BBB Accredited Business since

Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated

Phone: (610) 965-6900 Fax: (610) 967-0656 133 State Ave, Emmaus, PA 18049

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prestige Marble & Granite, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2001 Business started: 10/01/2000 in PA Business incorporated 10/01/2000 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA 018427.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark Kensinger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Kensinger, President
Business Category

Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Countertops Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 3, 2014 Prestige Marble & Granite *** ***** *** *****s, PA ***** To Whom It May Concern, As a response to your certified letter dated 2 June 2014 requesting the outstanding balance of $1000 be forwarded. I believe it’s prudent to list a chronology of events leading up to this date. First ***. ***** and I came into your shop to select the granite. This process went pretty well. We scheduled your template person (****) to come and make templates of the installation. During the process of creating the templates **** was asked two times to pack up and leave the job sit because of his attitude and constant complaining. In the end the template were made, but incorrectly. The mistakes were obvious, things like making the main sink run in three pieces instead of two and cut out around the stove and wooded columns on the island. Very specific instruction was given to Stan about the configuration of the island. The next day I come to your manufacturing location to place the templates on the slabs. At this point, your warehouse person fixed the three-piece mistake and the cutouts around the wooden columns, per my instructions. The layouts were done to match veining running though the slabs for both the sink counter and the island. Specific instructions about the back-splash and the island configuration were provided. On the day of installation the install crew shows up at the job site at 2:00 PM for the installation. There were quite a few problems. First the main sink run was too long. (Fault of templating). The install crew opted to cut the drywall out instead of cutting the slab. In the process of cutting the drywall and plaster, the finished wall surface was slightly damaged and needed follow-up (More cost to the home owner). Upon insetting up for the island. A request was made to have the back-splash and top counter (Bar) attached to the lower counter using an epoxy joint. The install crew had a lot of reasons why they couldn’t make that happen, but all were dependent on time. The design of the bar or top counter was such the its back edge was suppose to be flush with the back-splash. Thus the request for an epoxy joint!!! Flush is also “key” since that never happened either. As the install went along various other issues about the templates were discovered. As it turned out, three of the six pieces for the island needed to be recut. These non-factory cuts are definitely noticeable, since they are in obvious places along the stove and wood columns. The back-splash was installed not flush per the design and we now have a sharp protruding edge on an exposed surface. Upon completion they guys cleaned up, everything but the outside, where by the way, dust from the cutting was all over my garage doors and one of our cars that was outside. (More work for the homeowner). Small bits of granite also lay on the driveway. I guess you don’t clean up messes made outside. (More work for the homeowner). After a couple days and a few cleanings (with an all natural Citrus cleaner) the surface of the granite started scaling off around the sink cutout. As it turns out the black mica crystals must have gotten hot during cutting the sink, edge and profiling. Other profile surfaces were also scaling. A visit was made to the showroom and an appointment was made for a guy named Matt to come and investigate. As Matt works during business hours, time off work had to be scheduled (More expense for the home owner). Matt did address the issues per his “normal procedures”, and he applied a polymer filler the marked areas. (More time for the homeowner, marking problem areas). Per normal polymer application, cleaning excess with a razor blade was done after the application. Except where polymer had run over the edge of the granite and created polymer icicles in multiple locations on the bottom surface of the granite. Matt also cleaned and applied a spray making the granite looking quite nice. Nothing was done to address the exposed sharp edge on the island back-splash. After a few days and daily cleanings the areas where the polymer was applied started to look blotchy. Another visit to the showroom took place, but no one was available at that time to here my complaints. I gave my name and contact information and again waited for someone to address the issues. During this time my confidence in Prestige Marble & Granite had completely dissolved and I consulted another stone, marble and granite person for help. These folks did wet sand and buff the blotches left behind by **** and the polymer (More cost and time to the home owner). Sometime later various discussions were had with Prestige and yet another person was to come and “make things right”. REALLY??? Arrangements were made and another person arrived (More cost and work missed by the home owner) and took pictures. The polymer icicles were photographed, as was the sharp edge on the back-splash. Promises were made that Prestige would make this all better, given yet another chance. Upon inquiring as to how the bar and back-splash would be removed, I was told that a simple repositioning of the bar top would address the sharp edge. Though this is true, it would then create an alignment problem with the wooded columns. The only way the fix the issue is to remove the bar and back-splash and reposition them. May sound easy, however the back-splash already broke one time when it was originally installed. So thinking that delicate piece of stone was survive a repositioning is foolish. The expert (Ron, I believe was his name) was invited to replace the entire island, if slabs of granite were available since the veining in the first installation is very unique, any replacement sections would be obvious. I was told that full replacement wouldn’t happen. At this point, *** was told, the homeowners had no choice but to live with the outstanding issues (more burden to the home owners) but not to expect payment of the final $1000 due to the outstanding issues with the granite. There was at no time any implication where by the homeowners gave indication of job completion or that Prestige was no-longer responsible for the outstanding issues. The fact is, the polymer icicles are still in the granite for open viewing, the sharp edge is still on the island. Those issues need to be resolved before final payment is due or the job can be resolved. Prestige has neither demonstrated the ability to resolve the outstanding issues (without creating more yet to be determined issue), or the willingness to provide any alternatives suitable to the homeowners. As this chronology is somewhat lengthy due to the large number of issues, and poor response on the part of Prestige. I will close by adding the following. It is with utter disappointment that we are engaged in these correspondences. The job is not that complicated and could have easily been done correctly, if more time and effort were taken in each and every step of the process, from templating, fabrication, installation, callbacks etc. Without exception each area where Prestige had to step up, they failed. As the homeowner, the only recourse is to not pay or not pay in full. Prestige should be thankful that all but 16.9% of the invoice was paid. The time and incurred expenses has already past the $1000 amount that is in question and the job is still not right. It is my opinion that as homeowners we have been extremely tolerant and cooperative in completing this job. There is however a limit to the tolerance and understanding for everyone. It is unfortunate, but due to the issues listed above and the repeated creation of more issues, we no longer have any tolerance and feel very cooperative. Prestige has managed to completely exhaust that supply. Prestige Marble & Granite has to own up to issues it created. The homeowner did nothing to create the imperfections in the job. There is nothing extraordinary about this job or its design. It is in fact fairly simple by design and should have been easily completed to the customer’s satisfaction. Since Prestige Marble and Granite is not capable of satisfactorily completing the job, the remaining $1000 balance will be withheld. By the fact that Prestige continues to send invoices, states that it thinks it should be paid for failure to satisfactorily complete a job. I would invite you to explain the reason for that thinking and how that is fair to the homeowner. I would be more than happy to review and discuss any of the above FACTS with any responsible authority at Prestige!! I am pretty well versed in the rights of the consumer in a dispute over payment. I would caution Prestige in its path forward since no resolution has been achieved on the satisfactory completion of the job or outstanding job resolution. Any action taken to defame the homeowner will result in immediate counter action legal action by the homeowner, Prestige is not entitled to payment until satisfactory job completion or resolution is achieved. As you will see this letter and a copy of you certified letter are together, part of a complaint opened with BBB. It is my hope that with their involvement, satisfactory resolution can be achieved. Regards, ****** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the job completed to my satisfaction, by competent people and Prestige to stop contacting me about the $1000 we held for the issues on the job. The total invoiced amount was $5921.

Business Response:

We operate a countertop fabrication and installation facility.  **. and ***. ***** came in to our showroom and selected the slabs they wanted for their countertops.  We have hundreds of slabs to select from, and if a customer wants a slab from another location, we can obtain it.  Some stones are more uniform in appearance, and others have a lot of “movement”.  This means that the stone can vary in color, texture, and general appearance.  Characteristics such as “veining” may also be present.  Veining in granite happens because of the minerals found in the earth at the time of formation. Items such as iron ore, and other minerals create different colors of veins. Veined granite is popular because of its uniqueness and the look of a natural color flow throughout the granite. These are characteristics of certain stones that are beyond our control.  They are a product of nature, and may also contain fissures, or other imperfections. 

 **. and ***. ***** selected ******** Granite.   This particular stone does have noticeable “movement”.  They examined the stone prior to finalizing their selection.  The stone they selected is the stone they received. 

 Our templator **** went to their home to create templates, which we use to cut the selected stone to size.  **** has been employed with our company for a long time, and has years of experience in this field.  Stan was asked to leave by the homeowner, because he was doing his job according to the way he was accustomed to, and not to the liking of **. *****.  We pride ourselves as a company in hiring master craftsmen who know how to do their job precisely and accurately as dictated by the standards of the Marble Institute of America.

 **. and ***. ***** subsequently came to our fabrication shop in order to place the templates on the slabs they selected, according to their liking.  As **. ***** mentions in his letter, “the layouts were done to match veining running through the slabs…” 

 On the day of installation, **. ***** was unhappy with the installation because the installation crew was doing their job according to how they are accustomed to, and not the way he wanted.  Unfortunately, customers want things a certain way, but we cannot always accommodate.  Items such as seam location (among other things) must be placed strategically depending on various factors, including but not limited to, the stone selected, the strength and integrity of the cabinetry, and placement of sink(s) and/or cooktop cutouts. Every job is different, and our craftsmen take it upon themselves to make decisions based upon the circumstances at hand.

 Subsequent to the installation of the stone **. and ***. ***** selected, certain minute chips were noticed, a normal characteristic of this and other stones, and we did send our technician **** to address the issue.  The issues were corrected.

 **. ***** was still not satisfied.  We sent over another technician, ***, to inspect the job.  In his opinion, we fabricated and installed the countertops in a very satisfactory way.  There are no outstanding issues.  We tried to explain that to the homeowners, but they continue to nit-pick at certain imperfections present in the stone; slabs that they selected.  **. ***** writes in his letter, “Color and detail in the slabs was the entire reason for Prestige doing the job.” 

 There is an outstanding balance of $1,000.00 that the homeowners have not paid.  It has been over three months since the installation was completed, and we sent a letter indicating, “If payment is not received by June 15, 2014, we will have no alternative but to turn your account over to a third party for collection.” This is normal in our practice, when a balance is significantly past due.

 We tried our best to accommodate the homeowner, but they still are not fully satisfied.  Their choice to withhold the final $1,000.00 is not acceptable.  We would like to come to a mutual agreement and move on.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is interesting to hear that what we were expecting is "not possible" and the issues with the job are the fault of the homeowners expectations.  We were told by the sales person, the "expert" template creator and the shop fabricators that our design for the backsplash was doable.  The problem is the installation was not performed per our expectations.  Prestige has not provided a solution to the problem except to reset the bar top.  As discussed earlier, this is really not a viable option due the the delicate nature of the backsplash and the position of the wooden columns the support the upper countertop.  It is important to note, the veining in the backsplash is matched to the lower and upper countertops.  If the backsplash granite is destroyed and has to be replaced, the matched veining will not be as intended. Since the matched veining is the only reason why these slabs were selected, it would not look the same if the backsplash were to be cut from different slabs. As pointed out in the business response, the selected granite is heavily veined and detailed.  No two slabs are the same.  The two slabs that were selected for our countertops were booked, meaning they were on both sides of the cut when separated from the master block of granite.  They are very unique!!!!!   Prestige would not guarantee there ability to perform the "fix" without destroying the backsplash or completely replace the upper and lower counters if the backsplash was destroyed.  So no further work has been done to address the issue of the hard, sharp exposed edge of stone on the backsplash and consequently, no further payment has been made.
The polymer icicles that are still hanging on the countertops from the attempt to repair the "minor" chips as Prestige puts it, are still in place.  They simply need to be ground and polished.  This is unacceptable, and yet again demonstrates the sloppiness and inattention to details that typify this job.  We don't think its unreasonable to think these icicles should be removed.  Prestige has made no effort to correct or remove them.
It looks as though we as the homeowner will need to proceed with legal action against Prestige to reach a solution to this issue.  We do not have a problem paying for a completed and acceptable job.  The problem is the job is not acceptable and has remaining issues that are the fault of Prestige, both in installation and sloppy attempts to fix other issues.  There really isn't anything further we can do until the issues with the quality of the installation and the sloppiness of the "fixes" are addressed to our satisfaction, except legal action against Prestige.


****** *****

Business Response:

We deeply regret that the customers still have concerns with the granite countertops that were installed in their home.   As explained in our earlier submission, granite is a product of nature, and contains veining, fissures, and other imperfections.  The customers selected the granite slabs they wanted specifically for this job.  In addition, since the flow of the veining on the countertops was of utmost importance, we accommodated the customer by allowing them to physically place their templates on the slabs they selected, in order to ensure that they would receive the pieces they wanted.  We usually leave this step up to the discretion of the fabricators.  We fabricated the countertops and installed them accordingly.  

On two separate occasions after the installation, we sent technicians to their home to inspect the job, and correct any natural imperfections to the best of our ability. 

 The “polymer icicles” that the homeowner describes are part of the resin that is applied to the underside of granite slabs at the quarry, and is part of the preparation process, in an effort to make this a viable material for countertop fabrication.  The resin was there when the material was selected.

Furthermore, the customer would like us to re-position the countertops.  However, we do not advise this, since the structural integrity of the stone may be compromised.  If the stone breaks, we will have no alternative but to fabricate new pieces.  New pieces may not be perfectly matched with the original installed tops, and the customer will not be happy.   Therefore, this is not an option.

The customers took it upon themselves to withhold $1,000.00 of the final payment.  As stated, this is not acceptable.  We feel that we have completed a satisfactory job, and we should be paid in full.  However, in an effort to reach a resolution and put this matter behind us, we would like to propose the following:

Prestige Marble & Granite Inc. will forgive half of the remaining balance, namely $500.00, if the customer agrees to submit the other half on or before June 30th, 2014.  This will be considered payment in full of the past due debt.  In addition, the installation will be considered competed in its entirety, and neither party will seek any further compensation or damages by hiring a third party collection agency, and/or by taking legal action.  

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A granite counter top for our kitchen was found to have cracks in two areas: 1. The faucet area leading from the sink through the drilled faucet hole to the back wall. 2. In front of the sink (no where near the faucet) from the sink to the edge of the counter top. The installation by Prestige installers was Thursday January 24, 2013. It was not apparent right then, there were defects. Never having had granite before we weren't experienced enough to know what to look for in detail. These subtle but unmistakable cracks were discovered by fingertip feel on Friday February 8, for the faucet area cracks. Then Saturday February 9th, upon closer inspection of the entire slab, for the front sink crack. Under some lighting the cracks are not so obvious; under other lighting conditions, and viewing angles, glaringly obvious. We simply hadn't noticed until then. I was out of town for a week between 1-24-13 and 2-8-13. Pictures were taken and offered to Prestige in person on my SmartPhone on Monday February 11. They were not taken seriously by the owner of the business. He said if the cracks were not noticed when we took delivery of the countertops then it must have been us, my family of two people, in our 60s who are at fault. They did agree to send a field tech to investigate on Tuesday February 19, 2013 who tried to repair the cracks although not satisfactorily. They can still be seen and felt. His comment to the Mrs (I was out of town again) was to the effect "your plumber must have done this" as it relates to (I assume) installation of a garbage disposal for the front sink crack. I am the "plumber" who installed both the faucet and the garbage disposal the day AFTER the counter top installation. These are easy do-it-yourself projects. Counter tops installed Thursday, 1-24-13. Faucet installed Friday, 1-25-13, by myself after the sealant had cured for 24 hours. Garbage disposal to the sink bottom 1-26-13. I have had prior aircraft mechanic experience so am not unfamiliar with tools. I worked on my cars my whole life. Upon return Wednesday, 2-20-13, the day after the tech tried the repairs and made the accusation comments, I called the owner on the phone expressing my disastisfaction. He said I must have overtightened the faucet. I argued, even IF I did (which I did not do with the special plastic tool Price Fister supplies), how can the crack in the front be related to the faucet a couple feet away, across the stainless sink? He just said it was. That is, a too tight faucet in the back of the sink, caused a crack there and at the front of the sink! He said there was nothing more they would do and haven't. Then a surprise timely find: I discovered on March 6, two SmartPhone pictures I had taken the installation day, January 24th: One while the installers were still here; The other right after they left. I sent these to the Mrs while she was at work so she could see the job was done. They are high resolution and can be easily zoomed-in to see the faucet crack, the veritable "smoking gun", a defective granite installation. Regrettably I have no good pictures of the crack up front taken that installation day. Only pictures taken after the discoveries. I delivered in person to Prestige CD's with pictures, especially these two taken installation day, with zoomed-in and cropped jpegs on Wednesday March 13, 2013. After two days, I have heard nothing, no apology, no offer of a remove/replace of the defective slab, nor offer of any refunds. They delivered a defective slab with cracks, at least one verifiable, by the faucet hole with the two photos. One crack proof is enough.

Desired Settlement: My preference was to get blemish-free slabs for that is what we paid for. Remove and replace to match the existing stone. Without that, a full refund is appropriate. And an apology for blaming us for their defective product however it happened during handling prior to the installation when the pictures were taken, on 1-24-13.

Business Response:

**** ******* came into our showroom to look at granite countertops, made a selection and a down payment on 1/16/13.  We scheduled the installation for January 22nd.  We had an undermount sink fitted onto the countertop and we had also drilled a faucet hole as per the customer’s specifications.  We are not licensed plumbers.  We do not install plumbing or faucets.  We recommend to all of our customers that a licensed plumber hook up the plumbing after the countertop installation.  We gave **** ******* a business card of a local plumber, whom she called, and subsequently went and looked at the job.  He was not hired for the installation of the faucet.  *** ******* decided to do it himself.

On January 29th, *** ******* came to our showroom and proceeded to tell us he was happy with the countertop installation.  He paid for the countertops in full.  He was talking to the owner, **** *********, about having to rent a special tool to cut away at the sink lip in order to install the faucet.  That is not how a faucet is installed.  It is unnecessary and can create damage to both the sink and the countertop.  In order to avoid these issues, we recommend to all of our customers that a licensed plumber hook up the plumbing after the countertop installation.

On February 11th, *** ******* came to our showroom for a second time.  He expressed his concerns about countertop “cracks” that had formed around the faucet hole.  It was suggested that the person who installed the faucet may have overtightened it, causing unnecessary stress to the stone and subsequently creating these cracks.  Granite is a product of nature.  If it is not maintained and cared for properly, it can crack or chip.  That is why we recommend to all of our customers that a licensed plumber hook up the plumbing after the countertop installation. 

We scheduled our repair technician to go to the ********* ******************** ***************** residence to examine the job.  He examined the work of our installers and proceeded to conclude that there was nothing wrong with the countertop installation.  There are no issues with the granite either.  He observed hairline “stress cracks” which had formed around the faucet hole.  The cracks had been filled in with a red dye.  As a show of good faith, we repaired the cracks at no charge to the homeowners.  Our technician asked **** ******* when the cracks appeared, and she stated “… after the plumbing was installed.”  The cracks were not there prior to the installation of the faucet and the garbage disposal. 

Furthermore, we inquired with the plumber who went to the ********* ******************** ***************** residence and inspected the job in order to install the faucet.  He reiterated that there were no cracks on the countertops the day he went to their home.

*** ******* took it upon himself to install the plumbing after we recommended that a licensed plumber do the job.  We did not install a “defective slab” nor was our workmanship at fault for the hairline cracks that formed.  Unfortunately, having “prior aircraft mechanic experience” doesn’t give you adequate knowledge to re-connect plumbing to natural stone countertops.  The “veritable smoking gun” is not “a defective granite installation.”  As per **** ******* and the plumber who initially inspected the job, the damage appeared after the plumbing was connected and the faucet was installed.  If any, an apology is due to our company, for complaining about damage caused to a product which we installed in satisfactory condition.  Why else would someone come in to our showroom, pay for the countertops in full, and not mention an issue about an installed product a week after the installation; and then subsequently complain about an issue two weeks thereafter?

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

First of all: We have two (2) High Resolution digital images taken the day of the SECOND installation (January 24, 2013) with embedded date and time stamps. This is easily viewed under "Properties". Or simply floating the cursor over the filename created automatically. One (*******************) was taken while two (2) installers were here before they anchored the sink,  The second (*******************) was taken shortly after they departed. Enlarging (zooming in) reveals the zig-zag crack from the drilled faucet hole to the inner sink edge. We've had stone people familiar with granite agree these two pictures show a crack.

Let us start over from the very beginning.

 The suggested plumber came INTO our house ONE TIME BEFORE the new countertop and sink were brought here for installation. He was there for the purpose of exploring our under sink options, due to a potential drainage problem from the outlet height of the garbage disposal (Insinkerator) to the fixed wall PVC pipe to the sewer system. If we were to go from a 6' deep top-mounted sink to a 9" deep under-mounted sink, revised major rerouted plumbing was likely. CONTRARY to what Prestige stated, he NEVER came back INTO our house after that to inspect the job. We decided on an 8" deep Blanco undermount sink to avoid having any need for a plumber to drill a hole though the cabinet floor into the basement to connect into the sewer system. 

 On Jan. 22, 2013: Three (3) installers came to our house for the FIRST installation with a granite countertop and a sink.  My wife ordered a large 8" deep Blanco sink. However, the sink that they brought was a smaller 9" deep sink.  Her chosen granite slab was already cut for the 9" sink we did not order. This was going to present the discussed drainage problem which the plumber would have been contracted to fix. This is why we ordered an 8" deep sink. 

 The installers tried to place the countertop into position but there was not enough space for the slab to fit between the wall and the stove. They said they'd have to remove a small amount of wall Formica laminate or we would not be able to move our stove. They started cutting into the Formica with a power tool with the countertop as a guide.

 The countertop was in place. Next they asked to see the new faucet. CONTRARY to what Prestige stated, there was NO discussion of "customer specifications". The installer decided where to place the hole. It looked like it was drilled too close to the sink edge. They are the installers. Shouldn't they know what they are doing? They anchored the sink, finished, and instructed us to let the sealant cure 24 hours, then departed.

 We had buyers remorse wondering how such a major mistake, a wrong sink cutout, could happen to my wife's chosen granite she had been shopping for over two months? We did not like the look of the wrong "too small" sink. It looked silly. We decided we wanted what she ordered. The next morning Jan. 23, 2013,  *I* personally visited Prestige for the very first time expressing our dissatisfaction. I told them I wanted my wife's original order. Surprisingly they said they could enlarge the sink hole to accommodate the 8" deep Blanco sink. My wife wouldn't have to start searching for a new granite slab again while we endured being without a kitchen for who knows how long?

 That afternoon three (3) installers came to remove the countertops, to take back to the warehouse, where they'd cut out a longer sink hole. I heard some loud banging while they removed the countertops. When they departed, I noticed a space, as thick as the slab and approximately 12" long where they were to remove the Formica laminate. However, it was cut deeper than expected, right through the drywall to damaged insulation. I could feel a draft so I stuffed fiberglass insulation into this hole. I asked the Prestige owner if the template man got the measurements wrong and he stated  "No", this is common! It was explained by other professional stone experts a better way solve this to shave some granite off rather than cut a hole in the wall!

 January 24, 2013, only two (2) installers (not 3) brought back the heavy countertops with the new cut-out hole for the correct sink.  I was concerned that two people were carrying the long unsupported slabs, missing a third person support in the middle, not to mention the extra share of weight each had to lift! While installing it, before they attached the sink, at 2:05 p.m. time stamp, I happened to take a High Resolution picture.  After they departed, I took another picture at 3:20 p.m. to send to my wife at work to let her know it's finally done! It looked great. We did not touch anything for 24 hours as instructed so the sealant could cure. 

 January 25, 2013, the day after the second countertop installation, in the afternoon after 24 hours had expired, I started to put the faucet in. The drilled hole was too close to the sink edge so the large Price Pfister faucet washer rode up over the steel sink flange. The solution, as prescribed by people at a big do-it-yourself home improvement store was to sand a small arc into the edge of the flange to make room for the washer so it would lay flat against the slab bottom secured by the nut. CONTRARY to Prestige's statement, I did not rent any fancy power tool but used a small dremel-like tip for a couple dollars that I used with my hand drill. This worked fine and removed enough metal for the washer to fit and be secured by the nut with the plastic wrench tool supplied by Pfister. 

 I happened to take more pictures on January 25th before the faucet was installed which show, when enlarged, in great detail, the zig-zag crack. These jpeg pictures were supplied with the 3 CD copies to Prestige: one for the owner, one for the field inspector "repair technician", and one for the salesman later, on March 13th. Included were arbitrary pictures taken of the wrong small sink without any apparent cracks (when enlarged) from the January 22nd FIRST installation; the most important TWO pictures from the January 24th SECOND installation; then various other pictures taken of the cracks after my discovery on February 8th. I digress.

 On January 29th, I did visit Prestige to pay the remainder of the bill. I was happy, yes, because the job was done. Or so we thought! I asked about the drilled hole being too close to the sink edge with the problem it created getting the faucet washer and nut flat against the bottom of the slab as designed. "Grind the washer" is what the owner said. (Prestige stated they weren't plumbers). That would have removed too much metal too close to the washer hole. Pfister provided a large washer to support a tall faucet for a reason.  If the faucet hole had been drilled further back from the sink edge another 1/4" to 1/2" everything would have fit. Prestige installers put the hole there. Anything I did to remove an arc shape from the sink flange is nothing like the aggressive power tool cutting, drilling and grinding of granite in dozens of YouTube videos available on the web. It doesn't matter because we have the pictures of the crack taken before we ever touched anything. 

 The cracks around the faucet were first identified, as explained already, on February 8th and the surface crack on the front sink edge, February 9th. I did apply some red food coloring as a dye penetrant to the faucet cracks so the camera could image them better. These were the very first pictures taken for the express purpose of documenting these cracks. I was able to remove the red coloring using methods from Internet web forums. This set of pictures was presented, in person, that afternoon, February 8th to the salesman.

 I visited the owner of Prestige on Monday, February 11 with these pictures. He asked if the cracks were there when they delivered the countertops? I said, "I don't know". I was not looking for cracks. He replied "If the cracks were not there when we delivered the countertops, then it was something you did". I suggested a good idea would be to have an "installation inspection". He shrugged it off dismissively!  Why not have a mutual inspection before the installers leave?  Who is to say the cracks were not there after all the handling leading up to the second installation? Even if the 2 installers knew the cracks were there, how likely are they to admit it? The owner certainly was not there. 

 When the field techician came 8 days later to inspect the cracks, he tried to repair the cracks. Then, according to Prestige's statement, he asked my wife "when the cracks appeared"? According to the technician, she said "after the faucet was installed". Fact of the matter is *I* DISCOVERED the cracks 15 days after the second installation when I detected them by a particular view under sunlight, then by feel. As Prestige claims they are not plumbers, we are not granite inspectors. It doesn't matter. The pictures from January 24th and 25th show the faucet crack before we did anything.

Subsequent research on Internet forums and YouTube videos about granite installations and cracks state that lack of reinforcement bars (rebar?) used to strengthen the stone, in areas with less structure, in front of and behind the sink, when sink holes are cut out, invite "handling cracks". Prestige's slab has the rebar in front of the sink. As far as I can see, there is no rebar in the back.

Prestige stated in their reply, "If it is not maintained and cared for properly, it can crack or chip".  We should add "If it is not handled properly, it can also crack or chip". See pictures from January 24th before we touched anything.

Additionally, with the original order for the Blanco sink, a Blanco sink rack protector was ordered. Never received. I inquired again about this. They said they would order it. Nothing after 2 months. We don't want it from them now anyway.

We do not appreciate Prestige making "personally identifiable information" in violation of BBB guidelines. It doesn't matter. Anyone could conclude what happened here is an example of "blame the customer". There you have it. This is what happened. Apologies for the length. Thank You.

***** *******