BBB Accredited Business since

Affordable Comfort Contracting, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (570) 992-2806 Fax: (570) 992-8636 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 573, Saylorsburg, PA 18353 http://www.affordablecomfortinc.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Affordable Comfort Contracting provides residential and commercial plumbing & heating services for new construction, electrical conversions and radiant floor heat.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Affordable Comfort Contracting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Comfort Contracting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Comfort Contracting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1998 in PA Business started locally: 09/01/1998 Business incorporated 07/01/2001 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA004979.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Diane Gill, Vice President Mr. Greg Gill, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Diane Gill, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Greg Gill, President
Business Category

Mechanical Contractors Plumbers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 1201 Route 115

    Saylorsburg, PA 18353

  • PO Box 573

    Saylorsburg, PA 18353

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2004 we purchased a Heil heat pump/Central Air system from Affordable Comfort Contracting (recommended by them), which they installed. We had to call them back several times after they installed the system because we couldn't get the heat to go up past 50 degrees in the middle of winter and we had an infant. Weeks later after coming back several times they sent an electrician to fix the issue and it turned out that the wiring was hooked up wrong. The system functioned properly after that point until recently. This January we were having issues with the heat and had "Affordable" come out and we were charged an $85 service fee and were told that the compressor was shot and they offered to replace the unit "because it was a piece of crap" (that they sold us) or if we'd like, because the compressor was under warranty, we could opt for them to install the new compressor which was supposed to include "recovery of refrigerant, install new compressor, evacuate system then charge system as well as to check for proper operation"- words taken from their invoice. We opted for them to just replace the compressor and not the entire 'piece of crap' unit. They charged us $950 in labor and miscellaneous materials needed (although it was under warranty). This May when we put the Central Air on for the first time it just ran and ran and didn't cool at all. Freon was leaking into our office downstairs onto our equipment without our knowledge. We called the company out again only to be charged a service fee again and this time to be told that the Freon must have escaped ant that we would need 4 gallons of Freon @ over $50/gallon. After my husband didn't like that answer the technician told my husband that it only needed 1 gallon and that's what he put in We were charged for the Freon that was supposed to be 'captured' and he tried to get us to pay for more. Our system still isn't cooling. I called the company back several times and was told that I could possibly get another service charge if they come out again to fix it and it turns out to be something else. I called them because my Central Air isn't working, paid over $1,000 and am in the same position as when I first called them. I shouldn't have to pay for their guessing games.

Desired Settlement: I just want my unit working without getting raked over the coals. They can either repair it correctly or refund my money so I can have someone else repair it correctly.

Business Response:



---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** **** ********************************
Date: Fri, Jul 26, 2013 at 11:59 AM
Subject: Re: *******
To: ******* ******* ********************

Good Morning *******,I am responding to Complaint ID *******... In response to ***. *******'s letter to you pertaining to her heat pump system.The heat pump in question was purchased and installed 12-3-04.Yes, there was a factory wiring issue that was not allowing the back up heat to function during defrost operation.This was corrected and as she stated ran until January of 2013.Our company has no record of any preventive maintenance, coil cleanings, filter changes, system evaluations at all since the install.At time of install and review of equipment it is always recommended to the customer that the system be cleaned and serviced once a year to keep system operating at peak efficiency.Clogged filters and dirty coils are the number one reason for compressor failure.***. *******'s unit did have a compressor failure. In accordance with their warranty from Heil the manufacture.They were entitled to a new compressor only, The *******'s would be responsible for labor, refrigerant and any additional items to complete compressor install. All prices for such were given prior to start of work for their approval.The *******'s were also given an option to replace their system to a new model and start fresh with a new 10 year parts and compressor warranty.It was explained also that changing the compressor does not extend any warranty on the unit and they would have the remainder of the original warranty.The *******'s choose to replace the compressor and the work was performed.It wasn't till four months later that they called and were having cooling issues.Our technician found a leaky shrader valve ( original to the system). The valve was repaired and lost freon added back to system. Less then a month later we received a call that the system was not keeping up with outdoor temperatures.Our company called to set an appointment with no return call. Our technicians stopped by on one occasion and no one was home but a card was left in door to call office. When **** from the office finally did speak with ***. ******* she stated that they did not expect to pay for any more service calls. It was explained that if it was malfunctioning due to our repair then there would be no charge. She felt that since she paid 1000.00 to have the compressor replaced that should cover any repair cost the unit would have. **** again explained her warranty and we would need to evaluate the system first to determine cause. ***. ******* then stated if we were unable to make her system work to their liking she would contact her lawyer. Since then there has been no attempt made on her behave to return phone calls or allow our technicians to examine system. It is unfortunate that we cannot find common ground to rectify this situation. I believe our A+ rating with the BBB is an example of Affordable Comfort Contracting, Inc. commitment to customer satisfaction.  **** ****
General Manager
Affordable Comfort Contracting, Inc