BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


AlertOne is a national provider of medical alarms and service. They offer 24-hour emergency monitoring. Clients are provided with a wearable help button to press in the event of an emergency. All products have a 100% warranty. Alert One offers a 30 Day No Risk Trial.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alert One Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Alert One Services Inc. include:

  • 76 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Alert One Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 76 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

76 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 62 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 29
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 36
Total Closed Complaints 76

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Alert One Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Shyne Fitz-Coy
Business Category

Medical Alarms

Refund and Exchange Policy
No refunds after the 30 day risk-free trial period.

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Commerce Park Drive
    Suite 300

    Williamsport, PA 17701


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2015 Delivery Issues
2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2015 Delivery Issues
12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for alert 1 medical alert. It worked fine for approx. two months and then I requested a GPS type because I camped a lot and the one I had would not work. They (alert1) did not supply that type but referred me to Safety Alert USA. As instructed I sent back the alert1 device thru ***. The next month I was charged for the unit, so I called the company and they stated they never received the unit. Two weeks later I received a letter stating I needed this form to send the unit back. It was too late. I have tried to talk to a supervisor many times and left voice messages, but nothing works, as far as I know they still have not received the unit and I am still being charged.******** ******

Desired Settlement: refund of monthly charges, and not to be charged for the unittracking #** *** *** ** **** ****

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

We are still in the process of resolving the issue with *** ******. We have informed her that as listed in our terms and conditions, we cannot cancel services until we receive the system back in our facilities or until it has been deemed as lost by the customer, which is why she has continued to be charged. *** ****** is currently in search of tracking information of her package so we can come to a resolution more quickly.

We look forward to bringing this matter to an amicable resolution with *** ******.

Kristen S******
On Behalf of Alert1 

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* *******, my mother had alert1 and passed away 6-6-2014. I contacted alert1 to return the equipment and it was received by alert1 on July 7th. On 7-14 all requested information was faxed to Amber. I contacted Amber in billing on 7-16 concerning the fact that alert1 had processed the July 1 billing in the amount of $74.85 after ******* ******* had passed away. On 7-16 she stated that they would refund the $74.85 within 4 to 6 weeks Since the refund was never made I have called alert1 two different times and left messages on their voice mail and no one will respond. In summary they have charged for services after my mother was deceased and are refusing to process the refund or provide a valid reason why they are not responding and are not returning phone calls.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the $74.85 which was charged after ******* ******* passed away and an explanation as to why it has not been done as promised by the billing dept. on 7-16-14

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

We appreciate you alerting us of the issues with ******* *******'s account. Unfortunately the person who had promised the refund is no longer with the company, therefore the progress on the refund had been stalled. A refund will be received within 4-6 weeks. 

Apologies for any inconvenience.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, if they follow through with the refund, but that has been promised before and never happened. 


****** *******

9/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alert One refuses to cancel the service when you ask for it to be cancelled. The customer service department does not tell you that you have to return the equipment until you have been billed numerous times. I have been calling and cancelling for over a year and they kept billing me until finally a customer service person told me I had to return the equipment which I did by ******* *******. I feel they charged me close to $400.00 for a service I was not receiving. I told them when I moved in April of 2013 that the equipment did not work and they continued billing me every three months for close to $90.00. I just told my co-worker about my problem and she had the exact same problem with this company when she tried to cancel the service for her mother. They are taking money from people because the customer service reps are not good and do not tell you to return the equipment until many months have passed and they keep collecting their money.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of all the payments I made in the last year since April of 2013. I called them numerous times and they had me put my husband on the phone and confirm he did not want the service and yet they kept taking it out of my account. I told them this time I will not pay the bill. I don't care if they send me to a collection agency or whatever.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Jeremy F***** <******************************>
Date: Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 6:58 PM
Subject: RE: ***** ******** ********
To: ******* ******* ********************



For the protection of our members accounts remain active until our equipment is returned. This is to avoid having someone believe they are protected, press their button only to find out that their account had been cancelled. That is the case in this situation, because the equipment had not been returned the account was not cancelled and service was still being provided to the member.


We’ve reached out to Susan and offered a courtesy refund of $83.85 for a quarter of service and that we will not be sending her to the collection agency for the remaining balance owed as she showed concern to in her complaint.




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because although something is better than nothing, they did not acknowledge that they never told me I had to return the equipment.  They are making it sound like it is all my fault when I told them the equipment was, in fact, not working so saying it is for the protection of the member is not accurate in this case and my friend at work had the exact same experience with this company.  I am happy to get the $83.00 back but I paid $400.00 for a service that was not working.


***** ********

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern,

Refund processing takes between 4-6 weeks from the date of request. The request was made 8/19/14, 4 weeks ago. We are doing all that we can to expedite the process.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** ********

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the 24-hour monitoring system for my 95-year-old mother and paid for it with my credit card. The company could not deliver the unit quickly nor could they tell me the status of my order when I called back after placing the order. I lost confidence in the company's ability to provide good service based on this and have refused the associated equipment package delivery and asked multiple times for a refund. This company has a stated refund policy as follows: "The Member or the Payer, as applicable, whose credit card, bank account or other payment method is used for payment under Section 4.1 may terminate this Agreement at any time for any or no reason, by notifying the Company of your intent to terminate the Agreement." I have asked for a refund but the company is refusing to issue one without also having my 95 year-old mother call to say she wants the service cancelled. This is not in the terms and conditions nor was it stated to me when I asked about returns/refunds prior to the purchase. I truly believe that this company 'policy', which has no grounds in consumer commerce, is intended to discourage people from obtaining refunds. I can only imagine that an elderly person in this situation would be victimized by this company's approach to refunds and lose their money. I have tried multiple time to gain a refund and was told that I would receive a refund. IN an email to me on August 11, 2014 at 12:26 PM, Alert1 wrote - *************** Hi *****, After reviewing the details of your complaint, we will issue you a full refund. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience in the matter. Please send me the address you would like to have your refund check issued to. Thank you, Kristen *********************** I provided the refund info and now they are refusing to send the refund.

Desired Settlement: A refund and I feel that BBB needs to look into this company's practices further. I am sure that other individuals, particularly the elderly, may be falling victim to this company's 'policy' which raises barriers to obtaining refunds. I feel that this is just a way to keep revenue and prey on unsuspecting consumers.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern,

***** ****** and I have been in contact and are in the process of resolving the issue. Due to company policy we are unable to cancel the services until the unit is received in our facility. ***** is entitled to a full refund upon receipt of the unit, due to the 30 day money back guarantee. 
Thank you,

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am having numerous issues with Alert 1/************. As a result I asked to cancel the service and they are refusing to do so even though I paid for the service and equipment. I ordered and paid for (by credit card) this service which involved equipment for the home and monitoring service. After placing the order, I did not receive a confirmation of the purchase and had to call them back to get that - no explanation on why I did not receive it despite confirming that they had the correct email address. I was then told that I could not get a confirmation of shipment. I called back over the weekend and was unable to get anyone to find out if the unit had shipped. I called today and was sent an email confirmation of shipment to go out today - this is now 4 days post-order. After I receive the email with the late shipment notification, I called to see if they could send it overnight to get it sooner. After trying to explain what I needed I was cut off from the call (this has happened multiple times when talking to this company). I then called back and couldn't get someone to talk to on this issue. Here I lost confidence that Alert 1/************ could provide good monitoring service so I want to cancel the service. When I called back I sent from the customer service rep, to a supervisor, to a manager to try to cancel the service and was refused even though I am the purchaser. They insist that only the person who receives the service can cancel per company policy. This is a scam to keep sales and make it difficult for customers to cancel or change services. I am sure that this company policy is costing unsuspecting individuals unnecessary expenditures for their services. I am requesting that the BBB look into this ASAP to help me obtain my refund being inappropriately witheld but, more importantly, help individuals who are being adversely impacted by this.

Desired Settlement: Refund to me and a change to the company policy.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

We have been in contact with *** ****** to resolve the issue. 

From our Terms and Conditions accessible at *************************************************************

4.4          Payments Due Upon Termination.  Your obligation to make payments under Section 4.1 following termination pursuant to Section 3.2 shall continue until the later to occur of (i) if the termination occurs within the first two weeks of the month, the end of the current month; (ii) if the termination occurs within the last two weeks of the month, the end of the succeeding month, and (iii) the end of the month in which your Equipment is returned to and received by the Company.

We are currently waiting to receive the unit before we can process his full refund. This has been communicated to *** ****** and is my understanding that we will continue to work together to resolve it.





8/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a medical alert system for my husband who was having issues with balance. When I got the system, I paid for the first quarter and got 1 month free. I got the system in April so the payment would have been due in August. A couple weeks ago my husband and I decided that he no longer needed the system as his health issues had improved. I called Alert One and made arrangements to return the system. I have the tracking information which states that they received the system on July 22nd. Today, July 29th, Alert One made a ACH debit against my checking account for $145.80. When I called the company, I was told that the payment was submitted on the 18th, prior to my returning the equipment. That is ridiculous as it would NOT take 11 days for a payment to hit my account. I was told that MAYBE the supervisor could take care of the problem, but she was unavailable but I could leave a message on her voice mail, which I did. This is bad business, that you would charge people that can't afford the system, but get it for peace of mind, after they have returned the equipment. I feel that this was punishment for not keeping their equipment.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $145.80 returned along with the $40.00 bank fee that I will incur for this being an overdraw on my account. (I do not have the money to pay this amount. Another reason I returned the system BEFORE it was due) I would also like any other fees that this might cause me to have based on the fact that it may cause other things to bounce which otherwise would not have. I also want this to show in their future ratings.

Business Response: To Whom it may Concern:

Our management team contacted *** ******** in order to issue a refund, and *** ******** had stated that she was already disputing the charge with her bank so there was no need.
We appreciate the opportunity to review our return/cancellation policies, and hope to avoid problems such as this one in the future. 
If *** ******** has any further issues in receiving her money back, you may provide her with my personal contact information.
Thank you,
Kristen S******
Corporate Development Associate

8/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am highly dissatisfied with the customer service I have received. My mother-in-law prepaid for a year of service plus the equipment for the alert system. We hooked the system up and it would not work. I called many times and was finally told she needed the wireless system because she has **** ******* for her phone line. When we received the wireless system we hooked it up to the alert system. Her phone line would not work correctly. I called Alert One back. They said it was the ******* line, I called ****. They ran a test on her phone. **** said her phone line was working. She wasn't able to call out but we could call her. I decided to call Alert One Services and cancel the service. I was told she would receive a full refund in 6 weeks. I have proof through UPS that both the alert system and the wireless were returned on June 23 & 24. I called today (July 22, 2014) and was told no refund would be issued. I am very frustrated. This system would not work with **** *******, no where on the company website does it say ******* is not compatible. I was told by many CSR's it is not compatible with *******. The system was ordered in May 2014 and returned in June 2014. There is no way we could have had the system returned within their 30 day return policy...with calling them, ordering the wireless system, waiting on it to be shipped, hooking it up. I called customer service and was told a return label. I waited a return label was sent. I called and a return label was e-mailed. The person did not e-mail 2 I called back and had a return label for the wireless system e-mailed. We want the over 500.00 dollars prepaid refunded. This system never worked with her **** *******. I have been told today (July 22, 2014) no refund is to be given. This is not morally and ethically right. My mother-in-law lives on a fixed budget. If the system worked correctly with **** ******* we would have kept the system but since it does not, as I was told by many CSR's I talked too, no information is on the company website that it is not compatible with **** *******, and I was told my mother-in-law would receive a is the right, morally, ethically procedure to take. A full refund. I talked to Amber, a supervisor, at ext 6127 with Alert One today (July 22, 2014) and she could not refund the money. That our options were a ******** wireless pendant or donate her pre-paid equipment to a person in need. Neither of these options is acceptable to us.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund. This system does not work with **** *******. The company knows it doesn't, it is not stated on their company website. If it had we would not have ordered it. I was told on the phone a full refund would be issued when the equipment was returned. It was returned by UPS, tracking number shows it was delivered back to Alert One Services.

Business Response: Hello:

We received a similar complaint from ******** directly. I followed up with her and Alert1 we refunded her a prorated amount. The customer was satisfied with this resolution and thanked me for all of my help. We consider the matter resolved as of July 29, 2014. Please see attached emails for confirmation.

Thank you,
Kristen S******
Corporate Development Associate

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******** ********

3/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been requesting a refund or partial refund for the Alert 1 device my mother purchased several months ago. My Mother, ******, at the time of purchase, was living in an independent living situation needing this service. She fell and broke her femur in her right leg and ended up in over 100 days of recovery in a rehab facility. We all were hoping that she could return to her independent living situation; however after several long months of rehab, it became quite evident that she needed to be in an Assisted living home. At this point we were well past the 30 day return policy and the Alert 1 box hadn't even been opened. I called Alert 1 and they said we were out of luck and had to return the device for no refund, and not doing so, would result in extra fees. I was hoping that they would just charge us a handling fee and refund the majority of the $325 cost. When I called to work things out, they said a manager would be calling me, but I have yet to hear from anyone. The device is still in it's original packaging and can easily be returned, if they will be willing to work out a fair arrangement. The company does not appear to be caring for their clients as much as they want to make a profit.

Desired Settlement: I would agree to a $50 or $75 handling fee, but want the balance to be refunded to my Mother's account. I would appreciate a call from their Manager, as they said, to resolve this issue in a fair and professional matter.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** ***** <***************************>
Date: Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 3:27 PM
Subject: Case # ******* **** ***** for member ****** ***** *******
To: "******************" <******************>
Cc: ****** ****** <******************************>

Dear ******* *******,
Thank you for speaking to me this afternoon regarding case # *******.  I left a voice mail for **** ***** and also sent an email to him (see below) today, Wednesday, 3/19/2014, I have not received a response from him.  I have requested that he contact me regarding the refund situation, once he contacts me I will be more than happy to discuss with him the refund which I have approved in the amount of $311.40 to his **** ending in ****.  The refund does not include the $19.95 shipping charge as per the phone order he requested rushed shipping vs. free shipping.    The $311.40 refund is contingent on the return of our medical alert system, once the equipment is returned we will be more than happy to refund his credit card.
I would also like to express my (our) apology to **** ***** for the non return of a call from management regarding this matter.  An attempt was made on 2/5/2014 to contact **** ***** however the manager was unable to leave a message and did not follow up with him on a different day to assist him in this matter.
Please have **** ***** contact our office, preferably me, direct to receive cancellation instructions and a personal apology.  I may be reached at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.
Please feel free to contact me should you need additional information.
Thank you
**** *****
Administrative Assistant

8/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business continually calls with the same recording that seems to be targeted the elderly. This is a confusing recording and could unlawfully and unwillingly the purchase of a medical product. Here is the number that is being used to make the calls recently: ************ from ******, VA.

Desired Settlement: This robo-call should stop immediately. The harassment of my family has been continual for 4 weeks and our number is on the do not call list. Further, if others are receiving the same call, then fraud seems to be the only motivation.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

                We have received complaint ******* and have reached out to the customer. Alert1 is not responsible for the calls this customer has received. We do not make automated calls of any kind, and do not engage in these types of sales tactics. The number that the customer advised is being used to perpetrate these calls is not owned, or in use by Alert1.

                In contacting the customer, we have advised that the calls are not from Alert1, or any company affiliated with us. We have provided the customer with information regarding other reported incidents, as well as instructions on how to handle any further fraudulent calls he may receive.

                Please let me know if any further information is needed regarding this complaint.



***** *******, Associate Manager 
Alert1 | Toll-free Phone  ###-###-#### | Toll-free Fax  ###-###-#### | Email ************************

6/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We have reviewed complaint ******* and have spoken with the customer. This issue has been resolved to our mutual satisfaction. Although our Terms and Conditions clearly state that the customer is liable for payment until AlertOne has received the equipment back, a courtesy refund from the date on which the customer expressed the desire to cancel will be issued. The customer has agreed that this refund satisfies her concerns.

Please let me know if any further information is needed regarding this complaint.


***** *******
Associate Manager of Customer Experience
Alert One Services Inc. | Toll-free Phone ( ***** ******** | Toll-free Fax 7 ***** ******** | Email * ************************

5/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable