This business is not BBB accredited.

MI Windows And Doors, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (717) 365-3300 View Additional Phone Numbers 650 W Market St, Gratz, PA 17030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.miwd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for MI Windows And Doors, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MI Windows And Doors, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1966 in PA Business started locally: 04/01/1981 Business incorporated 11/22/1966 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Sullivan, President Eastern Division Mr. Anthony Matter, Marketing Coordinator Tara Miller, Field Service/Supervisor Mr. Josh Williard, Retail Account Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tara Miller, Field Service/Supervisor
Principal: Mr. Stan Sullivan, President Eastern Division
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Screens - Door & Window


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to file a complaint to MIWD( MI WINDOWS AND DOORS ) I have 3 damaged windows. One of them is my patio door and a kitchen window. And the window upstairs in my Master bedroom the sliding mechanism is loose and when i try to open it I have to hold it steady in the center for it to not fall off. I also have a molding problem on the windows. The molding around the windowS is a cheap material so I had to put tape on the molding around the windows to keep it in place. So then I called the Company to talk to them about this problem. I had spoken to a woman named Shel( ###-###-####) They sent me a form to fill out. I filled it out then I sent it back to them. I hadn't heard back from them for about 4 weeks, I called them again and spoke to Danielle. I asked if they received the forms, they said they received the forms but couldn't understand what I had filled out. It turned out that Shel only sent me 1 form, instead of the 3 forms for the 3 windows. But I wondered if they had my information on file they can get back to me, but kept me waiting for a whole month until I had to call them. I complained about the service of Shel. I told her I had 3 windows damages. I spoke to Danielle again and asked where Shel was to talk to her as she knew my case, Danielle replied with she's next to me but didn't want to take care of the case. They gave me a bad attitude and kept hanging up. I asked why Danielle why Shel sent me only 1 form instead of 3 forms, she raised her voice and lost patience and answered with anger and attitude that she didn't want to keep going back and forth to Shel even though Shel was right next to her. Eventually I got the correct forms filled out and sent it back to them. 2 weeks later, I got a phone call from the company and told me that someone was going to come over in 2 or 3 weeks to take a look at the windows not even to fix it. and that person hung up immediately without letting me ask any questions. The customer service I have spoken to are all HORRIBLE and gave me a hard time, I don't know if its my accent or something, but they just gave off a negative feeling. Until now after a month, till this day no-one has come and I don't want to call them again. I paid over $9200. I expect a certain level of customer service and should be satisfied with the service. I have a 25 year warranty and it's only been 4 years since the problems began.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to send people out to uninstall the damaged windows and replace them with new working windows. I want them to fix the issues that the windows have. I paid over 9000 dollars and it's a lot of money and need my windows repaired. I want to let the highest authority know that their employees are providing a terrible service

Business Response:

Dear ***,

I received *** ***** **'s complaint. I want to apologize for the unsatisfactory service that *** ** felt he received from the Customer Care Department. I am the manager of the Customer Care Field Service Department and I have addressed all concerns with conduct with my department as soon as I received this complaint.

I do show an open service for *** ** and have also confirmed his glass needed for his service has been received by Mr. Mike V******** the service technician who will be performing his service. Mike will be contacting *** ** next week to set up an appointment for service.

 

Sincerely,

Tara M*****

Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors

*** * ****** **. Gratz, PA **********

***********@miwd.com

o:  ###-###-####

f: ###-###-####

www.miwd.com

 

 

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the original owner of a * * ****** home in ****, Co with windows manufactured by MI Windows. The windows in my home are still under the 10 year manufacturers warranty. A large window in my family room needs to be replaced as it is failing and MI Windows is not willing to help or return my calls. The window in question is a large 4-section window (8' wide x 7' high) with a horizontal fixed glass section across the the top of the window, two windows that slide open from both sides below the horizontal top section, and a fixed glass section below the horizontal and between the 2 sliding sections. The window is falling apart. When it rains, water drips inside the window from the bottom of the top horizontal section. The vinyl frame is separating in many places where the various sections were joined together in the manufacturing process. Since the widow frame and vinyl sections are separating, there isn't enough structural support for the large center window between the 2 sliding sections and the outer pane has cracked. MI Window sent a representative, Mike H******, to my house in the fall of 2013 who looked at the window. He authorized a service order #2420607 at that time for partial repairs and he needed to speak with a Mae G***** to fully authorize the window repair. Several months went by and I followed up again, that service order had been misplaced by MI Window and Mike H****** was sent out again. This time Mike H****** was no longer an employee of MI Window but was a contractor. After a long time at my house he finally said he didn't think it was a warranty issue any longer...of course it is a warranty issue, the window is falling apart, and falling apart during the warranty period. Mike H****** said he would discuss that with MI and get back to me. I spoke with Mae G***** twice after this and both times she said she would talk to some other people at MI Window and would get back to me. She never called me back and has not returned subsequent calls... This is very poor service by MI Windows to this point and MI Windows has not honored the terms of their warranty agreement.

Desired Settlement: A full replacement of this window unit should be provided by MI Windows to honor their warranty.

Business Response: ?To whom it may concern,
In reference to complaint # ******* *** ***** ******. MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) sent a service tech out to *** ******’s home on two occasions to inspect for water infiltration. After inspection the technician found caulk that was missing in between the caulk and the trim boards, he also found the weep holes in the windows to be blocked with debris. There was also a cracked piece of glass and a crack in the bottom left hand corner of the window. All of the findings after inspection are not classified as manufacturing issues. I do also see in the complaint that *** ****** also states that the frame and the vinyl are separating. I would like to send a technician out to inspect for the separating issue at no charge as a good will gesture. That was not in the initial complaint. If *** ****** would like MIWD to send a technician out please have *** ****** contact our Customer Care Department at ###-###-#### or via email customercare@miwd.com. I will make sure his claim is marked accordingly.
 
If there is anything further you need please contact me direct at the below contact information.
 
 
Tara M*****
Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors
650 W Market St. Gratz, PA 17030-0370
********************
o:  ###-###-####
f: ###-###-####
www.miwd.com

8/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple window seals which broke causing ongoing condensation since we moved into our home. Mi inspector denied us our initial claim. We DO have the paper work AND Mi Work # with the inspectors name to prove our case.

Desired Settlement: Replace ALL windows with broken seals at NO COST. FYI- we previously lived in a townhouse community in ******, PA, called ***** ****. We needed to replace more than 10 windows manufactured by M I home products which we paid for; installed, then the window deals broke again shortly after installation. From my experience, past and present, MI windows are poor quality, and MI does not stand by their product, and definitely not believe in their warranty.

Business Response:

Dear ***,

In reference to ID # ******** *** **** * ****** located at *** ******* *** ***********, PA *****. Attached you will find the initial claim filed in September of 2009. MI Windows and Doors sent a technician out to the ****** residence to inspect for seal failure (fogging between the glass), when the technician did the inspection he could physically wipe the moisture off the exterior of the windows showing that the moisture was not in between the glass therefore was not a warranty issue. I have attached a copy of the warranty showing that the 2nd owner does have a 5 year transferrable warranty which was good until 4/2013. I have also attached a copy of the condensation brochure explaining the facts of condensation.

As a good will gesture if *** ****** would send pictures showing the fogging is in between the glass and not a result of exterior or interior condensation MI Windows and Doors would be willing to help offering a discount for new glass/sash and also a discount on the shipping costs.

Please let me know if there is any additional information needed in resolving *** ******'s claim.

Sincerely,

Tara M*****

Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors

650 W Market St. Gratz, PA 17030-0370

********************

o:  ###-###-####

f: ###-###-####

www.miwd.com

 

7/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are original homeowners and had a whole-house window installation on our custom home in 1994. The hardware of the sliding windows, which has failed on several units, is covered under their Lifetime Customer Assurance to Homeowners warranty but, at their convenience, refuse to honor that claim. They denied us the lifetime warranty responsibility of ********** Windows, a product name they still use, because our units were built prior to 2010. First they said the frame only was covered then claimed the ********** warranty as a whole became null and void in 1999.

Desired Settlement: Honor the Lifetime Warranty of a brand they continue to market. As difficult as it is to comply, we met the criteria for a lifetime warranty claim : Original owners, non-glass issue, non-coastal area. Replace the hardware of the units that have broken down.

Business Response: Dear ***,
In reference to *** **** *********** located at **** ** ***** ****** ******, AZ *****. MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) has reviewed *** ***********’s complaint. The sale of ******* ****** **** went through in March of 1999 and ******* *********** went out of business in 2004. MIWD handled the warranties for ******* *********** until they went out of business in 2004. The Customer Assurance Warranty *** *********** is referring to did not go into effect until 2010.
 
*** ***********’s windows are from 1994 and MIWD does not have the parts available since *********** went out of business and MIWD never manufactured original windows and doors.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
**** ******
Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors
650 W Market St. Gratz, PA 17030-0370
****************** ************
o:  ###-###-####
f: ###-###-####
********  *******  ********  *********

Consumer Response: We bought windows with a lifetime warranty. MIWD owns/owned that business and should take responsibility for those lifetime warranties. Even more so since MIWD continues to market the ********** name.

Business Response: Dear ***,

In reference to **************’s response. MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) did acquire ******* *********** in March of 1999, however MIWD purchased the assets. MIWD is not responsible for any liabilities and warranties of the Previous *********** company. MIWD was sending parts out for windows and doors at a charge that were manufactured prior to 1999 while supplies lasted those supplies have since been depleted. There are two different places that *** *********** can look to see if he can find parts available and they are:
 
*****************
***********
 
I apologize for the inconvenience this is causing *** ***********.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
**** ******
Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors
650 W Market St. Gratz, PA 17030-0370
********************
o:  ###-###-####
f: ###-###-####
www.miwd.com

Consumer Response: Thank you for your response. We're not inconvenienced, just disappointed. It's clear that the lifetime warranty means nothing. It's a shame.

5/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 installed windows have cracks upon the front door and back door. One crack was on 12/28/2013 but another crack was on 4/26/2014! We are not sure when MIWD glass will be broken or crack in some day!!! MI window claims that the type of cracks is not covered with warranty and claim that cracks were caused by someone or something. Note all 2 windows have same cracks, and was purchased in 2005. Upon purchasing this home an inspection did not reveal any problems with windows. How can a window manufacturer not be held accountable for product beyond ten years. Any windows company told me that the windows come with a lifetime warranty at 20 years. I sent the claims to MIWD but they refused my request. The glass is as below: (1 of 1) ** ** *** *************** ** *** * ** *** * **** ********** ********** ********** ***************** **** **** *** ***** **************

Desired Settlement: I am seeking MI Windows to replace the 2 windows as covered by the warranty. And have technicians check whole glass in house.

Business Response:

May 2nd 2014

Dear ***,
In reference to ****** **s complaint concerning cracked glass. Attached is a copy of ***. s warranty and Customer Care claim for the windows in her home. Cracks in the glass are not covered under the warranty nor does the manufacturer bear no other expense such as labor costs. Their warranty also did not transfer to subsequent homeowners. **. and ***. ** is the 3owner of their property according to a property search done by MI Windows and Doors (MIWD).
After further discussions with **. ** MIWD decided to supply the glass as a onetime only good will gesture at no charge but **. ** is responsible for the shipping charge, **. ** agreed to pay the 100.00 shipping charge for the order of 4 pieces of glass and the order was processed 5/2/14.
If there is any further information needed please contact me at your convenience.
Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) I am not 3rd owner but 2nd owner of the house. MIWD should have at least ten years warrenty for the customers, which is free installation & fix glass. My house windows was made on 4/2/2005 so they should be covered in warrenty.

2) There are two windows glass breakage/crack on 12/2013 and 4/2014. I think the MIWD windows are not qulified and do not know when the glass is breakage/crack at next time? One time supplies of glass is not enough to us.

3) Till today I bever receive any upadted information on the delivery of glass. Is MIWD a good & respect industry to their costomers?

4) I had to pay for the $100 of shipping fees to MIWD because customer service said it is no way to resolve right now.


Regards,

****** **








Business Response: MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) have gone above and beyond **. and ***. **’s warranty. MIWD did provide glass at n/c even though the warranty states broken glass is not covered under the warranty, also **. and ***. ** are the 2nd homeowner. MIWD did charge a shipping cost of $25.00 per panel in accordance to the warranty provide previously. MIWD bears no expense for shipping and or labor. **. and ***. **’s glass was sent out on 5/9/14 via *** ** which should arrive this week to the **’s residence. A tracking number is available upon request.
 
 
**** ******

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on MI Windows And Doors, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)