BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Trex Company, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (540) 542-6300 View Additional Phone Numbers 160 Exeter Dr, Winchester, VA 22603 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.trex.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trex Company, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 30

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 20, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1996 in VA Business started locally: 09/01/1996 Business incorporated: 09/04/1998 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Judy Barrow, Admin Assistant to the CEO Mr. William Gupp, CAO/General Counsel Mr. Ronald Kaplan, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Judy Barrow, Admin Assistant to the CEO
Principal: Mr. William Gupp, CAO/General Counsel
Principal: Mr. Ronald Kaplan, CEO
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Fence Contractors

Additional Information

According to information provided by the company, its warranty coverage for its manufactured products excludes environmental issues, such as molds.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    160 Exeter Dr

    Winchester, VA 22603 (540) 542-6300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 921759

    Norcross, GA 30010

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (540) 678-4078(Phone)
  • (540) 722-3523(Phone)
  • (800) 289-8739(Phone)
  • (866) 811-4888(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Delivery Issues
7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2010 we had a Trex Transcend deck installed to replace our old deck. That winter the 6 and 12 inch fascia boards cupped. We contacted the contractor and he reached out to the supplier (*** *****) and the Trex rep. Emails were exchanged, but no action was taken. There was discussion about the screws used and how the boards were already cupped prior to installation. There was discussion about the 2010 installation guide – but no verification that the anyone had a copy of it! Nothing changed in 2012. In 2013, I contacted Trex directly and started a claim because nothing else was being done at that point. I completed an extensive pile of documents along with pictures and proof that we own the property and sent the packet off to Trex. I didn’t hear anything from the company so I called back again. The customer service representative said that they couldn’t do anything – they stated that the boards needed 3 screws, I think asked for a supervisor and discussed the pre-cupping of the boards and noted that the boards on the side of the deck were only 6 inches, not 12 and those were also cupping. He was not very friendly, but finally said they would send out an inspector. I received a call from the inspector in August prior to receiving the letter from Trex stating that they were sending an inspector. The inspector said the only day he could make it was that Sunday – so I scheduled with him – not very convenient for the customer (for a 3 hour deck inspection!). Keep in mind that we do not have a large deck and we are talking about an expensive inspection by an inspector from Colorado – for a few fascia boards on the deck. I tried to call Trex the day I received the letter – left a message and they never called me back – I asked that a copy of the report be sent to me. Again – I did not hear anything back until October – when I received a letter that stated the same thing about the screws and the 2010 installation guide – which I still have not seen a copy of – and was not to my knowledge provided to the contractor – if you don’t have the guide or know about it – how can you follow it? They also commented on other issues with the deck – but how can they say that affected the issue back in the winter of 2010-2011? If they are providing a warranty on a deck that costs 3 times that of a typical deck – a 25 yr warranty…they should be required to inspect the deck for installation issues or have the consumer provide additional proof information from the contractor vs. what has happened above. This situation is so wrong I did not know which issue to select from the drop down. How can a company treat its customers like this? At this point - the supplier, *** ***** has agreed to replace the boards in the Spring of next year and the contractor will need to come back and install - but I don't think this is right - I believe that Trex should take care of this issue and restore the warranty. I still haven't received anything stating that the warranty is completely void - what about if we have any issue with anything else on the deck?

Desired Settlement: We would like the deck fixed so that the warranty is reinstated for the next 25 years. We would also like a complete copy of the inspectors report .

Business Response:

Trex arranged for an inspection of this deck on August 25, 2013.  The inspection confirmed that the fascia boards were not installed properly.  Our Installation Guidelines call for attachment every 12 inches with 3 screws.  The homeowner's fascia was only installed with 2 screws.

Notwithinstanding this, the homeowner has said that the supplier has agreed to provide replacement fascia materials.  Even if the materials were defective (which they are not), our Limited Warranty provides for replacement of materials only, and not labor to install them.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:They have failed to provide any proof that they provided those instructions to the supngplier or to the contractor that installed the deck.  They brought the inspector in 3 years after the entire event started with one of their sales reps.  They failed to take care of the issue in a timely manner and are now saying 3 years later that it is not their responsibility.  Regarding their limited warranty - I believe they should now cover the materials and labor because they failed to address the issue immediately when it happened and because they failed to inspect the deck after installation to ensure the warranty was valid.  It's too easy for companies like this to charge three times what a normal deck would be and promise a grand warranty that they never plan to cover.  How many other customers are in the same boat because a company like Trex is allowed to continue operating.  Why aren't they being held accountable?

The supplier should not need to cover the materials - Trex should be willing to take care of the issue with their materials.  The contractor we worked with has over 30 years of experience and shared in the emails sent to the rep details about why those boards failed stating that 3 screws would not have made any difference.  In addition, the smaller boards on the side of the steps failed in the same manner one more screw would not have made any difference and Trex did even consider replacing those.


Regards,

******* *********








Business Response:

With respect to the consumer's claim that we failed to provide proof that we provided installation instructions, Trex cannot do this.  We sell our products through retail, and we do not know the identities of every purchaser of the product.  Our installation instructions are available at retail and on our website, but there is no way for Trex to confirm that each consumer actually receives them.  If a deck is installed by a contractor, it is the contractor's responsibility to make sure the deck is installed properly.

We do want to clarify one issue with the consumer.  It appears the consumer may be under the mistaken impression that their warranty is void.   This is not correct.  The warranty is still applicable to the deck.  It simply doesn't apply when an issue is caused by improper installation.

We regret that we will not be able to satisfy this consumer.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: of all the previous statements.  The screws that were used broke off they did not hold the materials on to the deck and because of the materail used to make the boards it would not have made a difference if 2 or 3 screws were used.  You can see that based on the smaller boards used on the side of the steps.  Regarding the warranty - I want to know exactly what it is suppose to cover and how much and for how long - because as far as I can see - it is worthless.  If you are not going to stand behind your product - then don't offer a warranty - buyers beware!  And we were only asking for a as couple of boards to be replaced...what if it had been the entire deck?  After the inspection that was done - tell me what the warranty still covers?

I am still asking for Trex to step up and stand behind their product.  If you are going to offer a warranty don't hide behind blaming it on the contractor - you could have your sales rep do a much better job of sharing exactly what needs to be done for customers upon installation - that was NOT done in this situation.

I would not recommend this product to anyone.


Regards,

******* *********








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have purchased approximately $2000.00 worth of TREX brand outdoor decking. Within one day of purchase and construction of deck, we started to notice small black marks emerging from the inside out on the top of the decking. Some markings were the size of quarters with others smaller and a few much larger. Trying to remove them with soap and water proved to us that it was a stain emerging from the inside out. We spoke with our retailer, ***** who have been very accomodating. They offered for us to return the decking, but we were nearly complete with the project when we noticed the problem and decided that rather than remove the decking and "wasting" our time and labor, we would be willing to be reimbursed for the product. We were willing to be reimbursed $1000.00, half of the purchase price. In comunicating with *****, the TREX rep offered $150.00 then increased it to $300.00 after much discussion with the ***** associate. Added to this story, the TREX rep informed the ***** associate that they have had many problems with this product in the past and have D/C'd it, ut continue to sell it to consumers as ourselves.

Desired Settlement: We are willing to accept this product at half price...$1000 and will keep this product as is. Please assist us in this concern. Our sincere thanks to you.

Business Response:

We were aware of this consumer's complaint.  There are stains on a few of the consumer's boards.  These stains can be cleaned.  ****'s offerd the consumer a full refund for the product, but the consumer did not want to accept this offer.  ****'s then offered $150 initially, which they increased to $500.  This is more than a generous offer for the staining (which, as stated above, can be cleaned).  The request for $1,000 is unreasonable. 

The consumer states that a Trex rep. informed the ****'s associate that "they [Trex] have had many problems with this product in the past and have D/C'd it, but continue to sell it to consumers as ourselves."  This is not true.  Trex is discontinuning the Accents product line, but not because of any problems with the product.  Accents is Trex's first generation wood plastic composite product, and will be replaced by newer generation "capped" products (which have a protective shell on top of the wood plastic composite core).

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made the decision to build our deck with the Trex material. We went through **** ***** (the ********, UT store number ****), which is the authorized retailer in my area. Over the last 3 months, the experience that I have had working with **** ***** through your local supplier has been nothing short of ridiculous. Through many orders, I have received product that was different colors, damaged product, and multiple deliveries of product that wasn't what was ordered, all causing significant delays in our deck build and hours dedicated by my contractor that he couldn't work because the product delivered was inaccurate or damaged. This project has been delayed close to a month because of the delays due to wrong deliveries and damages. I have spent over $7,000 with trex so far. It started off very poorly when the supplier had told **** ***** that my first large order of decking would be delivered on the following tuesday from when I ordered it. That day came and I had come to find out that it wasn't delivered and that they were "backed up because of a special they were running." That delivery came 5 days later, after the promised delivery date. Ever since that, we have had issue upon issue with the product delivered and delivery errors. We did have one representative from Trex come out to our home to inspect the material that had come in a much darker color than the other material. He agreed it was off and promised to send the correct color. He did that but the future orders came with the same color that was not consistent with the rest of the deck. **** ***** continuously blamed their "supplier" which is why I am also coming to you with the complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know what is going on with your supplier in our area and notify you of the experience I have had with this very large order of trex. (over $7000)

Business Response:

The homeowner has been provided a remedy that we believe has satisfied him. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called the Trex company several times in regards to filing a warranty claim with issues I'm experiencing with my Trex deck. I only seem to get an automated machine where I have left my telephone number and my name for a follow-up call. No one from the company has returned my calls after several attempts.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak to a representative in regards to filing a warranty claim and have a Trex rep visit my property to analyze / discuss my issues with the deck.

Business Response: Someone from Trex will call them in the next few days.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, I will comply with the business's instructions in regards to the next step (providing paperwork & Photographs) in resolving this issue. I consider this matter open until a final determination has been reached between myself and the said business herein.

Regards,

********* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visited the local **** ***** and explained to the rep that I wanted to replace my existing wooden deck with a MAINTENANCE FREE material. He recommended the Trex Composite decking. No mold, no fade, no painting.. We purchased the Trex and had it installed. Within 6 months the decking had black mold all over it. We contacted the Trex Service Center immediately. Since the we have spent over $100 dollars on cleaners and solutions that were supposed to cure the problem. Yes, the mold is gone for a few weeks or months but always returns. Trex has promised to resolve the issue but so far all we have received is lip service. I either want the decking replaced with something that will not mold or my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want what i was promised.. a deck that is maintenance free..

Business Response:

Trex carries two lines of products.  Our first generation product, Trex Accents, is not a maintenance-free product, and we have never advertised it as such.  With respect to mold, mold can grow on any outdoor surface, and Trex fully discloses that Trex Accents product requires periodic cleaning, and mold growth may occur if the necessary environmental conditions are present.  We also include instructions on how to clean mold both on our website, and in printed material available at **** *****.  With respect to color fading, we also fully disclose that our first generation product "weathers", and that the weathered color will be faded.

In 2010, we introduced Trex Transcend decking, which has a proprietary protective shell on the surface which resists color fading and mold staining.

We are not sure what **. ******* means when he says, "Trex has promised to resolve the issue but so far all we have received is lip service."  We have no record of **. ******* making a claim with Trex.  We would like to know who he spoke with.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trying to get trex to replace our deck and railing because of the peeling of the boards and cracking on the railing. They have agreed to repacing the boards but not the railing. So after sending more photos by certified mail, and their "inspector". Trex decided they wouldnt stand by their faulty product!! Trying to reach anyone by phone is impossible with the usual run around form them.....ie.....out of office so leave a voice mail that never gets returned, OR on vacation but so in so is in but out of the office(always ). So I am fed up and this is why I'm contacting you.This has been going on since 2012!!!! And I'm sick of it. Please HELP!!!! Trex had a lifetime warranty at the purchase date and our deck is only now 6yrs old!!! Thank You, *********

Desired Settlement: Deck and railing completely replaced by trex.

Business Response:

*** and **** ***** contacted us in June 2012 regarding a defect in their Trex decking boards.  Upon an inspection conducted at their home on September 4, 2012, we found that the decking boards were suffering from surface flaking, which is covered under the terms of a 2010 Class Action Settlement.  On September 25, 2012, we sent a letter to the ***** offering to ship replacement decking materials to their home, and pay them an additional $144 pursuant to the terms of the Class Action Settlement.  *** and **** ***** responded back that they believe the railing material is also suffering from surface flaking.  

The inspection we conducted on September 4, 2012 did not indicate any surface flaking on the railings.  A detailed review of the photographs taken during the September 34, 2012 inspection and photographs submitted by the ***** confirms this finding.  The railings are not defective, and only show normal wear and tear.  Accordingly, we have denied their claim for replacement of the railings.  The railings do show dirt and mold growth, which can be cleaned using the cleaning instructions found on Trex's website. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summer of 2007 I had a 14 1/2 X 11 1/2 trex deck installed. In the Spring of 2012 I noticed the surface of the decking begin to stain and peel/blister. March 8 of 2013 I submitted a claim for the refund of the cost of the decking material ( $3600 ) The trex company hires an independent contractor ( *** ******** ) to inspect decks and provide the company a report . The contactor has 60 days from the acceptance of the claim ( March 8 2013) to perform the inspection. The inspection has not taken place in a timely manner. I have contacted the Trex company and the inspector numerous times. My claim representative is ***** ********* and his manager is ****** *****. I just would like my money refunded so I can replace my defective deck with a more reliable product. The Trex company has between $40-$65 million set aside torresolve claims. I am asking for a very small amount of this. Please help me!! The product was not tested long enough to see what would happen once the decking material was exposed to the elements. In the summer the decking was impossible to walk on due the extreme hot surface...I was mislead that the trex product was maintence free and would last a life time!

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: *** ****** submitted a warranty claim to Trex.  Her decking boards do have a defect, so under the terms of our Limited Warranty, we have agreed to replace them.  *** ****** also claims her railing is defective.  However, there is no evidence that they are defective, so we have not agreed to replace the railings. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service