BBB Accredited Business since

Able Moving And Storage Inc.

Phone: (703) 330-3772 View Additional Phone Numbers 8050 Wellingford Dr, Manassas, VA 20109 http://www.ablemoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Able Moving And Storage Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Able Moving And Storage Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Able Moving And Storage Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1996 Business started: 01/19/1987 in VA Business incorporated 05/11/1987 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 533974 & MC-217259.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James M Singleton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James M Singleton, President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 8050 Wellingford Dr

    Manassas, VA 20109

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2016 Delivery Issues
5/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were provided with a fair moving estimate for a local move that we accepted. In order to confirm our move date, a 10% deposit was required. In addition to the deposit, Able's practice is to put a hold on the same credit card for the full amount of the estimate, thus holding 110% of the estimate until the services are performed (which for us were more than a month away). In similar situations I have experienced, it is either/or (either a deposit is paid or the hold is placed) but not both. Given that this is an unusual practice, my husband and I were not aware of the implications this had on accessing our assets. We thus called the next day to switch the card in which the hold was placed. Able immediately charged the new card the deposit and pre-authorization hold. However, they were not able to refund the deposit or release the authorization on the card originally provided. After multiple calls with Able, in which I was guaranteed that the release would occur by 2pm that day, it was not resolved. The next day, I had to conference call my bank with Able in order for them to give verbal authorization to release the pre-authorization amount. Three days later, the 10% deposit has yet to be refunded. I am consistently told I need to speak with my bank, and every time I call my bank, they do not see any refund transaction processed by Able. In addition to their deposit and pre-authorization practice to not be in line with normal business practices, it appears that their accounting department is not trained properly to process refunds and reversals.

Desired Settlement: Their practices regarding deposits and pre-authorization holds should be reassessed. If they choose to not adjust these practices, sales representatives should be more explicit as to what these charges mean to their customers. The accounting department responsible for credit card processing should be adequately trained.

Business Response:

*** ***** was receiving information directly from her **** bank account  that her funds would be released  immediately, while Able process was with her ****** ********** ********.  Able had no control over her bank and credit card company interactions. Some history of this is as follows:

4/22, *** ***** contacted our company a day after her spouse *** **** had provided and given authorization for a deposit and pre-authorization for their upcoming move using his spouses *** ***** credit card on 4/21.  *** *****’s complaint was that she was on travel and the pre-authorization on her credit card had frozen funds in which she needed for her travels.  After providing the details of her spouse instructions later that day *** **** called and provided new credit card information and requested we release the hold on *** ***** cards.  4/22 Able processed the release for the pre-authorization. 

4/23 *** ***** called to say her card still reflected a hold on the pre-authorization, Able immediately called our processing center and was also told at that time this was an **** savings account and we would need to contact her bank directly if she wanted  the release immediately. 

4/23 *** ***** and Able had a conference call with her bank and the release was processed that day.  A refund for her deposit was issued as well at 8:24 that morning.

4/23 *** ***** canceled her move and we were instructed to refund *******.  4/23 at 10:00 am *** **** and Able contacted **** bank and Able authorized the release on his credit card, at that time *** **** was told it would be up to 2 business days for the release to take place.  *** **** did not inquire as to why his spouse’s release was instant and his would take longer.

4/23 Able contacted *** **** and *** *****’s ******** merchant to inquire on both the refunds and the pre-authorization release to *** ****’s credit card.  After speaking with ********** representative #******, we were told all transactions take up to 2 business days.  

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FIRST: Runners were not put down on the stairs as promised verbally and as stated in their brochure. As a result the carpet on our stairs were stained when they moved a freezer. They sent a carpet cleaner to clean the carpet but the stain remained. As a result we lost our security deposit. The company said they talked to the carpet cleaners and according to that conversation there was no reason we should have lost our security deposit due to the stained carpet. I was told if I could prove that was the reason we lost the deposit they would 'see what they could do'. I sent the signed form that stated we were releasing our security deposit as a result of carpet stains on the stairs and sidewalk stains (also from the movers). They will no longer answer my emails or return my phone calls. SECOND: The salesman that came to our home to provide the written estimate underestimated how many truck would be required for the move. A second truck had to come the day after we were supposed to have vacated the house. As a result we were responsible for an extra days rent. I have contacted Able requesting reimbursement for the extra day rent. They have not answer my emails or return my phone calls regarding this issue. THIRD: We bought their insurance to protect our items. We specifically asked if it covered items we packed in boxes ourselves. When we submitted for reimbursement for items that were damaged we were denied items because we had packed them ourself. FOURTH: We have 2 game tables which I specifically showed to the salesman to make sure they would be dismantled, moved and reassembled. I was assured they would be. The movers told us they could not move them because they were pressed wood. It took multiple calls to the company before the movers agreed to do as the salesperson promised. Summary: we are out of our security deposit and an extra day of rent. The company will not respond to our request for reimbursement despite providing pictures of the damage and signed forms documenting our expenses.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of our security deposit ($500) which we lost due to the company not placing runners on the stairs resulting in permanent carpet stains. Their brochure specifically states 'banisters, balconies and stairs are covered in professional moving pads and runners to maintain the beauty of your home.' If the stairs would have been covered they would not have been stained. We are also requesting ($100) for the extra days rent which we had to pay because they underestimated how many trucks they would need. Thank you

Business Response: *** *******,


As you should remember the reason why the carpets were stained is because of the amount of dark liquids that came out of your appliance during your move because it was not serviced correctly. After the stains occurred, and directly after your phone call to tell us of the damage we immediately sent a carpet cleaning company to your home to clean your carpets. From the pictures and information we received the carpets were cleaned satisfactorily. This effort should indicate the level of concern that Able had over this issue.

In addition to these efforts I would like to remind you that we also just settled your handling claims for over $4,000.00. Paying a $4,400.00 claim, and $250.00 for a cleaning company on a $6000 move should also indicate the level of customer service we have and the responsibility for our mistakes we are willing to take.

Asking us to pay $600.00 on a $500.00 security deposit claim on top of a $250.00 cleaning fee after all that has transpired seems excessive, especially after holding a BBB complaint over our heads. 

Again, we do apologize for the damages incurred with your move, and hope you do see the many values that Able has in owning up to the damages we caused. We also hope you take some responsibility for the liquids left inside of your appliance for your move, and consider a more fair & reasonable offer for a settlement.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
1) Able's printed brochures promise carpet runners to be placed. Runners were NOT placed. IF runners were placed the stains would have been contained to the protective runner.

2) The freezer was defrosted and thoroughly cleaned 1 week prior to the move.
3) We purchased insurance to protect our belongings during the move. This was $700 ABOVE AND BEYOND the price of the move. Able did NOT pay a $4400 claim.  As a result of damage incurred during the move $3400 is to be paid by the insurance company for the policy WE PURCHASED. $1000 is the deductible which is Able's responsibility for damage caused to our belongings by Able's movers. We are yet to receive the insurance settlement. 
4) Before filing a complaint with the BBB I placed multiple phone calls to Able which were not returned. I also sent an email stating that if we were unable to discuss this matter I would be placing a complaint. I allowed several weeks for you to respond before placing the complaint. 
5) It is appreciated that carpet cleaners attempted to clean the stains. We did. Ot request the carpet cleaners. Able offered to send carpet cleaners. However, the stains remained. We provided Able signed copies from our real estate agent stating we were forced to release our $500 deposit due to the stains on the stairs and the sidewalks from Able movers.
6) We were also forced to pay $100 for an extra day of rent as Able did not send the necessary trucks and manpower to move our belongings out the same day.
7) We request reimbursement for $600. $500 for loss of our security deposit plus $100 for our extra day of rent.
Regards,

***** *******








Business Response: *** ********

We are sorry that you have not accepted any responsibility for the situation that occurred, and see no values in the efforts that Able has made to satisfy the claims & issues experienced. 
Able will be sending you a settlement of an additional $600.00 to satisfy this complaint under the understanding that you acknowledge this issue is resolved to your satisfaction, and no further disputes will be made on your part.
Please let us know how you would like to proceed.
Thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. We are dismissing this claim based in good faith that the company will reimburses $600 as promised in their resolution. 

Regards,

***** *******

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Household storage for USG assignment overseas. Sofa was damaged while in storage. Was not the way it left the house. Able did not take fault for the damage and said I had to proved that was their fault. It did not have the damage when it was taken from the house. All the years of having storage from various pack outs for my job with USG and never had a problem until this company. Did not report the disrespect received from packer when packing out because he wanted to finish up earlier and company made him take item from truck that he had put in truck that should not go into storage. I did not report him, as he was young and did not want to cause him to lose job. I did however put him in his place and all the other team were visably surprised and unhappy that he would do something like he did. They were very respectful and apologielic in their own way. I have told *****/State Department shipping that this is a company they should not use again. What the company offered me $250 would not cover covering it. they turned it over to their insurance company and you and I both know, insurance companies jobs are to not pay for anything. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: That they recover or pay to have it recovered.

Business Response: Dear BBB,


I am responding to the recent consumer complaint #********. 

Able Moving loaded this customers household goods into storage on 5/20/10. Attachment #1 item #3 is our written inventory from the day of the move indicating the sofa in question had a faded top edge on the fabric prior to us moving from the home. The client signed these inventories on this day, 5/20/10.

When we delivered the storage to this customers new home on 8/2/13 the customer also signed for the delivery of these items. On 1/16/14 (5 months later) we received a claim form (attachment #2) from the customer outlining 4 damages including the sofa in question. As mentioned in our letter (attachment #3) we settled the claims for 3 of the 4 items to the customers satisfaction. We also offered the customer a settlement of $250.00 for the sofa claim as indicated in the customers BBB submittal which they rejected.

We feel that Able Moving & Storage, Inc has gone over and above our standard policies, and "best practices" for the moving & storage industry to satisfy this customers claims and complaint. The reasons why we have not gone further with our attempts is due to the following:
  1. The original inventory indicated, and that the customer acknowledged that the sofa fabric was faded prior to Able moving it for the first time in 2010.
  2. The time limit for claims submissions for this type of move is 90 days. This customer submitted their claim more than 164 days after their move date.
  3. The sofa was purchased in 1990 as indicated on the claim form (attachment #2) for $1200. This customer has moved several times as an employee for the government, and we feel a $1250 settlement is not reasonable, and our offer of $250 is more than fair. Attachment #4 is a current picture of the area on the sofa claimed as faded, which should also indicate that the $1250 request is not reasonable.
Able Moving makes every effort to go over and above to satisfy its clients, and will continue to do so. After reading this response and attachments, if the BBB feels Able should do something further to satisfy this customer we will gladly take it into consideration.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Able Moving 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  When the sofa left my resident for storage, it was presentable in the home without having to have a cover.  When it was returned it no longer is that way.  I know that the sofa was purchased some time ago, but it is a very good piece of furniture not something that you change as a fad.  Good furniture last for years and years.  And since the sofa has been stored most of it's life (as I was on Government assignments overseas), it did not have the usual wear and tear of having been in daily use all this time and certainly not the damage it had upon return to me.  I did not expect that they would give me what I paid for it, even though you can't buy that quality furniture at that price today, however I did expect a reasonable amount that I could put toward having it covered or replacement.

As to the date i filed my claim I was in training at the ******* ******* ********* immediately upon returning to the States and so really did not focus on unpacking or settling in until later.   I did inform Travel Office and the officers told me to report it to Able which I did.  
The person that they sent over to look at the sofa, appeared one way to me and then went back and reported something else to them.  I wasn't not in the warehouse with the sofa but I know in what condition it was in when it left my home for storage.  Of course over the years there is fading in any thing but where this damage is, there is no mistake as to it's not having been there before.      


Regards,

**** ***********








Business Response:

We do appreciate the feedback regarding the details you have provided. Able Moving does everything possible to avoid customers from not being completely satisfied with the services we provide, and/or for the solutions to any problems that may occur. An example to this is our A+ Rating with the BBB, and the fact that Able has satisfied 3 of the 4 claimed items completely to the satisfaction of this customer, and has also offered a settlement of $250 for the faded sofa, despite the fact that the claim was filed 74 days past our 90 claim filing policy.

Able would like to settle the remainder of this claim to the customers complete satisfaction. As indicated by the customer; they do not feel it is necessary for Able to pay for the entire original cost (1200) of the sofa. We would like to ask this customer what a fair amount would be in their opinion to satisfy this claim, and for us to take into consideration.

Able is looking forward to hearing back from the customer about a fair settlement number that will satisfy this claim. Thank you. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Able Moving And Storage Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart