This business is not BBB accredited.

Buy Safe Inc

Phone: (703) 778-4445 View Additional Phone Numbers 1611 North Kent Street Suite 803, Arlington, VA 22209 http://www.buysafe.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company provides surety services for online transactions for participating merchants and handles claims for price guarantees.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buy Safe Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Buy Safe Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 2004 Business started: 06/01/2003 in VA Business started locally: 06/01/2003 Business incorporated 07/10/2003 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Grass, CEO/President Mr. Shane Lundy, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Grass, CEO/President
Principal: Mr. Shane Lundy, VP
Business Category

Internet Services

Alternate Business Names
BuySafe, Inc. buySAFE, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1611 North Kent Street Suite 803

    Arlington, VA 22209

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sells themselves as a 3rd party guarantor of internet consumer transactions. They claim to provide "protection" against credit card fraud and issues with merchant services or goods transacted. Compression Sale is the orginal merchant and sells compression foot and leg support. An item that I ordered ripped completely after one usage. The Merchant required me to return the defective stockings at my expense and after paying a return fee, I would have been out of pocket $4 more than the original purchase. I refused and opted to engage BuySafe. The claim was filed timely and acknowledged by BuySafe. (See below for details on transaction and confirmation of claim) To this date (July 3 2015), BuySafe indicates that the merchant has not responded to the claim and thus they cannot provide satisfaction or resolution. Is that all it takes to avoid having BuySafe provide the relief claimed in their "Certificate of Guarantee" ?? I wonder what the terms are for having a Merchant engaging BuySafe?? This seems to be a scam seeking to provide security in dealing with internet merchants of dubious reliability. BuySafe gets revenue from Merchants for being on their program: Merchants provide a false sense of security to prospective customers in order to increase revenue well above any cost to "hire" BuySafe. In short: BuySafe is operating a scam..................... /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// buySAFE Certificate of Guarantee ***** *************** Purchase Date: 2/26/2015 7:59:08 PM GMT Store: Compression Sale Order ID: ****** This is your official buySAFE Certificate of Guarantee that is provided to you and paid for by Compression Sale. Your Guarantee Benefits $10,000 Identity Theft Protection. Receive comprehensive assistance and financial coverage if your identity is stolen anywhere online or offline. See terms » $1,000 Purchase Guarantee. All terms (returns, refunds, shipping, etc) are independently guaranteed up to $1,000. See terms » $100 Lowest Price Guarantee. If the published store price drops, buySAFE will pay you the difference, up to $100. See terms » /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// buySAFE Email Verification Sent By: buySAFE Customer Support On:Mar 03/24/15 9:48 AM Welcome to the buySAFE program. Complete your registration to validate your account. You can access your account to view your benefits and manage your guaranteed transactions. Thank you The buySAFE Team

Desired Settlement: Original purchase price was $10.50 for the defective stockings. I will accept a credit card credit or electronic transfer from either BuySafe or original merchant Compression Sales

Business Response:

buySAFE guarantees the merchants policies/terms and conditions. When the buyer placed his order with the merchant, he agreed to those policies. buySAFE cannot force a merchant to change or go outside of those policies.

The merchant’s terms clearly state their policy, which I’ve copied below:

Link: http://www.compressionsale.com/return-policy.html

15% order processing charges will be deducted from refund. A $6.95 shipping charge will be applied to all exchanges which originally qualified for free shipping. A $9.95 shipping charge will be applied to exchanges of 3 items or more. Prices on exchanges will be based on website price at the time the exchange was requested. This policy is subject to change without prior notice. ********* products can only be returned within 30 days of receipt for an exchange or store credit if NOT worn. The following brands only qualify for an exchange if not worn: *****, ***** ******(30 day policy), Maternity, ******** , ******* ******, ******, *******, **** Basic, ****, *******, T********, ****** ****, *** ******'s, ************, ********, ******, ******, *******. Any ****** items that worn or tried on are not exchangeable or refundable. Exceptions of non-returnable items include: anti-embolism stockings, wound care, plastic post surgical, sport socks can only be exchanged, farrow medical wraps, and products dyed to order. Shipping charges are non-refundable. Orthopedic items can only be exchanged or offered a store credit with no expiration date. After an order is placed by phone or through the website, the customer has a short opportunity to change their order by giving us a call. We are not responsible for incorrect orders placed by customers over the phone or website.

We’ve abided by our guarantee. 


Thank You,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


What is Buy Safe guaranteeing with their masthead, prominent display on client websites and demeanor?  In fact, a business which hires Buy Safe to buttress an already failing customer service profile is not serious about Customer Service at all.

Compression Socks is already an "F" in BBB reviews from past clients.  To the extent that Buy Safe profits from selling a false sense of security and a fake guarantee that enables their client companies to continue to operate in unethical methods is  a cruel hoax on the rest of us.      

The Buy Safe business model is a mirage, not surrounded by camels or good intentions but by unscrupulous unseen bottom feeding leeches.  


Regards,

***** *****








2/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January 21,2015, an incorrect item was being delivered to me from Minnesota to Louisiana. While the item was still in Minnesota, ***** refused to have freight line return freight to their location in Minnesota. They had freight sent to me in New Orleans, LA and I had to tell the freight line what was going on and of course they could not believe ***** did not call them and tell them the freight line to send package back to ***** before it left the same town. ***** actually said it would be cheaper to have freight leave MN come to LA and turn freight around back to MN. I called Buysafe on January 21, 2015, left email and phone number and never heard from them so I could open a claim. I called again on January 26, 2015, still I have not heard from Buysafe. The company gives $1000.00 Purchase Guarantee and all terms ie (returns, refunds, shipping etc.) and will not contact me so I may open a claim. They also on their website claim to be associated with the FBI. My next call is to the FBI and I do mean Federal Buraeau of Investigations (federal government agency).

Desired Settlement: $2,025.74

Business Response: Hello,


We received a call from the this buyer. When returning her call, she did not want to give us a chance to assist her as she did not allow us to get a word in. She went on to say how she was going to report us to the BBB and other parties. Then she hung up the phone. We never had the opportunity to hear her complaint. 

She still has the option to file a dispute by logging into the account she created with us on January 23rd 2015, and click on the "file a Dispute" link.

If a dispute is not filed, the guarantee cannot be enforced.

Thank You 

Business Response: Per our policy,


If the buyer would like our assistance with getting a resolution from the merchant she placed her order with. She must follow the process we have outlined to file a dispute. She must log into the account she created with us on January 23rd 2015, and click on the "file a Dispute" link. 

Regards,


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: When checking with BBB and seeing how many complaints BuySafe has against them for NOT giving the Purchase Guarantee they offer on all ***** sales, furthermore, and after having made 3 attempts to file a claim with them and never received a response until I threathened to turn them into the BBB, I feel this company should be contacting me.   Buysafe needs to honor I have tried 3 times to file a claim and they never responded to any of them until a threat of BBB compaint was told to them - they should contact me, the consumer.  In the meantime I am really do not need Buysafe to honor a claim any longer, my purchase was made on a credit card and my credit card company is standing behind me, the consumer.  Buysafe is just trying to play the game with the BBB complaint that as long as they respond to the BBB complaint, they are trying to make themselves look good.  They should be contacting me for a second time since I tried filing the claim with them THREE (#) times.

Regards,

***** ******








8/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a product through a company called CertaintyStores.com which after 2 weeks have still not reposned to any phone calls nor emails to myself about a product in purchased through them. I purchased "insurance" throught this buy safe company to ASSURE i would either receive my correct product or my money back. i have tried several times to contact BuySafe and you seem to never get a hold of any one. Almost like trying to contact the company i purchased the product through. I followed all of their plans to have my money retunred to me but they basically tell me even though i purchased this product and have yet to receive it and both parties have have still had no luck contacting this "buisness'. I have to still continue to wait and Im told even though i have not received my product i could very well not receive my money back. Its all up to a commity. Why should a customer wait over a month to receive their money back. If you have contacted them with no reply. Why shoud a customer WHO IS PAYING YOU have to wait to receive somethig that belongs to them in the first place. This in my opinion is a scam and just a way to rip you off of more of your hard earned money. Dont waste the little bit of money you will pay this company for the even larger headache they will give you. I assumed a buisnees would work for you. This buisness you have to hold their hand every step of the way to inform them of their job.

Desired Settlement: MY FULL REFUND OF THE PURCHASED ITEMS PRICE. I never received it so why should i receive anything less then that.

Business Response:

Our company guarantees that the merchant will abide by their terms and conditions and deliver the item. The merchant communicated with the buyer via the buySAFE dispute dashboard on multiple occasions regarding the delivery. The merchant has proof via tracking information that the package was delivered via ***. The tracking number is as follows http://wwwapps.***.com/img/1.gif ****************** 

Based on the tracking information, the merchant has fulfilled their obligation by delivering the product(s) ordered…therefore our guarantee has been fulfilled as the order was delivered. If the product is still missing a claim should be opened with the shipping company. 

11/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was sold from ************. They are backed by Buysafe to ensure the happiness and fairness for the consumer. The product sold from ******** was received damaged and has a speedometer that is not calibrated correctly. The scooter was bought new. Still today after over 2 months of fighting with ******** and buysafe, buysafe offered no way of settling or helping to solve this issue with ********. ******** offered 25.00 dollars for to damaged parts and a miscalibrated speedometer.

Desired Settlement: For them to justify the defects of the product sold from buysafe and settle with a partial adjustment to the purchase price as they defects are manageable but do affect resale and overall satisfaction.

Business Response:

The buyer filed a dispute with buySAFE that was later escalated to our claims department for a resolution. buySAFE guarantees the merchants terms and conditions that they have set forth on their website. Based on the details and information provided by the buyer as well as the terms and conditions of the merchant (that the buyer agreed to when placing his order). It was determined by our claims department that the merchant fulfilled their terms and conditions and also offered the buyer a resolution based on those terms.

The buyers claim was denied and closed. It is upto the buyer to contacnt the merchant to accept the resolution they provided.

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:when informed that the speedometer was truly off and needed calibration, that the battery had already needed tested and charged and that ******** would not acknowledge either issue for repair or refund. They did not in fact make sure that ******** stood by there warranty. I told them I had a video of the speedometer and they never even requested to view it.


Regards,

**** *********





Business Response: It was determined by our claims department that the merchant fulfilled their terms and conditions and also offered the buyer a resolution based on those terms.
The buyers claim was denied and closed. It is up to the buyer to contact the merchant to accept the resolution they provided.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

Do to the length of time it took to receive a reply for this complaint, i have since contacted the merchant again accepted the proposed adjustment and filed the complaint elsewhere.

Regards,

**** *********

8/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Buy Safe about a problem with a purchase on line that was "gauranteed" by buy safe on 8/10/2012. I did this by phone an they responded on 8/13/2013. The Buy safe contract expired on the 12th so now they will not honor their obligation. I feel that this service is nothing but a scam. I returned the product and contacted both companies prior to 30 days of sale. I have been VERY DISSATISFIED with the response, performance and attitudes of both companies.

Desired Settlement: Refund of entire purchces price includind shipping and handling. $51.12 I feel that BuySafe also should also bear the cost of return shipping of the product to the Merchant since both the merchant and BuySafe have been completly unwilling to provide a "Safe Buy".

Business Response:

The buyer received an email from buySAFE on July 13th 2013 that included information on the benefits of the 30day guarantee received. A problem transaction must be registered and filed through our website within the eligibility period. This was not done by the buyer. Information on how to report a problem can also be found on our website as well as the seal that appears on the merchant’s website the original order was placed on.

Once the guarantee has expired there is nothing that buySAFE can enforce.

 

Regards,

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I call this business on August 10, 2013 alerting the as to the problems with the "safe buy" with ****** **********.  I was not

asked to go to the web site and file a written complaint, only how can we help was thw response.  Their help was only to say the time had expired. I feel the less than

honorable tactics of this company is deplorable and I feel this operation is nothing more than a scam that will look for ANY reason to not make a "safe buy


Regards,

******* ******








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  

I do not accept your email response.....This response is improper...it must come through the
BBB. It seems you are in character by neglecting to respond as required. You neglect
to acknowledge that my first contact of a problem  was on August 10 nth 2013. I had hoped
we could find a common point but it seems that my impression of the buy safe operation
as nothing more than a scam was correct.


Regards,

******* ******








8/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress from an on-line company ************* *********) which BuySafe represents and offers consumers protection for their online purchases. The on-line store advertised my purchase as latex layer over foam. When I received this mattress, the label stated that it is 100% polyurethane foam. This is inconsistent from what was advertised. I provided BuySafe with my correspondence from the Board of Consumer Affairs which states that BY LAW if a mattress contains latex, it must be listed as such on the label, as well as the percentage of such material. Therefore, I have no evidence that my mattress contained any latex, because according to labeling it did not. Also, according to the Board of Consumer Affairs, latex is NOT the same material as polyurethane foam, even if it is synthetic (which the seller claims was in the mattress). I attempted to resolve issue with the seller and they required me to ship mattress back to them for a refund--the cost would have been hundreds of dollars for me to do this. Then they agreed to refund me 20% of price instead (which would be about $72). This was not acceptable to me. BuySafe should protect the consumers if what was advertised is not what was received (false advertising), however, BuySafe states that I did received what I ordered. How can they make this claim if the mattress labeling states something different than what is advertised? The on-line company which sold the mattress is not abiding by the law and should be responsible for return shipping or refund at least 50% of mattress cost for false advertising.

Desired Settlement: I would like BuySafe to abide by their claim to protect consumers from on-line companies which do not deliver what they advertise. BuySafe states they pay up to $1000. My mattress cost was $359. I would be satisfied with at least 50% of that back.

Business Response:

buySAFE guarantees that the merchant will fulfill the order placed by the buyer. We also guarantee that if there is an issue the merchant will abide by the policy set forth on their website to resolve any issues. This buyer’s dispute was escalated to our claims department for final review. Based on the information presented by the buyer, as well as the merchant’s policy that the buyer agreed to when placing their order. We found that the merchant did as promised based on those policies. The merchant offered the buyer a resolution based on said policies, but the buyer refused to accept. The buyer also sold the merchandise in question.

We have abided by our guarantee and there is nothing further buySAFE can do to assist this buyer.

Regards,

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Buy Safe Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart