BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Ash Maids, Inc.

Phone: (703) 820-5444 View Additional Phone Numbers 5613 Leesburg Pike Ste 8, Falls Church, VA 22041 http://www.ashmaids.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ash Maids, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ash Maids, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 06, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2006 in VA Business incorporated: 11/02/2006 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mo El Adili, Office Manager Mr. Ashraf Moustafa, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mo El Adili, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Ashraf Moustafa, President
Business Category

House Cleaning Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Ash Carpet Ash Cleaning Service

Additional Locations

  • 5613 Leesburg Pike Ste 8

    Falls Church, VA 22041 (703) 820-5444 (855) 770-6243

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 239-5539(Phone)
  • (301) 412-9777(Phone)
  • (855) 770-6243(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ash maids sent a crew to do a move in cleaning. During the process of cleaning the home, the crew broke my plantation shutters. They left without mentioning it. I called immediately. I was told by the agent to send pictures because she didn't know what I was talking about. I did. I emailed the company. I received a response that monday indicating the crew was not on duty and when they returned I would get an answer. One week later, after no further correspondence, I called. The receiptionist said, "the crew tld the manager the shutters were already broken, so they were not responsible for the damage." I responded that the crew was not being truthful and told het I have pictures of theshutters before the crew came. I also asked when someone would contact me woth that information. She said she called andeft a voice mail. The only number they have for me is a cellphone. I have no messages or missed calls. I am outraged by the lies. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: I want my shutters fixed.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

Thank you for forwarding this customer's complaint to us ID # *******

Our ultimate goal is customers satisfaction without them we would not be in business.

Here are the facts as we know them:

This customer ordered a regular cleaning which turned out to be a move-in cleaning which required inside all the appliances not just the outside as it is the case in regular cleanings.

Once the team informed us that the house was empty and it required a Move-in/Move-out cleaning we approved it and told them to go ahead since we are in pleasing customers not arguing with them over few dollars more (the difference in this case would have been $50 more)

Once they started dusting the plantation shutters pieces started falling, so they called the office and passed along this information. The lady that responded to their call asked them to inform the customer, they told her she is in and out showing the house to another person and please call her on her yourself.

We understand in this business that accidents do happen and we are licensed and INSURED but the team has informed us this was not an accident those pieces were loose before they touched them.

They were using feather dusters and microfiber cloths neither could cause them to break, and they had no reason to lie since we do not hold them responsible for accidents.

However the customer called them liers, dishonest, and even called the scheduler coordinator other names when she told her that we tried to reach you and couldn't so we left you a voice message.

When she e-mailed us the office manager who was not aware on this incident answered her back immediatel informing her that the team that cleaned her house was off on Monday and we will find out from them what happened on Tuesday. The schedule co-ordinator who talked to her before gave her a call and informed her that the pieces in question were loose when they tried to dust them just as they said on the time of the cleaning, but she cussed her out and told again she is a liar and also that she never had a missed call on her cell.

It seems that the customer was armed with a camera and took a picture of the sutters  BEFORE the team got to her house and then AFTER those pieces fell, it just seems too convenient and doubtful.

We could understand someone taking a picture of a broken item after the fact but noone ever told us here is a picture that I took just before your team got here and here is one after they dusted it.

For those reasons we choose not to repair those shutters.

Again we do appreciate your assistance in this matter and we do and always will hold your office at the highest degree of respect.

Sincerely,

** ****

Office manager

ASH MAIDS, Inc.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I completely reject the response of Ash Maids.  It contains inaccurate and contradictory statements and inferences and attacks on my character that I do not appreciate.  I shall address each of their claims in turn. 

First, I ordered a move-in cleaning, and never ordered a regular cleaning as *** **** states in his response.  Two days before I was initially scheduled to go to settlement on the * ******* ** property, on February 26, 2013, I called for a move-in cleaning.  The property was already broom clean and had no need for a regular cleaning.  This was discussed with the first Ash Maids agent (a male) whom I spoke with on February 26, 2013. (See Timeline of Events)  In fact, the sole reason that I cancelled my original cleaning date was because my settlement was rescheduled.  I do not know how many more ways the company could have been informed that I was requesting and needing a move-in cleaning.  *** **** contends that the move-in service would have been $195 instead of the $145 that I paid.  When I was getting estimates from several cleaning companies in the area, the average quote for the home that I received was approximately $150.  *** **** states they do not argue with customers “over a few dollars more” and authorized the crew to clean even though the house was empty (A fact that was previously relayed to the company).  At no point, during the crew’s time at my property did anyone mention to me that there was an issue with the requested service or payment amount.  It was not until, after I filed my complaint with the BBB that this issue was ever mentioned to me.

Second, the overall tone of *** ****’s response paints a picture of me as a rude, irrational person who is trying to get over on the company.  This is extremely hurtful and untrue.  I merely want my damaged property repaired.  When you pay for a service, you expect and have the right to be better off after the service is completed than before it started.  I am an extremely patience, professional, kind person, who wants and deserved to be made whole from the damage that Ash Maids cleaning crew did to my newly purchased home. 

Third, my plantation shutters were functional prior to the arrival of the Ash Maids cleaning crew.  In addition, to the picture that I provided the company, (See Exhibits- email dated March 25, 2013and email dated March 17, 2013) I have several witnesses including the listing agent, and home inspector, who can verify that the shutters were functional and in working order.  When I spoke with the customer service representative on March 25, 2013, she stated the shutters were broken when the crew arrived.  I immediately knew that was not true, because when they left a tilt bar and louvers were on the floor that were previously attached and hanging in front of the window.  Then, in their response to the BBB the company claims the pieces were not loose and fell at no fault of the cleaning crew.  This is an inconsistent statement.  The louvers of the shutters were not loose; rather, the shutters are made to move, so that they can easily open and close when you pull on the tilt bar.  If you apply too much pressure-- irrespective of what tool you are using-- the tilt bar and louvers will pop out of the stiles. (See Exhibits- diagram of plantation shutters) I firmly believe this is what happened to my plantation shutters.  Since I have had a lack of cooperation from Ash Maids, I investigated the cost of repair.  I estimate that repairing my shutters will cost approximately $23.50.  I am moving forward with repairs this weekend. 

Fourth, I do not believe that the crew communicated the problem to the office for two reasons. First, no one from the office call me before the crew left.  Second, the conversation when I called would have been different.  When I called, the female customer service agent had no idea about what I was speaking.  Even if the crew did not see me at the time of the incident, because I was INTENTIONALLY trying to stay out of their way, I saw them leave (at the time I had no idea that they were done and not coming back) and they said NOTHING about the plantation shutters.  Not that it was broken, not that they called the office and I should call to speak with a representative at the company, nothing!  This is unacceptably unprofessional. 

Fifth, in his response *** **** asserts that I was abusive towards the schedule coordinator by “call[ing] the scheduler coordinator other names” and “cuss[ing] her out.”  This claim is most troubling and I vehemently deny it.  I am a professional.  At no point during any of my conversations with the female customer service representative did I use profanity, disrespectful names, or become abusive.  Furthermore, it was apparent to me that she did not have the authority to offer any solutions to my problems and was merely relaying a message.  Therefore not only would it be unprofessional, insensitive and rude to speak to her in such a manner, it would not accomplish anything.  She was merely the messenger.  I did state the claims that were being made were lies, because they were misrepresentation of the truth.  Honesty is the best policy.  As stated previously, I have documentary and testimonial evidence to prove that my shutters were functional.  I did not want anyone at the company to be left with the impression that it is acceptable to damage my property and then be dishonest about it.

Sixth, I do not believe that the company attempted to reach me between Monday, March 18, 2013 (when *** **** sent me an email) and Monday, March 25, 2013 (when I called the company).  According to the company’s response, they left a voice message sometime during that timeframe without mentioning a date.  I received none.  In addition, I have reviewed my call log from ****** and I received no calls from any Ash Maids number in March.  Furthermore, *** ****’s statement is contradictory.  If the office was already aware of the damage on Saturday, March 16, 2013, then there would have been no need to speak with the crew on Tuesday, March 19, 2013.  Rather, the response that I received would have indicated the company’s position based on the information that the office received from the crew on Saturday, March 16, 2013.  It is noteworthy that my March 17, 2013 email to Ash Maids contains a typographical error in my phone number.  If the company called that number, they would have never reached me. However, I called the number listed at 3:10 pm on April 4, 2013, and asked the lady who answered, whether anyone called for me or she received a call from Ash Maids.  She responded, “no” to both questions.  Furthermore, Ash Maids had my correct cell phone number and has had it in their system since February 26, 2013 and used it to call me on February 27, 2013.  They should have tried both numbers and emailed me to ensure that the issue was resolved, and their position on the matter was properly communicated to me.  They did not.  I think an issue like this deserves and demands voice contact.

Seventh, *** **** questions my pictures.  He states “the customer was armed with a camera and took a picture of the [plantation shutters],” which he contends was “too convenient and doubtful.”  New parents have many pictures of their babies.  New car owners have many pictures of the car.  New pet owners have many pictures of the pets.  I am a new homeowner and have pictures of every room in my home.  These pictures are stored on my smartphone, which has a camera.  Like most people, I keep my cell phone with me at all times.  This is normal behavior.  I highly doubt that anyone who can afford to live in my area and pay for a cleaning service does not also carry a smartphone with a camera.  Therefore I deny and reject the notion that I was ARMED with a camera.  The word Armed implies that I equipped with a dangerous weapon that I was trying to use to hurt Ash Maids.  I am deeply OFFENDED by the inference that I am attempted to milk the company out of the money when I am merely attempted to get my shutters, which they damaged, repaired. 

In addition to rejecting their claims, I would like to reiterate that Ash Maids failed to communicate with me about this issue.  I have moved into a nice community in which people are dedicated to taking care of their property, and the HOA regulates the aesthetics of the exteriors of our homes.  Having faulty window treatments is a horrible problem, which can make me look like an uncaring homeowner and get me in trouble with or fined by my HOA.  It may be a mere inconvenience to Ash Maids, but it is a poor reflection upon me as a new neighbor to have damaged window treatments in a meticulously maintained community.

For the foregoing reasons, I reaffirm my request for assistance to the BBB.  If there is any additional information that I can provide you with, please let me know.  I would like to resolve this matter a quickly as possible.  Also, I would like to change my request from asking the company to repair the shutters to asking the company to reimburse the cost of the repair of  my plantation shutters, AND I would like a letter of apology for the company’s attempt to assassinate my character in its response to you.  




Regards,

**** ******








Business Response:

In Regard to case# *******

I have came to realize that this case has been handled very poorly on my part and for that I do apologize to *** ******.

I should have dismissed hear say here and there and contacted her personnally to discuss this matter as 2 intellectual and intiligent individuals and also asked to go to her house and investigate what the team might, or may not have done to the plantation shutters.

Again for that I do apologize, but not for using a harmless term as uarming oneself with a camera. That term is loosely used to say " I armed my self with a good argument" "I armed myself with the right tools for a job"...etc Just to be sure I have googgled several dictionaries and all support that.

Having said that I would rather not elaborate any further in order to close the gap rather than deepening it. So we will ask our accounting office to go ahead and mail a check to Ms. tanner for the amount of $23.50 to cover the repair in order to close this case.

I would further extend a 20% discount to *** ****** on her next home cleaning should she want to give our company a second chance.

As always we would like to take this opportunity to thank *** ****** and the Better Business Bureau of Washington, DC for giving us the opportunity to address this issue and bring is to an amicable resolution.

 

** ****

Office manager

Ash Maids, Inc

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Thank you for allowing us to have this forum to resolve conflicts.  I sincerely appreciate Ash Maids cooperation with getting my shutters repaired. 

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1