BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

A-Whisco Inc

Phone: (301) 870-5300 View Additional Phone Numbers 3410 Rockefeller Ct, Waldorf, MD 20602 http://www.movingworldwide.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-Whisco Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-Whisco Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 1998 Business started: 05/19/1973
Business Management
Ms. Toni Jones, President Mr. Francis Morgan, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Toni Jones, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Worldwide Moving Systems
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 870-5050(Phone)
  • (301) 870-5051 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Required Delivery Date for our household goods (BL number ***********) was August 1, 2013. We have contacted A-Whisco several times to try to prompt the company to work to attain delivering our goods by the Required Delivery Date. We initially contacted them while our shipment was still at the port and going through customs, but they stated their policy was not to schedule any deliveries until they had the shipment at their location. We contacted them again after our shipment had cleared customs and was just waiting (for over a week) to be transferred to their company for delivery. Again they said they would not project out in scheduling the delivery and it needed to be at their location. When they did receive our shipment their company was already booked two weeks out and they told us we would have to wait an additional two weeks for delivery. We asked if they had a system to prioritize shipments that were past the Required Delivery Date. They stated it was not their fault the shipment was late and would not prioritize us in the delivery process. They also stated that there are families who are not past their Required Delivery Date who were receiving their shipment ahead of ours. We have been without our belongings Since June 6th and I do not appreciate the lack of urgency this company has for handling our belongings while we are sitting on the floor, eating off of a cardboard box, with our 3-year-old, while I am pregnant. This company lacks efficiency in their scheduling process, demonstrates a complete lack of responsibility in adhering to the Required Delivery Date, and also shows a total disregard for the families who are waiting in empty homes to receive their belongings.

Desired Settlement: 1) Immediate Delivery of our Household Goods 2) This company needs to review their policies to better support the customer. The system in place is inefficient and does not meet the contract requirements for the shipment. Shipments should be tracked, and delivery schedules should be projected based on an estimated arrival time to the delivery company. If a shipment doesn't make it from the port on the estimated date, the slot could be filled by another family ready for delivery, rather than a family who is passed the required delivery date having to wait for a cancellation of a shipment, or wait additional weeks for delivery. 3) This company needs training at all levels in what their overall goals are, and needs to work to meet those goals. Currently there is no indication that any of the staff members have any sense of responsibility for meeting the delivery deadline, and they also demonstrate a nonchalant attitude toward their customers.

Business Response:

We were the delivery agent for ***** *******'s household goods that came from Italy.  Due to tighter custom's clearance and security, we have no control on when his shipment would be processed and brought down by truck from *********.  Until we actually receive any shipment on our docks in *******, Md, we cannot begin the notification and delivery setup.  We received his shipment on August 6, 2013 and emailed ***. ******* on August 6th at 11:14 am.  Due to the size of his shipment, almost 18,000 pounds, requiring a tractor trailer plus and additional truck for his delivery, our earliest available date was August 19.  The shipper chose not to take that date and scheduled the delivery for August 23, 2013.  Additionally, we advised the shipper that we have a cancellation list and if we were able to set the shipment up earlier, we would prioritize his delivery and call him.  Unfortunately we were not able to free up two trucks until his requested delivery date of last Friday.  According to the performance sheet that was signed by ***. ******* during his delivery on Friday, the destination services were excellent and his comments were "Very good crew!"

The Washington DC area was heavily saturated with service member moves during July and August and we strive to make every shipper happy.  We only control what we can at our  warehouse, and have no influence on trucking companies, port agents or shipping lines.   I agree that ***** *******'s shipment should have arrived before his required delivery date of August 1, 2013, but for some reason it did not.  The Transportation Service Provider is responsible for coordinating the logistics of these shipments from origin to destination, we are simply the last one in line to handle the shipment.  We do what we can to accommodate every shipper's concern, however we can't cancel shipments that are already set up for delivery to accommodate a shipment for someone else.  If we set your shipment up for delivery, we guarantee it will be there on that date.  We fully understand and sympathize with each and every military member during their move.  We realize that moving is one of the most stressful things to do, and are sensitive to that fact.  However some things are beyond our control and feel it is better to be honest from the beginning and not set unachievable goals with the shipper feeing they were strung along or lied to.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1