BBB Accredited Business since

Welbilt Homes, Inc.

Phone: (610) 916-2020 Fax: (610) 916-6060 15 Orchard Ln, Leesport, PA 19533 http://www.welbilthomes.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Welbilt Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Welbilt Homes, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Welbilt Homes, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 22, 1991 Business started: 10/01/1991 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA002497.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Reinert, President Ms. Fran Reinert, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Reinert, President
Business Category

Home Builders


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We learned of this company through their website. That site intentionally misleads the consumer with regard to construction costs involved in building a new home resulting in a bait & switch situation. Furthermore, the owner and staff repeatedly made verbal representations to us regarding the cost savings of doing business with them. The original written price estimate that they provided induced us to purchase a piece of raw land for a price that we could afford based on these assurances. Subsequently (after our purchase of the land was finalized), they raised the price estimates so that the new cost quotes exceeded the amount that we budgeted based on their original representations. When we disputed the increasing costs, the owner became defensive and relayed falsified information to us in defense of their failure to disclose certain "hidden" costs not identified on the website, nor in any of the numerous verbal representations. Finally, the owner subsequently contacted us for the sole purpose of verbally harassing us further despite her final statement that she had authored a writing permanently dismissing us as a client prior to making the call. By dismissing us as a client, this company has left us with a piece of land for which we may not find another builder in time and/or for an equivalent price.

Desired Settlement: We would like an apology from the owner for her verbal harassment. We also would like to see the website changed to comply with FCC regulations regarding fair and truthful advertising, especially with regard to the misleading pricing. Finally, we wish to have them honor their original quote for building our home.

Business Response:

Dear **. *********,

The recitation of facts is incomplete and inaccurate. The complainants’ recollection of the sequence of phone calls is also inaccurate.

At no time did Welbilt Homes require that the complainants purchase any particular lot. Welbilt Homes was asked if it was feasible to build a particular house on the lot in question.

During the course of discussions of numerous changes, it became clear to Welbilt Homes that it would not be possible to complete a building to the satisfaction of the complainants under any circumstances.

Therefore, and because there was no agreement in place, Welbilt Homes decided to terminate the ongoing conversations.

Respectfully submitted,

******* ** *******

Vice President

Welbilt Homes Inc.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The response contains clever language (undoubtedly written by an attorney) most likely designed to mislead the BBB.  Our recitation of the facts was a clear, concise and accurate summary of five (5) months of working with this business.

This company did not require us to purchase a particular lot; however, they did require us to purchase a lot and they induced us to purchase this particular lot with their false and misleading representations about the cost of building a home upon the lot.

The statement regarding "numerous changes" clearly is designed to portray us as unreasonable customers who could not be satisfied.  To the contrary, once we purchased the property and this company began to quote additional charges and increased costs, we immediately made every effort to reduce the square footage of the home in an attempt to lower the costs back down to those which were quoted to us originally and prior to our purchase of the property.  However, in true bait and switch fashion, each attempt to reduce the size of the home resulted in higher costs and newly identified "hidden" charges that clearly should have been represented to us prior to our purchase of the lot.  Additionally, when we questioned the respondent about this perplexing trend, her responses were evasive, defensive and deceitful.  Subsequent to that telephone conversation, she indicated that she composed an email attempting to terminate the relationship.  However, she contacted us via telephone again and we felt threatened and abused by her further harassing and unnecessary statements after which she abruptly severed the connection.

We have quite a few emails and phone records evidencing our claims about the clever and repeated solicitation of our business with deceptive statements and "guarantees."  In addition, the company website contains misleading information that effectively entices consumers to enter into price and other negotiations with this company and to follow a course of action in detrimental reliance upon their representations.  All of these inappropriate business practices inevitably result in consumers suffering monetary and other damages with ineffective recourse.

In conclusion, despite its attempts to deny the inappropriate business practices, this business clearly engages in activities that result in unfair trade.  They solicit customers with ambiguous representations that induce consumers to choose their company over that of competitors who outline costs fairly, accurately and candidly.


Regards,

***** * ******** *******

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service