BBB Accredited Business since

Action Adjustment Service, Inc.

Phone: (215) 785-1200 Fax: (215) 785-2939 View Additional Phone Numbers 519 Bristol Pike, Croydon, PA 19021 http://www.actionadjustment.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a public insurance adjuster.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Adjustment Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Adjustment Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Action Adjustment Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1997 Business started: 02/21/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Department, Bureau of Consumer & Producers Services-PA
1326 Strawberry Square, 13th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.insurance.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 717-787-2317
Fax Number: 717-787-8585
The number is 23511.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Driscoll, President Ms. Peggy Driscoll, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Peggy Driscoll, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Richard Driscoll, President
Business Category

Insurance Services


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a home that got water damage from a toilet. The company is an insurance adjuster they had someone come in rip the home apart, all walls taken out I have the pictures of this. My home was gutted. I got a check for 12,582.27 to repair my entire home. The company they hired was paid 15,634.37. Action adjustment got paid 4,194.00. They spent more money gutting my home then I got to repair it, It cost me an extra 30,000 to have someone finish my home. I never got any phone calls back, he just hit and ran. I'm an elderly women who he very clearly took advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like this never to happen to anyone again it is criminal. I want the money I spent to fix my home given to me. He clearly called in his own demo crew and ripped me off.

Business Response:

In response to your letter concerning a complaint filed by **. ******* ******:

**. ****** contacted us on June 28, 2012 regarding a water loss at her rental property in ***********, New Jersey.  **. ****** has used our services over 7 times in the past 7 years for her several properties in Pennsylvania and New Jersey.  I went to the loss which was due to a toilet malfunction and her home was filled with Category 3 Water.  I contacted an Emergency Mitigation company to follow protocol for removing all contaminated water and damaged surfaces. (See Attachment A).

I met with the adjuster from ***** ******, ***., assigned by ********* Insurance, on July 2, at the loss.

By August 2, **. **** ********** and I were in agreement with the scope of damages for the insured and the amount to be paid for the emergency services. (Attachment B).  We had **. ****** sign a Proof of Loss for emergency services and the rebuild (See Attachment C).  Two checks were issued by ********* Insurance Company for the amounts on the Proofs of Loss.   The checks were issued on August 16, 2012 and sent to the *** ******* Agency who then gave them to **. ******.  She brought them to our office for disbursement.  The emergency service check was sent to the emergency service company for payment.  The rebuild check was deposited by our firm and we deducted our fee and issued payment that was due to **. ******. (See Attachment D).

**. ****** did bring in the Contractors Invoice from *********** ******* listing work he had done totaling $38,500.00.( Attachment E)  Many items on this list were out of the scope of the insurance company estimate and that was explained to her.  Her loss was on the lower half of the drywall and flooring.  Windows, ceilings, upper cabinets, blinds, counter tops, etc. were not a part of that loss.  I tried several times to contact him to no avail.  **. ****** came to our office and it was related to her that in order to recover her depreciation, we would need validation of payment (cancelled checks) to the contractor.  We did not hear from her again.

I feel **. ****** received a fair and right settlement from ********* Insurance Company, ***** Claims, Inc. and our firm.

Please contact our office if any additional information is needed.

Sincerely,

******* ** ************

******* ** ********

President

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Attached is some pictures of the house gutted. I have used ** ******* before for smaller jobs with no complaints. I didn't not receive nearly enough money to complete the work on the house. They charged more to gut the home then to fix it. I would like ** ******* to fix an entire gutted home for under 13,000 labor and material. He took advantage of an elderly women,he never returned any of my phone calls nor did he call the contractor not once. He should be ashamed of himself,I have been a landlord for 50 years,I know what it costs to fix things, Between ****** using his own guys to gut the home for about 16,000 and him getting about 4,000 he took 20,000 and left me with under 13,000 to fix the home. Do not use this company. The only response from ** ******* was on this website he should have an F rating.


Regards,

******* ******








Business Response:

We stand by our response of September 26 along with the documentation provided.  In her rejection letter, she attached photos which clearly show upper walls, upper cabinets, countertop, toilet, tub, window blinds that were there when the remediation company finished the emergency service for removing contaminated water.  If  she had them replaced, that was her choice, but not items that were part of her claim.

Again, I feel **. ****** received a fair and right settlement from ********* Insurance Company, ***** Claims, Inc. and our firm.

******* ** ********/***

President