BBB Accredited Business since

J.C. Taylor, Inc.

Phone: (610) 853-1300 View Additional Phone Numbers 320 S 69th St, Upper Darby, PA 19082 http://www.jctaylor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.C. Taylor, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J.C. Taylor, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J.C. Taylor, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1971 Business started: 07/23/1947 in PA Business started locally: 07/23/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Department-PA
1321 Strawberry Square, 13th FL, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.insurance.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 717-787-2317
Fax Number: 717-787-8585
The number is 362653.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert E Wallace, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert E Wallace, President
Business Category

Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
J.C. Taylor Agencies J.C. Taylor Antique Auto Insurance J.C. Taylor Modified Automobile Agency, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 320 S 69th St

    Upper Darby, PA 19082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Premium bait and switch fraud tactics. Quoted one amount for policy renewal and billed much higher amount and then cancelled without notice upon complaint to Ins. Commission in Arizona.

Desired Settlement: Refund total premium immediately without further threats.

Business Response:

6/8/2015

Dear *** *****:
This letter is in response to your inquiry regarding the premium collections for *** *******'s Antique Automobile policy.
A renewal premium invoice totalling $784.00 was mailed to *** ******* on 1/15/15 for his policy renewal date of 3/12/15. On 1/29/15 *** ******* added a vehicle to his policy generating an additional premium of $20 to cover the period from 1/29/15 to 3/12/15.

We received two checks from *** *******. The initial check we received on 4/10/15 was in the amount of $748.00. He transposed the last two digits on the renewal premium invoice. The error in this check resulted in a balance due of $36.00. His second payment of $20 arrived in our office on 4/21/15.

After several telephone conversations with company personnel and e-mails between *** ******* and myself, the J. C. Taylor Agency and *** ******* have agreed to reinstatement of his policy with no lapse in coverage, and to waive the additional $36.00 premium due for the 3/12/15 to 3/12/16 policy term. *** ******* is responsible for the policy premium from 5/19/15, the reinstatement date, till the end of the policy term, 3/12/16.

Should you require additional information, feel free to contact our office.

Sincerely,
Paul J

Sr. Underwriter


2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After many years of insurance coverage provided by this agent, I discovered that one of my vintage vehicle was indeed not covered (no passenger in a sidecar??) and decided to cancel my policy. This was made on November 21st 2014. In spite of numerous emails I still not have received reimbursement for this policy. A complaint has been made to the California insurance Commissioner regarding the refusal of coverage and the delay in reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: Refund+ explanation on how a passenger can be not covered in a sidecar

Business Response: In response to your letter of January 20, 2015 I have attached the following information:
"Copy of your letter of 1-20-2015
???? of complaint
“ Copy of check cashed by ******** ***** for $543.66
The check was cashed on 1-20-2015. Should you require any additional information please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####. Ext-319 or email at ********************.
Joseph J. B*****

11/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased car insurance on 7/8/14 for $ 244. Received cancellation notice on 9/18/14. When I called them they said they needed two more papers which I emailed the the address they gave me. On 11/3/14 I received a check for $76.80. I called on 11/6/14 when asked to speak to customer relations, disconnected. I called back and spoke to a representative and was disconnected again. A company with my address, phone numbers and email address should be able to contact a customer with something besides cancellation notices. But if they can make $167.20 for providing nothing.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back, and to not deal with them again.

Business Response:

11/14/2014

Dear *** ******:

This letter will serve as a response to your inquiry dated November 7, 2014.

A review of our records found *** *******' application for coverage on his vehicle was received in our office on July 8, 2014. His application was approved on July 9 and a policy was issued.

Further review of the application found additional underwriting information was needed. A request for this information was sent to *** ******* on 7/22/14. The company did not receive a response to our request, neither e-mail northru the postal Service. His policy was subsequently cancelled on October 3, 2014 for failure to provide underwriting information.

*** ******* submitted payment of $113.00 with his application. The premium due the company for coverage for the period of 7/9/14 to 10/3/14 was $36.20. A check for the unused portion of premium, $76,80, was sent to *** ******* on 10/27/14. That check remains outstanding, it has not been cashed.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. Should additional questions arise, feel free to contact me directly at *** ********.
Sincerely,

Paul J


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J.C. Taylor, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart