This business is not BBB accredited.

All Points Moving & Storage Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 625-5001 Fax: (301) 925-0044 View Additional Phone Numbers 1508 Marblewood Avenue, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 http://www.allpointsmoving.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for All Points Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for All Points Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on All Points Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1999 Business started: 01/20/1999 Business started locally: 01/20/1999 Business incorporated 01/20/1999 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 832023 - Docket # 392157.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Curtis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Curtis, President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11522 Stewart Lane, Unit B-1

    Silver Spring, MD 20904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1508 Marblewood Avenue

    Capitol Heights, MD 20743

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 10578

    Silver Spring, MD 20914

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All Points Moving and Storage was the company that conducedt my interstate move from MD to TX. The pickup of the furniture was done properly and efficiently. I had requested the company take especially good care of 2 pieces of furniture that are family antiques as well as boxes labeled "Fragile" packed by me. The company or driver hired by Mr. William C***** did a terrible job. First the driver did not speak any English, then he had given me an arrival date off 1/31/2014, the driver arrived at 10 pm on 1/29, was extremely rude and forceful and demanded to unload then and there saying that the company would not pay for an overnight hotel for him and his helper and that he had driven from MD for 3 days and had previous deliveries and other deliveries after mine. He looked very tired and disheveled. We agreed to the unload which took 4 hours with the result of damage to several pieces including one of the antiques and objects inside the "fragile" boxes broken, because the boxes where just pilled in the truck haphazardly. I have filled a claim with the company on 3/23/2014 and to this day 7/12/2014 I haven’t received any compensation and Mr. William keeps postponing the dates to settle the claim.

Desired Settlement: I would like All Points Moving and Storage to pay the claim $ 597,30 and possibly avoid problems for future customers by hiring companies/drivers that are more professional to do the delivery of goods.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in April of this year, I hired this company to move me. One hour after the move I discovered that I had been robbed of several thousand dollars in jewelry. This was reported to the local police, a check was made through the "rapid List" pawn listing and the items were found 2-3 weeks later. Contact was made with ******* ****** via email and through the local police. No contact was made to myself until several months later. The employee was arrested and convicted of this crime with two additional charges pending in two other counties. **. ****** commented to the police after I filed the complaint what "persons" are always making these accusations, questioned the workers, then dismissed the situation. **.****** even wrote a letter of recommendation for the court, which was thown out. I asked for compensation for time lost from work, traveling/tolls for having to go to court (1.5 hours away). To date, I have not received any compensation, just excuses. Obviously, background checks are not completed for their employees. I would certainly not recommend this company.

Desired Settlement: $800 to cover time lost from work,reimbursement for gas/tolls for subpoened court appearance, and the move reimbursement.

Consumer Response: Additional damages include $365.00 for damage to stolen ring. Requesting reimbursement of move @ $400.00

Business Response:

We will be getting back with her. We have not forgotten her.

11/4/2013 Delivery Issues
10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The three men who moved my 2 bedroom, one level house took water breaks every 10 minutes and turned a 5 hour job into an 8 hour job. They also failed to rap my furniture and as a result they did damage to several pieces. There were a total of 23 pieces of furniture- three guys to move such a small amount is blatant abuse of taking advantage of the fact that I was not able to fire them because I needed to move the house that day and didn't have a truck- if I could have fired them I would have.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $400.00 refund that I would use to repair the damage furniture and for over paying for time.

Business Response:

**. ****** account is 100% skewed. The day he moved the temperature was 105. The men are instructed to hydrate themselfs to avoid heat stroke. Also we gave **. ****** a discount because we made an extra trip. His account of 23 pieces is totally wrong. We told him we were going to send a 26' truck but to our surprize he had double the amount of furniture and  requred 2 trucks that size. He totally misrepresented the amount he had to move when we gave him an estimate. Therefore it took more time.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This moving company was engaged to move my personal effects from ***** ******** Maryland to ***** ******** Maryland. I have you them previously on two prior occasions without incident. On this occasion, they did not come to complete the move as contracted and showed up two hours late. They also engaged an inexperienced moving crew who took far longer than the estimated time. When that moving crew completed the move the amount for the move was $300 over estimate and when I complained to the general manager, they demanded cash payment rather than by credit card, which was the agreed upon method of payment. Not have the extra $300 on hand, they proceeded to seize my personal effects until the next morning until I could go to my bank and get the extra funds. In addition to the $300 that I was told to pay they add storage and other fees, making that amount rise to additional $500. Once they arranged for my personal effects to be moved on the premises by another crew, we discovered that tat our son's hard drive and video games, valued as our $2200 (estimated) was stolen. When I attempt to follow up on the claim that I submitted, I was only offered $50 in settlement. I feel like that I was taken advantage from the delay in the start of the job that cause me to pay significantly more for the move and from the sequester of my personal effects where those effects remained in their possession for more than 10 hours. Their exercise of dominion and control over my personal effects allowed them to have access to my son's gaming equipment which they proceeded to steal.

Desired Settlement: Full replacement of the lost goods valued at $2200

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers damaged 2 leather sofas. had difficulty getting both sofas out of apartment inspite movers moved it in with no damage. removed legs then tossed sofas on truck then dragged before being picked up ,instead of using lift .Bottom of both chaiirs lining tore.When I asked about lift not being used, was told it takes too much time . Same happen with bottom of bookshelf. Broke 2 mirrors before leaving old apartment, glass coffee table top missing,broke panel on dresser,did not install headboard to frame,just laid it against the wall as if they did. they. When I went to clean old apt found 2 pcs of art, 3 lamps and window air conditioner sitting in middle of floor. contact **** ****** on same evenig. have requuest claim form, spoke to ****** 4-13-13 forgot to send out.REALLY!

Desired Settlement: ALLPOINTS SERVICE WAS SO BAD. **. ****** SHOULD FELL COMPELLED TO GIVE ME ALL OF MY MONEY BACK. I DO NOT THINK THAT AT THIS POINT A CLAIM FORM SHOULD BE FILED. I HAVE HAD ENOUGH OF THIS COMPANY AND **. ******. WHEN I SPOKE WITH HIM WEEKS AGO IT APPEARED THAT HE CARED THAT I WAS UNSATISFIED, HOWEVER WHEN I SPOKE TO HIM ON APRIL 13TH AND HE SAID HE FORGOT TO SEND OUT THE CLAIM FORM TO ME AND HAD THE NERVE TO ASK ME FOR MY ADDRESS SO HE COULD MAIL IT TO ME. REALLY! I LIKE A FULL REFUND AND HAVE ALLPOINTS TO DO WHAT THEY DO TO RETRIEVE THERE LOST. I FEEL ROBBED!!!!

Business Response: ** ***** will be sent a claim form. Allpoints will address ** ***** claim ASAP once we recieve the claim form back.

Business Response:

Allpoints is not entitled to compensate **. ***** for the work she claims she did. The driver asked ** ***** just before they were leaving if everything was out the house . She said yes, the driver left.

Concerning the bed, a wheel did fall off during the move and Allpoints is entitled to compensate her for that. She has to submit the claim form.

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

****** *****



The driver who remained  outside with me who helped drag my furniture onto the truck  would say exactly that. My daughter who stayed upstairs who watched those oh so trusting men of Allpoints knew there where only a few things to left  came down to join me because we were also putting things in her car. I gave my house keys to ***** who had left something personal upstairs,  to check things out and to lock the doors. He said everything was out!  Hey **. ***I,I don't care what your driver says he's a liar. In life we all make mistakes. one of my biggest mistakes was to hire your company simply on your word that all I had to do was to stay out the way and relax. You certainly did not save me any money in comparison to other companies. One of your mistakes is having dishonest people working for you that had no respect for me and my things. That's wonderful that they have been working for you and you think that they are great but  I know that and they know the truth. Your folks  can remember a wheel, but ask them about my air conditioner they left sitting in the middle of  the bedroom floor. Another mistake you have made is to think that I am going to let this go. You owe me for services not rendered and I intend to get my money back.  I was robbed




Consumer Response: From: BBB of Metro DC and Eastern PA <info@mybbb.org>
Date: Tue, May 28, 2013 at 2:02 PM
Subject: Fwd: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: ****** ******* ********************




---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******************************
Date: Sun, May 26, 2013 at 11:36 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: info@mybbb.org


Is there anyone that can tell me the difference in the  company that delivers furniture and the people who are called movers of furniture? There was no damaged to my furniture when delivered to the same place of residence where some things have been destroyed. I hope that Allpoints get training for their workers because it is more than just moving stuff. it is a very important thing because it affects lives. yeah it is that serious! Every job those guys go on, people are trusting them to do the right thing and to be treated with respect. 

Consumer Response:


From: ******************************
Date: Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 5:55 PM
Subject: #*******-****** *****
To: info@mybbb.org


Attention ** ****** *******......I have not received  settlement from the insurance claim that I sent to Allpoints.They have had more than enough time to respond. If I do not receive a check from  them no later than June 15th, I will email you so that you may close the complaint . I have contact the Maryland Attorney General  and I will be filing  through that office. Thank you for all of your help.




From: 
******************************
Date: Tue, Jun 4, 2013 at 2:22 PM
Subject: complaint#*******
To: info@mybbb.org


I have submitted a claim to allpoints for my damages, It has been weeks. I have been dealing with this company since march 20 2013.Will someone tell me how much longer do I wait? Thank you ****** *****

Consumer Response: From: ******************************
Date: Sat, Jun 22, 2013 at 8:37 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: info@mybbb.org


Today I
I got an email from allpoints stated that my claim will only be $130. so I
I will be going into small claims court. There men ruin my furniture and were deceitful. The pictures I sent them will be posted also on utube. Thank you for helping

5/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with All Points Moving and Storage to relocate us on October 31, 2012. The movers arrived late and left almost half of our furniture at our former residence, forcing us to pay additional moving expenses for a truck rental and auto transporter, and move the remainder ourselves. We made every attempt to resolve the concern that they may not have adequate truck space for the move when the moving personnel commenced the project, but were assured that with proper packing it would all fit comfortably. They did not wrap/package any of the items which they agreed to handle. The belongings that did make it to our new residence were left on the patio and not placed in the proper rooms as was promised. Several expensive items and many of our shipping containers were broken due to improper packing in the truck and neglect/mishandling. We have followed up with the company through lengthy claims forms and photo documentation since the second week of November 2012, and were told that we could only receive approximately $80.00 compensation since we did not purchase the additional insurance in advance. We have not received even this amount and the company has been slow or unwilling to respond to any phone calls or inquiries regarding our claim. We have been told several times that the "check is on its way." I am requesting a full refund for the services rendered given the extremely poor customer service and incomplete delivery of services.

Desired Settlement: We would like to resolve this matter as soon as possible in order to prevent further delay!

Business Response:

All Points Moving11:10 AM (58 minutes ago)to me*** *** **********'s complaint has been settled. Allpoints has sent her a check covering her claim awhile ago. The check number is ****.

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/2/2013 a moving truck from All Points Moving came to my home to move a tenant out of the home. While backing into my driveway, their moving truck struck my home and tore down overhead wires entering into my home. When the overhead wires were torn down, it also torn down parts of the trim at the very top of my home leaving my home exposed to the rain and the elements. I immediatly called the All Points Moving office and because it was on the weekend I was forced to leave a message. I called back several more times and finally got in touch with the GM **** ******. I explained to him what had occurred and sent him pictures of the damage. Since that time I have left a dozen more phone messages for him to return my call. He is not returning my calls and refuses to pay for the damages his company has caused to my home. In his attempt to avoid me, I find some of *** ****** antics to be incredulous. Now, due to the moisture I can see that MOLD is starting to grow from the exposed area. I need this situation to be resolved quickly before further damage is done to my home to include a major renovation.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for the damages done to my home. A licensed contractor has given me an estimate of $550.00. I would like them to pay the contractor, or pay me and I will give it to the contractor.

Business Response:

Allpoints was contacted by ** ****** concerning a low hanging wire one of our trucks hit.  ** ****** was told that we would investigate whether he was responsible to maintain the overhead wires at a certian height or whether Allpoints is responsible for hitting low hanging overhead wires.  Once it was determined, ** ****** was directed to our insurance company to fix the problem. I was contacted by our insurance company that they had settled with ** ******.

As a side note, I was also informed by my insurance company that ** ****** tired to claim old preexisting damage to the claim. The insurance company paid him $350.00 not his requested $550.00. According to *** ******'s own contractor *** ****** tried to scam Allpoints Moving and our insurance company.

Bottom line, ** ****** has been made full from the damaged caused accidentally by Allpoints.

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service