BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Contech Pro LLC

Phone: (301) 370-7336 11830 Marmary Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878 http://www.asphaltpavingmd.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company provides design and planning services for residential and commercial development.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Contech Pro LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 20, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2003 in MD Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated: 09/20/2006 in MD
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license/pe
Phone Number: 410-230-6001
The license number is 124453.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sam Abuobaid, Member/Manager Mr. Sadi Abuobaida, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Abuobaid, Member/Manager
Principal: Mr. Sadi Abuobaida, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Paving Contractors Asphalt


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11830 Marmary Rd

    Gaithersburg, MD 20878 (301) 370-7336

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sold and installed hardwood flooring in an improper application. Failed to advise of possible buckling because of installation on top of concrete subfloor. Has refused requests to repair floor or refund money.

Desired Settlement: Undamamaged, aesthetically pleasing floor

Business Response:

Dear better business bureau personal

We have installed this hardwood flooring for this client long time ago almost 6 1/2 years ago, as of 2007 , she was asked at the time if her basement has any water or moister problems , but she indicated to us that she doesn’t have any of that, so we told her the best application for basement is ceramic flooring if there is any issue with water, but she told us that she just wanted hardwood flooring to match the upstairs hard wood because she is turning the basement to be a bedroom, and does not want ceramic because it is cold in the winter.

few months latter she called us and told me she has problem with the hard wood, so i went there and discovered that she had a major leak from here toilet and the plumber was working on it to fix it.

so even though we took out the damaged part of the hard wood and repaired it for here for free.

We never heard back from the client about any issues since then until 2 week ago ( 6 ½ years later).

now she tells me that she had the humidifier up all the way for couple of days and she started to see the hard wood coming out after almost 7 years of installation, we only gave here one year warrantee just like any builder or constriction company, the client should have known better about how to protect her investment, and we believe that if the floor can survive this long it can survive long time if it was taking good care of and fallow our instruction properly.

The floor was hardwood glue on, it was installed by professional with the write glue material, and that is the only way to glue to cement slab, however if she had a water issue from her toilet , underground, or high moisture the wood will expand and buckle and brake any glue.

Sorry we will not be responsible for any damages after the warrantee has expired specially when other factors like moister and water problem is in existence.

Regards

ConTech Pro

***

************

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: *** never recommended tile.  He assured us hardwood could be successfully installed.  His facts are simply  incorrect.  And about this latest problem,  the central air went out and without its dehumidifying effects, the floor began to ripple within three days and was buckled in 7 different areas.  We believe the floor was improperly installed with no room allowed for expansion and that a glue down application was a poor choice of application in our situation. We should have been given a recommendation for a "floating" installation.  We feel that it was incumbent upon the "professional" in this instance to provide the proper recommendation.
We did have a toilet leak and *** did repair that, although not for free.  We never expected him to do so.  


*** seems to feel that we should have known what to ask for.  We feel that as a flooring professional, he should have given us better advice, followed best practices  and now, he should be willing to stand behind his work and make the repairs at his expense.  We do not feel it inappropriate to expect a hardwood floor to last longer than 7 years!

Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: ***. ***** is not being truthfully about this subject, it is may be because it had been a long time and she maybe forget all the facts.every thing we mentioned on our previous respond is true and correct, as you can see she is asking that we should suggested another option for her such as floating floor, and she was told that any lumber material with any water or or moister material will not work, whether it is on plywood or glued on, with water or moister.bottom line, ***. ***** had her mind set up for what she wanted to install, we are service providers, we where asked to give an estimate on installing a hardwood on concrete slab, we fallow themanufacture recommendation and we asked ***. ***** if she had any moisture in her basement and she said to us no, she was told any water or moister will destroy her floor and she said she understood, when she had the leak in her bathroom she tried to blame that on our installation, but we had to show here that it was from the toilet leak, and we took care of that even though it was not our fault.7 years latter she is complaining about the floor, if the installation was bad, it will not last 2 years, but this indicates that she had the humidifier turned all the way up as she told me by phone,or another toilet leak that could seep under the hardwood without her knowing, and now she says the aircondition was down.Summery:We provide services as we asked, we advice the client as a courtesy but not an obligation, it is the client responsibility to do a search and find what works for them.we gave here one year warrant the warrant had been expired for the past 5 years,we treat our client very fairly if we believe this is our fault we will be happy to see what we can do to help out.But as we explained previously the warranty had experience and we where told the humidifier was up for three days and that's when she noticed the problem after 7 years.We feel bad this happened to our client but we don't believe this has to do with our performance or quality, we don't make the materials we just fallow the instruction of the manufacturerecommendation, and we did just that.   
 
Regards,

*** ***** (Project Manager)
ConTechProLLC
Tel***** *** * ****
Fax ***** *** * ****
e-mail: ***********************
Web:www.asphaltpavingmd.com

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
It is patently ridiculous!  I want to be sure that no one else has a similar experience with this contractor and that this complaint stays on his record.

Regards,

****** *****








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1