BBB Accredited Business since

Envision EMI

Phone: (703) 584-9476 View Additional Phone Numbers 1919 Gallows Rd Ste 700, Vienna, VA 22182 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.envisionexperience.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Envision is a nonpartisan, taxpaying educational organization, which focuses its programs on experiential education in which participants learn by doing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Envision EMI meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Envision EMI include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 57 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

57 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 24 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 18
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 30
Total Closed Complaints 57

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 19, 1999 Business started: 01/01/2004 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business under new ownership as of: 10/14/2011 Business incorporated: 09/12/2011 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carl Marschall
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Carl Marschall
Business Category

Lecture & Seminar Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Collegiate Presidential Inaugural Conference Congressional Youth Leadership Council Envision High School Presidential Inaugural Conference Leadership Platform Acquisition Corporation Middle School Presidential Inaugural Conference National Center for Early Academic Excellence National Physician Ambassadors Program National Young Leaders Conference National Young Scholars Program National Youth Leadership Forum
Additional Information

According to information provided by the company, the firm was purchased by Leadership Platform Acquisition Corporation in October, 2011.


Additional Locations

  • 1919 Gallows Rd Ste 700

    Vienna, VA 22182 (703) 584-9200 (866) 483-1074

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 628-6090(Phone)
  • (703) 584-8982(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9200(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9230(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9341(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9345(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9398(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9532(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9533(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9556(Phone)
  • (703) 584-9897(Phone)
  • (800) 778-0164(Phone)
  • (800) 781-7185(Phone)
  • (866) 261-0101(Phone)
  • (866) 263-8198(Phone)
  • (866) 298-2812(Phone)
  • (866) 298-2826(Phone)
  • (866) 483-1074(Phone)
  • (888) 855-5092(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 2 of this year, I signed up four students for the Junior National Leadership Conference offered by this company. I paid $8001, but was told that scholarships were available that could pay a total of $2000 of this, and that amount would be refunded to my card once awarded. Several weeks later I received notices that the scholarships would not be awarded because the students didn't have sufficient financial need. These students are refugees, they come from large families, and the parents make very little money. If there are any other students attending this program with greater need, I most certainly would like to meet them. In any event, I contacted the company in an attempt to discuss the matter. My call was not returned. This continued a pattern of behavior since I first started working with the company. Calls were NEVER returned. Customer service was pathetic. In any event, today I decided to cancel the enrollments and get my money back. I contacted the company and was told that I would only get $6000 back, that they would be keeping $2000 of this as a deposit!!! When I signed up for this, it was indicated to me that I had until April 1 to cancel, and I could get all my money back if I did so. Otherwise, there is NO WAY I would have put that money down for this event. I told the company that this was unacceptable. They didn't indicate there was anything they could do.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of ALL my money.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,

I would like to inform you that we have refunded all monies paid for the four students that you signed up for the Junior National Young Leaders Conference.  The sum of the refund equates to $8,001.20.
I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused during this process.  I appreciate you notifying me of the issues you encountered with our customer service and I will ensure to address these.  
In the event you would reconsider the attendance of the fours students you were sponsoring to the Junior National Young Leaders Conference, I would be more than happy to work with you directly.  Please consider the $1,000 scholarships that we can awarded to the four students a standing offer for attendance to this year's Junior National Young Leaders Conference.
Sincerely,
**** *********
###-###-####

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a deposit for a week-long JrNYLC conference in D.C. for the week of June 28-July 3. We had received several notices in the mail about the program prior to signing up, and the website worked perfectly during the sign up portion. A couple weeks later, I tried logging on to see what the schedule would be for the week, including who the guest speaker would be. The website threw an error indicating that my account page was not accessible and that if I had recently set up my account in the past 7 days to either wait or call customer service. As it had been longer than twice that many days at that point, I called. The CSR I spoke to was snippy, rude, and unapologetic for my lack of being able to access my account page. She said it can take quite some time for the account to be activated. She also said that the schedule for the conference had not been decided yet. For a business that wants my money so quickly and has been in business for some time, it surprised me that they wouldn't know what my son would be doing to justify the money I had paid, but that was a minor irritation. (As a result of not being able to access my account page, I was also not able to access the cancellation policy. When I paid the deposit, I saw the cancellation policy on the screen but thought it said if I cancelled 30 days before the conference, then I would get a refund. That made perfect sense to me. I only saw the policy information when I had paid the deposit. Because the policy neither printed on any receipt nor was I able to access my account, I was not able to access their policy. If I had known that I would be locked out of my account for the next month, I never would have signed my son up.) However, I decided to try again in about 10 days. Again I was denied access to my account page. At this point I was leaning toward cancelling the conference because I didn't trust them with the care of my son. I tried a day or two later and was denied again. That was my breaking point and decided upon cancelling but wanted to research its history a bit before speaking to my husband and son. I have learned of many BBB complaints as well as a class action lawsuit in which they settled and agreed to pay for the plaintiffs' legal fees. Plaintiffs received vouchers to attend future conferences but due to their policy on how many vouchers can be used per conference, many plaintiffs are still not able to redeem them. After my research was conducted, I again was denied access and decided to call in to cancel. I was told I was past their 30 days policy to cancel. I asked to speak to a manager who explained the 30 days policy to me. I explained to him that if I had been able to access the site over the past month, I would have been able to adhere to their cancellation policy and cancelled during the appropriate time. He said that he would put my account on a financial freeze to ensure that I was not charged any more and email "the powers that be" to see if I could get assistance from them and then get back to me the first of the following week. That expired two weeks ago. I have not heard anything from anyone, including the manager who promised to get back to me. I paid $475 on December 19th, which included a $25 fee for a monthly payment plan.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my $450 back as my son will not be attending their conference this summer. They can keep the $25.

Business Response:

Mrs. *******,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the enrollment process has caused you.  I also apologize for the website issues that you encountered as well and in addition, the poor customer service that was provided.

In terms of the cancellation policy, we ask that all of our customers review this information prior to the submitting payment.  We do have a section in the enrollment form that outlines the cancellation policy and requests that a digital signature be applied, confirming that the customer has reviewed and understand the cancellation policy as well as the terms and conditions of enrolling in the program.  In addition to Envision specifically calling out the cancellation policy on page, we also have a PDF available on that same page that customers are encouraged to download for their records.

I also want to ensure you that we are indeed honoring all requests for students who have vouchers to attend our programs.

Regardless of the above information, your experience was not satisfactory.  We will be reaching out to you regarding the refund, which we will be granted in the full amount of $475.

In the meantime, please again, accept my sincere apology for your experience.  In the event that you reconsider attendance to the Junior National Young Leaders Conference, please feel free to reach out to me directly.  I am more than happy to see what we can do to ensure your son still has the opportunity to attend the conference this summer.  I have listed my direct line below if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

**** *********

Director of Enrollment

(w) ************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

11/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Envision sent my daughter a package that said that she was selected for the NYLSC for her academic achievements. I decided to go ahead and enroll her into the program. I had difficulty enrolling online because the website would not accept payment ( Creditcard was clear with more than enough money). I had to call the next day and have the funds manually processed ( with rep apologizing for the website issues). I recieved an email that said thank you for my down payment and that i would be charged every 30 days until my payment was made in full and that a $25 non refundable payment for the payment plan would be taken. a few days later i recieved another email that said i would be charged again in 5 days. after contacting the representative she apologized ad said payment will be deducted every 30 days and to ignore the prior email. I continued to monitor my credit card account and made sure i kept my balance very low to make room for the next payment of $381.00. I never saw it go through so i called to find out what happened because i was senrt an email saying my card was declined ( event though there was more than enough funds available and there are no records for any charges rejected on my statement nor from the card rep which i spoke to at capital one/ you can see all tranactions both approved and rejected). I called them back on 11/06/2014 to complain that I was insulted when there was more than enough money on my card. I was told that they dont know what happened and that i coud not make a payment that night due to some financial hold. I woke up the next morning to find that my card was charged and when i called to cancel due to my horrible experience, i was told that i would get a full refund but the representative hesitated in giving me an amount until I pressed and questioned her, then she said i would not get my additional $450 deposit, only the 381 charged on 11/7/14 ( same day i called to complain anfd cancel). i have no prior email that states this. right after i spoke with them i magically recieved an email letting me know that my 450 will not be refunded. I recieved no service, no explanation for me to lose $450. this is very unethical and seems like a startegy put in place to scam children and parents who are looking to succeed in a tough economy. i also have the message where the rep called again to apologize for the inconvienience we experienced but still went and charged my card the same day before speaking with me direct. This is such a scam.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund of 856.67 minus the $25 non refundable fee as agreed originally.

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience the payment plan caused in terms of the inaccuracy of the payment charges.  We have refunded total of $831.67.  Refunds will show up as 3 different refund items.  Below are the dates Envision refunded and the corresponding amounts that were refunded:

11/7/14: $381.67
11/10/14: $400.00
11/10/14: $50.00
TOTAL: $831.67
We again apologize for the inconvenience and hope that the resolution is satisfactory to the customer.  If we can be of any other service, please feel free to contact me directly.

**** ** *********

DIRECTOR, RETENTION & MARKETING OPERATIONS

 

ENVISION

1919 Gallows Road, Suite 700

Vienna, VA 22182

T/F: (703) 584-9237

*********************************

www.envisionexperience.com

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter raised her own money to go on a trip over two years ago,thanks to the help of our neighbors and friends, she had her bags all packed the night before and she came down with inner ear infection. Anyone as a mom knows, they are not going to take their kid no matter how old, 4 or 5 states away when they are not feeling good. So, we paid the $50 fee, sent the doctor's note had the trip transferred to this year, then again all packed ready to go, her grandma goes down quickly, hospice is called in and says no one was to leave her, it wouldn't be long. What would you Do?? Wouldn't you expect a little back? That's two things that I, myself had no parts of, only the good lord knows when he gonna take someone, but yet she should be punished because her grandma was sick? I understand it said to notify them within so many days if you can't make it, but how can you notify them, if you don't know yourself? I believe a portion should at least be return.

Desired Settlement: I believe we deserve a refund because these are two times that were not able to be adjusted. What would happen if I had called and said that she was at the DR's the second time would that have changed the tune, but because it was a family member passing, just water under the bridge for this company?

Business Response: Given the information provided, we would be more than willing to extend the transfer offer to a program occurring in the summer of 2015.  Given that the daughter is of high school age, we have plenty of options.  Unfortunately, our policy states that when a student transfers to a program in the future, that all monies paid at that point are nonrefundable.  This was explained to the parent when the parent transferred into the summer 2014 program.

Business Response: Given the information provided, we would be more than willing to extend the transfer offer to a program occurring in the summer of 2015.  Given that the daughter is of high school age, we have plenty of options.  Unfortunately, our policy states that when a student transfers to a program in the future, that all monies paid at that point are nonrefundable.  This was explained to the parent when the parent transferred into the summer 2014 program.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I had to go through so many people to get told NO over and over, I'd greatly appreciate some type of refund- if you can reimburse a trip for a trip, I fail to see as to why a reimbursement of some sort can't come to terms? Not that she wouldn't be interested in the trip, however if this is the struggle that has to be gone through in order to get back what we pay for-count us out, we may not find the right people to help us, should it come to that again(hopefully wouldn't).


Regards,

******** ****








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I had to go through so many people to get told NO over and over, I'd greatly appreciate some type of refund- if you can reimburse a trip for a trip, I fail to see as to why a reimbursement of some sort can't come to terms? Not that she wouldn't be interested in the trip, however if this is the struggle that has to be gone through in order to get back what we pay for-count us out, we may not find the right people to help us, should it come to that again(hopefully wouldn't).


Regards,

******** ****








Business Response: Thank you for the response.

In both situations in which the student notified Envision that the student would not be able to attend, the requests came within few days of the program start date and after.  Because the cancellation request occurred within a few days of the session starting and after in the second case, Envision had already invested in ***** attending the program, including paying for meals, housing, transportation, materials and program facilitators/supervision.

Please review the history of communication between Envision and ******* mother:

Date of Communication Explanation
11/7/2012 Student Enrolled in the Explore Medicine & Science Program at ******* **********
3/22/2013 Student changed location of attendance to ***** ****** **********
6/22/2013 Mother called to cancel as student was not feeling well
6/26/2013 Envision received the Doctor's note faxed by parent
7/1/2013 Explore Medicine & Science Program begins at ***** ****** **********
7/29/2013 Transfer was approved and explained to parent that at any point they cancel in the future, there is no refund of monies paid
7/29/2013 A transfer request to a program in 2014 was granted and the transfer fee from family was collected
10/17/2013 Student selected the 2014 program in which they wanted to attend
6/22/2014 STEM Program begins in **** ******** **
6/23/2014 Called *****'s guardians.  She forgot the program began today.  They also had a family emergency and put great grandma on hospice and wanted her to be around.  I suggested she contact Admissions to see if anything can be done. - ****** ******** *** 6/22
6/23/2014
mom called because she forgot all about the program due to family emergency. gave mom the TTPP Website to go over the terms and also gave her the number to **********. Will call back to cancel or transfer to next year.
6/24/2014 Mother called to cancel. Says ********** needs program in cancelled status to move forward with claim. Changed status to cancelled, sent confirm email
6/25/2014 Changed Enrollment to Cancelled Status

In understanding the circumstances at hand, we would be more than happy to make and exception to allow ***** to transfer a second time to a program this coming summer.

Thank you.

Carl Marschall

Business Response: Thank you for the response.

In both situations in which the student notified Envision that the student would not be able to attend, the requests came within few days of the program start date and after.  Because the cancellation request occurred within a few days of the session starting and after in the second case, Envision had already invested in ***** attending the program, including paying for meals, housing, transportation, materials and program facilitators/supervision.

Please review the history of communication between Envision and ******* mother:

Date of Communication Explanation
11/7/2012 Student Enrolled in the Explore Medicine & Science Program at ******* **********
3/22/2013 Student changed location of attendance to ***** ****** **********
6/22/2013 Mother called to cancel as student was not feeling well
6/26/2013 Envision received the Doctor's note faxed by parent
7/1/2013 Explore Medicine & Science Program begins at ***** ****** **********
7/29/2013 Transfer was approved and explained to parent that at any point they cancel in the future, there is no refund of monies paid
7/29/2013 A transfer request to a program in 2014 was granted and the transfer fee from family was collected
10/17/2013 Student selected the 2014 program in which they wanted to attend
6/22/2014 STEM Program begins in **** ******** **
6/23/2014 Called *****'s guardians.  She forgot the program began today.  They also had a family emergency and put great grandma on hospice and wanted her to be around.  I suggested she contact Admissions to see if anything can be done. - ****** ******** *** 6/22
6/23/2014
mom called because she forgot all about the program due to family emergency. gave mom the TTPP Website to go over the terms and also gave her the number to **********. Will call back to cancel or transfer to next year.
6/24/2014 Mother called to cancel. Says ********** needs program in cancelled status to move forward with claim. Changed status to cancelled, sent confirm email
6/25/2014 Changed Enrollment to Cancelled Status

In understanding the circumstances at hand, we would be more than happy to make and exception to allow ***** to transfer a second time to a program this coming summer.

Thank you.

Carl Marschall

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: In  2013 she was not physically able to attend, then 2014 her grandma passed SORRY FOR TIMING, ONLY THE ONE UPSTAIRS HANDLE THAT, we couldn't help it!!!


Regards,

******** ****








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: In  2013 she was not physically able to attend, then 2014 her grandma passed SORRY FOR TIMING, ONLY THE ONE UPSTAIRS HANDLE THAT, we couldn't help it!!!


Regards,

******** ****








11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to a letter I received inviting my daughter to attend the Explore STEM program. The program is very costly (nearly 2,000.00). In February I decided to enroll my daughter in the program in Chicago from July 13-18. They advertised that they will meet your child at the airport. I called and asked someone about the airport services and inquired about the times she must fly in. The person gave me information and told me the times (window) that my child must fly into and out of the airport in order to receive the escort service offered by the company. She failed to inform me that it must be to a specific airport (O'Hare). Not being from Chicago and unfamiliar with the airports there, I didn't even know there were 2 airports. I booked my flight from ********* ******** which only flies to Midway Airport and that was the only selection I was given. On May 2, I recieved an email from them with a link to information about the program, including travel. When I went through this information I realized that they required you to fly to O'Hare. Since the person failed to give me this information on the phone when I inquired about travel, I called the customer service and explained to them and requested they extend to service to Midway in order to get my daughter. She stated that they could not, so I asked for her supervisor. I was put in touch with a team leader name ******* She and I had several phone conversations and she went back to listen to the tape. In the end she told me that she understood my request, what I was saying, and that she requested personnel to meet my daughter at the airport due to the omission of information when I spoke to customer service. However, she informed me that the company refused her request stating that they did not have enough personnel to send someone to Midway to meet my daughter. I am very concerned about this for several reasons: (1) I am sending a 12-year-old female to a strange city and they will not meet her at the airport. I do not trust private taxi to take my daughter. How do I know who to trust in such a big city? (2) For a program that charges $2,000.00 per child for 6 days and state that they provide the best service and safest atmosphere for your child, they should be able to spare 1-2 employees to meet my daughter at the airport. Not having enough staff raises a red flag about the quality of the program and the quantity of supervisors. (3) They suggested I purchase a ticket to O'Hare which will cost me $500.00 + $300.00 unaccompanied minor fee. After already paying $2,000.00 for a trip plus insurance, etc. + $400.00 for a plane ticket, I do not have additional money to purchase another plane ticket. (4) For a company that boasts its reputation, they are unwilling to stand by an error made by their customer service. When someone calls in for information regarding travel, I think it is pertinent to inform them of travel restrictions and limitations. The fact that I was not told this information is just the same as telling me wrong information and the company should stand by or make right the errors of their customer service. I did not get the correct information until they sent it to me months later - after I had already purchased a plane ticket in February.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to honor its advertisement and meet my daughter at the airport for the same fee of $70.00 that they charge to meet the kids at Chicago O'Hare airport. This is what they said they would do and they did not make clear to me until after my purchase had long been made that the service is only good at one particular airport.

Business Response: Left VM message for Ms. ****** to call me re: overdue response.

Business Response: From: **** ********* ***********************************
Date: Thu, Nov 6, 2014 at 4:01 PM
Subject: RE: ****** ******* ********* **********
To: "***************** ****************** *** ***** ****** *******************


Good Afternoon ******,

 

We will be refunded the family the requested amount of $2,139.00.  We have attempted to call the family already this afternoon but were unsuccessful.  We are verifying the e-mail address on file and will e-mail the family as well, explaining that we will be refunding the requested amount.

 

In researching, we can substantiate the claim from Mrs. *******, that the information on acceptable airports was provided to her much too late.

 

 

Please do not hesitate to reach back out if you require additional information or have any additional questions.

 

 

**** ** *********

DIRECTOR, RETENTION & MARKETING OPERATIONS

 

ENVISION

1919 Gallows Road, Suite 700

Vienna, VA 22182

T/F: (703) 584-9237

*********************************

www.envisionexperience.com

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******

9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled my daughter and niece in the Envision Junior National Young Leaders Conference. We traveled to The DC area for the course. While the girls were in the course Envision was to provided email updates on what they were doing. The only thing is I was only recieveing emails for my niece. I should have received email updates for both girls. I tried to get this issue taken care of the week the girls were at the conference but got the run around. I was told to call this person, email the staff on the ground at the confrence. I did and got nothing but the run around. Know that the conference is over they say they can't generate them with there computer system and I say they still should be able to. I paid for these email updates as simple as this my sound. I probably would let it go but I am getting such the run around I am passed frustrated. I paid a lot of money for this conference plus travel expenses (about $6,000.00) and I want those email updates even though the conference is over. The customer service was great till we landed on the ground and started the conference. Know I get the run around!

Desired Settlement: I paid for email updates and if I can't get the email updates the package said I would be getting I want my money refunded for my daughter's class. her student id is ****************

Business Response:

******,

 

Per the family’s request, we provided all e-mail updates to the family on August 7, 2014.

 

**** ** *********

DIRECTOR, RETENTION & MARKETING OPERATIONS

 

From: ***** ****** [mailto:d******@mybbb.org
Sent: Wednesday, September 10, 2014 10:44 AM
To: **** *********
Subject: **** ******* ********* **********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I want the emails in the same format that they were email out during the week of the session and on the same letterhead, not the cheep version I was sent.  What I received was a not acceptable.  I paid a lot of money for those emails and I want the original verision.


Regards,

**** *******








Business Response: We had sent the e-mails to the parent in the original format, letter head and wording in which the parent should have received them, on August 8, 2014.  We do not have any additional versions or letter head in which the parent is referencing.  If there is something additional the parent is requesting, we will gladly do our best to accommodate.  I have attached every e-mail in question that was sent to the e-mail address:  ********************

I have also attached each of the e-mails that were sent to the referenced e-mail address above.
**** *********

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sent this letter via email to several offices at Envision, and made several phone calls with no response. Hello, My son (student ID ***************) attended your program in Los Angeles last week. While we found the program to be worthwhile academically, the lack of supervision for the children is not only unacceptable but negligent and potentially dangerous to children. I would like someone to contact me immediately. (My Name, and Phone number) This is an accounting of his experiences. DAY ONE, Saturday June 28 My son enters the dormitory hall, goes to his room and goes to a meeting in the open area. Monday night I receive a call from my son on his cellphone that he cannot find his room key. He is crying. I ask him to find a counselor and he says he spoke to someone who said “I can’t help you, go back and look for it.” A second counselor says “If your card is lost it is $50 to replace it.” The first counselor was ********. (not sure of spelling.) I call the night office and ask for someone to find my son. From the phone conversation with my son I am unclear if he is outside his room, or outside his dorm. The night office person says they will send someone to check. My son reports later that his roommate came with his key, let my son in. No one spoke to my son, no one called me back to tell me he was ok. I received a text from my son saying he found his key in the room. DAY THREE, Monday June 30 My son calls me a few minutes after 9 am. He is crying and I cannot understand his words. After a minute he says he is lost. We determine he is outside the cafeteria and needs to be at ****** ****. While we were on the phone a stranger comes up to him and offers to lead him the way to ****** ****. I say stay put and do not hang up. I keep my son on the line, and call the help line from my husband’s cell phone. ********* answers the phone, my husband tells her my son has been separated from the group and someone needs to get him. ********* stays on the line but it is a few minutes before ********* gets ******* and ******* and explains the situation. Another 10 minutes goes by and eventually ******* and ******* find my son. ******* comes on to my son's phone and identifies herself. They take him to get something to eat and return him to ****** ****. Due to lack of supervision my child misses two of the daily programs. We ask ********* to have her supervisor call us. ********* informs us that ******* (********?) will call us back. After two hours and no return phone call, my husband and I go to the camp to speak to ******* (********?) regarding the incident. We are waiting and eventually *******’s assistant **** comes to talk with us. **** tells us she is the Asssistant Program coordinator and that ******* is on the phone and cannot come down. Explains all of the steps to insure kids are accounted for. Has no answer to why any of those systems did not work. ********* joins us in the middle of the conversation. Getting no answers to our questions we leave. **** explains that when my son did not show up for role call at his first class, role call should have been taken at 8:30, but was not taken until at least 9, a “sweep” was being performed. The “sweep” consisted of two counselors together looking for my son on foot. I was not called. The police were not called. Security was not called. When I asked why campus security was not contacted **** answered “We are independent of the campus.” I said using their cameras to find a lost child would be an efficient way of locating a child she said “Oh, that’s a good idea.” Where was *******, ****, the office personnel, etc while my son was missing. What event, meeting, phone call could be more important that finding a lost child? My son explained that night that he and his roommate overslept. They ran independently to the cafeteria. Both boys 100% unsupervised on the campus from the dorm to the cafeteria. The roommate ran off without my son and my son lost his way. My son called me early the next day to tell me that while he was missing someone from ********** gave him a ride to the cafeteria. My child was in a VEHICLE with a strange man. Thankfully the intentions of the employee were good and all was ok. I find the actions of NYLR to be not only incompetent, but grossly negligent in the supervising of the camp members. When we return home I call the administrative office to speak to someone. I explain my child had been missing from the program earlier in the day and want to speak with a supervisor. The person on the phone asks me my students ID number. I do not ask her “Why, were there other children missing from the program in Los Angeles today?” She tells me I need to speak with the person in charge at the camp. I tell her I went to the camp and was not seen by the supervisor. She says she cannot help me. DAY FOUR, Tuesday July 1 Kids are fighting in the hall at 1 in the morning. my son and his roommate hear the fight. He hears from the other boys that one boy is punched in the face by the other boy. There is NO SUPERVISION in the hall. Eventually someone comes and the boy who allegedly hit was moved to another dorm. The boy who allegedly hit the other boy remained at camp. The code of conduct the children sign is moot. DAY SIX, Thursday July 3 Pick up. I get my son and take him to the car. He says I need to get him signed out. We go to pick up luggage and see Jessica. ******* is at the archway of the luggage area and is asking each child if they have checked out. Each child says yes and takes their bag. There is no checkpoint here. We get my son's luggage, put it in the car and then go to check out. Person at the table marked MALES K-Z asks for my ID and checks off our name. We could have easily driven away with him, and no one would have known. At pick up, I spoke with ********* and thanked her for her level of concern in finding My son when he was missing. ********* apologized to my son for his experience while being “lost."

Desired Settlement: I would like to prevent this negligence from happening to another family. I would like and apology, an explanation how this would not happen again, and I would like a refund.

Business Response:

******,

 

Envision provided a full refund at the request of the family on July 16, 2014.

 

**** ** *********

DIRECTOR, RETENTION & MARKETING OPERATIONS

 

From: ***** ****** [mailto:d******@mybbb.org
Sent: ********** ********* *** **** ***** **
To: **** *********
Subject: ***** **** ********* **********

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My child attended the STEM program over the summer at ********** *******. There were several organizational problems, the were several hazards (which led to my daughter having a mild injury), there were lack of protocols being followed, which could have led to more injuries, and after having attended two previous programs this program was severely lacking. I contacted the company in July 2014 after my daughter attended the program at the end of June 2014 and did not receive a response from ***** ******** until Sept 2, 2014. I have tried to continually reach ***** ******** after it was clear that she has no clue as to what occurred and she included information that did not take place, which continually shows how unplanned and unorganized the program was during this session. I had asked to speak to her supervisor and she has failed to respond.

Desired Settlement: At this point. I want my money back and we will not participate with this program in the future. My daughter could have been seriously hurt and the lack of caring and response to the situation further tells me that I want nothing to do with this company.

Business Response: We have refunded Ms. ***** $1.870.00 for the cost of the program on 9/17/14.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

9/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The program in no way represents the claims by brochure, literature and internet. Preying on children and their desire to expand their horizons academically is disgusting. A safe and secure environment was not provided by supposed professionally trained staff. NYLF Explore STEM in no way offered an engaging learning experience and at best, could be claimed to be a glorified summer camp for lower grade level elementary school students. The so-called nomination process for middle school scholars based on academic potential and interest in areas of science, technology, engineering & math is merely a sales pitch geared to unsuspecting teachers. Staff on site were clueless and unable to answer questions from the students. Children experienced the worst possible handling of a fire drill by incompetent staff. Children were unable to sit for meals due to limited seating & were unable to finish eating due to time constraints. Educators provided lessons admittedly also performed for their kindergarten class, yet were supposed to be providing an engaging learning experience. Scholars were bored and falling asleep in class. The program was in no way as claimed to be and was a scam of the worst order, aimed at children with a thirst for higher learning.

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund as goods/services were not delivered.

Business Response:

******,

 

Envision provided a full refund at the request of the family.

 

**** ** *********

DIRECTOR, RETENTION & MARKETING OPERATIONS

 

From: ***** ****** [mailto:d******@mybbb.org
Sent: Wednesday, September 10, 2014 10:48 AM
To: **** *********
Subject: ******* ********** ********* **********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* **********

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son was nominated by his teacher for this Envision Stem program. We received the letter from Envision on March 22, 2014. Upon looking into the nomination we saw that the deadline for the scholarship was March 21st. We applied and I sent an email explaining the tardy arrival of the nomination wanting to make sure that my son's application for scholarship would be considered. I made repeated phone calls the following weeks to check if they had indeed received and reviewed his scholarship application. I was repeatedly told that the decision had not been made yet but that it was coming shortly. I made the initial deposit of $425 and was reassured that we would hear from the scholarship department. I sent numerous emails explaining everything but no solution. When I called for a refund, because no one could give me an answer, I was told I had passed the reimbursement date and was informed that the scholarship decisions had been made back in April. If I had known that I would not have registered him. Even after repeated emails (of which i have copies) and phone calls I still got no response. Yet they went ahead and charged the full amount without my approval. I went so far as to speak to a team leader(supervisor) who assured me she would take care of it. Well much to my dismay I still have no solution, my son did not attend his week and I can't get a refund or manage to speak to someone with some authority who knows what they are doing or how to provide customer service. I am not comfortable having my son attend a program away from home with a company that can't even provide a solution to a problem over the phone. The lack of communication and management has left me very uneasy about Envision and I do not trust them. Please help me get an answer and a refund.Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit card to be refunded for the full amount due to lack of communication and management. With numerous emails and phone calls, I should not have been charged without my approval.

Business Response: Customer has been in contact with Envision.  Parent had been in contact on June 12, 13.  Voice messages were left on June 17 & 19.  Parent e-mailed on July 2 to confirm the transfer of money from the summer 2014 program to the 2015 program.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It still does not justify the lack of communication in the beginning before I was charged for the full amount.  Information requested was not provided, situation not handled, but card was charged.  The automatic charging of the balance before addressing the problem or trying to provide a solution shows it's about the money, not the child.  I understand we have been in contact and have arranged for a transfer to next year, but that was the only option.  You still get to keep the money and I am still uncomfortable about trusting you with my child due to the lack of professionalism.

No attempt was made to repair the problem before the deadline of the final charges, it didn't matter to you.  As a mother it makes me feel like my child does not matter to you, just the money.  That is the recurring problem.


Regards,

****** *************








8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 3, 2014, I enrolled my son in the NYLF session taking place in PA June 22-27. With the enrollment, I purchased a supplemental Leadership Home Study Kit for $284. This includes the price of the materials,shipping, and sales tax. To date, June 26, I have yet to receive the material or anything stating that the possibility of a delay in shipment. I have been given the run around by representatives at this company for 2 weeks. The 'lower level' reps claim to have no idea where the materials come from and calls are usually met with the lack of concern and then pacified with the possibility of a phone call in 2 business days. Emails are returned to sender as I found out that they are 'non reply' emails. Email to a 'team lead' has yet to receive a reply. I have since pulled my child from the program. He has not been in attendance one single day however, I am receiving emails about all the fun he is having in PA. At this point, I am questioning the legitimacy of this organization and the program itself. There are too many dots that are not connecting.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back. I want a refund of the $284 that I spent on the Leadership Study materials that I never got. THAT'S IT!!

Business Response: The desired refund amount of $284.49 for the home study kit purchase was refunded to the consumer on July 3, 2014.

**** *********
*********************************

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From Me to "***": I am demanding a refund. I have closed the account that was used for drafting my payments so that Envision may not continue to draft from my account. "******" in customer service refused to give me the information of her supervisor as did three other people beneath her. To date, I have never received the information regarding curriculum, instruction, qualification, agenda, daily activities, or living arrangements that I was promised if I enrolled my son "early enough to ensure he was granted placement." I am sure I have fallen victim to yet another scam story sponsored by this organization like those I have read repeatedly on the internet.***: So we can process the full refund of $1084.00 paid to 2014 National Youth Leadership Forum: Explore STEM, please sign and return the attached document. This is required anytime we refund monies outside of our refund policy.Me: I was advised not to sign the release until it is modified to express the exact method that the refund will be disbursed. A check made payable to me and delivered by certified mail would be the most secure method.***: We have to first try to refund the credit card used to pay for the program before we can issue a check. This is according to our agreement with our credit card servicer. If the credit card cannot be refunded then we will be able to issue a check to you for the refund. To get process started we do need the release signed and returned.Me: Please see the attached, executed documents with directions for a pending amendment. ***: I have been instructed that we cannot accept this with the amendment it has to be signed unaltered. I will notify you as to the status of the refund as it is being processed once we receive a newly signed document...... I have explained to *** repeatedly that my debit card was deactivated and it is unknown if it will be eligible for use as a refund. He will not make plans to assure that my account is refunded correctly.

Desired Settlement: Refund to my bank account via the PROPER information or issue of a check sent via certified mail.

Business Response:

 I responded to this one via fax on 4/18.  We have her signed release and was crediting her account.  We know she closed this account but we had to try that way first before sending a check.  We assumed she got her money because she didn’t contact us to say she didn’t.  I am checking on this though.  Do you know if this is a mix up on your end or if she in fact didn’t receive her money by chance?

 

Please let me know!

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son was selected to participate in a travel opportunity through Envision EMI (aka International Scholar Laureate Program). When I spoke with an admissions counselor, I was told that our deposit of $525 was non-refundable (I do admit that I was told that in an initial conversation with ****** ********* on 2-14-14). I asked if there were scholarship opportunities for these trips and was told to apply for the scholarships online. ****** asked if we would need the scholarship before committing to the program and I said yes. We applied for the scholarship online, and 4 days later I called to ask if the scholarship information had beenr received and asked if my son was eligible for the scholarship. On that day, I spoke to a ****** in admissions. ****** explained that it would take a couple of weeks for the decision to be made, but strongly encouraged me to get my son signed up for the program since there were only 7 spots left for this trip. I reminded him that we would need the answer to the scholarship before we could totally commit. At that point, he said, I would strongly suggest you get signed up for the trip since there are limited amounts of spots left, and if you don't do it now, you may not be able to get a spot. -- at this point, I feel like my son was coerced into signing up -- they knew that we were depending on the scholarship money to help pay for the trip -- ****** advised us to sign up without knowledge (but implicating that we would receive assistance). My son made his $525 deposit, then found out that he was not eligible for the scholarship. I feel that ****** was very misleading to my son, and he felt pressured to register for the trip. My son is a hard-working student. He has received straight A's throughout high school and two years of college thus far. He is working two jobs to help pay for schooling. My husband is disabled (unable to work), but we are not eligible for financial assitance for our children to attend college. We thought this opportunity would help our son in his quest to work for the FBI or CIA when he is finished with college. The $525 deposit has created quite a setback for him and he has had to increase his working hours, at both jobs, to try to make up for the deposit he made under duress.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of the $525 deposit my son made in good faith

Business Response:

April 24, 2014

Dear *** ******:

RE: Refund

We have investigated this claim and will refund **** ***** $525.00. We ask that he sign the attached release. The release must be witnessed as well.

The refund will be initiated once we receive the signed/witnessed form back. The form can 5 emailed directly to me at: ******************************. Please note the refund will be issued in the form of a credit to the card used to make the initial purchase. We will request the credit immediately upon receiving the form back but sometimes it takes up to a week (business days) for the credit to show up on the account.

Kind regards,

5/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i enrolled my son ******** ***** in the envision NYLF Law & CSI program i was not informed of 3 MAJOR key factors until after they received my last payment and i got a letter in the mail with my sons personal web page. 1. i was not informed i had to pay seperately for airfare to and from. 2. i was not informed he would have to travel by himself. 3. i was not informed i had to purchase formal dress atire. i feel i sould be refunded all of my money. i was told my money would be refunded BUT i would be out $450.00 for cancelling. i was in contact with the company and also spoke to a team lead by the name of *******. i explained the web site i enrolled on would only let me make payments it had no other information. i was told by ******* i have to call ******* **** ins to file a claim for the otjher $119.00 i paid for insurance.

Desired Settlement: i would like to get my $450.00 refunded due to not getting all information i needed up front. if i would have had all the information up ffront i would not have wasted my time or my money. my son is only 14 years old with a heart condition and should not travel alone

Business Response:

April 18, 2014

Dear **. ******,

We researched this complaint and found that **. ***** did not contact us prior to enrolling her child in our program. However, information regarding travel, dress code, and chaperones is in all of jr acceptance packages that everyone receives and also on our website. See below:

Acceptance Package:
Tuition

Tuition is $I ,745 and covers housing, breakfasts and dinners, instruction, supervisory personnel, forum materials,, all forum activities and local transportation during the program. Visit our website at www.envisionexperience.com/LearnLaw 1 r more information and to enroll. Students will need money only for lunch, souvenirs and incidentals.

Transportation to and from Washington, DC

The cost of transportation to and from the forum is not included in the tuition. Because you are not yet enrolled in the forum and penalties tor ticket cancellations are high, please do not make transportation arrangements until you have officially enrolled in the forum. Upon your acceptance into the forum, Envision’s official travel management company can help make your travel plans.

Airport Shuttle Service

Shuttle service between the forum location and Washington Dulles International Airport ( IAD) and Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport BWI) is available on the first day of the forum between 10:30 a.m. and -4 p.m. and on the last day of the forum for flights scheduled to depart after 1 p.m. There is a $35 one way or $70 round-trip nonrefundable fee for this service. Forum staff will be stationed at the designated airports to assist arriving students. Further details about the airport shuttle service will be ineluded in the acceptance materials provided upon enrollment

Website:

> What is the dress code for this program?

You should plan to wear professional attire during most program events. When professior attire is required, ladies must wear dresses, suits or skirts/slacks with a jacket and blouse; gentlemen must wear a suit or sport jacket with dress pants, dress shirt, tie and dress shirt

There will be limited opportunities during the conference for you to wear casual attire, including jeans. Comfortable dress shoes are essential. You will be walking a great deal throughout the program.

For more detailed information about the dress code for this program, visit your MyEnvisionExperience.com personal Web page, which will be available to you after you enroll.

We will NOT issue a refund as we feel the customer was provided with the necessary information regarding our policies and procedures.

Kind regards,


4/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, as a public school teacher, received a letter informing me that I was chosen and commended as a highly qualified educator and have been given the opportunity to nominate students for Junior National Young Leaders Conference in Washington D.C. I was given a nomination list to return to Envision with students' names and addresses. Their schools name and address is printed at the top. This is confidential information protected by law. Please stop this practice immediately as the parent is left out of the loop. I believe this is illegal and to ask for this information would certainly seem illegal. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: Business should follow code of ethics especially in the case of minor children. Please let me know as soon as this is resolved. I request a phone call from the BBB as soon as possible. Thank You.

Business Response: April 15, 2014
Dear *** *****:

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. The security of student information is of the utmost concern for us and we value your feedback. In all of our communications to teachers we refer them to our privacy policy to ensure they are aware of the care we take with all personal information,

The requirements regarding student information are governed by federal law but are administrated differently within each school and school district. To ensure that teachers are aware of these differences we have updated our privacy policy on our web site to encourage teachers to refer to their specific school's policies prior to nominating students to attend our programs.
Should you have any additional questions, please let me know.
EXPERIENCE MAKES A L THE DIFFERENCE.
Sincerely,


4/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was accepted to this National Young Scholars Program. We had to pay a deposit by a certain date and then had to make payments on this program. When we first got notified she was excited and we paid the deposit thinking we could make the payments. My husband got notified that he was going to be deployed and we could not make the payments, so they transferred our payment to the next year. I saw that we were still not going to be able to do this trip out of town and do the final $1145.00 so I asked for a refund. They told me that since I did not do the refund 30 days prior to the first date she was to attend I could not receive a refund.

Desired Settlement: I do understand about certain refund policies, but I do also understand that this is a lot of money and with the economy the way it is now they should be a little more flexible. I cancelled her spot way before they ever had time to be preparing food for her. Also they way they talk they have people to take up any open spots when cancelled. I just feel that they are ripping the people off that try to make this program work for their children.

Business Response: December 17, 2013

Dear **. ******,

We have investigated this complaint and will have to deny the request for a refund of $850.00 **. ****** agreed to our transfer policy when she applied to our program (NYSP):

There is a $50 nonrefundable administrative fee if Student transfers to another program session or program. In addition, transfer requests made within 30 days of the start : the program session which the Student is initially registered to attend must be approve by the Office of Admissions and will be subject to a cancellation fee of the full Tuition if the Student later submits a cancellation request for the other program session or program.

We approved the transfer request within 30 days (after they had been withdrawn for lack of payment) and waived the $50 fee. For 2013, after they chose their session in November 2012, they did not contact us again until May after we withdrew them again for lack of payment. We called and mailed them multiple times about their payment status with no response.

Additionally, **. ****** agreed to our refund policy when she applied:

Cancellation received by NYSP:

31 days or more before the start of the scheduled program session eligible refund tuition less $350 Nonrefundable Fee

0-30 days before the start of the schedule program session: No Refund

I have included the full enrollment information, release and agreement policy with this response.

11/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to file this under advertising to children, which is what it is, but the BBB website redirected me elsewhere that was just a news aggregate. Anyway. My daughter recently received one of those "You are the best of the best, the elite, handpicked and chosen after a recommendation by a teacher" advertisements in the mail. She collected the mail so I was unable to intercept it in time. She was thrilled, quite literally, to tears, as she has been working extremely hard to exceed both socially and academically in school, planning on a double major in college and hopefully several scholarships. The invitation did not seem out of the ordinary. She was so excited. The "certificate" was all very nice and pretty and seemed quite professional. Imagine how great it felt to break it to her that no, she was not "specially chosen for this great honor" because of her incredible achievements in the high school medical field. That it was a scam, directed at impressionable children, to get parents to buy into a glorified field trip. I'm sure the trip is quite nice, but it is NOT what is advertised. My nephew, who is failing biology, also received an invitation, and so did several other children my daughter knows who, let's say, have attendance and academic issues. She was devastated. Seeing that the original company was bought by Envision after the original company had multiple lawsuits concerning the mishandling of the Presidential Inauguration trip, and after they had to give up their non-profit status, AND after they had lost their BBB accreditation, it seems that they've just picked up where they left off, preying on children to pressure parents into buying hideously overpriced trips. It's disgusting. I'm just glad I did my research before buying into this schlock. My daughter was not so lucky. She was so proud. To say she is now disheartened and discouraged is an understatement.

Desired Settlement: Quit advertising that you are sending these "invitations" out to the select, elite few. You are not. You are grab-bagging from mailing lists and sending out hateful spam to impressionable children. They are not invitations, and they are not certificates that they can hang on their wall with pride. Advertise what you are actually doing: organizing educational trips. That's it. You're not according any spectacular honors to these students. You are providing them with a field trip. I think the individuals who came up with this particular brand of advertising to be heartless and cruel in the extreme.

Business Response: October 15, 2013

Dear ***. *******,

RE: BBB Complaint #*******

Envision has been offering experiential programs to motivated students since 1985. Envisio programs have served more than 800,000 students in more than 145 countries, with programs design d to build skills through experience.

The Envision family of programs offers a complete continuum of leadership and career exploration programs, incorporating the Global Young Leaders Conference, the Junior National Young Leaders Conference, Congressional Youth Leadership Council, LeadAmerica and the National Youth L adership Forums on Medicine, National Security and Law and CSI.

While some of our programs are geared towards high achieving scholars, others are offered to scholars of a particular age group who may benefit from the program experience. Our program on medicine website states:

This program is for you if you are a high school student, in grades 9-12 during the 2013-2014 academic year, and you are ready for a springboard to success in college and a career in health care an medicine. Many of our students are nominated by educators, leaders from youth organizations and participating institutions, but open enrollments are welcome from qualified students who want to make the most of this opportunity.

Additionally, some scholars are invited to our programs because they may excel in other area .

We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the package your daughter received.

Kind regards,

11/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My grandson has attended this program for the past 3 years. We gave a $200 deposit for the 2014 program only to find out that the cost had risen substantially & the program did not offer the experiences equivalent to the previous programs. We decided (much in advance) not to enrol him in the 2014 program and were told by their representative ( ***** *****) that our $200 deposit was not going to be refunded. I feel that the value of the program was misrepresented to us, the program was not to begin until July, we have given them plenty of notice that we were not enroling our child this coming year and therefore feel it is an unfair practice to keep our $200 dollar deposit.

Desired Settlement: We would like our deposit to be refunded.

Business Response: **** ****** (the "Undersigned") enrolled her child, ***** ***** in the National Young Leaders State Conference that Leadership Platform Aquisition Corporation dba Envision EMI ("Envision EMI") organized. Prior to the National Young Leaders State Conference/ the Undersigned made a claim seeking a refund of the tuition paid for ***** *****'s attendance due to alleged failures on the part of Envision EMI before the National Young Leaders State Conference :    (the "Occurrence"). The Undersigned desires to resolve this claim.

NOW, THEREFORE, for the consideration of $200.00 paid to the Undersigned, individually and in her capacity as parent and guardian of her child, ***** *****, the receipt and sufficiency of which is hereby acknowledged, the Undersigned individually and as parent and guardian of ***** ****e hereby agrees as follows:

1.    That the Undersigned, individually and as parent and guardian of her child, ***** *****, hereby fully releases and discharges Envision EMI and their past present and future agents, officers, director employees, predecissors, successors, parents, affiliates, subsidiaries, and insurers (collectively the "Released Parties'’), from any and all claims of any kind whether known or unknown, asserted or unasserted, that the Undersigned or ***** ***** had, has or may have gainst the Released Parties through the date this Release Is executed, including, but not limited to, any and all claims relating to the Occurrence.

2.    That the Undersigned agrees that this Release represents a full and complete settlement regardless of the adequacy of compensation, and the Released Parties have no obligation to make any payment or do any act other than as set forth herein.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The National Youth Leadership Council invited my son, to apply to their summer program in Washington, DC. My son initially indicated that he would like to participate. I completed the application paperwork online on March 1, 2013. I requested dates in July for my son's participation. The literature I read about the program stated that application to the program did not guarantee acceptance into the program due to the limited number of spots available. The literature indicated that application be made early to increase the likelihood of gaining a spot in the program (high pressure sales). Within a week, my son began having anxiety about being away from home without his parents. We tried to reassure and encourage him but ultimately, I was not going to force him to do something that he wasn't ready for. On March 8th, 2013, I called NYLC to cancel my son's application. I was told by the representative that I could cancel the application but I would not be refunded my deposit, due to their policy of having a non-refundable $450 deposit. They were also unwilling to refund my $129 of trip insurance , taxes and other fees. My perspective is that my son was never formally accepted into the program, therefore, there is no contract between me and NYLC. We were never notified of his acceptance into the program. We were never given confirmation of dates of his participation, etc. As there is no contract the non-refundable deposit policy does not apply. I have tried to resolve this issue directly with NYLC. I asked to speak with someone who was directly authorized to make a decision about this matter. I was told that I was not allowed to speak to such person. I asked for an address to send a letter of complaint but was told that they do not give out the address either. *** ********* told me that they were "running a business" and that they had to keep my deposit, etc. because my son's application prevented other children from applying. As we cancelled four months in advance of the program dates, I find that argument to be unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of $579 to incude the deposit, fees, trip insurance cost and fees.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

 

Our online and paper enrollment information/policy states:

 

Cancellation received 31 or more days before the start of the program eligible refund is tuition LESS $450 deposit.

 

This confirmation email was sent to *** *******:

 

From: NYLC Office of Admissions [*************************************
Subject: Thank you for completing your NYLC Enrollment Application

Thank you for completing your online Enrollment Application to the Summer 2013 National Young Leaders Conference (NYLC). Now that you have completed your application online, there is no need to mail your paper Enrollment Application.

Prior to Arrival Day:

  • If you have any special medical needs, or if you have any questions, please contact our Office of Admissions as soon as possible at ***** ******** so that we may make any necessary arrangements for you.
  • Now that your enrollment is confirmed, you should make any travel arrangements necessary.  Please visit the FAQ section of our web site at ************************************** for further travel details.
  • We have partnered with ********, a travel agency, to make arranging your travel as easy as possible. We encourage you to visit ********************* to learn more.
  • Once you finalize your travel arrangements, it is required that you complete the Mandatory Pre-Program Information Form located at  **********************.
  • You will begin receiving e-mails at the e-mail address you provided containing helpful information about packing and preparing for arrival at the program.

Student Name: **** *** ****
Student ID: **************
Student Address: *** ****** ***** **** ******* ** **********

You can view your account and other important information here.

The following selections have been confirmed:

Description

Quantity

Amount

Total

July 14 – 22, 2013

1

$2,445.00

$2,445.00

Tuition & Travel Protection Plan

1

$129.00

$129.00

Total:

$2,574.00

Date

Payments

Received

 

 

01-Mar-13

****** ******* (******** ****)

Yes

$2,574.00

$2,574.00

Total:

$2,574.00

Total amount of tuition plus all optional items selected:

$0.00

Please retain a copy of this message for your records.

We apologize for any misunderstanding but feel our policy was clear and the process could not have been completed UNLESS the Terms and Conditions were agreed to by the customer.  We cannot issue a refund for the nonrefundable fee's.

 

Kind regards,

 

****** ******

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received unsolicited mail for my underage son from these people. I want to know how they got my child's information and I do not want them contacting any members of my family.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,


We flagged our system and this scholar will not be contacted  again.  We do apologize.

Kind regards,

****** ******

4/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company preys on the youth to participate with their foundation. On their website they disclose refunds as if within 30 days of the trip no refund. when we attempted to cancel the trip they attempted to collect a full deposit amount of 450. which was not disclosed when the payment was taken by the rep neither did they disclose this information on their website. i am requesting a full refund in the amount of $650 that was charged to my mother account.

Desired Settlement: 650.00

Business Response:

Dear *** ******, 

Our policy (see attached; it is in our enrollment materials and online) addresses the non-refundable fee’s associated with registration/enrollment for our programs.  In addition, as a part of the registration process, the customer MUST check that they have read the terms and conditions in order to continue and complete the enrollment process.  The system does not allow the process to move forward in the enrollment process unless the box is checked.  She checked the box and completed the process. 

*** ******* is eligible for a refund of the two college credits she purchased ($200.00).  We will issue a credit to the card she used to enroll right away. 

Kind regards, 

****** ******

4/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was nominated to be chosen by the Scholar Laureate Delegation (****) of Engineering in China and was contacted by them via a formal letter of invitation to their program. Initially I was required to place a 500 dollar deposit to save my seat for this event. They require that you have all passport and Visa information to them by April 1st of 2013 for the trip which is May 28-June 07. I was referred to ************************ to acquire my visa by ******** ****** from the ****. I was told by ******* at extension **** at ************************ that I needed a particular set of documents to acquire my Chinese visa because China had certain requirements. This was not before I spent hours on the phone back and forth between them and the ****. I was told conflicting information countless times and I was referred back to ************************ even after I told the people at **** that they could not help me. The specific help I needed was only attainable through ****. Now I'm at a point where I've been told by **** that they would not give me the documentation I needed to obtain my visa and comply with their request until I give them more money. I do not feel that this is ethical and it is shady. I feel like someone who has rented an apartment and paid 2 months rent in advance only to be told that if I don't sign the lease then they will keep my money and evict me. However, when I ask them to give me the lease to sign it they say no. How can I comply with **** and their wishes when they refuse to provide me with what I need to do it in a timely manner? They want me to pay them more money but with the trouble I've had thus far with them dropping the ball countless times, I do not trust them. I refuse to give them more money when they have not even provided me with the proper documentation to move forward. Before I invest anymore time or resources into this trip and their organization I need them to fix this issue or give me my money back and compensate me for all other losses.

Desired Settlement: I would like to reach a settlement where the **** provides me with the required documents to obtain my visa and finish the process I need to attend the invite I've been extended. As a show of good gesture I will pay my full tuition at the time that I get the green light that my Chinese visa is a go at ************************* If they do not wish to settle in this manner then I want all of my money back along with compensation for the money paid for this trip and all the time I had to waste.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,


We have worked with this customer and have resolved the issue to their satisfaction.

Kind regards,

****** ******

4/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently submitted full tuition payment for the Congressional Youth Leadership Council. I didn't ask for insurance and was told that my daughters application would not be processed. After contacting the organization I told them that I would like to cancel since I didnt ask for that additional charge. I was told that they would be keeping four hundred dollars of the payment for canceling more than 31 days prior to the start of the program. I asked to speak to someone higher that could resolve this issue and explained why would I pay for something that i didnt received and canceled more than the appropriate time frame since enrollment is ongoing and my daughters application was never processed. They indicated its their policy.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have a complete refund of $2445

Business Response: Dear *** ******,


We will issue a full refund  of $2445.00.  We ask that *** ***** please sign the attached release and return it back to me.  Please note that the release must be witnessed as well.  Once I receive the form back I will expedite the refund.  The signed and witnessed release can be emailed to me at *********************** OR faxed over to me at ************. We will mail a check via FedEx to :

***** ***** **** ***** ***** **** ******** ** *****

Kind regards,

****** ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  With the exception that I would like a letter of apology from ** ***** ****** for sending a check in my daughters name. Actually stooping to the level of unprofessionalism. My daughter did not write a check for $2,445.00 so why would they send it made out to a minor.

Regards,

***** *****

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7 Nov 2012 I registered my son for the Inauguration Conference 19 Jan – 23 Jan 13 and flight with Envison. I received confirmation email on 8 Nov 2012. I paid a total of $3,195 for the conference. On 19 Jan 13 when my son ******* ******** went to ******** airport to catch flight on ****** ******* ***** to ********** **( the flight information was emailed to me on 8 Nov 2012 from ************************). When he arrived at the airport he was informed that his ticket wasn’t in the system. We were unable to get him a later flight and he wasn’t able to attend the conference. We talked to several people (****** ***** Lead Admissions Rep). I spoke to ****** and she referred us to her boss. I’ve called and left him( not sure of his name) several message concerning this issue and I also request a refund. It has been almost 3 months and I still have not heard from them

Desired Settlement: refund $3,195

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

We investigated this complaint and our records show that *** ******** did not book the travel for ******* correctly.  Her credit card was never charged for the flight.  WorldTek did send an email to her but it was a template only. 

We do apologize for the confusion regarding follow up calls to our call center and would like to offer a partial refund of the tuition.  Our records show there was a $200 discount applied to the tuition paid which brought the total price down to $2995. 

If *** ******** would please sign the attached release we will issue a refund of $1497.50.  Please note that a witness signature is required as well.  The signed/witnessed release can be emailed directly to me at:  *********************** or faxed over to me at:  ************.

Kind regards,

****** ******

 

2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2012 Delivery Issues
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues