BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Philadelphia Insurance Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Philadelphia Insurance Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 09, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1962 in PA Business incorporated: 09/06/1990 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert O'Leary, President Mr. William Procopio, Corporate Communications Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert O'Leary, President
Business Category

Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
Maguire Insurance Agency, Inc. Philadelphia Consolidated Holding Corp Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company

Additional Locations

  • 231 Saint Asaph's Road, Suite 100

    Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004

  • One Bala Plaza Suite 100

    Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004 (800) 873-4552

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 617-7900(Phone)
  • (610) 227-0027 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called and spoke to a representative before my policy expired. I no longer needed Philadelphia Insurance as I am signing on with a new company. I was emailed a letter of cancellation and returned electronic document along with follow up telephone calls. I received a Thank You for renewing letter anyway and follow up requests for payment. I called multiple times to tell them the policy is cancelled. I just received a notice claiming I owe them $75. for back payment on the new policy that I never signed on for. They are now finally cancelling but threatening me with a collection agency. I'm going to pay the $75. as I don't want my perfect credit scored tarnished by these thieves. I would like a refund in the amount of $75. for services I did not sign for, need or want.

Desired Settlement: People should know this company threatens customers with credit scores to gain funds for unwanted service.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

When an insured requests that their policy be cancelled, it is our company’s standard practice to require a signed Loss Policy Release form to document the request.  Despite multiple interactions with **. *******, a Loss Policy Release form has never been received to request cancellation of this insurance policy.

According to our documentation, on 7/15/2013 **. ******* spoke with a representative on our Accounts Receivable team stating that he would like to possibly cancel his policy.  The representative advised that he would need to complete, sign and return the Loss Policy Release form and emailed him a copy of the form. 

On 7/24/2013 the representative sent a follow up email noting that Philadelphia Insurance Companies had not received the signed Loss Policy Release form.  On 7/29/2013 the representative again spoke with **. ******* who stated that he had mailed the form over a week prior and that he was unwilling to fax it directly to the representative. 

As of 9/4/2013, we still have no record of receiving the necessary Loss Policy Release form from **. *******.  The account has been moved to Collections for the $75.00 earned premium since the policy was in effect from 5/1/2013 until 7/31/2013 when it was cancelled due to non-payment of premium.  Philadelphia Insurance Companies also shows no record of payment for the $75.00 earned premium.

We have reviewed the situation and decided to make an exception to satisfy **. ******* despite our standard documentation requirement not being met.  Since we have referenced in our system, **. *******’s verbal intent to cancel the policy on the 5/1/2013 effective date, we processed a flat cancellation in our system. The flat cancellation removed the $75 earned premium due. If Philadelphia Insurance Companies receives the $75 payment the insured states he sent to us, we will promptly issue a refund to the insured.  

 

****** ************, CIC, CPCU, AU, AIM

Assistant Vice President, Operations

Philadelphia Insurance Companies

A Member of the Tokio Marine Group

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business insurer hit my vehicle and the business agree to pay. my car ran for two days and stop. they said wait untill adjuster come out before i do anything. three days later adjuster come out and tell's me wait for claim personel decision before taking action on repairing my vehicle. next day claim personel send me e-mail that a teardown is required. i put my car in shop the adjuster was suppose to come out to readjust the car (not sure if he came out of not). two days went by and the shop call and said the insurance company said that the starter not working was not damage during accident (my car was parallel park and that after noon when i seen my car it was park on a slant part way on the curb, headlights and body damage on driver side were starter is at). so i was to pay for repairs and was told that they will pay for the body damages. my car is in the shop now and they can't finish the job because they need to buy more parts. its been a week and still no payment from the business and the rent a car place is calling me for money. when i was told that the rental was mine until my car is fix.

Desired Settlement: i would like all expenses paid back to me for: rent car, starter, and possibly down payment for body parts. because i'm tried of waiting and can not move out of town with my car still here. accident happened april 9 and may 13; i have planned to move out of town by june

Business Response:

Please see attached response to the complaint noting that the claims adjuster has been in contact with *** ****** and has attempted to resolve this loss.

****** ************, CIC, CPCU, AU, AIM

Assistant Vice President, Operations

Philadelphia Insurance Companies

A Member of the Tokio Marine Group

8501 Turnpike Drive, Suite 200

Westminster, CO 80031

Direct Dial: ************

Direct Fax: ************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to renew my fitness insurance policy which I have had with this company for several years. The policy cost is $126.06 for 1 year. They tell me I have to take the **** ******* in order to have policy which makes the policy $145.00. I do not want to ******* nor should I have to pay extra as I want only the policy which a I have been getting in past. This is a rip off.

Desired Settlement: I should have to pay for my policy only. $126.06 and not the added cost of a **** ******* that I do not want and if I did want can get from other sources for a lot less. It is not right.

Consumer Response: From: **** *** ****** **********************
Complaint #*******

Thank you for your follow up on this complaint. The company in
question has rectified the problem so there is no need for more
correspondence.
Again thank you for your prompt reply.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2011 Delivery Issues
1