BBB Accredited Business since

Delta Lighting Products, Inc.

Phone: (215) 322-6210 View Additional Phone Numbers 2570 Metropolitan Dr, Trevose, PA 19053 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.deltaproductsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lighting Lamps-maintenance supplies


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Delta Lighting Products, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Delta Lighting Products, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Delta Lighting Products, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 05/01/1976 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Rudnet, President/Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Rudnet, President/Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

Lighting Fixtures - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Lighting Fixtures - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Delta Products

Additional Locations

  • 2570 Metropolitan Dr

    Trevose, PA 19053

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2016 Delivery Issues
1/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2015 Delivery Issues
9/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delta shipped us product on 4/10/15 that we did not order. We asked the company never to send us anything again in 2014 after they shipped us more product then we could ever use, and refused to take it back. The product has no return address to ship it back to. My phone calls have been moved to "review" and no one can take any new complaints untill some one has called us back.

Desired Settlement: send a RMA for us to ship item back, refund all charges for this 2015 order, and never call us again.

Business Response: Dear *******,

Our company had no request for a “Do Not Sell” from 2014.  We received a phone call from ***** on 4/21/15.  He requested RMA “call tags” to pick the merchandise up.  ***** acknowledged with us at that time that he had placed the order, but no longer wanted it on that day he also requested a Do Not Sell.  We explained to him that our policy is to refer the issue to the sales rep and give the rep 7 days to resolve it.  The following day we received a phone call from ***** again expressing that they wanted to return.  We let her know that it had been referred to the sales rep on ******* call and reiterated that the rep had 7 days from the initial call in date to resolve the issue.  We do this as a courtesy to the representative in order to allow them a chance to solve a problem because they have been paid commission on the order.

Today we have this complaint.  

Thankfully the sales rep Ed was able to resolve this complaint with *****.  We are picking up the coil cleaner which the property has an abundance of, and are swapping it for our “magic erasers”.  The Do Not Sell has been lifted and replaced with a note acknowledging that ***** is the only authorized purchaser for this company.  I personally confirmed with ***** that this resolution was acceptable, and as far as we are concerned while this complaint needn’t have been issued in the first place it has been amenably resolved to the satisfaction of all parties involved.


Sincerely,
Raymond J. H****


Accounts Receivable Coordinator

4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the General Manager of the ******* *** ******* in Scottsbluff, NE. In 15 years that I have worked here I have never filed a complaint with the BBB. Delta Lighting Products, Inc. has been harassing my hotel for two months. They call as least once a week and will tell my front desk employees about different products. When the front desk instructs the sales person calling that they don't order items the sales person from Delta Lighting will send products anyway. In the last two months I have made numerous calls to the business number ###-###-#### to complain about this. I have sent them letters also through the postal service and I have faxed them the same letters asking them to stop. I have actually been standing at the front desk when a sales person will call and have heard the employee tell them we don't order products for the hotel. (Management is only authorized to order products) Then less then a week later the products will show up. Since this started happening we have refused the products once the ***** driver shows. The problem is so bad that when the ***** driver shows up at my business he knows right away it will be refused. I don't know what else we can do. What is happening is definitely a form of harassment. This is not an ethical way of doing business and they need to be reported.

Desired Settlement: I do not wish to ever do business with this company. I don't want my hotel to be contacted again and I certainly want Delta Lighting Products, Inc. to quit harassing my staff and to stop sending products that no one ordered.

Business Response:

April 21, 2016

Dear ****,

I am surprised to hear that this is an issue brought to the attention of the Better Business Bureau.  As far as we were concerned, this issue was resolved.  The merchandise was received back to our company, and a note stating not to sell to ******* *** ******* in Scottsbluff was applied to the account. 

We’ve dealt with ******* *** ******* in Scottsbluff since 4/30/14.  We dealt with ***** **** as our point of contact for the first two orders; those orders were shipped by Delta, accepted by ******* *** *******, and paid for within our standard payment terms.  The representative here dealing with Larry left our company; and a new representative took over the account.  He began dealing with ***** *********.  In our system we had the buyer’s name listed as ***** (the most common spelling of the name) which *** ******* took as acknowledgement that we must not really be dealing with *****.  Our representative spelled her name as he thought it was spelled, but did not do the due diligence of learning if there was an alternate spelling.  In the case of the order placed by ***** initially that order was not paid on time.  We pursued collections and reached out to the hotel on the following dates to pursue payment: 12/16/14, 1/15/15, 1/22/15, 1/27/15, 1/30/15, 2/6/15, 2/11/15, 2/20/15, 2/25/15, 3/2/15, and 3/6/15.  At no point did we hear back from ******** or anyone else regarding payment, or even a desire to return the merchandise.  Had someone at the company alerted us within return terms we would have happily picked up the merchandise.  Payment was received on 3/9/15.  At that time our sales rep again reached out to ******* *** ******* to see if they needed more merchandise.  Another order was placed by *****, and our Verification Department reached out for confirmation confirming the validity of the order, the merchandise to be shipped, billing and shipping addresses and shipping date.  

The order was scheduled to leave on 3/26/15.


On 3/16/15 ******** called in and spoke with one of our Customer Service reps Mike.  She noted that she wanted a Do Not Sell placed on the account.  The account was marked with that designation at that time.  Unfortunately Mike did not follow up, and for that Delta accepts full responsibility. Because of this and issues of a similar ilk, Mike is no longer employed with Delta.  Mike should have noticed that there was a pending order to leave on 3/26/15, and should have prevented that shipment from leaving upon request for a Do Not Sell.  Mike and Delta absolutely, positively, unequivocally failed in that regard, and we accept full responsibility for the error.  ******** called in again on 3/31/15 rightfully angry about receiving that shipment.  Yesterday we received a message from ******** noting the misspelling of *****’s name etc.  Our Vice President attempted to reach out but was unable to reach her.  We cannot guarantee that ******** will never hear from our company again, many reps “cold call” from hotel listings online, so we are unable to prevent an accidental call.  But without a written, faxed, or emailed request for an order NO order will be shipped to that property under any circumstances.  

1/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been sending products to us that have not been ordered. Someone at the company learns of the head of maintenance name and ships un-ordered products to him. After their return period, we received an inflated (Huge) invoice for the product. The first experience was for some cheap light bulbs that slipped through our system and were invoiced at $1500. They got greedy and tried a second delivery which we caught and returned (we did not pay the invoice). Today we received another delivery of acid which again was not ordered. I am sure that the invoice would be for big money as well. They could not seem to be able to give me a RA number or explain how I could get them to take the product back. I have been promised a return call from another department. Either the company rips people off intentionally or there is a dishonest sales person creating fake orders to boost their commission. Either way, this company needs to be stopped.

Desired Settlement: Stop contacting us. Stop sending products that we do not order. Never send us a invoice for products not ordered!

Business Response:

February 23, 2016

Dear ******,

I am surprised to hear that this is an issue brought to the attention of the Better Business Bureau.  As far as we were concerned, this issue was resolved.  Call tags were issued for the merchandise on 1/7/15, and a note stating not to sell to ******* *** was applied to the account.  That said, I do need to dispute portions of *** ******’ description of events.  We do not “learn a name and ship product”.  Not only would that be unethical it would be illegal. 

We deal with an individual named *** ******* who placed several orders with us beginning in July of 2014.  A new sales representative took over the account for the order in question and apparently there may have been some confusion regarding this order between the rep and Mr. Stevens.   Beyond that *** ****** claimed that we sent “cheap light bulbs invoiced at $1,500”.  The largest invoice ever sent was for $1,026.84, and was not only light bulbs, but also for a variety of other products. The light bulbs amounted to roughly $340 of the invoice.  The most recent invoice which they requested be picked up is for $141.93.  He also claims that we sent him acid on that invoice which we did not, we sent *** ** which is an organic drain opener and maintainer and has a variety of uses beyond drain opening.  I’m actually beginning to wonder if *** ****** has us confused with another company, at the very least it’s clear he has a penchant for exaggeration.

****** ****** contacted our Customer Service Department yesterday and spoke with one of our helpful representatives named Kate.  Kate expressed to *** ****** the standard protocol for dealing with returns.  We take the information from the individual calling and refer the issue to the sales representative to resolve.  This process usually takes between 3 and 5 business days.  In the event that for some reason the rep elects not to, or is unable to resolve it, we will follow up from Customer Service in 7 days (or welcome a return phone call from the customer) to resolve the issue.  Any assertion that we did not adequately explain our return policy is entirely inaccurate.  It’s likely that it may have gone unheard by *** ****** who was too busy launching into a profanity laced tirade to actually hear the procedure.  Because of *** ****** aggressive demeanor and general disregard for back and forth communication we elected to forego our standard procedure and pick up the merchandise ASAP.  We have taken care of everything asked for by *** ******.  Call Tag #*************** was issued and as of 11:14AM this morning was picked up and the merchandise was en route to us.  Upon receipt of the merchandise, a credit will be issued towards the open invoice to close it.

We took every step to ensure that things were handled properly from start to finish, and as far as we’re concerned this issue is closed.  Despite the manner in which *** ****** approached this, we handled it with professionalism and integrity throughout and not only as quickly as possible, but in expedited fashion.  In closing, I will issue an apology for whatever confusion may have been caused by the rep on our end and wish ******* *** the best in their future business dealings. 

Sincerely,

Raymond H

Accounts Receivable Coordinator

11/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to be removed from Delta's sales call list. I do not need to be be pressured into buying over priced products I do not use or need. Freight charges seem high.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from sales contact list.

Business Response:

December 5, 2015

We received notice today of the complaint filed by *** *** ******** of ***** ***** ******.  I could not be more surprised by this complaint.  We have spoken with Mr. Thompson on three occasions.  One was our initial sales call; the second was a follow up from our Verification Department.  The purpose of that department is to confirm each order for validity, accuracy, and to confirm the price of the order.  *** ******** has complained about our pricing, but was made aware of said prices not only by the sales rep on the initial phone call, but by our Verification Department on the follow up call.  I’m highly confused as to why if there was an issue regarding the price of the products it would not have been mentioned on either of those phone calls. 

The third phone call to *** ******** was a friendly reminder from our Collections Department that his invoice had gone past due.  At that point we were told that the invoice would be paid, but that payment had not yet been sent.  At no point during any of these three phone calls did *** ******** mention an issue with pricing, or a desire to have our company no longer contact him.  Had he done so, this complaint, both the issue with pricing, and the desire to not be called again could easily have been resolved with our Customer Service staff before ever reaching this stage.

Given that there was never a mention of any of this during our interactions with *** ******** we’re completely flabbergasted with the involvement of the Better Business Bureau in such a seemingly minor issue.  I wish that he had taken the time to call our company to resolve this rather than bring the BBB into this situation for an issue which we easily could have easily resolved on our end amicably and to the satisfaction of both parties.  *** ******** would have even been well within his rights to return the merchandise at any point during our 30 day return policy as well.  As it is, I have placed a “Do Not Sell” on his account so that we will not reach out to him for any further sales calls, but as the order is now outside of the 30 Day Return terms we do expect payment for the merchandise received.

Sincerely,

Raymond H.

Accounts Receivable/Customer Service Coordinator



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Delta Lighting Products, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)