BBB Accredited Business since

Brothers Movers, LLC

Phone: (215) 322-3177 View Additional Phone Numbers 264 Surrey Road, Southampton, PA 18966 http://brothersmovers.us


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brothers Movers, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brothers Movers, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brothers Movers, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 1996 Business started: 05/01/1991 Business incorporated 12/01/2002 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utility Commission (PUC)-PA
Keystone Bldg., 400 North Street, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.puc.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 717-783-7349
Fax Number: 717-787-5813
The number is A2267142.

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 805039.

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is MC488778.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Laurie White, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Laurie White, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 264 Surrey Road

    Southampton, PA 18966

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Brothers Movers in January 2015 regarding a local move. I inquired about pricing and availability and provided contact information. The company believed that this implied a moving agreement. However, their correspondence to me on 1/16 where they asked me if I was still looking for a mover led me to believe that no agreement existed. I arranged for other movers, but did not contact Brothers Movers further since I believed that I did not have an agreement with them. No contract was signed and no deposit was made securing a date. On the day before the day I queried Brothers Movers (2/13), Laurie contacted me to verify the move on the next day. I told her that there must have been a misunderstanding, and that I had scheduled other movers in their place. Laurie became verbally hostile over the phone. I apologized and offered some compensation for the confusion. She continued to be hostile, told me that there was already a crew and truck reserved for the 14th, said that there was nothing I could do and hung up on me. The following day I received an invoice for $580 for the truck, 4 hours of the crew's time and fuel surcharge. I also received a copy of my estimate with the words "F****** *******D" prominently displayed on the first page. When I emailed Laurie for an explanation and a modified invoice for the insult, she told me that had she known that was on the estimate she would not have sent it, and that the associate that put it there would be terminated from employment, but that I was still responsible for the payment. She offered cursory apologies. I replied that, given the lack of a signed agreement, deposit and the fact that she asked me on the 16th if I still needed a mover, I believed that there was no agreement in place and refused to pay the invoice. Her response was that, after consulting with their business advisers, the email where I provided contact information on 1/14 meant that I was aware of an agreement and that the invoice would still hold. I can provide the email chain leading up to 1/14, the email from 1/16 where I was asked if I still needed movers, the emails post "cancellation" and a copy of the invoice and the estimate with the inappropriate language.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be absolved from paying the invoice, a written apology on company letterhead for the offensive language on my last copy of the estimate, and no further contact from the company.

Business Response: After multiple conversations and emails with Mr. **** on January 8, 2015, in writing he confirmed for Brothers Movers to secure the date of February 14, 2015 for his families move. He attached his previous and new address along with his and his wife ********'s contact information. He received a confirmation sheet and letter this the same day. He received the following cover letter:

Hi  

Thank you for choosing our company. I know you’ll be pleased. 

Attached is the paperwork for your upcoming move.
I will give you a call a day or so in advance to see if we need to update anything.

When the job is complete they will give you a statement sheet. At that point we accept cash; money orders or certified checks. NO CREDIT CARDS. Please check with the office to see if you may write a personal check off of a locally opened account. YES!!

Any questions, please feel free to give me a call.
 
Thank you & talk to you soon.
 
Laurie

Laurie

When calling Mr. **** the day prior to the move to follow up it was immediately obvious that there was a problem.  He said he didn't need our service. When I made him aware that 4 men and a truck were set aside for him he became dismissal. I did follow with letting him know that several moves were turned down to accommodate him. I can't help but wonder how the conversation would have gone if I decided not to send a crew to him on moving day because he didn't sign a piece of paper. He was well aware that a contract was not necessary on a local move. 
 I followed up with our legal advisors and we are well in our rights to demand minimum payment for a service he contracted.

Laurie W****



Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


There was no meeting of the minds, given that, two days after the email referenced above, I received another note asking if I was still in the need of movers.  That wouldn't need to be asked if a written contract was in place.

In addition, I contacted the Pennsylvania Moving and Storage Associates (PMSA) and Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission (PUC).  

It appears that Brothers Movers is not licensed to operate in the Commonwealth of PA by the Pennsylvania PUC, and is, therefore, operating a Home Goods Transport service in the Commonwealth illegally.

Regards,

****** ****








Business Response: Now that Mr. **** has chosen to take this route I refuse to continue with his false accusations and nastiness any longer.  If he would like to continue this behavior it will have to take place through our attorneys. 



1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 28th, 2014 Brothers Movers moved my from Pottstown PA to Philadelphia PA in the process of moving me they created a "v" shape tear in the bottom of my mattress and ripped off all tags voiding the warranty. I have attempted to go through their insurance however the insurance is not adequate to cover the damage caused. They are rude on the phone and through emails and refuse to take credit for their damages. I have legal action threatened and will file a lawsuit if not settled outside of court on Feb 1, 2015. I have attempted several good faith settlement conversations with Lauire W**** (who refuses to admit she is part owner) but have been meet with negativity and horrific customer service. I have offered a fair settlement option however she is rude and will not negotiate. Also in the course of hiring them for my move I was quoted two men for three hours however on the day of the move three men arrived without my permission and moved me increasing the total charge by over $300.00. This additional man was again provided without my consent but I was required to pay for them.

Desired Settlement: I have offered the fair settlement option of a discounted refund of the services ($600.00) in exchange for the total cost of the mattress ($1768.00). If this is not provided I will initiate lawsuit for the total replacement cost plus court costs and attorney fees (an amount well over $2000).

Business Response: I have attached a string of emails started by *** ****. Including myself and a gentleman from ****** *************, ***** ******.

(Please note the "1st" email dated November 29, 2014) I have tried multiple times to help *** ****. She started her contact extremely nasty and continued threatening with untruths. As is this BBB complaint.

Even though the insurance company has never seen in over 100 years how bending a mattress can cause this damage I okayed them to pay the claim. *** **** refused multiple times. I had made the suggestion, as made to me, for her to talk to the manufacturer of the mattress. 

I will address her other untruths in the court room. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: As Brother's Movers is unwilling to negotiate I will continue with the two other government complaints and investigations I have initiated and will eventually make a formal complaint to Pennsylvania Utility Commission and send this matter before an administrative judge. The BBB can stand down as other government agencies in Pennsylvania are now alerted to this company and will be conducting a full investigation. Thank you BBB for your initial help in this matter but it seems Brothers Movers is uncivil in this matter.


Regards,

****** ****








8/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Brothers Movers to move my property from **** * **** ******* *** **** **********, Pa ***** to ** ******** ********* *******, PA *****. The original paperwork I received on June 24, 2014 for a move date of July 29, 2014 stated cash, cashiers checks or money orders - no credit cards accepted. I agreed to the terms of the contract. On July 25th, 2014 I received an email from Laurie of Brothers Movers stating a personal check drawn on a local bank would be accepted as payment as well. I was asked to call Laurie to verify the details of that call. On the evening of July 25th, I called Brothers Movers and was unable to reach anyone. I then contacted Laurie's cell phone # which was provided on the answering machine. During our conversation, I specifically asked Laurie if a personal check would be accepted. She asked if the email I received had the sentence - "Please check with office to see if a personal check written off of a locally opened account would be accepted" followed by a red "YES!!". I confirmed that I had received this email. Lauire then stated that a personal check would be accepted. I asked again - stating that I had been told cash only. Laurie again stated that a personal check would be accepted. On July 29th when the movers showed up I was told cash only. This was verified with a phone call to Laurie. She stated that if she had sent me that email (which I sitll have!) then it was a mistake and payment had to be in cash. I had to drive to Delaware to get cash from my sister to pay the movers. The movers went to ******* and unloaded my belongings without my being there to verify placement of items. The movers completed the move-in and were waiting for me when I was finally able to get to ******* to pay them. Additional charges were accrued while they were waiting for me to arrive from Delaware.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the company for the way I was treated and possibly a partial refund. I had to drive an hour and a half out of my way to get cash. I feel the email and conversation with Laurie should have been honored.

Business Response: Hello ****

When we first spoke of your move and payment terms it was always cash only since you were moving out of the local area.
When you contacted me prior to the move you caught me after hours and did not have your paperwork with me. It was a simple human error. You did know through the whole process of moving that it was cash only.
Regarding additional fees...you were not charge any additional fees and  I set up along with your sister for the men to be allowed in to your unit so you did not have to pay anything additional.  A matter of fact your bill came in at over $150 under the estimate. 
Any other questions or concerns you may contact me directly.
Laurie W****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: When I was told that a personal check was acceptable payment we made plans to pay with that method.  It may have been 'simple human error', but when it became apparent that there was no other way to pay, you could (and should) have honored your word.  Instead I was made to drive to Delaware to get cash, suffered emotional distress at your treatment of me  (the condescending tone of voice and the anger) and was unable to identify where I wanted my furniture.  I arrived home to ******* to find the crew waiting for me having finished unloading.  At that point I was tired and unhappy with the situation and just wanted it to end.  I did not ask for the furniture to be moved because there would have been addtional charges.  It may have been 'simple human error' on your part, but I was treated rudely, indifferently and in a condescending manner. 

Regards,

**** ******








Business Response: I am sorry **** that you were not happy with the service you received. For the month leading up to your move you and I had discussed your payment options. To the best of my knowledge there were no questions or concerns. We had discussed a certified check and I suggested you make it for less than the estimate and have a little cash on you as the men would not have change on them. You would of had to wait for me to refund any overage. This was not a concern for you.

During moving day as payment concerns arose I tried working with you. I even, per your request, called your sister to try and help you. As you became more adamant about the writing of a check that was not even your own and expected me to take it from someone I have had no contact with, yes eventually I did get frustrated with you as you were well aware for the entire move process that payment was in cash, certified check or money order. It was your sister that suggested you drive to her, not Brothers Movers. I had even told your sister that we should try to figure something else out. She said you were already on your way to her.
I do wish that things had gone smoother for you. As you know from moving with us before, we do go to great lengths to find out our customers needs and wants to be able to help them the best we can.
I wish you the best in your new home.
Laurie W****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brothers Movers, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)