BBB Accredited Business since

Clements Worldwide

Phone: (202) 872-0060 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Thomas Cir NW Fl 8, Washington, DC 20005 http://www.clements.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clements Worldwide meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clements Worldwide include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clements Worldwide
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1947 in DC Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated 03/19/1957 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

The District of Columbia-DC
810 First Street, N.E., Suite 701, Washington DC 20002
http://disb.dc.gov
Phone Number: 202-727-8000
Fax Number: 202-535-1196
The number is 0150519.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. J Christopher Beck , President Mr. Tarun Chopra Mr. Jon B Clements, CEO & Chairman Ms. Lisa Mitchel, Assistant Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J Christopher Beck , President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Mitchel, Assistant Vice President of Operations
Business Category

Insurance - Health Insurance - Liability Insurance - Life Insurance - Marine Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Services - Commercial Insurance Companies Insurance - Travel Insurance Consultants Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Auto

Alternate Business Names
Clements Clements and Company Clements Europe, Ltd Clements International
Additional Information

Company maintains a London location at 35 New Broad Street, London UK, EC2M 1NH.


Additional Locations

  • 1 Thomas Cir NW Fl 8

    Washington, DC 20005 (800) 872-0067 (202) 872-0060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Auto insurance was purchased through Clements for The ******* Fleet of vehicles. We specifically communicated to Clements that the term of the contract was unknown ( since their insurance is usually sold for 12 month periods). We were assured that cancellation of vehicles can happen at any time and we would receive a refund for the unused term for vehicles that came off as long as there was at least 1 vehicle on the policy. It has now been 3 months since we finalized the vehicle list with Clements and they keep promising a credit note but we have not received anything. We called and were told that the credit note is not being issued because they do not want to show upper management/owner of the company the losses at this time.

Desired Settlement: We want our credit for the unused term of the vehicles. We want our claims to be handled in a proper manner.

Business Response:

Dear BBB representative,

On behalf of Clements Worldwide, following please find a response to the complaint filed to the BBB by ****** ***** from Dubai on Sun., June 1 (sent by the BBB to Clements three weeks later, on Sat., June 21).

****** *****, a representative from The ******* Group, a company operating fleets of vehicles in high-risk areas, requested an annual renewal of their fleet insurance policy with us on Sept. 23, 2013. Clements proceeded to renew their comprehensive WorldAuto® international motor coverage for 72 vehicles, which means their fleet was then fully covered for a year as of that date.  Because **. ***** was a well-known and valuable customer to Clements, Clements went ahead and activated their new fleet coverage, providing them with comprehensive insurance protection as of September 23, even without receiving their premium payment, as it would be required. Clements then invoiced The ******* ***** in late September for their active fleet coverage.

Without receiving payment for more than two months for the active coverage Clements had secured for dozens of *******’s vehicles operating in high-risk areas, Clements again proceeded to contact **. ***** requesting payment for their past-due outstanding insurance invoice of more than $96,160 dollars.  At that point, in late November, **. ***** then indicated he wanted a number of his fleet’s vehicles –actively insured for months without payment—removed from the policy, for which he wanted to be re-invoiced with a lower premium for the reduced fleet.  Clements accepted even though it hadn’t yet been paid for the coverage it had provided until then, and proceeded to modify the policy to account for the lesser number of vehicles insured, and again, send a new invoice to The ******* ***** on Nov. 12, 2013.

The ******* ***** still waited to pay the insurance premium for almost another month. It wasn’t until Dec. 24 – three months since their vehicle fleet had been fully insured by Clements—that The ******* ***** sent payment for the new invoice with the lower premium. Then, in mid-April, 2014, The ******* ***** again requested a further reduction to their fleet’s coverage, requesting immediate reimbursement, even as there was an insurance claim from them outstanding that was being processed.  After requesting the necessary information on that claim, Clements not only approved the claim request, but also forwarded the request to the underwriter with a “rush” on it, so that the underwriter would proceed with the payment to The ******* Group.   Additionally, Clements contacted The ******* ***** again in June to ask them for their wire information to proceed with the reimbursement they had requested for the additional reduction on their fleet’s coverage, which was subsequently paid back to the ****** ***** in full on June 18th, 2014, for a total of $44,549. In short, Clements has duly acted on all its obligations, always keeping this client’s best interest in mind.

Clements has remained in contact with **. ***** during this time, who acknowledged that Clements had reimbursed and he indicated The ******* ***** will withdraw this unnecessary complaint, which he indicated was not submitted by him.

Clements Worldwide, an A+-rated leading provider of international insurance since 1947, stands by the support provided to The ******* ***** over the years, and kindly requests the BBB to remove this record.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 

 

Consumer Response: From: <***********************>
Date: Sat, Jun 21, 2014 at 6:55 PM
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: info@mybbb.org


Issue has been resolved. Thank you.
 
Kind Regards,
****** *****
Managing Director
*******
****** ************** ***
***** ****
** *** *****
****** ***
+**** *** ****
+***** *** **** *** ******
 

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would appreciate a fax number for BBB in order to share with you the correspondence regarding the account I have with Clements for car insurance. Despite repeated notifications, requests for hardcopy correspondence, and a check in the amount of the policy, Clements has failed to renew or issue the insurance policy. I would prefer to be contacted by letter mail and not by email. Please do not publish my personal information on the website. No personally identifiable information such as name, email address, mailing address, or other information is uathorized for publication.

Desired Settlement: Have Clements issue the comprehensive/collision and local liability insurance policies immediately

Business Response:

On Sunday, Oct. 6, we received correspondence from the BBB in Washington, DC regarding a complaint filed by an overseas-based customer, **. *****-********. At the time, **. *****-******** had been an international customer in good standing since 1993, and had most recently been covered under our international WorldAuto® Physical Damage and WorldAuto Primary Liability policies.  She even indicated to us in writing last June 2 that our company was “so helpful” when she benefited from our services following an incident fifteen years ago with her vehicle.

In this instance, **. *****-********’s international Primary Liability coverage was due to expire on Aug. 16. As per common practice, our company provides two separate advance notifications of renewal, which were duly sent to **. *****-********. **. *****-******** herself acknowledged in writing having received our renewal notice on Aug. 2.  These advance notices gave **. *****-******** time –at least two weeks based on her own feedback– to communicate to us, either by phone, mail or email, whether she intended to renew it or not.

Typically, when customers choose not to renew a policy, they simply let it expire. **. *****-******** had already cancelled in July the other policy she had with us on another car. For the remaining Primary Liability policy –and in spite of our notices and the ample time she enjoyed to provide her needed response regarding renewal by Aug. 16– the expiration date passed without **. *****-********’s renewal request. Therefore, her Primary Liability policy expired.    

International underwriting regulations (unlike country-specific standards) for Primary Liability coverage allow customers to reinstate a lapsed policy within 30 days, provided that a Statement of No-Loss (affirming no claims are outstanding) is provided by the customer. On that note, Clements is well-known for ensuring our customers have no gaps in coverage since we specialize in international insurance since 1947.

That’s why, when we finally received **. *****-********’s renewal request 11 days after her policy had lapsed, on Aug. 27, we immediately acted to try and reinstate her coverage. After an international Primary Liability policy lapses, underwriters request the necessary Statement of No-Loss, which we in turn request multiple times to **. *****-********.  On that same letter dated Aug. 27, she had also attached a check intended to cover the premium for a renewal, which we kept on file, along a refund due her from her other cancelled policy, until such time when her Statement of No-Loss was received so that underwriters could actually renew her policy.  Specifically, given the urgency as the 30-day underwriter deadline on Sept. 17 was fast approaching –and because she had previously responded to emails and she indicated we could “dual route” our communications both by email and by international post­– we communicated the underwriter’s request to her on three separate occasions. The first communication was sent immediately on Aug. 27; the second on Sept. 3. And, in our attempt to continue her coverage even though the 30-day grace period had passed, we even e-mailed her on Sept. 18 to try and help **. *****-******** renew her policy.

In spite of all that, and because she had been a long-time customer who had indicated her intention to renew even though the paperwork was not complete, we renewed **. *****-******** policy and mailed the insurance documents to her, demonstrating Clements’ continued customer service efforts and goodwill to continue her coverage.  It wasn’t until last Friday, October 4, when we actually received her No-Claims notice by international post from **. *****-********, almost three weeks after the extension time allowed by international underwriters to guarantee renewal.  Regardless of this complication, largely brought about because of the delay in receiving responses and required paperwork as **. *****-******** opts to communicate by regular international mail, we came through on our end to ensure her coverage. That coverage notwithstanding, **. *****-******** suddenly decided to change insurance providers. Upon receiving news of her decision, our team subsequently refunded the check she had mailed us and the full refund due from her previously cancelled policy immediately after she informed us of her choice last Tuesday, October 8.  We regret losing **. *****-******** as a customer after 20 years, but we stand by the extensive efforts made throughout this time, and specially over the last three months, to serve her needs.

We remain available for any further request for information.  Thank you.

Clements Worldwide