BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Clements Worldwide

Phone: (202) 872-0060 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Thomas Cir NW Fl 8, Washington, DC 20005 http://www.clements.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clements Worldwide meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clements Worldwide include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 13, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1947 in DC Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated: 03/19/1957 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

The District of Columbia-DC
810 First Street, N.E., Suite 701, Washington DC 20002
http://disb.dc.gov
Phone Number: 202-727-8000
Fax Number: 202-535-1196
The license number is 0150519.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. J Christopher Beck , President Mr. Tarun Chopra Mr. Jon B Clements, CEO & Chairman Ms. Lisa Mitchel, Assistant Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J Christopher Beck , President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Mitchel, Assistant Vice President of Operations
Business Category

Insurance - Health Insurance - Liability Insurance - Life Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Services - Commercial Insurance Consultants Insurance - Auto

Alternate Business Names
Clements Clements and Company Clements Europe, Ltd Clements International
Additional Information

Company maintains a London location at 35 New Broad Street, London UK, EC2M 1NH.


Additional Locations

  • 1 Thomas Cir NW Fl 8

    Washington, DC 20005 (800) 872-0067 (202) 872-0060

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 872-0067(Phone)
  • (202) 466-9064 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would appreciate a fax number for BBB in order to share with you the correspondence regarding the account I have with Clements for car insurance. Despite repeated notifications, requests for hardcopy correspondence, and a check in the amount of the policy, Clements has failed to renew or issue the insurance policy. I would prefer to be contacted by letter mail and not by email. Please do not publish my personal information on the website. No personally identifiable information such as name, email address, mailing address, or other information is uathorized for publication.

Desired Settlement: Have Clements issue the comprehensive/collision and local liability insurance policies immediately

Business Response:

On Sunday, Oct. 6, we received correspondence from the BBB in Washington, DC regarding a complaint filed by an overseas-based customer, **. *****-********. At the time, **. *****-******** had been an international customer in good standing since 1993, and had most recently been covered under our international WorldAuto® Physical Damage and WorldAuto Primary Liability policies.  She even indicated to us in writing last June 2 that our company was “so helpful” when she benefited from our services following an incident fifteen years ago with her vehicle.

In this instance, **. *****-********’s international Primary Liability coverage was due to expire on Aug. 16. As per common practice, our company provides two separate advance notifications of renewal, which were duly sent to **. *****-********. **. *****-******** herself acknowledged in writing having received our renewal notice on Aug. 2.  These advance notices gave **. *****-******** time –at least two weeks based on her own feedback– to communicate to us, either by phone, mail or email, whether she intended to renew it or not.

Typically, when customers choose not to renew a policy, they simply let it expire. **. *****-******** had already cancelled in July the other policy she had with us on another car. For the remaining Primary Liability policy –and in spite of our notices and the ample time she enjoyed to provide her needed response regarding renewal by Aug. 16– the expiration date passed without **. *****-********’s renewal request. Therefore, her Primary Liability policy expired.    

International underwriting regulations (unlike country-specific standards) for Primary Liability coverage allow customers to reinstate a lapsed policy within 30 days, provided that a Statement of No-Loss (affirming no claims are outstanding) is provided by the customer. On that note, Clements is well-known for ensuring our customers have no gaps in coverage since we specialize in international insurance since 1947.

That’s why, when we finally received **. *****-********’s renewal request 11 days after her policy had lapsed, on Aug. 27, we immediately acted to try and reinstate her coverage. After an international Primary Liability policy lapses, underwriters request the necessary Statement of No-Loss, which we in turn request multiple times to **. *****-********.  On that same letter dated Aug. 27, she had also attached a check intended to cover the premium for a renewal, which we kept on file, along a refund due her from her other cancelled policy, until such time when her Statement of No-Loss was received so that underwriters could actually renew her policy.  Specifically, given the urgency as the 30-day underwriter deadline on Sept. 17 was fast approaching –and because she had previously responded to emails and she indicated we could “dual route” our communications both by email and by international post­– we communicated the underwriter’s request to her on three separate occasions. The first communication was sent immediately on Aug. 27; the second on Sept. 3. And, in our attempt to continue her coverage even though the 30-day grace period had passed, we even e-mailed her on Sept. 18 to try and help **. *****-******** renew her policy.

In spite of all that, and because she had been a long-time customer who had indicated her intention to renew even though the paperwork was not complete, we renewed **. *****-******** policy and mailed the insurance documents to her, demonstrating Clements’ continued customer service efforts and goodwill to continue her coverage.  It wasn’t until last Friday, October 4, when we actually received her No-Claims notice by international post from **. *****-********, almost three weeks after the extension time allowed by international underwriters to guarantee renewal.  Regardless of this complication, largely brought about because of the delay in receiving responses and required paperwork as **. *****-******** opts to communicate by regular international mail, we came through on our end to ensure her coverage. That coverage notwithstanding, **. *****-******** suddenly decided to change insurance providers. Upon receiving news of her decision, our team subsequently refunded the check she had mailed us and the full refund due from her previously cancelled policy immediately after she informed us of her choice last Tuesday, October 8.  We regret losing **. *****-******** as a customer after 20 years, but we stand by the extensive efforts made throughout this time, and specially over the last three months, to serve her needs.

We remain available for any further request for information.  Thank you.

Clements Worldwide

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues