This business is not BBB accredited.

Creation Home Improvement

Phone: (703) 310-8153 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 11752, Alexandria, VA 22312 http://www.creationhi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Creation Home Improvement include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Creation Home Improvement include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Creation Home Improvement
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2007 Business started: 03/11/2001 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705134699 A.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Khalid Jebbar, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Khalid Jebbar, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 11752

    Alexandria, VA 22312

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into a contract with Creation Home Improvements, LLC (CHI) to complete a bathroom remodel project on August 24, 2013. Much to our disappointment we have informed **. ****** ****** (**) on October 15, 2013 that we no longer wish to do business with him and we will be hiring other companies to finish the project. Several key factors played a part in our decision including poor communication, poor time management and poor quality of work– all of which were extremely unsatisfactory, but the most upsetting reason for our decision to cut ties with CHI is that we have learned that he has defaulted on payment of materials purchased on our behalf to more than one vendor even though we have paid to ** at least 85% of the total cost of the project. These vendors have been contacting us to either try to find ** or to obtain payment from us (which we have refused since we hold a contract stating he would provide materials and cancelled checks to him in the amount of $11,500). On Saturday, August 24 we signed the contract and provided him with a ~50% down payment of $6,000. The contract stated he had three weeks to finish the job but he repeatedly told us it would only take two weeks. There was a $250 per day penalty in the contract for anytime beyond the three weeks. At the time we signed our contract we had already selected our tile, granite and cabinets from the suppliers ** approved. Poor Communication: • For 6 weeks we never knew if anyone was coming to work or not on any given day. • We would receive a text saying someone was coming to work and then no one would show up with no explanation. Of the 41 calendar days that ** was engaged in our project they only worked 21 of those days. And of those 21 days only three to four of those days was anyone here a full day. • 4 electrical outlets were blown due to a wet saw being plugged in and no one ever told us about the issue. We figured this out when two outlets in our kitchen were not functioning. (This was never resolved and is not just a circuit breaker or blown fuse – an electrician is needed for repair) Poor time and project management: • 10 days passed after the contract was signed before demolition began even though ** urged us to select materials quickly so that he could finish our project before starting another job scheduled for mid-September. During those 10 days we assumed he was purchasing materials but that later proved to be a false assumption. • On Thursday, September 12 we were informed that the tile was just ordered two days earlier and what we had selected was not available. This was a full 19 days after we had signed the contract and given ** $6,000 to begin work and ordering material. The next morning (Friday) we went to the tile store and selected new tile. The next Monday, September 16, we were told that the new shower floor tiles would not be available until a few weeks. The next day (Tuesday) we again went to the tile store and selected a 3rd set of tiles. By this time it had been 24 days since we had given ** the initial funds (not to mention another $3,500 on September 9) and exactly two weeks since he had started. The only thing completed at this point was demolition and the partial installation of the vanities. • After three weeks on the job we discovered that the granite slab we chose had not yet been purchased or moved from the wholesaler to the fabricator. • 31 days after he had started work we were told he needed to order more accent tile since he hadn’t ordered enough to do the backsplash, a feature he recommended instead of simply using a granite backsplash. (We eventually had to order and pay for this tile ourselves) • We didn’t see ** or any of his people for 9 days – After sending a punchlist and more than one request to finish the job, he came one last time, on October 14, with the promise of completing the items on our list by 5pm. He admitted the tile work was low quality and informed us he fired the employee who had done all the work in our home. He stayed for 1.5 hours and left saying he was going to pick up some additional material and never came back. Poor quality and cut corners: • Several chipped or broken tiles used on the floor and walls even though there was a very large number of spares on hand. • Floor tiles poorly installed and sloppily cut causing rough edges, cracked grout and a lot of lippage. • Mis-measured space for the vanities to the point where one vanity’s cabinet doors will not close (and is damaged from being forced open by **’s crew) and the other one required the door frame to be cut to fit it flush to the wall. • He measured the granite himself rather than having the granite company come do it and it led to misaligned granite slabs on the bathtub which he had to cut himself, leaving a rough unfinished edge. The overhang on countertops differs from one vanity to the other. • The shower floor is so uneven that the tile contractor we brought in is completely tearing it up and starting over. • The accent tile in the shower is uneven, has broken tiles and is over-grouted in several places. • The shower soap boxes he put in, after convincing us it was a better option than corner shelves are so poorly built that they slope inwards to allow for water to collect and remain in the soap box rather than drain out. • Shower plumbing installed is not operable. A professional plumber has assessed the situation and determined that the diverter mechanism was installed sideways, the wrong trim kit was purchased and the diverter will only allow for 2 out of 3 functions for which it was intended. In order to repair these issues, the plumber is going to have to cut open a wall from behind the shower ( so we are going to need drywall repair when all is said and done). • Plumbing under sinks is sloppy – enormous holes punched in cabinetry to accommodate for misalignment. • Paint job is sloppy. Base boards nailed to wall and nail holes were left unfilled and painted over. After 6 weeks of work (from September 4 to October 15), even accounting for the delays in tile selection that could have been avoided had he ordered the tile upon receiving initial payment, this job was so poorly done, so incomplete and our confidence in ** so low and finally, to learn that he had defaulted on payment to at least two of the vendors, we had no choice but to terminate the contract. Since that time, as noted, we’ve been contacted by suppliers requesting payment that we gave to **.

Desired Settlement: Per the contract, we still owed $395 for the job (not including an additional $1700 which ** verbally told us we owed to him for overages on tile and plumbing fixtures-we never saw this in writing). Also in the contract is a $250 penalty fee owed to us from ** and CHI for every day past 3 weeks. We allowed 5 additional days to ** for the tile hold up. With this in mind, as of October 15, 2013, the job was 16 days overdue. Therefore, we are owed $3,355. If ** can provide documentation for the additional $1700, we will reduce the amount due to us to $1,655. And, of course, we expect that the money we paid to ** be used to pay the vendors used for all the materials this project. This is our primary concern.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reference: Invoice # *******, dated July 14, 2013 and Contract dated July 18, 2013 **. ****** did not fulfill the agreements made in our contract to complete remodeling work in our home intended to update a shower/bathroom and turn an adjoining area into a laundry room. He was paid $6,000.00 on July 15, 2013 via check **** and paid $3,500.00 on July 25, 2013 via check **** for a total of $9,500.00. Both checks have cleared. He accepted the payments under the condition he would complete the first increment of the work to remodel the bathroom and prepare the adjoin space within in five business days. As of today's date of October 7, 2013, we are well past the final due date. He has take a considerable amount of money from us and the small amount of work he completed (principally demolition) has made the bathroom and adjoining storage area completely unusable as the toilet, sink and flooring (for both areas) have been removed along with the tiles in the shower. In addition, after the demolition work, much of the refuse was left on the floor for weeks until my wife cleaned it up. Finally, **. ****** has not contacted or attempted to contact us to make good on his agreements, nor has he responded to my texts or phone messages or answered any of our phone calls since before August 11, 2013.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund so we can find a contractor to complete the work as we have not had the use of the upstairs bathroom since mid-July.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Creation Home Improvement
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)