BBB Accredited Business since

Richstone Marble & Granite, LLC

Phone: (703) 542-8112 View Additional Phone Numbers 25284 Pleasant Valley Rd Units 122 & 148 , Chantilly, VA 20152 http://richstonegranite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richstone Marble & Granite, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Richstone Marble & Granite, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Richstone Marble & Granite, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 30, 2008 Business started: 07/04/2007 in VA Business started locally: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated 10/04/2007 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705148731A.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ablikiem Rehman Dolan, Member/Manager Ms. Sofia Dolan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sofia Dolan, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Ablikiem Rehman Dolan, Member/Manager
Business Category

Marble - Cultured


Additional Locations

  • 25284 Pleasant Valley Rd Units 122 & 148

    Chantilly, VA 20152 (571) 642-4336 (703) 542-8112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Richstone to place a granite kitchen counter in my daughter's apartment. My daughter is abroad for work and I am taking care of her apartment The lady I dealt with is ******** ****** who explained the details for their sale ad they had ont heir website and she could do the job in few days. We exchanged several e-mails and decided for the color. She met me at the address on Saturday 6-28-2014 and sent her employee to take measurements. Her installers/employees came yesterday (7/2/14 at 4 p.m.) to install and they realized that part of the granite was cut wrong and short ( see attached photo) . Her employees also told me that the person that took measurements is ********'s husband. I immediately left her voicemails and sent e-mails. My daughter is in the process of selling her apartment and we had our agent ready to take photos and put up the sale ad, but had to wait for these upgrades to be done. I asked her that I should receive a discount because of the mistake that was done by the person measuring and all the delays that it entailed. I called Richstone  offices this morning and asked for the manager. A guy by the name of ****** said that Richstone company has no manager and to call later. ******** sent the attached e-mail and she said that she was talking to her Boss and as soon as SHE would let her know what to do, she will contact me. She replied later with this e-mail and said that I do not deserve anything and her tone is like ..."take a hike"....I called and ask for the manager. ******** answered the phone and after a long wait, she put me through to "" when I asked him his full name and e-mail he screamed at me and said his name is ***** ****** and that I just talked to him this morning ! I told him that this morning he gave the name of ******...He said "I do not care if you sue me, or write and we have no time and I have ****** and I can use any name and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: Richstone should accept responsibility and never say that they "accommodate" me with time. I informed **. ******** that I needed the services soon as possible and had other companies lined up. She said they could it in 2 days and we decided for the date. I took time off form work to be there on time. I paid upfront what I was asked. While the contract says that I had 2 choices of faucet and had to circle one, **, ******** told me over the phone that she would send both faucets and I would chose. She choose for me about the faucet too. This mistake on their side has caused a delay on our schedule. They should be polite and offer a discount and ABOVE ALL, **. ***** or ******* ( no matter what name he uses) should be polite and not use verbal screaming such us "I do not care if you sue me...what do you want??" etc. if it is true that person that took the wrong measurements is **. ********'s husband (as per installers'), is she trying to cover and ignore the mistake and I should not be compensated for the stress and all that came out of this mistake? My last point is that **. ******** said in her e-mail that "as soon as she (her Boss) gets here..." she will communicate with me. How come her Boss became **. ******/*****/****** ( a male) while in her e-mail she says that her Boss is a SHE??!?

Business Response:

In response to the complaint, Richstone Marble & Granite installers accessed the problem of the countertop being too short.  The initial installation was scheduled from 4-6pm per customer’s request, making it difficult to fix the problem after installation because we would have to fabricate the countertop overnight.  This is something that would cause an inconvenience to our employees. We placed the customer’s concern as a priority and fabricated the new piece in the morning. We worked around her schedule and installed the new piece by end of business day following her initial installation. Even though we offered the customer the service of going back out to her home to fix the problem, she demanded compensation.  We will offer a $50.00 discount in response to her complaint.  If there is any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Message: Sir/Madam:

In regard to the reply to Richstone Marble & Granite. I would like the following to happen;

*** ******** is not telling the truth and she should acknowledge that. She knows (had few companies lined up for the job and she promised an excellent job to do it. So I went with her. Once her employers realized that the granite was wrong, they called their direct Supervisor (cutting Dept, they said) and I left so many voice mails to her and sent several text messages. She NEVER replied, in fact she replied the next day by e-mail and asked me NOT to contact her after hours (see attached e-mail from her). Now she is stating that she offered to go back out of my home to fix the problem....and I refused....this contradicts her e-mail. She NEVER answered my calls or text!!! $50 is what I tipped all her workers (3 of them including the plumber, who refused to take credit card payments and said that *** ******** should have told me of only check or cash payments. Him and I drove to a **** ** ******* ATM so I could pay him cash and I tipped him $ 15! On top of the $ 175 for service!). Can she apologize and accept responsibility? Can her manager (lady or gentleman) accept responsibility? The man called ******* or other, all he did was screaming on the phone while she said her Supervisor was a SHE (see attached e-mail). On top of doing mistakes, she keeps on creating stories. This is not how a customer that paid upfront should be treated. Apologies and more than $ SO is what I deserve. She created a lot of tress. And she creates stories. You be the judge for her distortions of facts! She never answered. We were (me and her installers) trying to reach someone and fix the issue while we were there! She never answered and the next day said NOT to contact her after hours! Thank you,



Regards,

********* ********* *********








Business Response:

Our company business hours are from 9am-6pm.   Our employees are not obligated to respond to customers after these hours.   Our employee even provided **. ********* with her personal cell phone number, which is not something she usually does for customers.  This is something she did to provide her with better customer service.  ********* indicates there was a miscommunication as to whether the manager was a SHE or a HE, but there are multiple managers within the company so our employee, ********, was not providing false information.  As for the plumbing, that is a separate company and we do not handle expenses with them, we just coordinate the times.  It is also not a company requirement to tip the workers.  I believe that there has been a huge miscommunication.  We apologize for any inconvenience that was brought to you.  To compensate, we will give **. ********* a $100 check.  Please let us know if you have any further questions.  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by Richstone in reference to complaint ID ********, and find it useless to go forward. This is a deceiving company that does not accept full responsibility. Instead they go around and accuse the consumer. I commend the installers and have marked the final form as such. It is not mandatory to tip installers, but they are decent people and their company should appreciate that they are rewarded and appreciated. **. ******** gave her cell. phone from the very beginning to secure the deal and not to accommodate me! I would like to receive a final bill with $ 100.00 deduction and any other offer/deduction that was included previously in the bill. Please have Rich stone send the copy of the final receipt to you as well, so you will witness what they bill & deduct. I would like this nightmare to be in their records. Again, the installers are decent human beings and they were as shocked as me for the wrong measurements. They measured the final time and all went fine because of them. will wait for the final reply with copy of receipt and deductions

Regards,

********* ********* *********

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract on 11/7/13 to have granite countertops purchased, designed, fabricated and installed at my residence. The contractor agreed to arrive at approximately 1pm to install the granite countertop on 11/9/13; however, they did not arrive that day until 5:30pm (due to fabricators having other stone to cut for other orders). Upon arriving that evening, the installer installed the main countertop (where the sink and stove reside). The additional countertop (i.e., the bar height countertop sitting 6 inches above the main countertop) was designed incorrectly causing the width of the countertop to be 5-6 inches shorter than specified. The installers contacted the design representative and salesperson and they both agreed that the design person made a mistake and didn't coordinate with the salesperson to complete the design accordingly. The salesperson contacted me that evening and informed me & the installers to take the countertop back to the contractor's facilities and they will return mid-week to install a new countertop. Over the next few days, I begin taking pictures of all the errors and sent these pictures to the sales person. On Wednesday 11/13/13, the installer arrived at 5:30pm again to install a new countertop (this was for the higher countertop that was previously designed and fabricated incorrectly). Prior to this visit on 11/13/13, the sales person responded to my pictures of the various errors saying that the contractor would issue a $50 credit for the mistake with one of the main mistakes in designing/fabricating the main countertop too short; however she couldn't make any other concessions until they take a look at the newly fabricated bar-height countertop on 11/13/13. Background information: Due to the size of the original mistake (a major mistake causing them to scrap close to half a slab of granite), the contractor needed to purchase a new granite slab from a wholesaler nearby (where the purchased the original slab). When arriving to install the newly purchased and fabricated stone, the fabricator (either by direction of the owner or on their own decision) decided to cut the newly purchased stone into two different cuts vs. shaping the cut and having one whole piece for the bar-height countertop. The goal was to seamlessly attempt to match two separate formations of the stone to form the correct angles in the new bar height countertop. The seam did not match at all and the installer contacted the design person, salesperson to discuss the second installation error. The salesperson & design person had previously mentioned that they would come take a look at the other issues I discussed with them the night of 11/13/13. Upon arriving to look at the various other mistakes, the salesperson mentioned that she agreed that the seams for the newly installed countertop do not match and that they will come back a third time to coordinate a matching seam so that new top countertop would not show opposing formations in the stone from the two sections of the slab that were fabricated. I agreed to allowing them to come back a third time; however, I mentioned how disappointed I was with the entire process. The design person or sales person never informed me that the second slab of stone that they purchased was going to be cut to save them on scrap/waste and that they had already spent additional money on purchasing a separate slab due to their initial error in designing the bar countertop. After discussing the failed 2nd attempt to install the bar-height countertop top, I began discussing the other mistakes that the contractor made while the sales person and design person visited my property. They both agreed to come and view my concerns since the pictures that I sent to them on 11/10/13 didn't quite showcase my concerns and they wanted to view the mistakes in person. My first/major concern for the main countertop was that the design person incorrectly designed the lower countertop and incorrectly measured the countertop to be 2"-2.5" short. The result of designing the lower/main countertop too short is that there is now the countertop sits flush with the lower cabinet versus having an overhang. The design person previously mentioned all countertops always have an overhang in front of all cabinets and at the end of all cabinets (where the cabinet ends and a refrigerator or stove isn't present). Picture a set of cabinets that end with the entrance to a hallway. The cabinets end at a section that is adjacent to the living room entrance. Where the countertop ends is where the dishwasher resides. There is one panel of cabinet that encloses the entire set of lower cabinets and blocks the view of the right side of the dishwasher. The main countertop that was incorrectly designed did not overlap this final cabinet panel like the design person previously mentioned. The main countertop sat directly flush with the side cabinet panel. The installation attempted to shove wooden shims into the space between the new countertop and above the lower cabinet and applying glue to ensure the lower panel and new countertop would sit correctly. After viewing this major mistake, the design and salesperson began making excuses that they informed me of the design that was prepared and that they correctly designed the countertop correctly. The sales person also said that it is not their fault that the new countertop is installed this way and that I moved the lower cabinet panel, thus resulting in the new countertop being install flush with the right cabinet panel. I informed her several times that evening that I did not incorrectly move the lower right panel and I even sent both of them several pictures showing that I did not cause this error. I have pictures for this in case BBB wants to see that I am not lieing. Secondly, I previously had laminate flooring in my kitchen. The laminate flooring that was previously installed when the home was built 12 years ago showed exactly how the laminate flooring was cut around the lower right panel. I have pictures showing that the lower right panel never moved from its original position after I removed the existing countertop before the new countertops were to be installed. As a result of this conversation and blame game, I asked the salesperson to show some professionalism and stop pointing any fingers at me. I asked for her and the design person to come up with a feasible plan to resolve the issues with the main countertop being designed and fabricated too shortly. The sales person said that she I caused this issue and that the measurements are reflected in the design drawing. She began to get hostile with me and said that their company has never spent more time with any customer and proceeded out of my house vehemently in anger. I responded by mentioning that this is the main issue for all of these errors. She kept informing of a design drawing, yet prior to the installation, I even sent the salesperson a list of final questions to ensure there would be nothing left undone/mistakes prior to the installers coming. I have these emails. Her response was that I said don't worry about the drawing. This is completely untrue. I would not have sent this email in the first place. The reason I decided to send an email was because of the numerous errors that the sales person made in the contract write up that caused me concern in the design. For example, the contract is a generic contract used from one customer to the next. The sales person made several mistakes. Here is what was included in my email to have her fix in the contract: Michelle, I printed the invoice and contract and noticed a few things: 1). The invoice shows an install & due date of 11/4/2013. 2). I think VA state sales tax is now 6% versus 5%, but who knows, it may be for other retail stores. Just a note. 3). The contract 1st page at the bottom mentions: Material: ****** Bronze. Faucet: Client Providing Faucet Edge: Full bullnose upgrade Cook top cutout: Yes Plumbing: No. Please revise this per my job description and I'll begin filling out the rest. Also, how many faucet holes will be cut? I guess I only need one for the faucet, correct? Or do you still cut 3 holes and provide some sort of caps/covers for these extra holes just in-case the next homeowner wants to put a soap dispenser or something else there? Note: this signed contract is being completed without seeing any fabrication design. I haven't seen how many seems per countertop, or how the top counter is curved Other issues with the contract included payment terms (total amount, deposit amount, and final amount due). She said that she has been busy with several customers during the process of preparing my contract and forgot to make the correct changes to my contract prior to sending me the agreement. Upon leaving, the design person apologized for the salesperson's behavior. Since the contractor would have to come back for a third time to install the bar countertop, the design person stayed after the salesperson left to get a new design to ensure that the final installation would occur without any other errors. I informed the design person that I would no longer work with this salesperson after how unprofessional she was towards me and began falsely accusing me of their mistakes. Additional Background: Please realize that every time the contractor had to come back with new countertops this caused them to continue to spend more money out of their pocket due to the mistakes on their behalf (labor, new granite slab and travel expenses). They were getting upset at the loss in profit as I was getting upset with the entire process from sales (contracts and terms), design process (incorrectly designed the top countertop 5-6 inches short, incorrectly designed lower cabinet 1"-2" inches short, fabrication process (2nd installation for bar countertop didn't have seams that closely resembled the opposite stone section). The 3rd installation didn't occur for nearly two weeks due to conflict of working with the sales person. I left several voicemails for the sales manager to call me; however, I didn't get a call. I proceeded to email the sales manager and the owner of the company directly to voice my concerns over the professionalism of this sales person. After finally engaging the owner, he requested that I allow the company to come pick up the bar-height countertop so they could attempt to match the seam. I agreed; however, I also informed him that I want resolution on how he plans to fix the other issues. He said that he will personally visit my property after the bar-height countertop is installed. On 12/3/13, I made arrangements for the installers to pick up the bar-height countertop and to come back the same evening to install the bar-height countertop for hopefully the 3rd and final time. On 12/3/13, the bar height countertop was complete. Over the next few days, I spoke to the owner of the company and he agreed to meet me on 12/13/13 to review the remaining issues for repair or come up with a satisfactory solution. Approximately 12pm, the owner visited my property and I had asked my father to come listen to what the owner had to say since I have been constantly struggling to get this contractor to take ownership of their mistakes. The owner first viewed the lower/main countertop that did not have a proper overhang and was cut 1-2" short. He said that this was not their fault and that they will not make any repairs to fix this mistake. I responded by saying I have all pictures, emails and even a response from your sales person saying that she would issue a $50 credit. He said that he has a design drawing that I signed showing the correct measurements and that he has all the same documents, emails and pictures. I asked him to please show me a picture of the design drawing. He couldn't present it to me. I asked him to send it to me. He never sent it to me. The next issue for repair was a chip in the surface about the size of a quarter where the stove/range resides. He said that this was repairable and will have it taken care of. I said okay. The next issue was that the sink hole that was cut for the new sink is extremely crooked and that it is very noticeable. He said that his fabricators use laser machines to cut holes/straight edges. I responded by saying that the laser machine and fabricators did not precisely cut this hole for this sink and that it there is a noticeable difference in how the hole for the sink is cut. He said this was repairable and will be taken care of. Finally, I reengaged him on the main countertop that was incorrectly cut too short and I was not happy with his response for not resolving this issue. I said that I have given you a month to come up with a feasible/fair and reasonable repair to fix the noticeable error in how the countertop was cut and it is now sitting flush on the lower cabinet panel. I recommended cutting the lower cabinet panel 1-1.5" and sliding the panel over to at least to not show such a noticeable flaw in the countertop. I was actually being more than kind with this approach realizing that this company has made multiple mistakes throughout the entire process and has purchased an entire extra slab of granite due to their other errors. He responded by saying that his company is not responsible for this error and that they are not carpenters. My response was that if you cannot fix this panel (saving you from having to replace the entire main countertop), then I request that you completely remove the entire granite countertops and refund me my money completely. He responded by saying that their work is officially done and they will not be completing anymore work on my property (this included the other issues with the chipped surface the size of a quarter and the uneven fabrication sink hole). Prior to the owner of Richstone Granite & Marble departing from my property on 12/13/13, I informed the owner that the new granite countertop is not complete, and that it is not completed to my satisfaction until these numerous mistakes are repaired. I said, that I do not authorize you to charge my credit card for the remaining 30% balance due upon satisfactory completion of work, otherwise you are committing fraud. He got in his car and left. My father immediately asked me to contact my credit card provider and to put a freeze on my card for Richstone Granite & Marble until the necessary repairs are complete or a fair solution was determined. I immediately called ******** ******* and they informed me that on 12/6/13 that Richstone Granite & Marble charged the remaining balance on my credit card. I informed ******** ******* that this company did not have my authorization to charge my credit card for the remaining balance. They asked if I would like to dispute the charges. I indeed disputed the charges with ******** *******. After 3 months of reviewing appeals, ******** ******* of listening to me and Richstone Granite, ******** ******* said that they could not request the merchant to return the funds to your account. They said that they are not arbitraries and cannot settle my dispute. They recommended that I contact the merchant directly and try to resolve the repairs once more. They said that they have put a flag/watch on this company and if they see continued complaints from the merchant, then they will halt this merchant from doing business with ******** *******. On 2/13/14, I sent the owner, sales person and sales manager an email stating, have made several inquiries with ******** ******* and disputed the charges to my credit card. The contract that you sent and I signed clearly states, "70% deposit due at order and the remaining 30% due at completion. Balance upon completion and acceptance of work". I said that your company knew that I had pending repairs/issues that needed addressed; however, the owner recommended the bar-height countertop get installed first before making the other repairs. I told them that I have sent multiple emails requesting these repairs, taken multiple pictures, contacted multiple people yet on 12/3/13 the bar height countertop was installed, then on 12/13/13 the owner visited my property informing me that no additional work will be completed. Finally, I come to find on 12/6/13 (before the owner came to visit my property to view my request to fix their mistakes), that the company fraudulently charged my credit card. I informed them that if these repairs or fair restitution was not coordinated ASAP, that I am asking for final resolution to this matter. If Richstone Marble & Granite LLC does not wish to make the necessary repairs, then I will begin the process of filing a claim with Fairfax County Small Claims Court and additionally filing a report with the Better Business Bureau. Richstone Granite responded by saying, "In response to your recent email. We are willing to work with you. In your contract & signed documents, including the drawing you signed off on, everything you complained about is CLEARLY stated & outlined. Gapping occurs, movement on natural stones do not always match perfectly & sometimes seams are required just because the granite a client approves is physically too small to accommodate a larger piece. This is all clearly outlined in the terms of our contract. We came back to your home to try to resolve this and satisfy you more than we've ever gone to anyone's home in the entire history of this business. The fact that the granite did not end up like you pictured it is not a reason to keep our product & take back your money. We are happy to refund you, even waive the 35% fee for cancellation (also in contract terms), however, in that case, we will be picking up our granite countertops. If you want to take this to court we will respond with a counter suit for the additional fees we had to pay & our loss because of the time & labor & additional stone cost that your project required. If you want us to refund the money please email a written request & schedule a date for granite removal. Sincerely, Michelle & Richstone Family My final response was: "Michelle, I have asked repeatedly for the things I question to be fixed. Please coordinate the repairs to the countertop and feel free to email me a copy of the drawing that I signed. Finally, I really am not concerned about how many times your company visited my house. Until the work is complete to my satisfaction, the final payment should have never been debited from my credit card account. The company never responded and I am really upset that I have had to work with such an unprofessional company. I cannot determine what the primary nature of my complaint is. There are so many types of complaints from 1), Product Issues - product was defective 2). Refund/Exchange Issues 3). Repair Issue - improper or inferior repair; an unreasonable or excessive delay in completing a repair; an unauthorized repair; the failure to honor an advanced request to return the parts 4). Sales Issues - a sales presentation that misrepresents the product; a sales presentation that misrepresents the service; a sales presentation with high pressure sales; a sales presentation that had a verbal representation not consistent with the written agreement; a sales presentation that failed to disclose key conditions of the offer 5) Service Issues - an improper or inferior service; an unreasonable or excessive delay in completing the service; an unauthorized service.

Business Response:

First and foremost, we always try to do an honest and well done job for all of our customers.  If there are any mistakes on our behalf, we make sure to fix them with no extra cost to the customer. This is the principle that we go by as a family owned company.  When we worked on *** ******’s project, we fixed any errors made on our part.  We went to the customer’s property, measured the countertop, and wrote a contract based upon these measurements. The customer then removed his existing countertops and cabinet pieces, which made the installation of the new granite countertops not as compatible with the cabinets.  In regards to the customer’s first/major concern, the cause for his claim for improper measurement is not valid.  He moved the cabinet pieces himself and did not properly re-install them.  They were crooked and we had to level the granite countertop against the side panel by putting shims on it.  We have a clear picture that shows evidence of this. The second time our technician went to his house, the customer told him that he had removed the dishwasher panel and that he was concerned because he couldn't get it to go back on correctly.  The differences in the overhang on granite pieces happened because the panel was not properly installed and aligned.  The granite countertops are fabricated by a machine and are always cut straight.  We took the measurement based on what was there before he removed the countertops and cabinets.

The only error on our end was due to a miscommunication on the overhang (how much the granite is past the bar top) and we took full responsibility for this and replaced the bar top piece.  We even took back the second installed piece because the customer didn’t like the flow of the natural stone formation at the seam location. We went out of our way and even replaced the correct piece.  We are not responsible for how the seam looks because we cannot control the natural flow of the granite, which states clearly in our contract.  This applies *** ******’s granite color since he has a dramatic flow of patterns and colors within his slab.  He also selected his own slab before fabrication. 

The customer stated that there was a delay on our part to fix the errors; however, he failed to mention that we went to his place at his requested time, but he did not show up.  We always provide an estimated time of arrival for installation, which is written in the contract.  We kept in touch with *** ****** and informed him as we reinstalled the bar top for the second and third time.  The reason for our delay was that we were pressured to start the customer’s project at the agreed installed date, when in fact he delayed in giving the contract as well as the first deposit.  On average, it takes about 3-5 days to fabricate a kitchen, but we fabricated his project in less than 3 days.

The owner of the company went to the customer’s property multiple times and explained the cause of the error for the granite, which was due to the improper installation of his cabinets.  When we last spoke to the customer after completing the project, we tried to address all of the customer’s concerns and explained to him that we were not responsible for items that are not covered in the contract, but we could fix for an additional cost. 

In regards to getting a full refund for the project, as well as keeping this granite we installed, we clearly stated that if he was not satisfied with the final product, we would give him a full refund on the account of giving the granite countertops back.  We gave him a waiver which would free him from paying 35% fee for canceling the contract.  However, the customer thinks that this would not be fair unless we let him keep the granite countertop we fabricated and installed for him, while also giving him a full refund.

In regards to the balance issue he presented, he filed this same case with ******** *******. As he states, he did not get a refund through them because we clearly have the proper paperwork which he signed that enables us to charge for the remainder of the amount upon completion of the project. The copy of the result from that claim is included.

We have included the copy of the contract that *** ****** signed.  This shows the payment schedule and the terms he agreed to. In addition, we included pictures of the dishwasher panel that was improperly installed. We have included the results from ******** ******* claim that *** ****** has filed.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this case please don’t hesitate to contact us. We have compiled a folder of past conversations, additional paperwork, pictures, etc. for *** ****** if needed upon request.  

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Richstone Granite's response to my complaint is incorrect.  First of all, I sent many emails and made many phone calls to staff and ownership at Richstone Granite concerning multiple errors they made.  They state in their response that they have fixed any errors that they have made with *** ******'s project.  If they fixed all of their errors, why am I writing to complain to the BBB?  The consumer seems to have no course of action for a company to fix their numerous failings other than to state the complaint with the BBB or perhaps file litigation.  I have been wronged by this company so many times and I will not stop filing complaints until this matter is handled properly and they resolve their mistakes.  Richstone is correct.  I did remove the existing countertop and existing panel for the dishwasher.  I removed these elements in preparation for the new countertop installation and after the design person came and measured the countertop.  Richstone granite claims that my removal of the existing countertop and dishwasher panel made the installation of the new granite countertop not compatible with the cabinet is incorrect.   If that was the case, why did they decide to install the countertop?  I properly placed the existing panel exactly back where it was found prior to the installation.  The reason I know that it was placed back exactly as it was before was because the wooden side panel was held onto the wall by wood glue.  The wood glue was placed onto the side panel and then stuck onto a wooden support board that was screwed into the existing wall/frame.  The wooden support bracket was never moved, thus simply regluing the dishwasher panel onto the wooden support board.  Additionally, I also explained to the Richstone Granite several times that I could not have moved the support panel in either direction because 1), the wooden panel was re-glued to the support panel and 2). the underlying floor was vinyl flooring that showed were the preexisting panel resided prior to reinserting it.  If the panel was shifted, then the vinyl flooring would not show exactly there the homebuilder cut the vinyl flooring to ensure that the vinyl flooring would wrap properly around the dishwasher panel.  Their claim that I incorrectly reinserted the dishwasher panel is completely false and I am truly disappointed that they continue to put any blame of their incorrect measurements on me.  There is no way that I could install the side panel crooked, unbalanced etc.. or whichever excuse that Richstone Granite prefers to use.  The side panel was re-glued to the support board and reinserted onto the same vinyl flooring.  The vinyl flooring did not sink, the vinyl flooring did not move, I did not replace the flooring in the kitchen prior to Richstone granite installing the granite countertop.   Please see the attached document discussing the numerous mistakes.  None of the repairs were ever made.  The contractor put shims on underneath the side panel because the installer had no other option to complete the job.  The granite slab was cut into two pieces.  The first piece was cut to the left side of the kitchen sink.  The second slab was the kitchen sink plus the remainder of the countertop where the countertop ended at the dishwasher.  The installer had to move the initial granite slab over .5" away from the drywall to compensate for the second granite slab being cut too short.  If the initial slab was placed flush against the wall like the other countertops, then the second countertop would not even sit flush with the side panel.  The side panel would overhang the countertop.  The side panel would have been exposed by .5", thus the installer slid the first countertop over .5" to make the second countertop sit flush.  Additionally, the contractor decided to put wooden shims above the side panel to ensure that the granite countertop sat flush.  They did the bare minimum to complete the job and hoped that I wouldn't notice that the wooden shims looked horrible and that the countertop did not overlap the side panel by 1.5"-2.0" like every other portion of the project or like 99% of every other homeowner that has a granite countertop (this is a generalization; however, I believe you get my point).  The other point that Richstone makes is that "
The granite countertops are fabricated by a machine and are always cut straight".  Please refer to the attachment showcasing that the countertop is not always cut straight.  The kitchen sink is completely crooked and they have never fixed this after multiple attempts to contact them.  Even the owner said that they are done with their work.  

The next paragraph from Richstone's response states "The only error on our end was due to a miscommunication on the overhang (how much the granite is past the bar top) and we took full responsibility for this and replaced the bar top piece".  If this is the only error, why does the attached document showcase numerous errors and that they are not fixed to date?  Furthermore, Richstone Granite provided BBB with the copy of the contract.  The clearly states, "If the customer makes any changes to the fabrication order once it as been signed, s/he needs to notify the main office at ###-###-#### and ask for a new fabrication order to complete".  I NEVER RECEIVED A FABRICATION ORDER.  I SENT AN EMAIL ASKING FOR THIS AND THE SALESPERSON SAID NOT TO WORRY ABOUT IT, THAT THIS IS AN EASY PROJECT.  If I would have seen a fabrication order, I would have prevented Richstone Granite from fabricating the top countertop 5" too short for the width of the countertop and I would have also prevent Richstone Granite from fabricating the lower countertop 1.0"-2.0" short in length where the side panel for the dishwasher sits.  Let me ask a question, what would have happened if Richstone Granite installed the countertop beginning at the side panel and had the proper 1.0-2.0" overhang?  Would they say that I moved the main kitchen cabinet, that I incorrectly removed the kitchen sink causing the new countertop to not fit properly?  Richstone Granite has made numerous errors and continues to make false statements.  They continue to blame the homeowner for their wrong-doings.  Richstone told ******** ******* the same story they are telling the BBB, that "*** ****** is the reason for all the problems and that they are a great family owned business that resolves all of their customer problems".  To the next comment in their complaint response, "We even took back the second installed piece because the customer didn’t like the flow of the natural stone formation at the seam location. We went out of our way and even replaced the correct piece.  The sales person for Richstone Granite came to my house and witnessed the second installation for the above countertop.  The salesperson said that this looks horrible and that she even agreed with me.  The statement about *** ****** picking out the granite slab is erroneous.  Richstone Granite is a reseller of many granite countertops.  They do not have the largest selection of granite countertop, thus informed me that if I wanted to visit wholesalers in the nearby area, that I could find something else I may like.  The fact that this statement is even mentioned further showcases that this company is constantly trying to put more blame on me.  The next paragraph starts of saying, "The customer stated that there was a delay on our part to fix the errors; however, he failed to mention that we went to his place at his requested time, but he did not show up.  We always provide an estimated time of arrival for installation, which is written in the contract."  In response, the initial installation was to occur at 1pm.  The installers didn't show up to 5:30pm.  They might have provided me an estimate of arrival; however, they showed up 4.5 hrs late.  Furthermore, when the I sent several emails to management and the owner about addressing my concerns before returning to my house to pick up the top countertop, I asked for a detailed explanation of when the company was going to return, why they were coming back to pick up the top countertop and what are the next steps?  This was in response to numerous efforts to get the other problems addressed.  The owner finally responded one morning in email response that he will be at my home at 11am to pickup the existing countertop.  I was at work that day.  He called me at 11am and said that he was at my house.  I said that I responded to your email less than one hour after you sent me the email and informed you that I would not be able to make it since I am at work.  He said that he never got my email.  He began to curse and yell at me saying, "I have wasted his whole morning, and that I am done with you.".  

The next statement says, "The reason for our delay was that we were pressured to start the customer’s project at the agreed installed date, when in fact he delayed in giving the contract as well as the first deposit.  On average, it takes about 3-5 days to fabricate a kitchen, but we fabricated his project in less than 3 days."  This is additional blame that the customer continues to put on me.  How can I put pressure on the customer to complete their work?  I have multiple emails leading up to the signed contract.  In my initial complaint, I documented that the contract had multiple errors and that was it.  Richstone Granite, you should be ashamed of yourself for informing the BBB that I delayed the contract or the first deposit.  The salesperson is to blame for writing an incorrect contract, for not providing a design fabrication and the sales management staff is also in blame for not providing any quality control, compliance to sales contracts etc...  I can not believe I am getting any blame for any of this.  

The next paragraph states, "The owner of the company went to the customer’s property multiple times and explained the cause of the error for the granite, which was due to the improper installation of his cabinets.  When we last spoke to the customer after completing the project, we tried to address all of the customer’s concerns and explained to him that we were not responsible for items that are not covered in the contract, but we could fix for an additional cost."  Again, this is another false statement.  I have sent the owner 3-5 emails asking him to respond to my various inquires because I knew eventually, that Richstone Granite would use false statements.  The cause of the error has nothing to do with the installation of the cabinets!  The company has never informed me that they are not responsible for items that are not covered in the contract.  What is not covered under the contract?  Is the chipped surface not fixable under the contract?  Is the sink that is crooked not covered under the contract?  Is it the fact that the design diagram not provided, not covered under the contract?  Is it the fact that the design was incorrectly measured not covered under the contract?  I have asked Richstone Granite multiple times to fix their errors, yet nothing got done.  They now are making statements that they could fix things for any additional cost?  This is the first time I am hearing this statement.  Why would I pay Richstone Granite more money to fix their own errors?  Did I incorrectly design the top countertop width too short?  Did I incorrectly measure the length of the main countertop and fabricate the countertop too short?

The next paragraph states, "In regards to getting a full refund for the project, as well as keeping this granite we installed, we clearly stated that if he was not satisfied with the final product, we would give him a full refund on the account of giving the granite countertops back.  We gave him a waiver which would free him from paying 35% fee for canceling the contract.  However, the customer thinks that this would not be fair unless we let him keep the granite countertop we fabricated and installed for him, while also giving him a full refund."  After my attempt to have Richstone Granite fix the numerous errors and attempting to resolve the issue with ******** *******, I had to continue with my kitchen remodeling project.  Since then, I have completed the kitchen remodel.  Why would I have the granite countertop removed after completing all the remaining work?  Secondly, the BBB does not have an option for refund partial payment, refund of 2nd deposit or to make the necessary repairs.  I would never have Richstone Granite enter my property again! 

The next statement reads, "In regards to the balance issue he presented, he filed this same case with ******** *******. As he states, he did not get a refund through them because we clearly have the proper paperwork which he signed that enables us to charge for the remainder of the amount upon completion of the project. The copy of the result from that claim is included."  I never stated that I didn't get a refund through ******** ******* because Richstone Granite has the proper paperwork".  ******** ******* stated they could not resolve a merchant/customer dispute such as this due to the nature of definition "Balance upon completion and acceptance of work".  ******** ******* stated that completion of work is too vague for them to side for any party and that they are not arbitrators.  They asked me to work with Richstone Granite and of course Richstone Granite continues to state, "First and foremost, we always try to do an honest and well done job for all of our customers.  If there are any mistakes on our behalf, we make sure to fix them with no extra cost to the customer. This is the principle that we go by as a family owned company.  When we worked on *** ******’s project, we fixed any errors made on our part."  Richstone Granite also states, "When we last spoke to the customer after completing the project, we tried to address all of the customer’s concerns and explained to him that we were not responsible for items that are not covered in the contract..."  Again, I ask the BBB to specify how this company can not make the proper repairs and make statements that everything that they did in error is covered underneath their contract?  Why don't I have the design diagram?  Why is it in their lengthy response that all of these problems are a result of something that I have done?  I simply signed a contract, picked out a granite slab, provided them with a credit card number and removed the existing countertop to save $300 for demolition/removal work.  Is there something that I am missing?  How did I delay the install?  Couldn't the company have just said that we can't do the install on Saturday because we are backlogged?  Couldn't they have fixed the chipped surface?  Couldn't they have fixed the crooked sink? 

The final two paragraphs state, "We have included the copy of the contract that *** ****** signed.  This shows the payment schedule and the terms he agreed to. In addition, we included pictures of the dishwasher panel that was improperly installed. We have included the results from ******** ******* claim that *** ****** has filed.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this case please don’t hesitate to contact us. We have compiled a folder of past conversations, additional paperwork, pictures, etc. for *** ****** if needed upon request.  

I am happy that the BBB has a signed copy of the contract now.  As you can see, that I had to cross out the original prices and put my initials on each area.  Secondly, Richstone Granite has not provided the BBB with any results from the ******** ******* claim.  There was no result.  The attached document shows when Richstone Granite debited my account for the first and second deposits.  The report shows nothing about a claim that I made with ******** *******.  They are not an arbitrator and can not side on either behalf.  Richstone Granite, you continue to make false statements like this.  This form has nothing to do with the claim that I made with ******** *******.  Why don't you inform the BBB that every form that you sent to ******** ******* was not eligible to folks at ******** ******* or to myself?  Why don't you inform the BBB that I asked ******** ******* to have Richstone Granite send me a copy of the fabrication design.  Richstone Granite, you even informed ******** ******* that you have a signed copy of the design diagram with my signature on it.  Why don't you send to ******** ******* or the BBB?  Futhermore, the project was not complete on 11/9/13 according to the contract, so Richstone Granite could not have debited my account on 11/9/13.  I made many inquiries between 11/9/13 about fixing all the remaining issues.  Once Richstone Granite finally returned to reinstall the top countertop for the third and final time on 12/6/13, this was when they debited my account for the final payment.  Again, on 12/13/13 the owner of Richstone Granite came to my property to inspect my request for additional repairs, he informed me that they were now done and no more work will be completed.  My father was witness to the owner of the company yelling at me and informing me that no more work would be completed.  On 12/13/13, I contacted ******** ******* and they informed me that on 12/6/13 the final payment was already debited to my account.

Finally, I have complied an extensive folder of emails and correspondence with Richstone Granite.  I am happy to publish this with BBB. 

 

**** ******

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Regards,

Mark ******








Business Response:

Hello ******,

Please see the following response to *** ******'s reply. 
 
*** ****** stated that we came to his house and installed the countertops at 5:30pm. Yes, this is correct because that’s the earliest time and the day that we could come and install per his urgent request. *** ****** was aware of this. Unfortunately, *** ****** couldn’t sign and email the contract sooner, by arriving at 5:30pm was our earliest availability to install his countertops. We did have another install before his installation because other customer paid and signed the contract couple days before *** ****** was able to sign and email the contract to us. Normally, it would take 3- 5 days to fabricate because it is fabricated by hand and polished. Please keep in mind the granite countertops weight over 1000lbs and therefore, it takes long time to fabricate the stone. For the record, due to *** ******’s urgent request, we were able to deliver the material in less time than we promised. He signed the contract on November 7th and we were able to cut the material and install in two days. Also, if you look into the contract that *** ****** signed, in the first line it specifically says Granite installation is an all day job- Please plan accordingly.
 
Natural stones have inconsistent movements and the size of the slab that we fabricate is limited to a certain length just like any other materials. Therefore, it is hard to match the flows with seams exactly during fabrication. The patterns on the granite slabs are like art, especially the exotic ones just like the slabs that *** ****** hand selected. *** ****** has a bartop with a slightly 45-degree angle corner. The movements (patterns & flows) on his slabs, unfortunately, are not 45-degree angle. The movements (patterns & flows) on the slabs are wavy and linear. Therefore, during the fabrication of his stones, the patterns didn’t match line to line, point to point and color to color. We have specifically gone over this point with *** ******; we even state this in our contract, which *** ****** signed. If you look at the contract, in the second clause, it states,“All stones vary in color, movement and glossiness. The natural veins and other natural marking made by the earth, we have no control over. Though we work very hard to disguise these for our clients upon request, we cannot under every circumstance make happen and we never make them disappear.” In the third line, it sates “Seams are never invisible. Our fabricators and technicians use their expert level experience in caring for the matching of and installation of the seams; however, there is no way to make them completely unnoticeable.” However, even ********* has signed off and didn’t tell us specifically where and how he wasn’t the patterns and flows on his bartop, as a courtesy, we have replaced the countertop. We never indicated that it occurred due to our sales representatives or our fabricator.
 
In response to the dishwasher side panel, when our technician, *** **** ***** visited his place, *** ****** indicated that he has removed his existing cabinets that after he installed the side panel, it didn’t fit right. *** ****** even asked for his help in installing the side panel. As of now, his side panels are not installed properly and it is crooked. During *** *****’ first visit, *** ****** specifically requested to have smaller overhangs on the side of the cabinet. We normally place 1” overhang, however, by placing an ¼” overhang per *** ******’s request, after ********* reinstalled his side dishwasher panel it resulted in no overhang as you can see in the picture. We are happy to replace that specific countertop for additional $900.
 
*** ****** indicates that he has a laminate floor and that it was cut around the lower right panel. During the reinstallation of this existing cabinets, it is very normal that the laminate floor can be moved especially ¼”. So it doesn’t clearly indicate that the side panel was properly installed.
*** ****** seems to be under the impression that he never received the fabrication order.  I recommend him to take a look at the second page of the contract- labeled as “Fabrication Order.” *** ****** indicates that he never approved the drawing. He signed off on the contract where we indicated the overhang.  If you look at the attached contract that he signed off, it says overhang: refer to template.
******’s signature proves that he had acknowledged the template and the specifications of the Fabrication Order.  We went to *** ******’s house to template the countertop more than once.  *** ****** was present both of the times we went to measure and was very actively involved in the templating process with the contractor that measured his countertops.  He had seen the drawing before and had verbally acknowledged the measurements with the contractor through various discussions.
 
The only extreme case of concern that *** ****** might be referring to, is the dull spot on the granite. Since granite is a natural stone, this is a natural occurring part of the stone.  We have specifically stated that on the contract in which ********* signed, that granite is a natural stone and therefore we have no control over the natural variations within the stone.
 
We feel that ********* is being extremely unfair with his accusations. We are a family owned company and we’ve always done our best to resolve any sort of situations. Therefore, as a courtesy again, I can have one of the technicians to visit his house and help reinstall the side panel correctly so that *** ****** can have the desired ¼” overhang. As for the sink cutout, during our visit to *** ******’s house, we can take a look at it if he doesn’t show harsh criticism to the extreme case of harassment, which he has done previously.  We can’t possibly give complimentary service to customers that cannot be civil with us. We are still willing to work with *** ****** as long as he agrees to solve these issues amicably.
If *** ****** is still not satisfied with the above solution, we can refund the whole amount as we have mentioned previously but we would have to remove and take back the granite countertop first. We will waive the 35% fee for canceling the contract.  However, we cannot refund the amount and let *** ****** keep the granite countertops.
Sincerely, 
 
 
***** ***** 
Sales Manager
Richstone Marble and Granite LLC
25284 Pleasant Valley Rd
Unit 122
Chantilly, VA 20152
 "Luxury within your grasp..." 
 Save a tree, please don't print this e-mail unless necessary 

3/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service