BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Healthy Directions, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 340-2100 View Additional Phone Numbers 6710A Rockledge Drive Ste 500, Bethesda, MD 20817 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.healthydirections.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Healthy Directions, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Healthy Directions, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 19, 1991 Business started: 01/19/1974 Business started locally: 01/19/1974
Business Management
Ms. Elaine P Looney, Senior VP, Operations Ms. LaToi Smith, Senior Manager, Customer Service Ms. Cathy Jo Van Pelt, Director of Partner Management
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elaine P Looney, Senior VP, Operations
Business Category

Magazine Sales by Mail Product Sales - General Vitamins & Food Supplements Advertising - Direct Mail Health & Diet Products - Retail Health & Medical - General

Alternate Business Names
Alternatives Alternatives For The Health Consious Individual Daily Balance Doctors Preferred, LLC Doctors' Preferred, Inc. Dr. Lark's Daily Balance Dr. Lark's Women's Wellness Today Dr. Laux Natural Medica Dr. Laux Naturally Well Today Dr. Marcus Laux Dr. Sinatra's Advanced Biosolutions Dr. Sinatra's Heart, Health and Nutrition Dr. Whitaker's Health and Healing Dr. Whitakers's Forward Nutrition Dr. Williams' Alternatives Dr. Williams' Mountain Home Nutritionals Faster Tomorrow and Healthy Living Network Forward Nutrition Health & Healing Health Interactive Healthy Directions Julian Whitaker, M.D. Mountain Home Daily Advantage Mountain Home Nutritional Mountain Home Nutritionals Mountain Home Publishing Naturally Well Today Phillips Health, LLC The Lark Letter TLL

Additional Locations

  • 6710A Rockledge Drive Ste 500

    Bethesda, MD 20817

  • 7811 Montrose Road

    Potomac, MD 20854

  • Doctor to Doctor Distribution  Dr. Williams' Mountain Home Nutritionals.

    Lancaster, PA 17601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Dr. Sinatra's Advanced Biosolutions95 Old Shoale Road

    Arden, NC 28704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Faster Tomorrow and Healthy Living Network95 Old Shoals Road

    Arden, NC 28704

  • Mountain Home Nutritionals  700 Indian Springs Drive

    Lancaster, PA 17601

  • P.O. Box 3251

    Lancaster, PA 17604

  • P.O. Box 3262

    Lancaster, PA 17604

  • P.O. Box 61010

    Rockville, MD 20859

  • PO Box 3277

    Lancaster, PA 17604

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 219-8587(Phone)
  • (800) 861-5970(Phone)
  • (800) 888-1415(Phone)
  • (800) 941-1997(Phone)
  • (828) 974-0208(Phone)
  • (866) 599-9491(Phone)
  • (888) 314-5275(Phone)
  • (888) 887-8262(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2014 Delivery Issues
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customers advertising is not forthcoming and misleading. It claimed to be able to purchase their product for basically $1, and then pay for shipping and handling. Then in the fine print, they state that you will be charged the full amount of the product, which the full price is not fully disclosed, and put on a reoccuring order cycle for the full amount. I was then charged a ridiculous amount for a product that was less than satisfactory, and when I was charged again, I never even received the product. When I figured out what they were doing, I called and unenrolled in the program, and they refunded one charge (whith holding a processing fee) and told me they would send the product out again. I told them not to bother, but they said I could just throw it away. They would not refund me my initial charge and when I asked to speak to a manager, they told me they would have to call me back, and never followed up.

Desired Settlement: I would like my initial charges refunded as I feel like the company was misleading in their advertising of their products and service.

Business Response:

We reached out to **. ****** to explain that we are not affiliated with ******* ******* or ********. There is no customer data. Customer said she research and contact ***** ***** at Healthy Directions as she gets more information.

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
After reviewing the company, it seems that I have filed this complaint with the wrong company.  I apologize for the misunderstanding.  Please remove complaint ID ******* from this companies profile as it was not them that i was having an issue with. 

Regards,

***** ******

11/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I CANNOT TAKE A SUPPLEMENT(****** LONGEVITY PLUS) THAT I HAD PREVIOUSLY ORDERED FROM HEALTHYDIRECTIONS.COM PER DOCTORS ORDERS. I DID NOT SEND BACK THE SUPPLEMENT NOR ASK FOR A REFUND, I JUST DISCARDED IT AND LET HEALTHYDIRECTIONS KNOW THAT I COULD NOT TAKE IT PER DOCTORS ORDERS AND TOLD THEM NOT TO SEND ME ANYMORE VIA EMAIL AND PHONE. THEY TOOK IT ON THEIR OWN TO SEND ME ANOTHER BOTTLE AND CHARGE MY **** CARD $37.35. MY ACCOUNT STATUS WITH THEM LISTS ME AS NOT A AUTO SHIP CUSTOMER AND I HAVE ENCLOSED THIS INFORMATION. I HAVE ASKED THEM WHY THEY SENT THIS TO ME, THEY SAID I AM AN AUTO SHIP CUSTOMER AND WILL NOT REFUND MY MONEY.Your AutoDelivery OrderAutoDeliveryWith AutoDelivery, lock-in today's low price and receive FREE shipping on your first order and all future orders. Your credit card will be billed each time your AutoDelivery order ships. You have the flexibility to make any changes to upcoming shipments - add a product, adjust a ship date, or change your shipment frequency.To make changes to your delivery schedule, update your address or credit card - please contact our AutoDelivery Customer Care team toll free 24/7 at ###-###-####.You do not have any AutoDelivery orders available at this time.

Desired Settlement: REFUND MY $37.35 AND DO NOT SEND THE PRODUCT SUPPLEMENT ****** LONGEVITY PLUS TO ME ANYMORE. PER DOCTORS ORDERS I CANNOT TAKE THIS.

Business Response: **** ********* **** ****** ************ ** ***** November 14, 2013 Re:  Refund for ****** Longevity PlusFile no: ******* Dear **. ****** I am writing this letter in response to the letter we received from the Better Business Bureau regarding your order for *** *******’s ****** Longevity Plus. We are sorry to hear that you are unable to take the product, but certainly stand behind our money back guarantee. Per my voicemail on November 14, 2013, our records show your AutoDelivery order has been cancelled so no future orders will be sent. It appears your cancellation request that was submitted on October 16th was received after the order had shipped so we were unable to prevent the charge. Since then, we have received the returned order and a refund in the amount of $37.75 was issued to your **** card ending **** on October 25th. The credit should appear on your November billing statement. We sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced in getting this resolved.  We take pride in the service and products we provide to our customers and make every effort to resolve any concerns quickly.  Please don’t hesitate to let us know if you need any further assistance. Sincerely, ***** *****Sr. Customer Service ManagerHealthy Directions**** ******** ********* ** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

 
The issue of the company showing on their website under "My Profile" that I did NOT have any "Auto Ship" orders, then Auto shipping to me and charging me anyway, was never addressed. I had to return the product to them on my own time and then only got a "Partial Return" credit per their website is not sufficient. See Below what is posted on my profile on their website.
 

Your Recent Order History:

Order Number Order Date Order Status
********
10/15/13 Partial Return
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Regards,

**** ******








Business Response:

We have reached out to the customer to confirm the full refund was issued for the ****** Longevity Plus order in the amount of $37.35.

In researching **. ******'s account, we found the information displayed on the website is incorrect.

I have attached a copy of the bank portal to show the amount charged and the amount refunded.

 

10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered vitamins from the company and paid extra refusing to set up auto ship. They set up auto ship anyway charging my credit card anyway.

Desired Settlement: Letter and refund

Business Response: I left a message and sent an email requesting a call back from *** ***. In checking our records, we have cancelled the automatic program and issued the refund for the 2nd shipment. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

****** ***


   I have never received any thing for the first bottle I returned. I never signed up for auto shipping yet when I returned it unopened I was only credited for the product not the shipping and handling. Why should I pay shipping and handling on something I did not order?








Business Response: Hello ***** We never received the return for the initial order, but as a courtesy, I have issued the refund for the original and 2nd order. Also, a credit of $7.99 has been issued for the return shipping expenses. Total refunded amount of $59.98. I sent a letter FedEx to explain what was done on the account. Back story: He  selected the automatic program when he placed the initial order online. Here is the verbiage used when they sign up so customers are aware of the subsequent orders. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ***

6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alternatives is a health-related newsletter put out by **. ***** ********. I have subscribed to it for quite a few years now. When I renewed on 2/28/13, I was promised a "bonus" of a two-disc, Alternatives CD-ROM Library set. After a couple of months, I realized I had not yet received it and contacted them via their website. I was told to call the 800 number and they would help me. I did and was told that they would send the set out right away. At the beginning of June, I realized that I still had not received it and called them again. I was told that they didn't know why I had not gotten it and they would send the set out again - I asked them if they could send something to confirm delivery (like a signature confirmation) and they said "No." It has been over 3 months and I still have not received this (and quite frankly, I'm starting to think it doesn't even exist). They have no problem sending me numerous advertisements to buy their supplements, so I know they have my correct address. I am really getting quite upset over this, as this set was one of the major reasons I renewed my subscription. No one I've spoken to there seems all that concerned about this lapse in service, which is why I have turned to you. I just want them to send me what I was promised.

Desired Settlement: I want them to send me the 2-disc Alternatives CD-ROM Library Set that I was promised for renewing my subscription.

Business Response:

We reached out to *** ***** on June 19th, but were unable to speak with her so a message was left acknowledging the receipt of her complaint via BBB.

It appears the missing items had been sent out several times before according to our records.

We have arranged to have the 2 CDs for Alternatives sent FedEx 2 day along with a letter of apology for the inconvenience.

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I have finally received the 2 CDs I was waiting for.  I know the company says it mailed them out several times, but I only received this one latest shipment.  God knows what happened to the other ones.  Thank you for your help.

Regards,

****** *****

1/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/17/2012 Delivery Issues
9/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/10/2012 Delivery Issues
5/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/10/2012 Delivery Issues
3/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service