BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Bradford White Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (215) 641-9400 View Additional Phone Numbers 725 Talamore Dr, Ambler, PA 19002 http://www.bradfordwhite.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bradford White Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bradford White Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1881 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated: 06/05/1985 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nicholas J. Giuffre, President Mr. Mark Taylor, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nicholas J. Giuffre, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Taylor, Vice President
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Lafayette St

    Middleville, MI 49333

  • 725 Talamore Dr

    Ambler, PA 19002

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 523-2931(Phone)
  • (215) 641-1612 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Bradford White Water Heater, Model *********; Serial No. ********** from **** ***** who buys from the manufacturer, Bradford. *** installed the heater which has a six year warranty. The water heater was installed from Bradford in October of 2011 and is defective. It leaked and did significant damage to our basement and belongings. I initially contacted *** who told me to speak to Bradford. I spoke to someone named ***** there in customer service who basically told me not to waste my time trying to get this straightened out. *** said installation costs for a replacement heater is over $400.00. My mother is 91 and does not have that kind of money. We paid $1000.00 for this heater because we were told it was a good heater and that we should have no proble** and if we did, we have a warranty. I was so upset with Bradford that I told them I would report them to you and the Illinois Attorney General and they said they do not care. These people should be sued. I will take this as far as necessary to get justice. I would never purchase another product from them. The public should be made aware of their products and the idea they refuse to stand behind them. Now, we have thousands of dollars of damage as a result of their faulty heater. Bradford will have to be held responsible for selling defective paroducts and refusing to remedy the situation. We should not have to pay for anything on this.

Desired Settlement: We want a replacement of this defective product along with Bradford paying for the installation costs. Bradford should pay extra in addition to this for damage done to our basement and belongings. I want justice. The public will be made aware of this if they refuse to help us.

Business Response: Dear **. *******, I acknowledge receipt of this matter. We are investigating internally and will respond early next week. Thanks for your patience, Sincerely, **** ** ****** Sr. VP Corporate Administration

Business Response: Dear **. *******,

 
I have reviewed this claim and investigated internally our communications with ** *********.  The following is our findings and response to this BBB claim:
 
1.)  The claimant called our Tech/Warranty Support department on 12/30/2013 at 5:43 PM.  Our **. ***** ****** fielded this call.
2.)  *. ******** advised of a water heater leak on Bradford White model ********* (s/n **********) and that there was an associated labor bill and claimed property damage as a result of the claimed leak.  *. ******** wanted BWC to reimburse the labor charges and intimated reimbursement for any property damage.
3.)  Our **. ****** advised that the water heater, only, is covered under the Bradford White warranty policy and that labor and any associated property damage is not covered and that *. ******** should contact the insurance company covering the property.  **. ****** also advised that if there was a property damage claim, Bradford White would require the water heater to be returned for a thorough evaluation to substantiate the claim.
 
The unit identified regarding this claim was manufactured on 9/28/2011.  The warranty expires on 12/31/2017.  Please see Bradford White's warranty for the this model per the following weblink:
 
********************************************************************************
 
The warranty document clearly states what Bradford White will not cover which includes sections 2. b) & c).  These sections detail Bradford White will not cover associated property damage because of a water heater operational issue (2.b)) nor will Bradford White cover costs associated with the replacement or repair of the unit (2.c)).  The warranty further states on page 2., what we not cover - 1. & 2.  These outline that Bradford White will not repair or replace a water heater or part under the conditions outlined in "What Does This Limited Warranty Cover" (1.) nor will Bradford White reimburse any costs associated with repair or replacement (2.).  
 
What we will do is noted at the top of page 2 of the warranty.  With proper documentation, if there is a legitimate reason for replacing the water heater within the warranty period, we provide the replacement at no charge to the warranty administrator in the applicable region of warranty claim (with the government required features exception - not applicable in this matter).
 
Bradford White Corporation derives no monies from any field charges for labor associated with a warranty claim.  These charges are between the installer (not an employee of Bradford White) and the responsible party for the warranty installation. 
 
The life expectancy for water heaters can be adversely impacted for several reasons.  Please see the attached regarding life expectancy, environmental issues and maintenance.
 
Bradord White will honor part of the desired outcome/settlement by providing a like model at no cost to our distributor for the claimant (or their plumbing contractor) to pick-up for installation.  Bradford White will reimburse for any other costs associated with the installation of the warranty heater provided or any property damage claims.
 
Again and rightly so, **. ****** advised if there was property damage because of the water heater, ** ********' insurance company should be contacted in order to process this claim through the proper channels.  
 
Please let me know if I can further assist regarding this matter.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** ** ****** - *********-AP
Sr. Vice President Corporate Administration

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 12th 2013, while my family was out of town, a Bradford White Hot Water Heater experienced a "Product Failure" and flooded my home for 36-48 hours. At the time of this incident this product was still under warrantly. I have made over a dozen Warranty inquiries to ***** ******** and as of today Sept. 3rd, ***** nor any other Bradford White rep. have contacted me. As of this letter my family of 6 is still living in a one bedroom apartment repairing the damage caused by the failed Bradford White Hot Water Heater. Our expected move in date is Sept 14th, 2013

Desired Settlement: Bradford White needs to pay for the non-structural losses (moving costs, storage costs, lost contents costs, and additional living expenses.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

Our **. ***** ******** has finally connected with **. ****** after several attempts over the last few weeks (many voicemails going back and forth).  We understand **. ****** has a claim regarding property damage caused by water.  **. ****** claims the water came from his Bradford White water heater.  **. ****** also informed Bradford White, that he does not have contents coverage for his home, only structural coverage for damage and therefore had increased exposure on this type of claim either of his own choice or not understanding the type of coverage he was offered/purchased.  Bradford White's warranty explicitly does not cover damage caused by water because of many issues, one of which is location and the lack compensating for that location (Please see the attached link for BWC's warranty).

*******************************************************************************

We are having **. ******'s water heater returned to our facility in Michigan to verify the reason for any water that could escape from the unit.  We will continue to communicate with **. ****** regarding his claims and will determine what, if anything, can be done to support him regarding this claim.

Sincerely,

**** ** ****** - Sr. VP Corporate Administration

Bradford White Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ******** I am the home owner of the home at **** ******* ****** **** ** ****** My home was a new build. I purchased it from: ******** ********, ****** ***** ********** **** ***** ***** ***** ###-###-#### ***************************** The sale of my home was completed August 26, 2010, as a new construction. I had problems with my original water heater on or about May 20, 2012. The pilot light would not stay on. I had two plumbing services come out. Both of which stated that the pilot was bad and it needed replacing. I contacted Bradford and White Customer Service and they said that the labor was not under warranty but the parts were. They stated that all I had to do was find a dealer who sold their products, take them the old parts and they would give me the new ones. I contacted ******** ***********, ***, in ******* Texas. *** **** **** ****** ******** ***** ***** ###-###-#### They stated they could not find a pilot assembly. So they said they would exchange and old water heater for a new one. Which they did on May 26,2012. The order /invoice # on the ******** invoice is ********. The serial number on the old Water Heater is **********. The order/invoice # on the ******** exchange is ********. The serial number on the new Water Heater is JA16058289. I had a professional Plumber Service put the water heater in. They charged $350/ invoice # 1895. On July 13, 2013. The hot water would not come on. I went to check the water heater and I followed the instructions on how to re-light the pilot. After several tries the pilot would not stay lit. I checked the gas on my stove. I did not have a problem with my gas supply. The next day I went back to the water heater and I tried it again. The pilot light would not stay lit. This is the same problem I had with the first water heater the first time, a little over a year ago. I got the serial number of the original water heater *********** as you requested. I have several issues with Bradford and White. The first being. That when I needed a part to be replaced. There supplier did not have the part. So he issued a new Water Heater. I paid, more to get the new Water Heater installed because I thought that this would insure that I had no feature problems for a reasonable amount of time. That was my reasonable expectation. Now, I have a new hot water heater with the same problem in just over a year. I hold the manufacture responsible because, their product did not meet a reasonable expectation of use. It is not reasonable to keep replacing this water heater every year for the same issue. This is the second time I have had to replace this water heater.

Desired Settlement: This is the second water heater that I have had go out in less than three years. I want a upgrade in water heaters and I and want the installation to be paid by the manufacturer considering I have already replaced this water heater June 5, 2012, and I paid for the last replacement.

Business Response: Dear **. *******,

 
Bradford White Corporation's Technical Support Department has contacted **. ******** and has come to a mutually agreeable solution.  It is our understanding that **. ******** will withdraw his complaint at this time.  Should this matter not be resolved as we understood, please advise.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** ** ******
Sr. Vice President Corporate Administration
 
cc:  Consumer File

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues