BBB Accredited Business since

Contech Pro LLC

Phone: (301) 370-7336 11830 Marmary Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878 http://www.asphaltpavingmd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company provides design and planning services for residential and commercial development.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Contech Pro LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Contech Pro LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Contech Pro LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 20, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2003 in MD Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/20/2006 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 124453.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sam Abuobaid, Member/Manager Mr. Sadi Abuobaida, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Abuobaid, Member/Manager
Principal: Mr. Sadi Abuobaida, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Paving Contractors Seal Coating Sealing - Pavement Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Asphalt Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Concrete Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 11830 Marmary Rd

    Gaithersburg, MD 20878 (301) 370-7336

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sold and installed hardwood flooring in an improper application. Failed to advise of possible buckling because of installation on top of concrete subfloor. Has refused requests to repair floor or refund money.

Desired Settlement: Undamamaged, aesthetically pleasing floor

Business Response:

Dear better business bureau personal

We have installed this hardwood flooring for this client long time ago almost 6 1/2 years ago, as of 2007 , she was asked at the time if her basement has any water or moister problems , but she indicated to us that she doesn’t have any of that, so we told her the best application for basement is ceramic flooring if there is any issue with water, but she told us that she just wanted hardwood flooring to match the upstairs hard wood because she is turning the basement to be a bedroom, and does not want ceramic because it is cold in the winter.

few months latter she called us and told me she has problem with the hard wood, so i went there and discovered that she had a major leak from here toilet and the plumber was working on it to fix it.

so even though we took out the damaged part of the hard wood and repaired it for here for free.

We never heard back from the client about any issues since then until 2 week ago ( 6 ½ years later).

now she tells me that she had the humidifier up all the way for couple of days and she started to see the hard wood coming out after almost 7 years of installation, we only gave here one year warrantee just like any builder or constriction company, the client should have known better about how to protect her investment, and we believe that if the floor can survive this long it can survive long time if it was taking good care of and fallow our instruction properly.

The floor was hardwood glue on, it was installed by professional with the write glue material, and that is the only way to glue to cement slab, however if she had a water issue from her toilet , underground, or high moisture the wood will expand and buckle and brake any glue.

Sorry we will not be responsible for any damages after the warrantee has expired specially when other factors like moister and water problem is in existence.

Regards

ConTech Pro

***

************

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: *** never recommended tile.  He assured us hardwood could be successfully installed.  His facts are simply  incorrect.  And about this latest problem,  the central air went out and without its dehumidifying effects, the floor began to ripple within three days and was buckled in 7 different areas.  We believe the floor was improperly installed with no room allowed for expansion and that a glue down application was a poor choice of application in our situation. We should have been given a recommendation for a "floating" installation.  We feel that it was incumbent upon the "professional" in this instance to provide the proper recommendation.
We did have a toilet leak and *** did repair that, although not for free.  We never expected him to do so.  


*** seems to feel that we should have known what to ask for.  We feel that as a flooring professional, he should have given us better advice, followed best practices  and now, he should be willing to stand behind his work and make the repairs at his expense.  We do not feel it inappropriate to expect a hardwood floor to last longer than 7 years!

Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: ***. ***** is not being truthfully about this subject, it is may be because it had been a long time and she maybe forget all the facts.every thing we mentioned on our previous respond is true and correct, as you can see she is asking that we should suggested another option for her such as floating floor, and she was told that any lumber material with any water or or moister material will not work, whether it is on plywood or glued on, with water or moister.bottom line, ***. ***** had her mind set up for what she wanted to install, we are service providers, we where asked to give an estimate on installing a hardwood on concrete slab, we fallow themanufacture recommendation and we asked ***. ***** if she had any moisture in her basement and she said to us no, she was told any water or moister will destroy her floor and she said she understood, when she had the leak in her bathroom she tried to blame that on our installation, but we had to show here that it was from the toilet leak, and we took care of that even though it was not our fault.7 years latter she is complaining about the floor, if the installation was bad, it will not last 2 years, but this indicates that she had the humidifier turned all the way up as she told me by phone,or another toilet leak that could seep under the hardwood without her knowing, and now she says the aircondition was down.Summery:We provide services as we asked, we advice the client as a courtesy but not an obligation, it is the client responsibility to do a search and find what works for them.we gave here one year warrant the warrant had been expired for the past 5 years,we treat our client very fairly if we believe this is our fault we will be happy to see what we can do to help out.But as we explained previously the warranty had experience and we where told the humidifier was up for three days and that's when she noticed the problem after 7 years.We feel bad this happened to our client but we don't believe this has to do with our performance or quality, we don't make the materials we just fallow the instruction of the manufacturerecommendation, and we did just that.   
 
Regards,

*** ***** (Project Manager)
ConTechProLLC
Tel***** *** * ****
Fax ***** *** * ****
e-mail: ***********************
Web:www.asphaltpavingmd.com

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
It is patently ridiculous!  I want to be sure that no one else has a similar experience with this contractor and that this complaint stays on his record.

Regards,

****** *****








8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service