BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodstream Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woodstream Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1902 in PA Business incorporated: 01/01/1902 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harry Whaley, President/CEO Mr. Steve Burk, CFO Mr. Neil R. Gordon, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Whaley, President/CEO
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers


Additional Locations

  • 69 N Locust St

    Lititz, PA 17543

  • PO Box 327

    Lititz, PA 17543

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 800-1819(Phone)
  • (717) 626-1912 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a spam email via my website for my positive reinforcement dog training service on 8/7/13 at 12:44 p.m. from *** ********** representing ******** ********, Woodstream Corp. I responded to him that same day on 8/7/13 at 1:03 p.m. via the email address provided in my contact form, *************************** and told him that I am a positive reinforcement trainer and that it clearly states all over my website I do not believe in or condone any kind of aversive training, including that which uses shock. I asked him to remove me from his distribution list immediately. If he had even looked at my "nifty" (his word) website he would have seen that the Links page on which he wanted me to advertise the ******** electric fence consisted of links to non-aversive equipment only and links about the hazards of electric shock. This is what the email said, "Hello, Im working with ******** ******** Dog Fence, and I found your nifty dog resource list. I wanted to see if you could add us to the "Equipment" section of your links list here ********************************************. Please check out our site here ******************************* and let me know what you think!Thanks,***"Today I received a follow-up email from him, "Hello, I wanted to follow up to see if anyone's had a chance to look at this yet. Please let me know. Thanks, ***" I sent him another email and requested again that he remove me from his distribution list. I am very offended by this type of shotgun approach advertising, especially from companies selling aversive equipment, wanting to advertise on my website, and any other positive reinforcement trainer would be as well.

Desired Settlement: Apology, and I would like to be removed from this distribution list.

Business Response:

********(R) ******** is always pursuing opportunities to work and build relationships within the broader community.  It is unfortunate that we contacted a site that did not wish to connect with us and we meant no harm.  We deeply apologize for the mistake.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Consumer Relations Supervisor

Woodstream Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought company's electric fence kit on 6/9/13. It was bought from ** ******** *****, it's a *** store located at **** ** ******* *** *********** NC *****, phone ###-###-####. This store also has two online web stores, where they sell their products, at ************************** and ************************************** I bought the item through their **** hosted web store. The product arrived with manufacturer defect. I contacted Woodstream for warranty replacement, the customer relations rep I spoke with is ****** ******, ###-###-####, ***********************. He refused to honor the warranty request based on the fact that the product was bought through **** platform, he invoked some unpublished "company policy" that no items sold through **** are eligible for warranty. This is the text of the warranty from the product manual: ***********************************************************************************************. "Manufacturer warrants the fence energizer for one year from the date of sale to the original consumer purchaser against defects in materials and workmanship. ...... This warranty shall apply only while the original consumer purchaser owns the product." There is nothing in the warranty text saying that it does not apply to products bought through ****. Their argument is that because this store has one of their online webfronts hosted by **** and the purchase was made through **** platform, THE OWNER OF THE STORE IS CONSIDERED THE ORIGINAL CONSUMER PURCHASER, therefore the warranty does not apply to me. This is pure nonsense to me, they fail to explain to me how *** store can be considered a CONSUMER PURCHASER. Looks like this is the way for them to cancel the warranty anytime they please by saying that the store is an original consumer purchaser, as this "logic" can be applied to any product bought from any store.

Desired Settlement: Woodstream needs to honor their written warranty and replace defective product.

Business Response:

Dear ******,

Thank you for your inquiry regarding the warranty for the Zareba® Battery Powered Garden Protection Kit (model *******).

Our Zareba® products are warranted with a one year limited warranty. The limited warranty does not apply to any defect caused by improper installation, misuse, product alterations, tampering, neglect, or any similar reason not related to product malfunctions or defects in the materials or workmanship of the product.  The limited warranty is given only to the original purchaser of the product and not to any subsequent owners or to any other user or person when installed and used in accordance with the instructions found in the owner’s manual.  No person is authorized to grant any warranty additional to or different from this written warranty. Therefore, we do not honor a warranty through a platform such as ****. Since the *** Store has one of their online websites hosted by **** and the purchase was made through the online **** store, the owner of the store is considered the original purchaser of the product. **** is not one of our distributors, so our warranty is only valid for products purchased directly from us on our website www.zarebasystems.com and from one of our authorized retailers such as **** ****** ******* ******* ****** ******** *** ******** *** **** ***** ********.

I apologize for this inconvenience, but this policy is stated directly on our website as well as in the product manual. If you have additional questions regarding this product or any of our other products, please do not hesitate to contact us at:

Email: ***************************

Phone: ###-###-####

Thank you for choosing Woodstream quality products.

Sincerely,

 

***** ******

Consumer Care Supervisor

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
There is no mentioning in the manual that the warranty applies only if the product is bought in specific stores. Manual states that the warranty applies to original CONSUMER purchaser. A CONSUMER is defined as "One who purchases or leases goods or services for his or her own personal, family, household, or other nonbusiness use" (http://law.yourdictionary.com/consumer).  *** store cannot be an original CONSUMER purchaser by definition, no matter where they host their online storefront, **** or elsewhere. Therefore warranty as it is written in the manual applies to me and Woodstream is not honoring their warranty as written.

Regards,

****** **********








Business Response:

Dear ******,

We are glad that we were able to reach a satisfactory resolution viz our phone conversation on Wednesday July 3rd.   We will be replacing your fence charger SS-2D with an SS2DX. 

Please feel free to contact us at Zareba® if you should have any further questions. ###-###-####.

Thank You,

***** * ******

Consumer Relations Supervisor

Woodstream Corporation

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I like this product. Every time I purchase it , I end up pouring it on the plants because every single 128oz, 64 oz, 32oz, container that I have purchased the sprayer never works ever. It is 9:30 P.M. and my wife asked me to go out and spray with the new 32oz bottle because she knows I do not like to pour this stuff it stinks! This is because the sprayer on the 128oz bottle does not work. So the brand new 32oz bottle does not spray. This is ridiculous that this company cannot produce an efficient sprayer for this product. Pouring it is a waste of the product and I get it on me when it splashes and it smells horrible. I have let this go for a long time.

Desired Settlement: Repair your product with a reliable sprayer. This bottle is brand new. Specifically purchased so I do not have to pour the product out of the bottle.

Business Response:

Havahart® is known for its long history of providing high-quality products. We regret that you received products that did not meet that standard.  Your feedback concerning the spray bottles for Deer Off® II Deer & Squirrel Repellent, 128 ounce, 64 ounce, and 32 ounce is appreciated and will be shared with our product development team.  We would like to learn more about your experience in order to better assist you regarding this matter. 

In the meantime we would like to provide more information about Deer Off®.  Dear Off® is a very thick solution.  When the product is sedentary it will separate causing solid particles (active ingredients) to settle on the bottom of the bottle.  Before use it is vital to vigorously shake the solution for at least 60 seconds in order to allow the solid particles to dissolve back into liquid form.  This will allow the product to flow freely through the spray bottle’s nozzle.  Should the bottle become clogged we recommend soaking the sprayer in warm water for 20-30 minutes and rinsing well to remove any clogs.

Above all else we want you to be satisfied with your purchase.  With a copy of the sales receipt we will be happy to issue a full refund.  Or, if you prefer we will gladly replace the bottles you purchased. 

If you have questions please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-5-HAVAHART (1-855-542-8242).

We look forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,

 

***** ******

Consumer Relations Supervisor.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called ******** within days of recieving the product because we were not able to get the system to work properly. Customer service instructed me in various ways to adjust and test the system in order to make it work. I feel this was done only to prolong the amount of time I had the system in my posession. I was in communication with ******** several times, each time to report that the system would not work and that I wanted to return it. Over and over again I was assured that if I could not get the system to work after I tried the next "instruction" they would refund my money. At one point the master base was returned and determined "not to be faulty". Still...the system will not work. Now that I have refused to try any additional "instuctions" from the service department I am being told they will not grant me a refund because I have had the equipment for longer than 30 days. I've had it longer because they kept pushing me off! The last attempt I made the work with this company was on 4/22/13. I was told that all the information would be reviewed with a superivsor and someone would call with an answer. Of course, a supervisor was not available on that date nor again a week later. I have never received a return call. This company makes it impossible to receive a refund for its products because it strings you along with various things to "try" to make the system work. Now that I won't accept anymore "instruction" they tell me its too late.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for this item. The item does not work as promised.

Business Response:

*****

We apologize for any confusion.  After complete review by myself (Consumer Relations Supervisor) and the Category Development Manager, ,we have agreed that this product should be refunded in full.  A Lead Consumer Relations Representative was in contact with you today to advise of the refund.  Her name is ****** and she also provided an RGA to return the product.  As soon as the product is received we will issue the refund.  

Again, I sincerely apologize for the experience. 

***** ******

Consumer Relations Supervisor 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1