able to obtain them after sending several email requests over next few days following the move). The contract I signed online the prior evening indicated that the company would use 'free' blankets to protect furniture but that sofas, mattresses, tv's and mirrors would require special protection – these ‘special protection’ packing materials were designated as items that needed to be purchased in addition to the expenses of loading/unloading – BUT since we had already moved all mattresses, tv's and mirrors the day before, I assumed the 'special protection' would only apply to the sofa and the glass top of a coffee table. I was aware that 'packing materials' were not included in the estimate but since the majority of our items were already packed in boxes which did not require any additional packing and/or protecting, I assumed the boxes would simply be loaded on the truck and the other small pieces of furniture would be loaded and then covered with a "free" blanket as is typically done when furniture is being moved. The online contract stated that generally a 1 bedroom house would take approximately 3-5 hours for 2 movers -- since all bedroom and kitchen/dining room furniture had already been moved, I assumed we would fall into the smallest category of a 1-BR house; i.e., the only actual heavy furniture (requiring more than one person to carry) was in the living room and on the patio. The movers made no attempt to perform quickly and actually took about 10 minutes just standing around talking before they even started working. I did NOT stay in the room with them and did NOT watch everything they were doing -- they represented themselves as a professional moving company and I trusted they would perform that way. Three full hours later they finally finished loading the items, and not only had they blanketed items such as bookcases and desk parts, but they placed them between flat cardboard boxes and then covered them in bubble wrap with massive amounts of tape to hold the bubble wrap on! (pictures are available) It was my understanding that those small furniture items would be placed in the truck and covered with a 'FREE' protective blankets -- placing items in flattened cardboard boxes for which I was charged $9 - $14 each (and which they can easily reuse) was simply a tactic to make the move take more time and cost more money -- it was totally unnecessary and clearly was an unethical and deceitful technique! The majority of the household items had already been moved before DC Pro arrived and, altho the truck held a lot of items, most of those items were previously packed boxes that had been re-boxed and/or re-taped by the movers! Likewise, they put sealed bags inside boxes – at no point did they indicate they would be re-boxing any items. They made no attempt to communicate with me about what they were doing or to seek my consent to needlessly utilize supplies to re-pack items. I could easily have transported bagged items in another vehicle, rather than pay for them to be placed in boxes costing $9-$14 each if they were unable to transport them, but there was no indication that bagged items were a problem OR that the boxes we had already packed were not transportable as they were. When they finally finished loading, I pointed out to them the huge gash in the wall and the damage done to the banister and the carpet (pictures are available), but the only response I got was a snicker and that they would tell their supervisor that I thought they did it! When they left the starting location, they informed me they would be stopping for lunch before they proceeded to the ending location! Since my daughter was at the ending location, I didn't accompany the movers, but when my daughter informed me that the move (estimated at less than $500 for 2 men to work 5 hours -- plus the fee for the REQUIRED packing materials -- which to my understanding would include only the 'special protection' for the sofa and glass table top) was $1163 I could not understand. If this is a professional company who provides estimates all the time, it doesn't seem possible that they could estimate 5 hours for 2 men to complete a job and then bill 7 hours for 3 men PLUS charge over $400 for unnecessary supplies! Although the sofa was large, the only other items from the second floor included a desk (disassembled), 4 patio chairs, a patio table (disassembled) and a grill -- everything else was on the first level and ready to be placed inside the truck -- at least half of those items were in the garage and only 20 feet from where the truck was parked – the remainder of the items were in a first-floor room. One person working alone could probably have loaded the majority of these items while the other two carried the other items from the second floor. This company totally misrepresented itself as professional and overcharged me not only for the materials but for the time spent loading and unloading! The bill (which was also NOT provided at the conclusion of services, but obtained after several email requests following the move) showed 7 hours of moving services, plus an hour of travel time and $402 for supplies. When the movers asked for $1163 I told my daughter NOT to pay it until I spoke to the company. This resulted in the movers immediately reducing the bill to $1,000 and the outcome of the angry phone call I made to the company was a further reduction to $930. However, this is still way over the amount that should have been charged! SEVEN HOURS of moving time – charged at a rate (1) higher than advertised by the company and (2) higher than the rate on the original contract PLUS a fuel charge higher than the amount on the original contract PLUS charges for supplies that were completely unnecessary!!! The movers refused to provide a copy of the new contract to my daughter on the receiving end but she felt she had no choice except to pay the amount being requested. Additionally, when questioned by her about the damage to the old location, the response was that they were not liable for it. The charge to fix the damage (to two walls, the banister and the carpet) will be billed by the landlord and now the moving company has no liability for it? This is ludicrous! I think this company's business practices and ethics need to be investigated -- they did not adhere to their part of the contract (i.e., a guarantee of arrival of TWO movers by 9:00 AM and the provision of 'PROFESSIONAL' moving services) and they fabricated a bill which was way more than their services required! Most importantly, my daughter was informed by a phone call from the company (shortly after the movers left) that if she pursued a complaint against their company, they would charge her credit card for the full amount of the original bill. Obviously the company has her credit card information, as well as mine, so this is considered a viable threat!

Desired Settlement: (1) This company should provide a refund for the extra time they charged to unnecessarily wrap items in cardboard and bubble wrap (instead of covering them in their advertised 'free' moving blankets) and for needlessly taping, sealing and re-boxing already-packed and sealed boxes; (2) their bill should be at the rate for TWO movers as agreed in the original contract I signed to schedule their services; (3) they should eliminate the excessive cost of the unnecessary packing supplies; (4) they should pay for any damages billed by the landlord at the old location (i.e., amount deducted from the refunded security deposit) and (5) they should be thoroughly investigated for both business and ethical practices (because they blatantly charged for unnecessary services AND because they threatened to charge additional fees to my daughter’s credit card if she pursued this complaint). A fair bill for the services we received (AFTER the company showed up 2 hours late and forced me to sign a new -- and changed -- contract) should include 4 hours of moving time at the rate for 2 movers, 1 hour of travel time, 5% fuel charge (as specified on the electronic contract I signed) and a reduction of the unnecessary supplies (e.g., decrease 78 square feet of bubble wrap @ $1 each and 27 rolls of tape @ $3 each by half -- to 39 square feet of bubble wrap and 13 rolls of tape -- and eliminate all other unnecessary supplies (e.g., 13 china boxes @ $9 each, 4 wardrobe boxes @ $14 each, and 5 plastic covers @ $14 each – I actually have no idea what the plastic covers are or why or how they were used!) This would reduce the total bill to a fair amount of 4 hours X 2 movers @ $75/hour ($300) plus 1 hour of travel time @ $75 per hour ($75) plus 5% fuel charge ($18.75) plus 39 square feet of bubble wrap X $1 ($39) plus 13 rolls of tape X $3 ($39) for a total of $300 + $75 + $18.75 + $39 + $39 = $471.75 (When an itemized list of damages and costs for repairs is provided by the landlord, we can provide a copy of it and request a separate refund, otherwise we would accept a full refund of $500. This would reduce the bill to a fair amount for the services we received and help to cover the cost of the damages caused by the movers. It would not, however, settle the issue of the unprofessional business ethics that have clearly been demonstrated by the company's blatantly deceitful work practices nor does it address the threat made to my daughter -- the customer!)

Business Response:

**** ******** (**********)

 Firstly, I’d like to apologize on behalf of DC Pro Movers for any inconveniences we may have caused you.

 ***. *******, you were offered three movers instead of 2. You could have declined the offer and had the two movers instead. The extra man costs more but speeds up the move, so essentially, you end up paying the same in terms of labor time. 

According to our correspondence, you said you had only a couple of items: large sectional sofa, coffee table, kitchen table (already disassembled) with four chairs, a couple bookcases, queen size mattress, deck furniture (table and 4 chairs), a gas grill (kinda large), a mini fridge and a bunch of boxes, and small misc items. In truth, your items filled up a 26 foot truck! A full 26 foot truck cannot be moved in 2 hours like you mentioned.

Regarding the packing supplies, the free blankets are used for wooden furniture only. This was clearly stated in the estimate that we sent you. Your sectional sofa, pictures, glass top, and other small miscellaneous items were items that needed protection, beyond the free blankets. Any supplies that were used were used to ensure the protection for your furniture. For example, any extra tape that was used over taped boxes was because the movers felt that they weren’t taped and secured well enough for the move. You mentioned that there were bags that were put into boxes- boxes are more secure and keep your things more contained than bags but we refunded you for the boxes that were used to transport your bags.

After everything, you called ***, DC Pro Movers’ supervisor, and he took an hour trip to personally come to your move to solve any issues. After arriving at your home, he explained to you in detail why you were charged what you were charged for and on top of that, gave you a discount of over $230, which you were happy about. After that, your friend showed up and added additional concerns which made you unhappy once again.

 Regarding the damages- some items are big and can be hard to move and manipulate in small rooms and hallways. This can result in small damages to your home. You signed a form before the move began stating that we are not liable for damage done to property, only household goods. Every moving company operates this way.

We do our best to deliver professional service at a fair price. You had last minute needs and we tried to accommodate you in your time of need. When you were unhappy, we did our best to compensate you and show you exactly why you were charged for what you were charged for.

Unfortunately, we cannot give you any more money back after the large discount we have already given you. If there’s anything else we can do for you, please don’t hesitate to ask.

Best,

DC Pro Movers

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company to do my move and they gave me a quote for 5hours plus one hour of travel time to move my 2 br apartment to a new house. When they got to my place their workers told me that the estimate was totally wrong and gave me another estimate that is more than 2x of the original amount. On the phone *** **** a rep from this said company made the estimate ,also informed us that we are allowed to pack our own things and furniture.When the movers arrived at my place no ID did not even introduce themeselves and rudely told me they had to redo the packing or they can't move them and that they have to charged me for the packing supplies. The lead person was extremely unprofessional and rude and states that if I would not agree I can just pay for their travel time and cancellation fee totaling 220USD without any work done. I agreed to just use them anyway for I don't want to waste my money and selected stuff that I wanted to be moved. They took all the lightweight furnitures and boxes which included my lightweight couch and left my dresser and chest drawer which I told then I wanted to be moved first and their supervisor said no problem. They took their time 3 men to move , one person did all the chatting, taking breaks all the time so there was only 2 person that was just doing the job , took 2 hours moving my stuff, 10 boxes and a set of couch and when I asked how about my dresser they told me I have to hire them again if I wanted to because it will not fit on their truck which y the way was not true because I saw the truck and it was half full which I think they are very guilty with and tried to cover up by just having the door half open. Left all my furnitures upside down on my new place. Charged me and wanted me to pay even before the job was completed. Threatened to charged me 3% more if I will pay by card instead of cash. Took back all the packing supplies after they unpacked my furnitures

Desired Settlement: Since they did not fullfill whay they promised and provided me with a very poor service , I am requesting money backeeven half of the amount of the 357 USD . itures and left us with all the heavy furnitures and told us , Oh those would not fit anymore we had to do another trip and it will incure additional charges plus another travel time". to me this is a total dishonesty to customer and having paid this much for a very poor and short service is ridiculously overpriced. Original estimate 5 hours and 1 hr travel time= 390, when the movers came me another estimate of USD 1300

Business Response: ****,

Firstly, I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused you. According to the information you provided us on the phone, we gave you an estimate of 5 hours and 1 hour of travel time, which is standard for a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived at your home, your move was much larger than expected.  The foreman onsite called the office and informed us that you had many things and he estimated the total move to be about $1,200- $1,300. He made sure to inform you of his estimated cost to ensure that you were aware of what the total would be. Your total came out to $357. The expenses (truck, gas, mileage, workers, etc) to send the movers out to your home and move the items that you requested cost about $300, not including any overhead charges.

For the inconveniences, we would be happy to compensate you $25. We're hoping that this will help you understand that we're trying to do our best and be honest with our customers about the total move price.

Thank you,
*** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract that was half of what the charge ended up to be at the end of my move. Yes the contract stated that the moving company had additional charges when it came to packing but what the company does is wrap everything you own twice over wasting so much product and charging you for it. My contract price for my 1 bedroom move was $538.00 . I ended up having to pay $1150.00. the difference between the two prices was for packing material....$492.00 for wrapping things and items that didn't need to be wrapped. I did not stand over the movers to watch every little thing that they did and I wish I would have, but when I was unpacking I had boxes inside boxes and wrapping that was ridiculous.. I would not recommend this business to my worst enemy.

Desired Settlement: My wrapping fee was $492.00, I would like half of that returned, due to there waste of product and not my items needing the packing.

Business Response: ******

On behalf of DC Pro Movers, I would like to apologize again for any inconveniences we have caused. Before you contacted the Better Business Bureau we were corresponding about your move via email. In the last email I sent, I offered you a compensation check of $75. We understand your frustration and we'd like you to understand where we're coming from- you had a lot of items that needed special wrappings. Things that were clearly stated in the email and contract that you signed. The movers use the amount of packing supplies that they felt were necessary to ensure the protection of your belongings. The most that we can do for you is to refund you $100...the profit that we have made from the packing supplies.

Thank you,
*** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2012 Delivery Issues
6/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service