BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (855) 792-8266 Fax: (866) 953-4569 125 Stewart Road, Wilkes Barre, PA 18706 http://www.mybekins.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. is a full-service moving company that owns and operates 17 physical branches around the U.S. It provides local, intra/interstate and international moves.  www.mybekins.com offers customers a modern, user-friendly way to get an estimate online, schedule an appointment and book a move.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. at its headquarters and all its company-owned locations throughout the United States are a BBB Accredited Business. This means they support BBB's services to the public and meet BBB Accreditation standards everywhere they do business. 

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. include:

  • 48 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 48 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 40
Total Closed Complaints 48

Additional Complaint Information

BBB Complaint experience is a total for all 17 company locations.  It is not reflective of any single branch location.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1933 in PA Business incorporated: 10/02/1997 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utility Commission (PUC)-PA
Keystone Bldg., 400 North Street, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.puc.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 717-783-7349
Fax Number: 717-787-5813
The license number is A108519.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lori Moran, Executive Vice President Mr. David Caruso, Chairman Mr. Rick Herrington, General Manager Mr. Mike Rogers, Managing Director, Claims & Risk Management
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Moran, Executive Vice President
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Rogers, Managing Director, Claims & Risk Management
Business Category

Movers

Products & Services

Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Bekins Van Lines

Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc. offers the following product(s): Apartment Moving, Artwork, Asset Management, Crating & Packing, Cubicle Installation, Distribution, Downtown Buildings, Equipment Rental, FF&E Services, Final Mile Delivery, Fine Furnishings, Household Moving, international moving services, interstate moving services, intrastate moving services, IT/Computer Relocation, Lab Relocation, Library Relocation, local moving services, Long Term Storage, Machinery Relocation, Military Moving, Office Moving, Onsite Moving, packing services, packing supplies and boxes, Project Management, School Relocation, Staging Services, Temporary Storage, Truckload and LTL, Warehousing

Method(s) of Payment
Personal Checks
Cash/Certified Funds
Company Billing
Credit Card
Alternate Business Names
Ace Moving & Storage Bekins Moving Solutions Pinnacle Worldwide Relocations Tri-Valley Worldwide Relocations

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Bekins to move us from one location in ************ FL to another in ************. We were very careful during the hiring process and tried to ask all the right questions. We interviewed 3 different companies and decided on Bekins. During our move the crew dropped our 3 year old washer off the truck ramp and badly damaged a bedroom gentlemans chest. We had only taken the base amount of insurance because we had been told how professional and careful their crews were. This was not the case. Being that it was our decission on the insurance there is not much we can do about that....live and learn. My real complaint is how our claim has been handled. We filled out the necessary claim forms and submitted it to Bekins in ************ on December 5, 2013. They in turn forwarded it to the claims department located in *********** IL where the claim would be handled and payment for damaged would be made. In mid December we received a letter dated December 13 from ******* ******, Vice President of Claims and Risk Management, stating that our claim had been reviewed and we would be receiving payment within the next 30 days. When we did not receive our payment in the time frame they gave us I tried to contact ******* ******. **. ****** seems to hide behind his voicemail. I placed calls to him January 16, 17, 20, 23 and 24th. I tried reaching him in the morning and afternoons. Not once did he return my calls. He is alot of things but professional is not one of them!!! To date we still have not received out settlement check. Bad things can happed during a move, but the worst part is how the matter has been handled by ******* ******. The customer service from Bekins deserves an F.

Desired Settlement: Bekins needs to make sure that people they put in charge of customer service actually provides it. We have been treated very badly by ******* ****** and in the future I will be sure to NOT recommend Bekins.

Business Response:

The customer's settlement check was mailed out of our Accounting office in PA on January 27th.  We apologize for the inconvenience in the delay in sending this out.

 

Business Response:

The customer's settlement check was mailed out of our Accounting office in PA on January 27th.  We apologize for the inconvenience in the delay in sending this out.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  My point is the POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!  Not one phone call has ever been returned by Bekins.  The payment was 14 days late in arriving.  I had tried to contact ******* ****** at the ***********, Il office numerous times with no response.  They sure as hell want you to use them but do absolutely nothing to provide service at any level.   Will not ever recommend this company!!!!!


Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  My point is the POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!  Not one phone call has ever been returned by Bekins.  The payment was 14 days late in arriving.  I had tried to contact ******* ****** at the ***********, Il office numerous times with no response.  They sure as hell want you to use them but do absolutely nothing to provide service at any level.   Will not ever recommend this company!!!!!


Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: We apologize for the lack of response that the customer experienced.  The customer's messages were forwarded to the Accounting office that sends out the checks, and we are sorry that she did not receive a reply back.  We will review our procedures for future improvement of Customer Service.  While we are concerned to hear about the experience the customer dealt with, we do appreciate the feedback.

Business Response: We apologize for the lack of response that the customer experienced.  The customer's messages were forwarded to the Accounting office that sends out the checks, and we are sorry that she did not receive a reply back.  We will review our procedures for future improvement of Customer Service.  While we are concerned to hear about the experience the customer dealt with, we do appreciate the feedback.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/16/2013, Bekins A-1 Movers, Inc delivered our furniture to *****, Fl. It had been in their possession since April 12 when they picked it up in *********, Fl and transported it to their warehouse facility in ******** for storage while our home was being completed. Upon delivery we noticed a tremendous amount of damage to our furniture. We had purchased the Valuation Protection and have followed the company’s process, however they have become uncooperative. Our correspondences with the company have been escalating and we now have no route but to file complaints with the BBB as well as the state boards. • Damage to the neighbour’s property. Upon arrival, the driver of the 18 wheeler damaged not only our property but the property of the two neighbours across the street trying to get into our yard. My husband had advised them to put pallets (which we provided) across the swale and come in that way, but they said it wasn’t needed. They then got stuck and damaged the neighbour’s yards when trying to do it their way. One of the passengers in the vehicle told my husband that the driver wasn’t good at backing up. They eventually took my husband’s advice and brought the truck into the yard, but the damage had already been done. One neighbour’s driveway (not paved) had such deep ruts in it she was unable to drive her car in and my husband had to attempt to fix it that night. • Damaged furniture. As items of furniture were offloaded, we noticed that almost every piece had damage to it. Not just a scratch here or there, but entire corners missing, pieces with doors no longer closing because the frame of the furniture had shifted due to the way they handled things (they put everything on an unpadded dolly and rolled it in vs. carrying some items in that should not be on a dolly – like the original folks who loaded the truck at our old house did). The back separated from the buffet, doors didn’t close in multiple items, the finish was take off of brand new nursery furniture that had never been used, items that they packed had chunks ta*** out of the corners, and a pantry cabinet was damaged so severely that the shelves didn’t even fit. We also own a 5 piece leather sectional. Every piece was damaged with tears, scratches and rub marks. This is just a small amount from the 6 or 7 page claim form I filed with the organization. Additionally, almost every box that came in my house was crushed. Including those that the movers packed. When I pointed it out, the mover told me it must be because I didn’t pack them correctly. I have moved several times over the years and never had an issue like this with boxes. They simply did not handle anything with care (proven by the damage to almost every piece of furniture). • Unprofessionalism. When the movers were at our (brand new) home, one of the gentlemen vomited twice in our home. He was touching everything in sight. With a brand new baby, we had to have our bathroom completely disinfected with hospital grade bleach to protect ourselves. When I mentioned this to *** *******, the General Manager in ********, he advised he asked the crew and that while one of his guys did get sick, it was in the truck on the way home (telling me I was not telling the truth). I could never have known that one of his truckers was ill if it DIDN’T occur at my home. I certainly have not kept in touch with them to find out after the fact. As the move progressed and my frustration was escalating, the movers stopped asking where things should be put. Boxes that were marked with specific rooms were just dumped in one room. My husband advised that they didn’t need to put the sectional together; however they didn’t even leave the pieces right side up. • Filing the claim. o According to the instructions of the company, I filed my claim with them on August 19, well within the 60 day time-frame outlined on the paperwork. When I spoke to ***** *******-Corp in their office, she advised they were trying to find a furniture repair company. I provided a name of a well known, reputable company that had done work for my parents, as well as friends, in the past. I was then advised that a different company would come out and do the evaluation and subsequent repairs. o On August 30, the furniture repairs took place. While some repairs were satisfactory, others were not. Additionally, they did not do the sofa repair as it would be a leather company doing that. I expressed my concern that the sofa would not be repaired to its original state and asked what the costs were going to be as we may take the cash option. I was then told by both Ms. *******-Corp and **. ******* that they deemed the sofa repairable and I could not have a cash option. When I pointed out that the terms and conditions state that both options are available, including a third replacement option, I was told by **. ******* that it didn’t matter what the terms and conditions said, that my only option was to do what he told me and if I didn’t like it, to do what I “have to do”. Apparently, “bullying” customers is the way **. ******* is used to handling customer issues and getting his way. At that point, I advised I wanted to speak with the person in charge of claims and I was directed to **** ******. o I contacted **. ****** on Sept 4, explaining the situation to him. Per his request I sent him the email correspondences I had with **. ******* and Ms. *******-Corp. **. ****** advised he would call me back Sept 5. This never happened. I left voicemail messages for **. ****** on Sept 5 & 6. My calls were never returned. o On Sept 9 I sent **. ****** another email correspondence outlining the furniture pieces that had not been repaired to our satisfaction. I did not get a reply to this email. o On Sept 13, I called and received **. *****’s voicemail again. I backed out of the automated system and selected the option to speak to the claims department. I asked the representative for the contact information for the person **. *****’s reports to since I had not gotten any response after our initial conversation. The rep advised she did not know who **. ****** reported to and asked if there was something she could do. I advised I needed the contact information or my next step would be to contact the BBB, state licensing board, and a lawyer. o Within one hour of my phone call, I received an email from **. ****** stating that he forwarded my email from Sept 9 to **. ******* who would be handling the claim. I replied back asking why this situation was being referred back to **. ******* who had given me **. *****’s information in the first place. **. ****** replied advising he was simply there to advise on the valuation protection itself, but not to handle the claim. It is now Sept 18. I have still not heard anything from **. *******. I have furniture that remains damaged (including some that repairs had been attempted) and my patience has run out.

Desired Settlement: Replacement value of the pieces of furniture that were not able to be brought to their previous state (as according to the terms and conditions). I would also appreciate having my correspondences acknowledge and replied to by someone who is not going to try and bully me. I paid for the valuation protection, need it due to the incompetence of the movers, and would like to have the situation resolved so that I do not have to keep addressing it over and over.

Business Response: Our settlement letter was sent to the customer on September 16th detaining our position, and our offer of settlement.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I received the company's "settlement" offer on 9/19. I replied with the following on 9/20:

Yesterday, I received a written note, dated 9/16 from your organization that my claim has concluded with a list of determinations. I am sending this in response and as notification that this claim has NOT concluded. I have a list of items that were not restored to the same condition as when you received it. I provided that list to you, in writing, with no response from your organization. AGAIN, according to the terms and conditions, the items must be repaired to the condition when you received them. I will not go through the entire list again, but I do have few corrections to the list you provided.
 
Crib - The only reason we have not had the repair performed on the crib is because the repair on the dresser for the same set was not done satisfactory and is no where NEAR the condition when provided to you. I was not going to disassemble the crib AGAIN when I have evidence that the repair can not be completed to the extent as outlined by your terms and conditions. Especially since you don't acknowledge any of the communications I have sent regarding this issue.
Items you listed as pre-existing condition were NOT pre-existing condition. No pre-existing condition was noted on my claim form.
Sofa - You state that we declined repairs, however I have it in writing that we did NOT decline the repairs. In fact, we authorized them, but cautioning you that we were unsure the unit could be to it's previous condition and we would address it at that point if they could not.
I have filed complaints with both the Dept. of Consumer Affairs as well as the BBB and will update those complaints with this latest correspondence. TO BE CLEAR: This claim is not CLOSED as I continue to have, in my possession, furniture that has not be repaired to it's previous state, as has been communicated to you previously. Your closing this claim, with that knowledge that the terms and conditions have NOT been met, is a direct violation of the "good faith" you list throughout the letter you sent.
 

 

Bekins is still not in compliance with their terms and conditions. My furniture has not been repaired to the state/condition it was when they took possession of it. I have not received a response from the company.

Regards,

******** *****








Business Response: We have a signed release signed by the customer that indicated that the repairs that were completed were to their satisfaction.  We feel that these items have been addressed, and are closed.  Our settlement offer for the remaining items were for the estimated cost of repairs provided by the Independent Inspection Services.  In summary, we feel that we have handled this claim fairly, and to the extent of our liability.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

A few things -

  • When the furniture repair man was here, he told us we were signing that he had completed the repairs. We showed him the items that we were just not happy with and advised that we would notify the moving company, Which we did within 2 business days. I am willing to have this gentleman subpoened regarding this discussion that both my husband and I were present for.
  • When I informed Bekins that I was not satisfied, I advised them that the repair man did what he could, but that the furniture was NOT brought to it's previous condition (which is required by the terms and conditions).
  • The repairs were still not dried prior to the repair man leaving, meaning it is IMPOSSIBLE for us to have know the final condition. If we can't touch wet paint, how can I possibly know that the dye will rub off on anything that touches it after it is dry. Additionally, we can not see the "finish" when something is still wet.
  • When the furniture repair folks came back a second time to deliver one of the pieces of furniture, we even walked through everything with the owner of the company who's words were "It doesn't look THAT BAD". Well it does look "That BAD". Additionally, the gentleman then started trying to make excuses - "If I could have taken it to my workshop we could have done a better job". Our response was that the repairs in question should have been able to be done on site if they could be repaired properly and he finally agreed. He also started getting defensive saying "Well, I don't know what it looked like before".

I have tried working with this company. I tried to deal with them in person, only to be treated with disrespect and bullying. In the past month, the ONLY two responses I have received is to let me know that *** ******* was handling the complaint and then a letter advising my claim was closed. They have not responded to anything else I have sent to them. At that point, I reached out to the BBB to see if they would start to help then, and still, the responses from the company are non-helpful. They still have not acknowledged or addressed anything.

Today, October 7, I sent the company a note asking for a copy of their arbitration policy as I did not receive one. I am waiting for the response and will need to proceed in this manner.

Regards,

******** *****








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 3, 2013
Better Business Bureau, West Florida
655 McCormick Drive Clearwater, FL 33759

Dear Sirs:

We are writing the Better Business Bureau to see if you can help us address an issue we are having with the ********, Bekins A-1 Movers. We moved our furniture with Bekins into storage in August 2012. We did not select the Valuation Protection option. Our decision not to select was based on the fact that most of what we were moving was boxes that we had packed ourselves.

We moved our furniture out of storage into our home on April 25, 3013. We were horrified to see one piece of furniture after another delivered into the home significantly damaged or completely destroyed. Of the approximately 25 pieces of furniture that was moved and stored, 9 pieces were damaged or destroyed beyond repair. We have enclosed pictures of most of the pieces damaged. An example pictured shows our solid brass floor lamp that was delivered to us in 3 broken pieces.

We have never received a phone call from Bekins A-1 explaining the extensive damage. We filed a claim as requested and received a check for $120 ($555 -$435 storage owed). In addition, Bekins A-1 would not explain to me why the move out was $1683 and the move in was $2666. The move out was a townhouse with stairs and the move in was a one level house. When I questioned the amount the only response the manager had is the move is $2666 and could not provide me with a breakout of the charges.

We obtained an estimate to repair the furniture that is repairable and it came in at $2,024. We are enclosing pictures to show you the extent of the damage. Needless to say we are very disappointed in how Bekins A-1 has handled our furniture and its aftermath. The extent of the damage was far in excess of what anyone could or should expect from a professional mover. Our position is that Bekins A-1 did not show competency and exhibited gross negligence in the handling of our furniture.

We understand that by not selecting the insurance, we are not entitled to full remuneration for the damage. What we would like to propose is a compromise. We are requesting that Bekins split the repair cost with us. With the $555 that we have already received that would mean we are requesting an additional $455 from Bekins. In addition, I would also like to obtain a breakout of the $2,666 charge, since the local manager would not explain it to us.

We look forward to hearing from the Better Business Bureau.

Sincerely,

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Consumer Response: See attached complaint 

Business Response:

We have reviewed the customer's complaint against our organization.  We will address each of the customer's concerns below.

The customer acknowledges that they did not select an increased level of valuation protection at the time the goods were picked up for storage.  While we regret that damages did occur suring the time we had the customer's goods, we have settled this claim to the extent of the liability that the customer chose.  We are not in a position to make any additional settlement for the damaged items.

The additional charges that the customer incurred were a result of a price increase that was instituted at the beginning of the year.  As the customer's storage began in 2012, and ended in 2013, this is why there were charges that were higher than the charges they incurred at the time of pickup.

 

We hope that this has satisfactorily answered the questions that the customer had regarding their charges.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this business has my storage units, including valuable antiques, I paid my storage fees through the month of November 2013, in October 2013. Yet I'm being told in order to access any one of my storage units that I must pay 45$ per hour to view my item in storage. My goal is to get all of my items out of storage by November 2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like not to be charged the 45.00/hr fee to access my storage units and empty them. Over 4 visits or so in the month of November 2013. A month thru which I've paid my storage fees in advance.

Business Response: We have read the complaint filed by our customer.  This customer has been in storage with us since 1975.  In the years she has had her goods in storage, we take note that she has accessed the goods several times, and has paid for the access charges each and every time.  It is our policy to charge our customers for access time.  In addition, this point was brought up to the customer's attorney, when they contacted our office recently.  While we regret that this may not be the answer that the customer is trying to achieve, but we cannot alter our corporate policies.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bekins A-1 Movers and its international moving division ***** ************* has not responded to our request for information via phone, email, and fax regarding the receipt and processing of our insurance claim for damaged and/or missing items related to our move from Texas to St. Thomas, VI . The original claim form was sent to them on June 1, 2013. We are requesting that the company contact us regarding the receipt and processing of the claim.

Desired Settlement: Pay out on insurance claim for damaged or missing items during move.

Business Response: We are in receipt of the customer's claim, and it has taken some time for us to gather the necessary information, as we are dealing with international service providers.  We have received the information needed, and will be finalizing the claim with the customer within the next week.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1) Move was scheduled for basement June 23 and remainder of house June 24. Five loaders showed up an hour late on the 23 and told us they were moving everything that day. We were forced to get out and *** paid for a hotel room.(2) Two guys were sent to unload. They both had 5 weeks of experience. There was no supervisor because supposedly the supervisor didn't show up for work on June 25. It took 13 hours to unload. I sat by and watched these two young kids tear up my furniture. The driver and I both reprimanded them repeatedly and asked them to be more careful. They inadvertently put my bed slats in storage. The assured me the bed was OK to sleep on and when I leaned on it, it fell down. I had no place to sleep but the sofa. The next day I fell asleep while driving, rear ended someone, got a ticket for reckless driving and did $9000 worth of damage to my car. I emailed ***** ***, the manager at ***, to tell him about the accident. He never responded.(3) I filed a claim in mid July. I have called 3 times to follow up and keep getting excuses about how the office person is waiting to hear from **. ***.(4) I have moved 17 times and never had such a bad experience. (5) I noticed on ***'s website that they pride themselves in up to date equipment. The truck they sent when we loaded kept overheating. The driver had to leave it and come back later to take it away. They had to rent a truck to drive down for the unload. The original truck appeared to be very old.(6) Five guys were sent to load and we had no problems with that. It was very unfair to the two guys who were sent to unload. It was too much work for them. It took 13 hours in 95 degree heat. They had no training or supervision. I am told that I cannot claim anything that is damaged that I don't discover until the storage units are emptied. I know there is additional damage. I provided blankets and pads and saw the two guys stacking wooden case good pieces on top of each other with no pads in between.

Desired Settlement: I want my claim to be honored.I would also like to be able to submit a claim for additional damage once everything is removed from storage in about 3 months because I am confident there is much more.I have very expensive furniture and absolutely no care was given to my possessions. **. *** has a very unbusinesslike attitude and should be put out of business based on the way my move was handled.It is irreprehensible to think a mover would send 2 inexperienced people to unload an entire hhold.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the customer's complaint, and the paperwork governing her relocation.  We take note that we do not have a claim form from the customer.  Accordingly, we will forward her a Claim Form immediately, and ask her to itemize her damages.  We will send the claim form electronically to the customer's email address.  The Claim Form will then be sent to our Administrative Headquarters, to the Claims Dept. for review and response.  The customer has 9 months from the date of delivery to file the claim.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My household goods were packed and then picked up in *******, KS on 14 June. On 19 June *******, a Bekins agent at phone number ###-###-####, called requesting the date we would like to have our household goods delivered. At that time we informed the agent we wanted to set the delivery date for 17 July. On 16 July I contacted ******, a Bekins agent at phone number ###-###-####, to confirm that the delivery was still scheduled. The agent confirmed our original request for 17 July was noted in our file, but Bekins had not coordinated for the delivery of our household goods. Based on the delay in coordinating the delivery date with the destination agent (warehouse),I am now being informed the earliest delivery date available is 5 August. A three week delay because of an error on Bekins part is not acceptable. I have tried numerous times to resolve this issue through the assigned agents and have not been able to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: Request household goods be delivered no later than 22 July.

Business Response:

We have researched this issue, and unfortunately, we cannot deliver any earlier than the 5th of August.  The customer's goods were delivered to a warehouse as storage-in-transit, and the warehouse where the goods are stored cannot deliver any earlier than the assigned date of August 5th.  While we regret that this matter cannot be handled to the customer's satisfaction, we did everything we could to attempt an earlier delivery date, but were not able to accommodate the customer's wishes.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I understand that the warehouse where my goods were delivered cannot deliver any earlier than 5 August, but this is not the reason that my goods were not delivered on 17 July as coordinated with Bekins on 19 June.  The reason my goods were not delivered as previously coordinated are 1) Bekins delivered my goods to a second party warehouse and not to the Bekins facility in **********, VA and 2) Bekins failed to coordinate the requested delivery date that was noted in my file with the warehouse where my goods were delivered to.

I understand that once Bekins delivered my good to a second party warehouse they could no longer dictate the work schedule of the warehouse, but again this is not the reason my goods were not delivered on time.  There is a Bekins’ facility less than 15 miles from my home.  This facility has moving trucks and crews, which at a cost to Bekins, could have retrieved my goods from the warehouse and delivered them sooner than 5 August.

The main reason my goods were not delivered on time is that Bekins failed to coordinate with the warehouse they delivered my good to.  On 19 June a Bekins agent contacted us and requested the day we would like our goods delivered.  The date was set for 17 July and the Bekins agent informed us that she would coordinate the delivery.  It is more than feasible that if Bekins would have coordinated the delivery date with the warehouse on 21 June then my goods would have been delivered on or about 17 July when requested.  This 27 day window would have provided the warehouse more than ample time to coordinate on-time delivery. 

Since this is not an issue that was out of Bekins' control, I feel it is more than appropriate to request that Bekins compensate my family for the increased hardship and expenses we have incurred because of actions or lack of action that Bekins has taken.  The three week delay of delivery has already and will continue to increase our personal expenses for meals, work related items, and paying for lawn care.  If the United States Government were to send me on a business trip to the ********** **** area I would receive $71 a day for meals and incidentals (per diem).  I request that Bekins compensate my family $150 a day for the period of 17 July to 5 August (20 days) for a total of $3000.  This includes $71 a day for my wife and children, $71 a day for me, and an additional $8 a day to pay for the weekly lawn care. 

v


Regards,

****** *******







Business Response:

Again we apologize for the delay in the customer eceiving their household goods.  As we have previously stated, as the shipment was destined for storage at the outset of this relocation, we are not responsible for reimbursing the customer any inconvenience payment. We have been working with the Agent where the goods are stored, as well as SDDC to assist the customer in getting their goods quicker, to no avail.  While we sympathize with the hardship the customer has gone through, there is nothing we can do to compensate them for their inconvenience.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This still does not address that a Bekins agent called on 19 Jun to coordinate the delivery of the goods.  The agent annotated the requested deliver date (17 Jul) in my file and stated that she would coordinate the delivery.  In good faith, I did not contact the warehouse to schedule a delivery date.  If I would have know that this coordination was not going to happen, I could have contacted the warehouse to schedule delivery.  If the warehouse was selected from the outset, the lack of coordination for the delivery date is troubling.  When the goods were delivered to the warehouse on 21 June, Bekins knew of the delivery date and delivery address requested and had informed me that they would coordinate delivery.  I still believe that Bekins is at fault for the late delivery of goods and not the warehouse.  If Bekins would have done the proper staffing the warehouse would have had ample time to deliver to the goods.  

v


Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:

The scheduling that the Agent had in refernce to their work is not known to our Company.  While we regret that the customer has been inconvenienced, we cannot control the actions of the storage agent that is not directly affiliated with our Company.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

This is inconsistent with the actions and positions that Bekins has maintained throughout this process.  The agent in question is not a storage agent that is not directly affiliated with Bekins.  She is a Bekins employee.  Also, the work has been know to Bekins.  Attached is the email I received from Bekins on 16 July when they made first contact with the storage agent to schedule delivery.   In this email Bekins A-1 Customer Service schedules the delivery with the storage agent and directs me to contact Bekins to make changes.  Again this is not a storage agent Bekins is not affiliated with.  If this work had completed on 19 Jun when a Bekins agent contacted me to schedule the delivery the goods would not have been late.

A Bekins employee has maintained control of this process from the start.  If that was not the intent then a Bekins agent should have not contacted me on 19 June to schedule a delivery date.  On 16 July, Bekins should have been directed me to contact the storage agent to schedule delivery.  Instead a Bekins agent scheduled the delivery with the storage agent and forwarded me an email that only listed Bekins contact information.  The email did not have a phone number listed for the storage agent.  Bekins has maintained control of this process until a mistake was made and now a month into the process they do not have control.



Regards,

****** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arranged for TMO through the **** ***** office, and the company that they hired to ship my goods was Bekins A1. The packers/movers came to my house in North Carolina and took all of my things on 12 July. I was given a copy of the bill of lading, and on the paperwork it said that the delivery date would be 31 July. For TMO, that is actually a long time (for a CONUS move) and they assured me that date was the *absolute latest* it would be delivered. They were covered up until 31 July, but they gave me the impression it would not take nearly that long. So, 31 July came and went, and I still have none of my things. I have been talking to them repeatedly, leaving messages and sending emails (that usually go unanswered). On Monday, 5 August, I received a message from ****** telling me that my things would be packed up on 6 August, and she gave me the assigned driver's name and told me to call with any questions. I did call on 7 August to see what the expected delivery time would be, assuming they would be here to deliver my stuff 8 or 9 August. When I called and spoke with ****** (at the dispatch office) she didn't know who I was or what I was referring to. She finally put me on hold, and when she got back on the line she informed me that my things HAD been packed up on Tuesday, along with another shipment headed to Colorado. Evidently the other shipment was larger than they anticipated and caused them to go over weight, so my things were unloaded, and as of now are still sitting there in North Carolina with no driver assigned. Each time I speak with them they are very polite, and tell me that they just don't have enough drivers right now. I do understand that, however if they knew this was a busy time for them they should not have taken on my shipment, or at the very least should have given me a more realistic time frame to expect my delivery. I am told that my things are a priorty, and their website states that military shipments take precedence, however now that I am separated I really don't count as military anymore. Basically I'm on my own here. The issue is that I am given the opportunity to file "inconvenience claims", so that if I need to purchase essential items they will re-imburse me. I do not have money to go out and buy a bunch of new stuff, and don't have room for extra things... nor do I want to deal with their claims process. I just want MY things. My overall concerns are that since the military paid for this move and they are offering compensation in the for of these "inconvenience claims", I don't have a legal leg to stand on. I also do not want to cause too much of a stir because I worry they'll just put my things in a corner, or damage them. I have tried calling a million numbers, but the only ones I seem to reach are at dispatch. I have tried emailing the company (no reply) and speaking to someone higher up, to no avail. The dispatch number (for ****** I believe) is; ###-###-#### The number I have for their military department is ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I want my things delivered NOW. As of today, 9 August, they are already 9 days late with my shipment, and still do not have a driver assigned to pick up my shipment in NC and bring it to me in CO. This is unacceptable.

Business Response:

We do apologize for the delays surrounding this customer's relocation.  We take note that this shipment is currently in transit, and is expected to arrive in Colorado later this week.  We will contact the customer to set up the delivery time for the household goods.  If the customer has experienced any out of pocket costs, they can submit the receipts for review to our office.  Again, we apologize for the difficulty during the handling of this customer's goods.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an Army wife and my husband SFC **** *******, has been PCS'd from ******* *****, NY to *** ********, Arizona. We arrived here on June 30th. Bekins A-1 Movers in ***********, IL accepted the moving contract in May (###-###-####). Our household goods were picked up on June 24th, and were to be put in storage until June 26th or 27th and then it would be put on a truck and headed to *** ********. Our household goods sat in storage in Pennsylvania until the week of July 15th. Our contract date for our goods to be here in AZ was July 15th. Last week, we were finally told that our goods were on a truck and they would be here tomorrow, July 23rd. Now we are being told the truck is broken down. It is July 22nd and our stuff is still not here and there is no ETA to *** ********. We have spent hours calling this company- many times to no answer or return phone call.

Desired Settlement: Bekins A-1 Movers needs to stop taking military moving contracts. We have been told on numerous occasions that they do not have enough drivers or trucks this year. Then why are they taking these contracts for my family to suffer. I have watched 6 neighbors who moved in after us receive their goods. Why does my family have to suffer because of the greed of this company?

Business Response:

We take note that the shipper received their goods on July 25th.  they are welcome to file an inconveience claim for their expenses incurred from the Required delivery date of July 15th.  If they need to file a claim, they can email ********************* for assistance.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the movers came and collected our household goods on 6/26/13 and we were given a receipt that STATED the deliver of the items was to be on 7/5/13-7/12/13. over the time period we called the movers to check the status of our goods and were told they were having difficulty finding a driver but were taking care of it. then 7/12/13 came along and we waited and waited for our goods to arrive since this was the last day and after a while we called and found out that our goods had not even left the company across the coast! they never called us to tell us our goods would not be delivered on time. over the next few day we tried and tried to get in touch with managers to try and figure out something but after calls and messages left we received no reply. finally on7/15/13 i sent them an email stating that if we did not hear back from someone we would be filing a lawsuit. after an hour they got back to me and told me that they were working on the issue. now today is 7/17/13 and they have told me that i would not have my goods by 7/22/13 and have not even given me a resolution of new date of delivery. they have had my items for over three weeks now. that is plenty of time to find ONE driver to get our stuff to us. i have kids that don't have their clothes, no beds and other necessary items. my wife and i are both active duty military and we NEED our uniforms to check into our new command. my wife has been forced to get a new uniform set and i am looking to have to get many new uniforms because i will be going to training when i check in and must have all of my uniforms. this is going to cost us thousands of dollars and they say in the claim they will reimburse 50% of the cost. that still leaves me out anywhere between $500-$1000. this is unacceptable for a company to give a written date of delivery and then not follow through with it with no resolution coming from them. all in all this is costing my family undue expenses and stress because this company has not held up their end of the contract they made with the united states military. This is just very unprofessional and they seem to be incapable of following through on a commitment. Again I stress the fact that they did not even call us to let us know that our things had not even left ********, Va. We had to call to see if the things were being delivered! They have made very attempt to avoid all calls, voice mails and even emails. The first time I even got a response was the email threatening to file a lawsuit. We were even told once by a representative that all of the managers were on vacation. Seriously what company sends all of their managers on vacation at the same time and leaves the business to ran by associates. Bottom line is that this is past the point of being ridiculous and we have been struggling day to day to make ends meet all because this company has failed to do what they said they would do and we should not have to pay for that. We should not be held accountable for the incapability of a company to come to any type of resolution.

Desired Settlement: i would like for the company to finish the job they were contracted to do as well as pay for 100% of the costs they are making us pay for their failure.

Business Response:

We do apologize for the delay in the customer receiving their household goods.  We are actively working on plans to get the customer's goods delivered as quickly as possible.  The customer has been made aware of the provisions of filing an inconvenience claim with our office as a result of the delayed delivery of the goods.  As it relates to the uniforms, as these would be required for the military, the costs associated would be reimbursed in full.  If the customer would like to file an inconvenience claim for the expenses they have incurred to date, they are welcome to do so.  They can file an amended inconvenience claim once their goods have made it to their residence.  Again, we apologize for the hardship incurred as a result of the delayed delivery.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a serious problem with the way Bekins A1 has handled our military move. When they packed up our home on June 14th we were given a bill of lading stating that our shipment would arrive to our new duty station no later than June 27th, 2013. That date came and passed with NO notification from Bekins concerning the status of our delivery. We were left to contact the company ourselves when they failed to arrive but to no avail. It took several days and several messages before we were able to make contact with a **. ****** ***** who informed us that they were unable to locate a driver to bring our stuff and we would just have to wait until one was provided, with no new delivery date given. We continued to wait 2 more weeks, still with no contact from Bekins updating us on the status. On or about July 11th we were finally able to make contact with **. ****** ***** again and she informed us that the driver had loaded our belongings on July 8th and he was on his way with an ETA of July 13th. She stated that the driver *. ********* would contact us that Friday and let us know what time he would deliver the shipment on Saturday. The entire weekend passed with no contact from the driver or anyone at Bekins. We tried furiously to make contact with **. ****** ***** that Monday morning only to hear from her Monday evening that there was a misunderstanding and the driver was unable to make it on time as scheduled but that he would definitely be on his way later that week and provided us with another ETA of Saturday July 20th. On Friday July 19th I received a phone call from **. ********* the driver, and he stated that he would be delivering our shipment the following morning between 9 and 10 am. Saturday July 20th he called again about 9:45 am stating that he was unable to find the appropriate gate in which to access the Air Force Base where we live. My husband had to go meet him off base and help him get to the gate where he sat and waited for over an hour with the driver who stated he needed to wait for his helpers. Finally at 12 noon **. ********* called me to say that his helpers never arrived and he would not be able to deliver our things today and would need to come back and try again on Monday July 22nd. I told him that it was unacceptable and I needed the contact information for his dispatcher or whoever was in charge of this delivery, since he stated that it was out of his control to do anything further. He refused to give me the contact info he had, stating that they were all home phone numbers and he couldn't do that. Of course I tried to contact Bekins main office in ********** and **. ****** ***** however it is the weekend and no one answered the phones.

Desired Settlement: We would really appreciate the delivery of our shipment ASAP! This whole experience has been a nightmare for me and my family. We have 3 young children and have been living in an empty home for weeks upon weeks with none of our household goods. We have had to spend unnecessary money to purchase items for our home and children that would not be the case if we had our stuff! Bekins has been extremely unprofessional and has not treated our military family with respect to our situation and we are beyond frustrated.

Business Response:

We regret that the customer's goods had been delayed, and that they suffered inconveniences as a result of the delayed delivery.  We do take note that this shipment delivered on the 22nd of July.  We have been in contact with the customer to file an inconvenience claim, and are awaiting their claim submission.  Once received, we will be in a position to assist them with mitigating their expenses as a result of the delayed delivery.  We extend our apology for the hardship endured by the customer as a result of our delayed delivery.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I moved on 05-30-2013 from ********* Ca, to ******** ***** Ca, we paid $171.00 for (F.R.V.P), full replacement value protect. I made a claim on 03-30-2013 for the damage to my waffle table, it was damaged in several places. I have called 3 times to a *** at ###-###-####, have received no calls back called. **** ****** at ###-###-#### called 3 times also with 1 call back, called him back twice and no further calls. **** ********* called several times he was the original contact for the move at ###-###-####, he has called but I have still not been help by anyone at the business. I am not sure what to do.

Desired Settlement: I just want the claim to be processed and the fund sent for the damage table, or give me back the $171.00 I paid for the coverage.

Business Response:

We received in the customer's Claim Form on July 17th, and immediately assigned this to a repair firm to take care of the damages.  We also spoke with the customer on the 17th and advised her of same.  We hope that this has resolved this matter.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that Bekins was negligent in how they handled my items during my move, causing damage to all of my pictures and mirrors. The driver dropped an art cart off the truck and this was clearly not an act outside of their control but rather, was an attempt to cut corners. HOWEVER, I did not press this issue but instead submitted a claim based on their standard reimbursement rates (which does not come close to covering the damage) and included the replacement cost for a drill that was not delivered during our move. The driver did acknowledge using the drill so the fact that it was taken from me was never disputed by Bekins. I am filing a complaint with the BBB because Bekins did agree to pay their standard reimbursement for the damaged items as well as the replacement cost for the drill within 30 days of receipt of the letter their claims office sent me (April 5, 2013). I have not received payment and my phone calls and inquiries have not been returned/addressed.

Desired Settlement: I will like to receive the amount that Bekins has agreed to pay me ($168.72) and the replacement cost for at least a few of the items they carelessly ruined.

Business Response: We apologize for the delay in the customer receiving the check.  We had relocated our Accoutning office, and unfortunately, a backlog developed in sending out the settlement checks.  The customer's check in the amount of $168.72 will be mailed out today from our Accounting office in **********.  they should receive the check in the next day or two.  Again, please accept our apologies for the delay.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Bekins A-1 Movers to pick up our furniture and hold it in storage while our home was being remodeled. They sold us insurance at an additional cost guaranteeing replacement coverage up to $20,000. They damaged our area rug (two holes) and one bar stool. We filed a claim on 12/26/12 and met with their claims adjuster. We were told our claim would be processed and we would be paid. We received a letter dated on February 15 from ******* ****** advising the claim on the bar stool was being denied and the area rug was being settled for $425.00. The letter said a check was being mailed and would arrive within 30 days. No check and no further correspondence has been received. We expect to be reimbursed as per the terms of our contract which was replacement cost AND for both items that they damaged. These are high quality items of furniture and can't be replaced for the small amount that they have offered.

Desired Settlement: We expect to collect an amount of money equal to replacement cost for our damaged furniture. We bought the insurance as per their agent's recommendation.

Business Response: When the claim was received by our office, we retained an Independent 3rd party furniture inspection company to view the items damaged, and send a report based upon their findings.  Based upon this report, they advised that the rug could be repaired for $425.00, which we settled based upon this estimate.  As it relates to the bar stool, the inspection company that the damage claimed was not consistent with any type of moving or storage damage, and this item was declined as such.  While we regret this could not be handled to the customer's expectations, we feel that this was settled fairly, and we offered a settlement to the customer for the damages that were deemed to be our responsibility.  We did mail out a check to the customer previously, and in checking with our Accounting Department, find that the check is still open.  We will cancel the original check, and mail a replacement check to the customer within one week from today.  We trust this will be satisfactory.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because we don't know anyone who will come to our home and pick up our carpet and make the necessary repairs for the amount of money offered.  Also, our bar stool was damaged by the moving company during the removal from our home or in storage and they are denying coverage.  Their offer isn't adequate nor is it fair.  We purchased their most expensive insurance plan to protect us against loss and it isn't working out that way.  Even though it will only partially cover the repair cost's, hopefully,  the check they have promised to mail will arrive this time.  Can you believe they claim their first check must have been lost in the mail because it hasn't cleared their accounting department?  I called their office and left a message several weeks back and no replacement check was ever issued.


Regards,

******** ******








Business Response:

The company we assigned to inspect the items will repair the rug for the amount that was quoted in the settlement letter.  The customer can contact ********* ***** at ************ to set this up.  Again, we must reiterate our position of denial for the bar stool.  The Inspection company viewed the chair, and in their professional opinion, the damage was not consistent with transit or storage related damages.

The replacement settlement check in the amount of $425.00 is being sent out on Friday, May 10th.  The customer should receive the check early the following week.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bekins is not honoring their contract or what their agents say. We were told (my wife and I) that our stuff would not be moved while we were not present. The agent assured us that our items would be placed into pods while at our house and that they would never leave the pods until the pods were delivered to the final destination after spending an undetermined amount of time in their warehouse for storage (due to the fact that we did not at the time have a destination place to move the items to). This was not honored at all and our stuff was not only moved once, but twice without us being present. It was moved out of the truck it was loaded onto (not pod) and into their warehouse, where we were assured by the men loading the truck that it would then go into pods and not be touched again. However this was also not true and our items were again moved out of the warehouse and into the second truck to be delivered to the final destination without us being present. We had one hell of a time with the contract and billing agency who wanted to charge us an extra $450+ that was not on the contract we signed, claiming that the contract was an "estimate." Yes the contract is an estimate, but an estimate of WEIGHT which had been spot on. What the office was trying to charge us was a flat rate charge dealing with the storing of our stuff in the ware house. On our contract we were charged for 1 month of storage and 1 handling fee, however the office was demanding that this was not true and we had to pay for a 2nd month and a 2nd handling fee. Claiming that because our stuff had been in storage from Jan. 26 2013 to Feb 14th we were to be charged for TWO months storage since it had spanned two "physical" months, even though it had been in storage less than 30 days. This also included a second handling fee for taking it out of the warehouse, now I'm sorry but what business charges handling to move items INTO a warehouse and OUT of a warehouse separately? Thankfully even though it took several weeks and a couple of intense phone calls our origin agent, ******, DID come through on the matter and made sure we were not charged the extra amount. Upon delivery of our items we found that our dining room table had been damaged due to improper handling during the move. The side of it was completely scratched as if it had been dragged across the rough hard wood of a truck bed. Upon finding this I opened up a claim with the company and have been in contact with a insurance adjuster, however we are finding now that again somehow our "bill had a mistake" in it and we were not charged a $487 fee for insurance on our items that we had opted for. So to have our dinning room table fixed or replaced I either have to pay half the worth of it or only get $200 for a $1000 table. Upon calling customer service at the local branch in ******** I was transferred to the manager who said I was wrong, and that ****** would have never told us that our stuff would have been put in pods and that we should have been charged for the 2 handling fees and 2 months of storage. He was extremely unhelpful called me a liar and did not attempt to resolve the situation at all. He started the conversation with "I have been informed of your situation but I really don't know what I can do about it."

Desired Settlement: I want my dining room table repaired, completely.

Business Response:

We regret that the customer was not satisfied with the services performed.  We have reviewed the complaint, and offer the following explanations:

Regarding the customer's concerns regarding the handling and storage costs, we have already given the customer a refund in the amount of $500.00 in order to amicably settle this aspect of the complaint.  As it relates to the damaged table, and the subsequent settlement of the table, when the paperwork was returned to our office, the customer waived additional coverage for their shipment to ********.  The charges were processed accordingly, as the customer did not opt for additional coverage.  As our office did not handle the claim, we would request that the customer contact ************, which is the number for the Corporate office.  The move from ******** to ******** was handled by the Corporate office, and we were only the Agent for them for this transaction.  Any disputes regarding the Claim Settlement would be to be handled by them, and not our local office in ********.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sirs: Enclosed is a copy of a letter received in August 2012 from Bekins- A-1 Movers, Inc. regarding damage to my Steinway. Pain Serial #****** Model B in move from ***** ** ******** ****** *** ************ ** ***** to ***** ** ****** ******* ***** *** **** *** ******* ** ***** On May 23-24, 2012. The Bekins Representative *** *** ***** assured me, that their movers were "Very Experienced in moving Grand Pianos." *** ****'s statement was not accurate. The following is a list of damage to my piano by Bekins inexperienced movers. 1. Damage to the action 23 Split & Broke the Lyre (by forced removal of wooden rods). 3. Rear leg, bent large screw and dented rear leg by use of sledgehammer. 4. Lost the 3 walnuts leg supports, which were never delivered by Bekins. 5. Marked and scratched the ebony finish in numerous places. 6. In setting up the piano, replace of legs in wrong positions. 7. Damaged the action 8. Dampers damaged where bent after improper transportation. 9. Damaged two notes in Bass Clef. I have had the piano repaired all except the refinished of the damage finished. Because I am preparing a full program in February and teaching, I have not been able to be deprived of the instrument at this time. I am enclosing a copy of recommendations and qualifications of *** **** *** ******, Ph.D. who completely rebuilt the piano in 2011. Re: *** ****** *** 1-A of Aug 24, 2012 letter to me. When their salesperson came to my residence to look at the piano, he knew there were problems. The movers did not know how to reassemble the piano. Each leg is numbered to be placed in the corresponding number of the piano. The legs were not in their correct places. I had called **** ******, Ph. D. who had completely restored the piano in 2011, to check the piano for damages. He placed the piano on a stand in order to remove the legs so they could be placed in the correct positions, after he repaired the screw and damaged leg. Bekins hired ********* ***** ** ** to meet with my technician **** ****** to check damage also have **** ***** *** ** ****** exam the piano. **** had turned it in the past in Oct 2009 completely rubbed out the finish piano. They stated that the exterior of the case was beautiful and informed me they never received a call from Bekins! Being a professional pianist and teacher, I could not wait to repair my piano. I expect to be repaid for the following, which I have paid to date see enclosures. June 14, 2012- ck #****- $940.00 Sept 07, 2012- ck #****- $4,560.00 Oct 23, 2012- ck #****- $2, 560.00 Dec 12, 2012- ck #****- $950.00 Plus the cost of the work as of yet unfinished on my Steinway Piano (damage to the finish estimated at $6,900)(see complaint online). **

Desired Settlement: Re: damage to furniture items- I had not even presented these small item damages. I just expected to take care of them myself, but *** ****** of Bekins pushed me with refusing to pay for the expensive damages done to my Steinway. Therefore, I am including the damages to the antique end table of $38.00 and cost of remounting the shadow box $50.00 to the piano damages.

Business Response:

A review of the executed paperwork at the time of delivery indicates that there was nothing listed as damaged  at the time of delivery.  Accordingly, we must assume that all items tendered to us arrived, and in the same condition as when we picked them up.  Our first notification of damage to the piano was 3 weeks after delivery.  When our salesperson went to the customer's residence to look at the piano, he found that the piano had already been disassembled, and placed on a dolly.

We were not given the opportunity to inspect the damages claimed prior to this disassembly by the piano technician.  Given this intervening event, we could not establish the damages claimed to be our responsibility, and must respectfully decline liability for this piano.  Our settlement of $360.00 for the piano represented one half of the amount charged for the damage to the leg.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a claim after waiting a few months thinking the driver of the move was going to advise Bekins of a broken table top of an accent table I have. I took out a zero deductible insurance in the move. I finally rec'd a letter dated January 11, 2013 stating that payment of $150 was coming to me in the next 30 days. It was signed by a ******* ******, Managing Director of Claim & Risk Management. The letter had no telephone number on it. It is now March 6th and nothing was received. I then called my local Bekins in *** ***** and left several messages for the General Manager and I rec'd no return call from him either. Next I searched the Internet for the telephone number of Bekins in ************ **. After calling a couple of numbers, I finally got the direct phone line to ******* ******. I called and left a voice message several times. It got to the point that I called almost every day and I still received no response! I'd like my table repaired and I would have to bring it myself to a furniture repair place for a new table top. Ihad estimated the cost to be $150. After all these calls and aggravation, I'm asking for action and a check. It would be ethical if they increased the $150 to compensate me for my time in this exercise in aggravation. This table has been with me for many years and it moved from ** to ** also. There is also a chip in the side rim of the wood where it's painted a bronze gold color. I need to get a settlement and repair as I keep this table in my new home at the entry way.

Desired Settlement: A check delivered by Fed Ex today with a letter of apology and an increase in settlement. I think $300 would help in case I under estimated the repair.

Consumer Response:

3/7/13

 

Hello,

Attached are 5 documents for this complaint ******* with the BBB.  The documents are in date order with the most recent on top. I called them in ************ ** again yesterday and still received no answer from this ******* ******, Managing Director of Claims at ************ (direct line).

 

The claim number with them is ********.  I had a zero deductible as on the last sheet. The move was 10/7/2011 to **** ***** ****** ********** **, my new address.

Thank you for your help.

****** ** ****** **** ***** ****** ********** ** ***** **************** ***** ************

Business Response: The customer's settlement check in the amount of $150.00 was mailed out on March 7th.  She should receive the check within the next few days.  We paid the customer the amount as claimed on her claim form.  Should she find that the repair of her item is in excess of what she claimed, she can submit the repair invoice to our Claim Office for further review.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Delivery Issues
2/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 11, 2012, the Bekins sales rep, ***** ******, visited my home to provide an estimate for moving my personal property to a new home. After answering several questions to my satisfaction, I then asked if there was any guarantee that the final price would not exceed his estimate. I was told yes, it is guaranteed to not exceed 10% above his estimate. His written estimate was for $1865. Therefore the final billing should not have exceeded $2052 plus the additional charge for optional insurance of $246, for a total of $2298. Upon completion of the move, the movers presented me with a bill for $2723.15. They were quite upset when I brought up the fact that I was guaranteed a lesser charge. Phone calls to their manager and the sales rep. did little good. They kept saying that they based the price on an hourly rate and finally insisted that I pay a minimum of $2522.56. This considerably exceeds the "guaranteed" price I was given. The movers stated that "this happens quite often with Shawn." I feel this is a very dishonest way to doing business and a company should stand by it word.

Desired Settlement: I feel the right thing for Bekins to do would be to refund the excess charge of $224. They would still be making 10% over the estimate at that.

Business Response:

I am in receipt of the complaint message, dated November 26, 2012.

I have reviewed the file in complete detail. I have also reviewed the entire process with the salesperson, the operations manager, and the driver.

Attached are some supporting documents to assist in our position relating to the concern.

 

The ESTIMATED COST OF SERVICES, signed by the customer, clearly has noted in Special Instructions and Comments, “Actual Time and Services Performed”. There is no supporting documentation in any of the documents for “guaranteed to not exceed 10% above his estimate”.

Where we always attempt to be within 10% of our estimates, unforeseen circumstances can easily have an effect on the outcome of a relocation.

 

Further review with the driver states that the crew moved more than what was listed on the “cube sheet” and packed more than what was originally requested. They have also advised that the additional items included 2 very large bears, 1 that was moved and 1 that was attempted to be moved (the access would not allow the item to be removed). In addition, the crew removed a large “moose head” from the wall and loaded this item into a personal trailer. Where the estimated involved approx. 75% of a trailer, they actually loaded approx. 95% of the trailer.

 

In addition, at destination, additional services included removal and loading of 4 appliances into a pick-up truck and working around painters and contractors on the premise. This involved additional movement of some items as they could not be placed correctly until the work in the home was completed. Therefore, some items had to be moved twice.

 

 All of these issues resulted in additional time over and above the estimate as provided. On the day of delivery, the crew also advised that more requests were made @ “switching” items for 2 rooms and they advised that they were already over the original estimate. They were also told that the final pricing would not exceed 110% of the estimate “no matter what”. They called their supervisor and respectfully declined to perform the additional request as they were now concerned that the additional items were adding up quickly. Where we welcome additional services and materials being requested and/or performed, we do expect to be compensated at the applicable rates for the services rendered.

 

Moving is not an exact science and numerous items can reflect the final outcome. Where we do try very hard to be within 10% of our estimates, this would not include additional services and/or materials beyond the original scope. It is also my understanding that the crew worked diligently thru the entire process.

 

I have also performed an audit of the applicable charges. I have attached a spreadsheet with a breakdown of the times and actual charges.

 

In closing, and based on the supporting documents and review with the applicable parties, I respectfully decline the request for a refund for charges in excess of 110% of this estimate. Due to the circumstances, this was agreed as “Actual Time and Services Performed”. The crew worked diligently, and performed additional services as requested; therefore, they should be compensated accordingly. Based on the supporting documents and circumstances as presented, I do not believe that a refund is warranted. Where we truly strive to be right and reasonable, I do not believe that I refund is warranted in this issue as presented.

 

I assure you that we take great pride in our service levels and take these matters very seriously. I trust that you understand and respect our position in this matter.

 

Sincerely,

****** * ****** **

General Manager


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 15, 2011, Bekins Moving Solutions of Phoenix, AZ packed and picked up our household goods which were being shipped to Kizugawa, Japan. The goods were delivered on July 26, 2011 and a considerable amount of damage was discovered upon unpacking our goods. I contacted Bekins and they directed me to contact their insurance company *** *** ******. The insurance company sent us the claim forms and on August 12, 2011, a claim was filed in the amount of $8,213.00 (we purchased zero deductible insurance for coverage of up to $30,000.00). After a number of telephone calls and emails, I was told by Bekins Claims Manager **** ****** that he was in the process of finding an inspection company and he would get back to me the following week. This email was received by me on November 18, 2011 and I never received a follow-up email from him. No inspection or estimate to repair/replace our damaged good was ever done. Repeated requests to have our claim resolved went unanswered, so I filed a dispute with ***** ****. Bekins offered a cash settlement in the amount of $2,259.00 which is far less than I had claimed and was not based on any sort of inspection or assessment of the damage that they had caused. I refused their offer to settle and today again requested an on site assessment of the damage and cost to repair/replace or damaged goods.

Desired Settlement: Cash settlement based upon assessment of damage and cost to repair/replace household goods.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

In a letter dated January 3, 2012, a token settlement offer in the ammount of $2,259.00 was made by **** ****** of Bekins. The calculation was as follows: Ammount claimed ($8,213.00) X 50% = $4,107.00. This arbitrary reduction of 50% was not based on an in-home inspection of the damage caused during the move. No item by item rationale was given as to whether any item could be repaired or not. Just a blanket statement saying that most of the items could be repaired to pre-move condition. We paid $600.00 for zero deductible insurance with full replacement value. Items such as our shattered antique lamp, crushed lamp shade on our teak lamp, and damage in multiple locations on our new Ethan Allen maple bed are not repairable.

The ammount of $4,107.00 was further reduced by 45% due to co-insurance for a settlement offer of $2,259.00. This was rejected due to lack of actual assessment of the damage to our goods. I have requested, and welcome, an in-home inspection of our damaged goods, but in a subsequent email from **** ******, he states that an in-home inspection of our damaged property could not be done as Bekins was not able to secure the expertise of an independent inspection company here in Japan to assess what is/is not repairable and the costs associated with repair/replacement.

I have since responded to **** ****** most recent email with my offer to settle at 55% of the claimed ammount of $8,213.00 = $4,517.00. I am now waiting for his response to my proposal.

 

Regards,

The consumer


 

 

Business Response:

Further review of the customer's concerns, shows that the customer and the credit card company agreed to the original settlement offer of $2259.00.  Since this chargeback represents the exact amount as offered for settlement, it is our understanding that this represents payment in full.

This chargeback transaction was completed on April 4, 2012. Based on the processing of the settlement amount as a chargeback to our account we consider this matter resolved.

Thank you.

*** ******

General Manager

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/7/2011 Delivery Issues
9/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1