BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

495 Movers, Inc

Phone: (301) 424-4495 View Additional Phone Numbers 640 - B Lofstrand Lane, Rockville, MD 20850 http://495movers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 495 Movers, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 495 Movers, Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 19, 2009 Business started: 05/18/2009 in MD Business started locally: 05/18/2009 Business incorporated: 05/18/2009 in MD
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 1893270.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Moti Kachlon, Owner Mr. Jacob Kuhn, General Manager Mr. Nadav Segal, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Moti Kachlon, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Jacob Kuhn, General Manager
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 640 - B Lofstrand Lane

    Rockville, MD 20850 (301) 424-4495

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 915-6171(Phone)
  • (703) 496-7595(Phone)
  • (888) 495-4951(Phone)
  • (301) 309-6495 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to move my stuff from one my house to other. The estimate is way off; they gave very low estimate to get the job. Crew came 1 hour late; Crew do not have moving skill, training or personally. Took much longer, than the estimate. Broke multiple things and made scratches & dings on both of my houses. My dryer is broken ($1500) I paid few hundreds more for nothing. No one called me to find out about, how the move went. I called them to tell about the numerous broken and damaged items. Company owner is upset that I wrote reviews about the move and denied to pay for the damages.

Desired Settlement: Company need to pay for all the damages and my time ($100 per hour) which I spent to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response: Thanks for taking up the case. Please proceed without the punitive or consequential damages.


Thanks 
****

Business Response: hi there

upon onsite estimate we gave an estimate of 8 hours of job and 1 hour of travel time,arriving time was set between 8-10 in the morning,the crew arrived in 10am(arriving time was signed by customer)please see attachment no 1#
job was done after 11 hours of job and 1 hours of travel time!!,(attachment no 1#
customer was informed about the contract is "non binding" means that he is paying for each additional hour and actual time labor
regarding the damages,customer signed for waiver of full replacement  (means that he is accepting the 60 cent per pound )please see attachment no 2#
a rep from 495movers spoke with customer and ask him to file a claim through csi as stated in the contract but customer is insisting of filing a claims allover without knowing his wrights
495movers will honor the contract after the customer will file a claim through csi
best regards
****
495 asking customer to remove all false reviews regarding late arriving and full replacement!!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After receiving my items more than a month from pickup, there were broken items. Customer service failed to provide assistance and failed to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance and support. The moving company mishandled my items, causing multiple fragile items to break in boxes clearly marked as fragile. There are two items missing from the inventory list, one of which did not make it on the packing list, my Dyson vacuum cleaner, but was on the original contract. The other, a step ladder was on the original packing list, but was not delivered. Customer service failed to provide assistance and failed to respond to phone calls (*****) and written requests (*****) – each phone call was treated as hostile with a response that a person will be there in an hour and call me back. No such thing happened until the day before the delivery, a full month, or 22nd business day after the day of pickup. Sent email to ***** to official 495 address. No answer.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of my vacuum cleaner and aluminum step ladder.

Business Response: To who this may concern ,

We would like to first start and say , this customer never called us with any of here concerns , if she would , we would be more then happy to address all any of her compliant , instead she went directly to the BBB and filed a complaint  without notice , this is unacceptable .

customer is complaining regarding 2 items lost on delivery 
1 step ladder
2 vacuum cleaner .

1  we have the original inventory list made by the owner on the morning of the move, with all items stated clearly and numbered  , there is no vacuum cleaner stated on there , which clearly states  that we never moved  this item to begin with .
2 regarding the broken items inside the boxes , since these  boxes were pbo (packed by the owner himself) we can not be responsible for their contents , we also need to point out the pick up was made in a storage facility and we have no information of who brought the items originally over there.
we do agree about the lost step ladder and willing to pay 0.60 cents per pound for the lost item as mentioned on the contract in writing .
Best regards
***** ****
Relocation Consultant Manager
495 movers inc.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

While indeed, we packed our stuff, there was no reason for our boxes and furniture that 495 movers wrapped and shipped to arrive damaged. Our boxes marked fragile were bent out of shape and even metal pots had dents in them as if something extremely heavy was put on them. I am extremely disappointed with the untruthful behavior and false statements made during our shipment and afterwards. 


Regarding contacting the business prior to adding the complaint, I indeed called your dispatcher 3 times on March 24th, with nobody picking up. See email below pasted verbatim on what I sent on March 26th. 

On March 26th, I called 495 Movers and sent the email, pasted below:


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ****** ******* ********************
Date: Tue, Mar 26, 2013 at 2:23 PM
Subject: Re: Your Moving Estimate #******
To: ***** - 495Movers <*******************


Hi ******

I just received my furniture on Thursday from my move (#*******) and I can’t say I’m happy with how everything turned out. First of all – there is stuff missing:

1)    Vacuum cleaner -   A dyson model that cost me over 300 bucks. While it is listed in my item sheet (see below) it is NOT listed in the descriptive inventory that we received (attached as PDF). Any idea what happened to it?

See link: **************************************************************************************************************************************

2)    I’m missing Item 7 – (see attached PDF) – that was on the list, but was not delivered - a large aluminum step ladder. 

Second, some of my stuff was broken or scraped. Most of my boxes came looking worn and beat up, including those clearly marked “fragile” on all sides. Because of this, I lost at least half of my wrapped glassware and plates, which arrived broken. The kitchen table has a major crack in it from what looks like, being dropped, and my book shelves have a few cracked corners, from what I assume, being dropped.

Importantly, for weeks I was not informed as to where my stuff was, or when it was coming. I was told to get in touch with you guys within the first 2 weeks to see what’s up. I did, but nobody would tell me anything. I received at least three replies that so-and-so would be there in an hour and call me back. Then nothing. This includes an email I sent you directly. I DON’T mind that the move took as long as it did, even though it was pretty close to the 21-22 day deadline. What I mind is being misinformed.

Can you please follow up with me on these issues and let me know why my stuff was mishandled. What can you tell me about receiving compensation for the lost items above?

Thanks,

******



This is NO way to run a business.

Regards,

****** *******








Business Response: This customer is more then welcomed to call us
She has the basic insurance coverage included on her contract.
 we can give her the phone number for our claim department ,  and she will be able to receive compensation for the missing step ladder  by her contract and by law of 0.60 cents per pound per item.
Kindest Regards
495 movers inc

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/1/2012 Delivery Issues
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/9/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/8/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1