BBB Accredited Business since

Potts Construction & Design Group LLC

Phone: (301) 256-7060 Fax: (301) 298-5215 PO Box 1748, Beltsville, MD 20704

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Potts Construction & Design Group LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Potts Construction & Design Group LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Potts Construction & Design Group LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 2008 Business started: 06/27/2005 in MD Business incorporated 06/27/2005 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
The number is 98224.

District of Columbia Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1000 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
Phone Number: 202-442-9828
Fax Number: 202-727-6546
The number is 67006542.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Derek R Potts, Member/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek R Potts, Member/Manager
Business Category

Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Windows Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Interior Designers - Architectural Basement - Remodeling Carpenters Construction & Remodeling Services Construction Management

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1748

    Beltsville, MD 20704


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company renovated 3 bathrooms and constructed 1 new bath (in addition to other work, which as been questionable). Less than 3 weeks after moving into the house and using all of the bathrooms, a sewage back up occurred in the lower level bath. Sewage seeped from the toilet and the tub. This firm insists that it was a pre-existing condition, however, this firm was paid to address all additional plumbing issues related to the bathroom renovations and installation. Needless to say they were not thorough. When informed of the sewage issue the response was slow and we were told that it was not related to the work that was done by the company, but pre-existing blockage.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all associated costs of fixing the sewage issue and carpet damages.

Business Response:

We have in our possession, a document signed by ***. ******** and her husband bearing the following information: " The rehabilitation and/or improvements as outlined in the rehabilitation loan agreement (including Architectural Exhibits) have been completed in workmanlike manner to my/our satisfaction to the above mentioned property." In addition, the work performed by us was approved and signed by a ****** ******* County Inspector by way of a final inspection where any and all plumbing work was tested and verified to be working properly before the owners took posession of the property.

As stated by ***. ********, they moved into the property and lived there for a few weeks. If any clog occurred it occurred while the owners were in the home and using the facilities as needed. ***. ******** failed to indicate that she called **** ****** to come in an investigate the issue at which time they removed a clog and the system was working properly. After my master plumber came to investigate the issue a few days later, my plumber was told by her husband that the system is working fine after the clog had been cleared.

On the day my master plumber  visited the home I also came to pick up my final check for the work that had been done. I learned a few days later that ***. ******** had placed a stop payment on the check the same day she gave it to me and we have yet to be paid. This leaves us with no other choice but to place a mechanics lien on the  property.

** *****

11/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired contractor to fix some items on my house. And was told he did a visual inspection before providing me a cost estimate for the work. Come to find out he did not do a visual inspection, but based his cost estimate on pictures. When he came to do the work, he ripped out my flooring, and then stated he couldnt finish the work with the amount of money i had remaining in my 203K loan. He was paid 50% of the entire job ahead of time from my title company. I hired a private appraiser to determine the amount of overall work done and they estimated this at 35% completed. the contractor has refunded me 200, while I was expecting 800.00 so I can hire another contractor to finish the job.

Desired Settlement: refund of 800.00 total.

Business Response:

The real estate agent the homeowner hired contacted my company for assistance with a small HUD renovation project for his client. He forwarded me pictures to look at for me to make an estimate from. In-as-much as it was a very small project and he was in a hurry to close the real estate deal before months end we proceeded to provide an estimate.  Estimate was submitted and approved by both the homeowner and her lender. When we started work at the home we noticed that what was on the picture was not what we discovered at the home. In fact, what we found was the "unsafe" and improper installation of laminate flooring on the stairs leading up to the first floor of her home (approximate four steps). HUD mandates that unsafe and health related problems in a HUD financed home (which is what this was) be fixed. The pictures that were sent to me only showed one step whereas the other four steps were not a part of my estimate or scope of work. I removed the improperly installed laminate flooring on the four steps as well as the glue used to install the laminate flooring thus making it safe for the homeowner until we were to come back the next day to fix it properly. There was no flooring removed except the unsafe laminate which was on the treads of the stairs. Prior to leaving for the day we purchased new stair treads and left them in the home so we could install them the next day. I was the one to bring to the attention of the homeowner that I had been in the home prior to submitting an estimate and that she had an unsafe situation with respect to the stairs. I soon learned from the homeowner that the realtor was the one responsible  prepared the scope of work (work write-up). According to HUD, only a certified HUD inspector is qualified to provide such a write up. In fact, there were things on the scope of work that did not need repair or replacing. I also told her that her realtor did not feel it necessary that I visit the house based on the size of the repairs and because there was a very limited and restricted budget. After telling her that she proceeded to call her realtor on the phone and give him an earful. After listening for about 15 minutes I packed up and left for the day and left four new stair treads in her home to be installed the next day. I did not tell the homeowner I was going to charge her extra for installing new stair treads and was going to do it as a goodwill gesture. However, when we returned the next day the homeowner locked us out of the house and would not answer the door so we left. We then proceeded to account for all of the other work we had already completed, deducted that amount from what we had already received and returned the balance to her lender via certified mail.   Please see attached files for timelines and back and forth correspondence.


Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


******* ******

Most of this information is not true and did not occur.


1. the contractor should have told me that he thought he had to repair only one of the stair "lips" prior to ripping up all three stairs, and leaving an UNSAFE condition with Nails sticking up.

2.  They billed me for the wood to replace, which by the way was a totally unacceptable solution, as the wood on the stairs were fine.

3.  I called my realotr not **. ***** of the situation, that ** ***** told my realtor he did in fact come over to see my house prior to the inspection, which he DID NOT.

4.  I hired an inspection to complete report at the request of my lender and they provided a full report stating that the work completed was 35%.  Vice what **. ***** billed me for which was 50%.

5.  I removed my key for their access since **. ***** rudely left my house when I was on the phone with my realtor after I found out that he did not come by to visit my place to see what work needed to get done.  Who

provides estimates from pictures only?  Who? 

6.  I am also a female living alone and did not like the fact that I was alone in the house with someone having access to the key.  They should have called to see if I was at home or available prior to stopping by.


Business Response: To Whom it may concern,

**. ****** is making up false circumstances to try to make the situation other than what it really is. This is not an unprovable situation. **. ****** is quite simply trying to strong arm my company by making false accusations. I make it a point to have workers in place to witness conversations I have with homeowners for this very reason. My handyman was with me on both accounts, when she came home for the day at which time I told her I had not visited the place prior to providing an estimate and when we returned to finish work. On the contrary, he and i both noticed how pushy and rude she was while on the phone with her realtor which was why I left for the day. There was no need for me to tell her goodby because I could see she was highly upset by what i told her (not what she found  out) that i had not visited the place prior to providing an estimate. 
To address another falsehood, prior to the start of work, i told **. ****** that I would be placing a lockbox on the door of her house so that me and my workers could get in and she agreed. In fact, I also gave her the lock code as well. My handyman and I will attest to the fact that the key had been removed and that she failed to answer the door even after making several attempts to knock on the door. What gave it away that she was at home and not answering the door was based on the fact that her dogs were roaming through the house freely. She was the one that told me that one of her dogs had an uncontrollable bowel which was why she would lock them up in the kitchen on the tiled floor while she was away. In fact, this is exactly where they were on the first day of work. 
Contrary to **. ******, we were planning to replace the entire stair tread after removing the old one which was and is a far better repair than is needed. Yes, i charged her for the material because we could not get back in to get it back and take it back and give her a credit. 
Lastly, **. ****** was insisting that we get her a/c up and running as soon as possible. The necessary repairs called for the addition of several pounds of freon which is highly expensive because of the system she has. The cost of my overhead to run my company may not reflect the price given by some arbitrary person **. ****** has hired which is why we are having this issue. As a goodwill gesture I will spit the difference with her. Please be advised, i have many more documents to substantiate my position as well as a personal witness to validate my claims.