BBB Accredited Business since

Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated

Phone: (610) 965-6900 Fax: (610) 967-0656 133 State Ave, Emmaus, PA 18049 http://www.prestigemarblegraniteinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2001 Business started: 10/01/2000 in PA Business incorporated 10/01/2000 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA 018427.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Kensinger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Kensinger, President
Business Category

Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Countertops Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 3, 2014 Prestige Marble & Granite *** ***** *** *****s, PA ***** To Whom It May Concern, As a response to your certified letter dated 2 June 2014 requesting the outstanding balance of $1000 be forwarded. I believe it’s prudent to list a chronology of events leading up to this date. First ***. ***** and I came into your shop to select the granite. This process went pretty well. We scheduled your template person (****) to come and make templates of the installation. During the process of creating the templates **** was asked two times to pack up and leave the job sit because of his attitude and constant complaining. In the end the template were made, but incorrectly. The mistakes were obvious, things like making the main sink run in three pieces instead of two and cut out around the stove and wooded columns on the island. Very specific instruction was given to Stan about the configuration of the island. The next day I come to your manufacturing location to place the templates on the slabs. At this point, your warehouse person fixed the three-piece mistake and the cutouts around the wooden columns, per my instructions. The layouts were done to match veining running though the slabs for both the sink counter and the island. Specific instructions about the back-splash and the island configuration were provided. On the day of installation the install crew shows up at the job site at 2:00 PM for the installation. There were quite a few problems. First the main sink run was too long. (Fault of templating). The install crew opted to cut the drywall out instead of cutting the slab. In the process of cutting the drywall and plaster, the finished wall surface was slightly damaged and needed follow-up (More cost to the home owner). Upon insetting up for the island. A request was made to have the back-splash and top counter (Bar) attached to the lower counter using an epoxy joint. The install crew had a lot of reasons why they couldn’t make that happen, but all were dependent on time. The design of the bar or top counter was such the its back edge was suppose to be flush with the back-splash. Thus the request for an epoxy joint!!! Flush is also “key” since that never happened either. As the install went along various other issues about the templates were discovered. As it turned out, three of the six pieces for the island needed to be recut. These non-factory cuts are definitely noticeable, since they are in obvious places along the stove and wood columns. The back-splash was installed not flush per the design and we now have a sharp protruding edge on an exposed surface. Upon completion they guys cleaned up, everything but the outside, where by the way, dust from the cutting was all over my garage doors and one of our cars that was outside. (More work for the homeowner). Small bits of granite also lay on the driveway. I guess you don’t clean up messes made outside. (More work for the homeowner). After a couple days and a few cleanings (with an all natural Citrus cleaner) the surface of the granite started scaling off around the sink cutout. As it turns out the black mica crystals must have gotten hot during cutting the sink, edge and profiling. Other profile surfaces were also scaling. A visit was made to the showroom and an appointment was made for a guy named Matt to come and investigate. As Matt works during business hours, time off work had to be scheduled (More expense for the home owner). Matt did address the issues per his “normal procedures”, and he applied a polymer filler the marked areas. (More time for the homeowner, marking problem areas). Per normal polymer application, cleaning excess with a razor blade was done after the application. Except where polymer had run over the edge of the granite and created polymer icicles in multiple locations on the bottom surface of the granite. Matt also cleaned and applied a spray making the granite looking quite nice. Nothing was done to address the exposed sharp edge on the island back-splash. After a few days and daily cleanings the areas where the polymer was applied started to look blotchy. Another visit to the showroom took place, but no one was available at that time to here my complaints. I gave my name and contact information and again waited for someone to address the issues. During this time my confidence in Prestige Marble & Granite had completely dissolved and I consulted another stone, marble and granite person for help. These folks did wet sand and buff the blotches left behind by **** and the polymer (More cost and time to the home owner). Sometime later various discussions were had with Prestige and yet another person was to come and “make things right”. REALLY??? Arrangements were made and another person arrived (More cost and work missed by the home owner) and took pictures. The polymer icicles were photographed, as was the sharp edge on the back-splash. Promises were made that Prestige would make this all better, given yet another chance. Upon inquiring as to how the bar and back-splash would be removed, I was told that a simple repositioning of the bar top would address the sharp edge. Though this is true, it would then create an alignment problem with the wooded columns. The only way the fix the issue is to remove the bar and back-splash and reposition them. May sound easy, however the back-splash already broke one time when it was originally installed. So thinking that delicate piece of stone was survive a repositioning is foolish. The expert (Ron, I believe was his name) was invited to replace the entire island, if slabs of granite were available since the veining in the first installation is very unique, any replacement sections would be obvious. I was told that full replacement wouldn’t happen. At this point, *** was told, the homeowners had no choice but to live with the outstanding issues (more burden to the home owners) but not to expect payment of the final $1000 due to the outstanding issues with the granite. There was at no time any implication where by the homeowners gave indication of job completion or that Prestige was no-longer responsible for the outstanding issues. The fact is, the polymer icicles are still in the granite for open viewing, the sharp edge is still on the island. Those issues need to be resolved before final payment is due or the job can be resolved. Prestige has neither demonstrated the ability to resolve the outstanding issues (without creating more yet to be determined issue), or the willingness to provide any alternatives suitable to the homeowners. As this chronology is somewhat lengthy due to the large number of issues, and poor response on the part of Prestige. I will close by adding the following. It is with utter disappointment that we are engaged in these correspondences. The job is not that complicated and could have easily been done correctly, if more time and effort were taken in each and every step of the process, from templating, fabrication, installation, callbacks etc. Without exception each area where Prestige had to step up, they failed. As the homeowner, the only recourse is to not pay or not pay in full. Prestige should be thankful that all but 16.9% of the invoice was paid. The time and incurred expenses has already past the $1000 amount that is in question and the job is still not right. It is my opinion that as homeowners we have been extremely tolerant and cooperative in completing this job. There is however a limit to the tolerance and understanding for everyone. It is unfortunate, but due to the issues listed above and the repeated creation of more issues, we no longer have any tolerance and feel very cooperative. Prestige has managed to completely exhaust that supply. Prestige Marble & Granite has to own up to issues it created. The homeowner did nothing to create the imperfections in the job. There is nothing extraordinary about this job or its design. It is in fact fairly simple by design and should have been easily completed to the customer’s satisfaction. Since Prestige Marble and Granite is not capable of satisfactorily completing the job, the remaining $1000 balance will be withheld. By the fact that Prestige continues to send invoices, states that it thinks it should be paid for failure to satisfactorily complete a job. I would invite you to explain the reason for that thinking and how that is fair to the homeowner. I would be more than happy to review and discuss any of the above FACTS with any responsible authority at Prestige!! I am pretty well versed in the rights of the consumer in a dispute over payment. I would caution Prestige in its path forward since no resolution has been achieved on the satisfactory completion of the job or outstanding job resolution. Any action taken to defame the homeowner will result in immediate counter action legal action by the homeowner, Prestige is not entitled to payment until satisfactory job completion or resolution is achieved. As you will see this letter and a copy of you certified letter are together, part of a complaint opened with BBB. It is my hope that with their involvement, satisfactory resolution can be achieved. Regards, ****** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the job completed to my satisfaction, by competent people and Prestige to stop contacting me about the $1000 we held for the issues on the job. The total invoiced amount was $5921.

Business Response:

We operate a countertop fabrication and installation facility.  **. and ***. ***** came in to our showroom and selected the slabs they wanted for their countertops.  We have hundreds of slabs to select from, and if a customer wants a slab from another location, we can obtain it.  Some stones are more uniform in appearance, and others have a lot of “movement”.  This means that the stone can vary in color, texture, and general appearance.  Characteristics such as “veining” may also be present.  Veining in granite happens because of the minerals found in the earth at the time of formation. Items such as iron ore, and other minerals create different colors of veins. Veined granite is popular because of its uniqueness and the look of a natural color flow throughout the granite. These are characteristics of certain stones that are beyond our control.  They are a product of nature, and may also contain fissures, or other imperfections. 

 **. and ***. ***** selected ******** Granite.   This particular stone does have noticeable “movement”.  They examined the stone prior to finalizing their selection.  The stone they selected is the stone they received. 

 Our templator **** went to their home to create templates, which we use to cut the selected stone to size.  **** has been employed with our company for a long time, and has years of experience in this field.  Stan was asked to leave by the homeowner, because he was doing his job according to the way he was accustomed to, and not to the liking of **. *****.  We pride ourselves as a company in hiring master craftsmen who know how to do their job precisely and accurately as dictated by the standards of the Marble Institute of America.

 **. and ***. ***** subsequently came to our fabrication shop in order to place the templates on the slabs they selected, according to their liking.  As **. ***** mentions in his letter, “the layouts were done to match veining running through the slabs…” 

 On the day of installation, **. ***** was unhappy with the installation because the installation crew was doing their job according to how they are accustomed to, and not the way he wanted.  Unfortunately, customers want things a certain way, but we cannot always accommodate.  Items such as seam location (among other things) must be placed strategically depending on various factors, including but not limited to, the stone selected, the strength and integrity of the cabinetry, and placement of sink(s) and/or cooktop cutouts. Every job is different, and our craftsmen take it upon themselves to make decisions based upon the circumstances at hand.

 Subsequent to the installation of the stone **. and ***. ***** selected, certain minute chips were noticed, a normal characteristic of this and other stones, and we did send our technician **** to address the issue.  The issues were corrected.

 **. ***** was still not satisfied.  We sent over another technician, ***, to inspect the job.  In his opinion, we fabricated and installed the countertops in a very satisfactory way.  There are no outstanding issues.  We tried to explain that to the homeowners, but they continue to nit-pick at certain imperfections present in the stone; slabs that they selected.  **. ***** writes in his letter, “Color and detail in the slabs was the entire reason for Prestige doing the job.” 

 There is an outstanding balance of $1,000.00 that the homeowners have not paid.  It has been over three months since the installation was completed, and we sent a letter indicating, “If payment is not received by June 15, 2014, we will have no alternative but to turn your account over to a third party for collection.” This is normal in our practice, when a balance is significantly past due.

 We tried our best to accommodate the homeowner, but they still are not fully satisfied.  Their choice to withhold the final $1,000.00 is not acceptable.  We would like to come to a mutual agreement and move on.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is interesting to hear that what we were expecting is "not possible" and the issues with the job are the fault of the homeowners expectations.  We were told by the sales person, the "expert" template creator and the shop fabricators that our design for the backsplash was doable.  The problem is the installation was not performed per our expectations.  Prestige has not provided a solution to the problem except to reset the bar top.  As discussed earlier, this is really not a viable option due the the delicate nature of the backsplash and the position of the wooden columns the support the upper countertop.  It is important to note, the veining in the backsplash is matched to the lower and upper countertops.  If the backsplash granite is destroyed and has to be replaced, the matched veining will not be as intended. Since the matched veining is the only reason why these slabs were selected, it would not look the same if the backsplash were to be cut from different slabs. As pointed out in the business response, the selected granite is heavily veined and detailed.  No two slabs are the same.  The two slabs that were selected for our countertops were booked, meaning they were on both sides of the cut when separated from the master block of granite.  They are very unique!!!!!   Prestige would not guarantee there ability to perform the "fix" without destroying the backsplash or completely replace the upper and lower counters if the backsplash was destroyed.  So no further work has been done to address the issue of the hard, sharp exposed edge of stone on the backsplash and consequently, no further payment has been made.
The polymer icicles that are still hanging on the countertops from the attempt to repair the "minor" chips as Prestige puts it, are still in place.  They simply need to be ground and polished.  This is unacceptable, and yet again demonstrates the sloppiness and inattention to details that typify this job.  We don't think its unreasonable to think these icicles should be removed.  Prestige has made no effort to correct or remove them.
It looks as though we as the homeowner will need to proceed with legal action against Prestige to reach a solution to this issue.  We do not have a problem paying for a completed and acceptable job.  The problem is the job is not acceptable and has remaining issues that are the fault of Prestige, both in installation and sloppy attempts to fix other issues.  There really isn't anything further we can do until the issues with the quality of the installation and the sloppiness of the "fixes" are addressed to our satisfaction, except legal action against Prestige.

Regards,

****** *****








Business Response:

We deeply regret that the customers still have concerns with the granite countertops that were installed in their home.   As explained in our earlier submission, granite is a product of nature, and contains veining, fissures, and other imperfections.  The customers selected the granite slabs they wanted specifically for this job.  In addition, since the flow of the veining on the countertops was of utmost importance, we accommodated the customer by allowing them to physically place their templates on the slabs they selected, in order to ensure that they would receive the pieces they wanted.  We usually leave this step up to the discretion of the fabricators.  We fabricated the countertops and installed them accordingly.  

On two separate occasions after the installation, we sent technicians to their home to inspect the job, and correct any natural imperfections to the best of our ability. 

 The “polymer icicles” that the homeowner describes are part of the resin that is applied to the underside of granite slabs at the quarry, and is part of the preparation process, in an effort to make this a viable material for countertop fabrication.  The resin was there when the material was selected.

Furthermore, the customer would like us to re-position the countertops.  However, we do not advise this, since the structural integrity of the stone may be compromised.  If the stone breaks, we will have no alternative but to fabricate new pieces.  New pieces may not be perfectly matched with the original installed tops, and the customer will not be happy.   Therefore, this is not an option.

The customers took it upon themselves to withhold $1,000.00 of the final payment.  As stated, this is not acceptable.  We feel that we have completed a satisfactory job, and we should be paid in full.  However, in an effort to reach a resolution and put this matter behind us, we would like to propose the following:

Prestige Marble & Granite Inc. will forgive half of the remaining balance, namely $500.00, if the customer agrees to submit the other half on or before June 30th, 2014.  This will be considered payment in full of the past due debt.  In addition, the installation will be considered competed in its entirety, and neither party will seek any further compensation or damages by hiring a third party collection agency, and/or by taking legal action.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)