BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Home Builders Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (570) 839-9700 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 183, Mount Pocono, PA 18344 http://www.precisionhomespa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a residential new home builder. They build entry-level, move-up, vacation & retirement homes in the Pocono Mountains of Northeast PA..


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Home Builders Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Home Builders Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Home Builders Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1987 Business started: 04/01/1984 in PA Business started locally: 04/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA-076076.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Gelatt, Jr., President Mr. Jeffrey Edwards, Advertising
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Gelatt, Jr., President
Business Category

Home Builders


Additional Locations

  • 436 Sterling Rd
    2 1/2 Miles N Of Rt 940 On Rt 196

    Tobyhanna, PA 18466

  • PO Box 183

    Mount Pocono, PA 18344

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our new home, built by Precision, in March 2013. It is now 16 months later and we are still waiting for issues with our house to be resolved. After trying to get these issues resolved, we wrote Precision an email in July 2013 clearly stating everything that needed to be fixed with our house. Precision has corrected some of the issue already, but these corrections did take many phone calls, emails and text messages to get them here to resolve these issues. The below issues have already been communicated to Dave G***** and/or Eric G***** and still need to be resolved, but Precision is no longer returning our phone calls/emails/texts or reaching out to us on their own to resolve these issues. While our home was being built, the building manager left the company about half way thru the process. We feel that Precision being short staffed for half of the process, is the cause of many of the issues with our home, as these issues did arise during the finishing stages of building our house. Workers joked with us, saying now that Rob, the building manager, wasn’t watching every step they made, they can relax. We didn’t think anything of it at the time, but now we do see the consequences of him leaving. Below are the issues we are still waiting to be resolved by Precision: 1. Paint - The biggest issue with our home, is the paint job that was done. We paid extra money to have the painter, hired by Precision, paint our walls with color paint. The painter got paint everywhere! Windows, upgraded moldings, wood floors, staircase, door hinges/equipment, wire shelving/brackets. Also, flat paint was used. We chose flat paint because we were told that it would touch up well when Precision came back after 1 year to fix any issues that occurred with the house settling. This is not the case. None of the paint used touches up well and before we even moved into the house, Precision and workers touched up spots that can be seen. For example, we have a high foyer ceiling with a plant shelf and window. When the sun shines in the window, you can see all of the touch ups done on our wall going up the stairway. Precision, via phone and email, has agreed to reimburse us $1811.00 paid for the upgrade to the paint, since we will need to do a lot of clean up and repainting. We have not yet seen this $1811.00 refund even though we have made it clear that we are willing to accept this refund for anything that we ourselves can clean up and repaint , or at least easily hire a painter to repaint. Precision will not refund us this money until we come to an agreement about the damage done to our wood floors. Please see #2 for issue with Wood Floors. 2. Wood Floors - We put wood floors in our entire home, except for our bathrooms. The wood was installed unfinished while the painter was painting and the painter got a TON of paint on our wood floors. The floors were then sanded down and finished with a polyurethane coating, but the paint spots were never removed from the wood floors prior to them being finished. We have been left with wood floors that have paint spots on them. In addition to hundreds of specks of paint, there are also many spots that are 1-2 inches big. The biggest spot we measured is 10 inches big. The only way to repair our wood floors would be to either redo them or refinish them. We have asked Precision several times to let us talk with the company that installed the wood floors so that we can discuss what our options are for correction of the issue. Precision has refused to schedule a meeting for us and they have also refused to release the name of the company that installed the floors. We did not pay over $12,000.00 for wood floors with paint spots. We expect the issue to either be corrected or we expect reimbursement for the damaged floors. In addition to the paint spots on our floors, there are also some imperfections in the wood that should have been corrected prior to the floors being finished. Also, there is a gap in the wood on one of our steps that needs to be corrected. Lastly, our floors have started creaking and we would like them looked at to determine if they can be fixed. 3. Stone - We paid an upgrade fee of $7145.00 to have stone installed on the front of our house and on our fireplace in our living room. The job done was very sloppy. We could not get Precision to help us resolve the issue with our stone work. We had to call the corporate number for the stone company, to get the issue resolved. We sent pictures of the work done and the stone company quickly agreed to redo all our of stone work. They were appalled by the job done and assured us that it was not done properly. Since Precision was not willing to help resolve the issues with the stone work, we do not feel that they should have profited in anyway from the stonework on our home. If they took a cut in the amount we paid for the stone, we feel that should be refunded to us. 4. Moldings - We paid $1100.00 to upgrade our interior base board moldings. The painter dripped paint on them, leaving them looking aged and many of them are yellowed due to polyurethane being brushed on them when the wood floors were being finished. 5. Garage Door Trim - Prior to moving in to our house, the trim around one of our garage doors was dented. Precision advised us back in the winter that they have the replacement piece for it, but have not yet contacted us to schedule the repair. 6. Shelving Refund - A refund of $100.00 for shelving in our master closet that was upgraded, but never installed. 7. ******* Tub - The ******* tub installed in our master bathroom was installed with a round nickel size crack in it that was never brought to our attention. It was puttied over by workers. We have requested that this also be fixed and are not too happy that a damaged tub was installed in our home. 8. Pocket Door Locks - Double Pocket doors were installed in our home and we paid extra to have them lock. The locks installed do not work. 9. Exterior Moldings - Exterior Moldings on the front of our home were damaged when the stone company replaced the stone work. There is also molding around our front door that needs to be removed so that the stone company can come back and finish replacing stone in one corner. This molding would need to be removed by Precision and then later replaced by Precision. The stone company told us to have Precision replace/fix the moldings and Precision could charge it back to the stone company. 10. 1 Year Repairs: March 9, 2014 was our one year anniversary in our new home. Precision has not reached out to us for the normal one year review and repairs. We have reached out to them to try and initiate it, but have not received a response. We have tried waiting patiently over the past 16 months, as we did not want to have any negative effect on Precision’s BBB rating, but we feel 16 months is long enough to wait. We have contacted them several times each month since March 2013, trying to resolve these issues. At this point we feel ignored and brushed aside by Precision and realized that we need help from BBB to resolve these issues with our house. We are very fortune to be able to build a new home for our family. Waiting a over a year for these issues to be resolved, really dampens the new home experience. Since we are still waiting on resolving the paint and wood floor issues, this has hindered us from buying new furniture and decorating our house. We feel very embarrassed to have people come see our new home. Precision offers $50 if we allow perspective customers to tour our home and $1000 if we refer new clients. As much as this money would help us make some of these repairs, we cannot and will not recommend Precision to others because of the unfavorable experience we have had with Precision. These issues should have never occurred and most definitely should have never taken this long to correct We ask for help from the BBB to finally resolve these issues, so we can begin to enjoy our new home. Thank you, **** & ****** **** *** ***** ***** Eynon, PA ***** ###-###-#### *****************

Desired Settlement: Repair and/or Refund us for damage done to our home.

Business Response:

7/21/2014

Response to customer complaint Re: **** and ****** ****

Item #1 Paint – We have agreed the painter did a less than perfect job and have offered the refund as stated in complaint $1811.00 less $775.00 paid to our excavator for extra work done directly for the ****’s.

Item #2 Wood Floors – The complaint we were aware of was paint splatters and was to be included in above refund. These splatters, as has been explained, are within the Performance Guidelines as published by the National Association of Home Builders, which states: Paint splatters shall not be readily visible on walls, woodwork, floors, or other interior surfaces when viewed from a distance of 6 feet under normal lighting conditions. As for gaps again guidelines are gaps over 1/8” at time of installation will be corrected. Fluctuation between gaps between boards can be expected with changes in relative humidity. A squeak-proof floor cannot be guaranteed.

Item #3 The customer contacted the stone company directly and got the result they were looking for, or so we have been told. There is no refund available.

Item #4 moldings – We are back to the paint settlement.

Item #5 Garage Door Trim – Yes the trim was dented and needs to be replaced.

Item #6 Shelving Refund – Will be added to amount in Item #1.

Item #7 There is a chip in the edge of the whirlpool that was caulked over. We do not know when or how it happened, but as it is along a caulk line we believe this is the best solution.

Item #8 Pocket Door Locks – The locks do work, however can be shook open. The locks are installed as designed.

Item #9 Exterior Mouldings – These items were after the home was complete and we have not seen, therefore we have no answer at this time.

Item # 10  1 Year – We have not received a 1 year “punch list” but will address items as covered by the warranty. We normally ask customers to send us a list just prior to the 1 year anniversary.

Dave G*****,                                                                                                                                                              President                                                                                                                                                                       

Precision Homes

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
Item #1 – Paint: We agree that the painter did an unprofessional job. The $1811 offered to us will be accepted only to pay for our home to be repainted. As far as the $775 excavator fees, we have never received a bill from Precision, so we are not sure why they are trying to bill us for it a year later.

Item #2 - Wood Floors: We have spoken with Dave in the past and have not agreed that the $1811 refund will cover the cost of damage to our wood floors. We have also sent pictures and tried explaining to Dave, that the paint on the floors are not splatters. They are visible as outlined above and are larger then Dave is suggesting. They are also underneath the varnish, therefore we cannot clean these spots without professional help. He has never responded to any pictures sent. These pictures can be sent again upon request. We have asked Dave many times to speak with the company that installed our wood floors to see what it would entail to repair them, but he refuses to give us their name/number or set an appointment for us. Last time we spoke with Dave, he assured us that he would send his son Eric to look at the gaps in the floors and the squeaking to see if it is something that can be fixed. We have not heard from Dave or any member of Precision Homes since that conversation in March 2014.

We would either like Precision to fix these issues, or refund us money so that we can fix them on our own. One suggestion we have, depending on the additional damage that may result, is to replace the hardwood floors in our kitchen, eating area, pantry, foyer and laundry room with tile. This will remove a great deal of damaged wood and also breakup the continuous wood on our main floor, allowing easier refinishing of our living room, dinning room and office.

Item #3 - Stone: We had to deal with the stone company directly because we did not get any help from Precision when it came to requesting correction of the poor job done. We paid for Precision to coordinate all services for our home. Since they were not willing to see this job through until it was done correctly, we do not feel that they should profit and we still ask for a refund toward the stone work. Why should Precision get paid to coordinate services, if they did not do the job?

Item #4 - Moldings: The $1811 noted in item #1 was the amount we paid to have our house painted with colors. The amount did not include the cost to paint the moldings. In addition to the moldings needed to be painted again, they will first have to be sanded down. This will be costly since it will require additional labor.

Item #5 - Garage Door Trim: Agreed, this needs to be replaced. Not sure why we haven't heard from Precision since March. We are waiting for Precision to schedule this replacement with us since we were told they have had the replacement piece since February. Please advise date and time Precision will replace.

Item #6 - Shelving Refund: Agreed, an additional $100 is owed to us.

Item #7 – Chip in Tub: Dave has already seen this chip in July 2013, when he did advise that it can be fixed. It exceeds the height of a normal grout line. We either would like it fixed or we would like to be refunded money, since a damaged tub was installed without our consent.

Item #8 - Pocket Door Locks: The locks on the double pocket doors do not lock. The setup given, barely latches and will never actually lock the doors together. The locks installed are meant to lock a single pocket door. Our single pocket door does lock correctly. We did pay additional money to have locks added to our double pocket doors. This issue either needs to be corrected or we need to be refunded.

Item #9 - Exterior Moldings: This issue has already been discussed with Eric when he was at our home. He has seen the damage. We have also called Precision several times to discuss. The Stone Company would like Precision to repair/replace the damaged pieces and then charge it back to them. If Precision had answered any of our calls or returned any of our calls, then they would be more aware of the situation.

Item # 10 - 1 Year: Again, if Precision had called us back, or followed thru with repairs needed to our home since move in, we would have known that they require a punch list. We remember being told that Precision would call us to set up an appointment at the 1 year mark. Maybe this changed with Rob leaving the company and no one told us? Not sure. Please advise us who this punch list should be sent to and how long it will take to get a response back. Please also understand, that the list of repairs given to Precision in July 2013 is still not complete. We highly doubt sending an additional “punch list” would have gotten us service.

***Some items that we would like to include in our punch list, in addition to items still remaining since move in, include:

-Squeaky Wood Floors (mentioned to Precision just prior to the 1 year mark)

-Separation of Wood Floors 

-Separation of base board moldings (this was mentioned to Precision right at move in and we were told it would be repaired at the 1 year mark)

-Crack in basement floor

***Our estimated cost for items in our house that were damaged include (not including everything listed above, such as tub, pocket door locks, etc.):

$11,000.00 on wood floors 

$100.00 for shelf not installed 

$1811.00 for upgraded paint 

$2200.00 for upgraded molding

$7145.00 for Stone Work

We are insulted that Precision has not been in contact since March, when they still have a list of repairs needed, that was emailed to owner Dave in July 2013. Precision's answers to our BBB compliant are short and they are not taking responsibility for their lack of professionalism. Due to the amount of money we spend on the damaged items, we cannot accept an offer of only $1911 from Precision. We respectfully request they reconsider and make us a reasonable offer.


Regards,

**** ****








Business Response: Hello ******,

Our response remains the same as previously submitted with the following change: We will refund the entire $1911.00 and forget about the $775.00 paid to the excavator on their behalf. This refund is for all paint related issues including the floor.
Note: **** is aware of the $775.00 paid to our excavator for the rockhound.
Thanks,
Dave

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The business issued a check for $5,000.  

Regards,

**** ****

10/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday October 26, 2013 we gave Jim G***** of Precision Homes a check made payable to Precision Homes in the amount of $1500 that was subsequently cashed on Monday November 4, 2013. Jim detailed/explained the amount included $375 for septic test, $375 for perc test, $375 for septic design, and $375 for township fees. The septic test and perc test were completed on November 6, 2013 and November 13, 2013 though not precisely located as directed by us and indicated by Precision Homes. The township has not received any money from Precision Homes. Precision Homes was sent an email with a letter attachment on August 14, 2014 and on August 17, 2014. This same letter was mailed with certificate of mailing via USPS to Precision Homes on August 18, 2014. This letter states all of the above and asks for the balance of funds to be returned to us by September 1, 2014. There has been no contact/resolution attempt from Precision Homes.

Desired Settlement: A valid refund sent to us of monies paid to Precision Homes for contracted items not performed in the amount of $750 comprised of $375 for septic design (never completed) and $375 for **** ***** township fees (never provided to **** ***** township).

Business Response: ******,
I am out of the office this month but regarding *** ******t's comp!ain't. The septic testing was completed and township fees were paid by people we paid to do the testing.
Thanks

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 1. A septic design as paid for by us was never completed/provided to us.    2.  According to **** ***** Township officials, the township has not received any monies paid to them on our behalf or on behalf of Precision Homes pertaining to our property.  3. Our monies were paid to Precision Homes, not to subcontractors who may have failed in their responsibilities  The ultimate reponsiblity is that of Precision Homes.  Invalid excuses will not be accepted or tolerated!

Thank you and Regards,

***** ******* *******








Business Response: Yes I have the complete septic design including test results as well as a canceled check to **** ***** Township.
***** can have them all he has to do is ask.
Thanks, Dave

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I are building a new home that we contracted Precision Homes of *** ****** to do for us, however from the beginning there were always some kind of delays. First it was clearing the lot and the removal of the wood chips that I moved most of them myself. Then the tub in the master bedroom was not installed properly and it sat that way for at least four weeks until they got tired of hearing me complain about it.. In the main bath the tub/shower was so small a normal person could not fit in it, I had them replace it. There was no heat in the main bath, they had to come back in and install . The house came with air and heat in the basement however that did not happen. So the heating people had to come back again. Next was the foundation , it cracked, they tried to repair it not to my liking, then water in the basement and now there are two cracks in the floor, I told the builder that I wanted them fixed but he just looked at me funny. I paid extra money to have the garage celling insolated about five weeks ago, the check was cashed but no insolation .The sub floors are too moist to put in the hard wood floors because of the moisture in the basement. This has been going on for a month and a half to two months. The list goes on and on. We were told that it world only take them 4 months to complete so we said okay take your time because we don't want to move in until June but this is not even half done.

Desired Settlement: I want them to finish the job and correct the things that need to be corrected in a timely manner and stop making excuses why they are not working to get this done. We have paid more than 2/3 of the cost

Business Response: We realize and agree it has taken longer than expected to complete this job, but everything was done with the integrity of the final product in mind

Sincerely,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Home Builders Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)