BBB Accredited Business since

Nadu Construction Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 394-6621 Fax: (717) 394-6729 2760 Charlestown Road, Lancaster, PA 17603 http://www.lancasterhomebuilders.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers DESIGNS/FULL SERVICE BUILDER.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nadu Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nadu Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nadu Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 22, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1982 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA098730.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Nadu, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Nadu, President
Business Category

Home Builders Construction & Remodeling Services Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Lancaster Home Builders

Additional Locations

  • 1730 Columbia Ave

    Lancaster, PA 17603

  • 2760 Charlestown Road

    Lancaster, PA 17603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I bought a brand new house built by "Nadu Construction/********* Home Builders" in Feburary 2014. The home was brand new and we have had nothing but problems since we moved in. We were aware the lot in which our home was built on was an old "bottle dump" but were told by ********* Builders (which is in our mortgage agreement) they would put at least 6 inches of top soil over our lot and make sure all glass is covered. After the builder came out to "finish" our yard, three months later, we are still picking out glass from our yard that is VISIABLY noticeable (breach of contract). I cannot walk around my yard in barefeet and continue to pick up LARGE chunks of glass on a daily basis. Second - we had several "cosmetic" issues with the dry wall not being finished and areas that needed re-spackled. When we contacted "Joseph N***" he said he would "send his guys out" to look at it. At 6 am in the morning - I recieved a phone call from the builder requesting that I leave our door unlocked as his "guys" were going to be pulling in "any minute" to repair our issues. Since we had already been waiting a month for them to come fix it, I made the mistake by allowing them to come into our house when we were not home. When I came home from work that day, the areas in which they "fixed" were not finished - if anything, they were worse and our driveway had trash on the ground from what I'm assuming was their lunches. They painted the areas with a completely different color paint then they initially painted on the walls and left large white areas of spackle throughout the house. When I called Joseph N*** - he told me this job wasn't finished and they needed to come back and finish. Two days later, again with no notice - "his guys" came to "finish". After I came home that day, I noticed there were several areas they hadn't touched - almost like they forgot about. Our shower head in the master bedroom was hanging from the wall and the spackle is still not sanded or re-painted to this day. I refused to call Joseph Nadu again about this problem as I did NOT want any of his "guys" inside my house again. Our water has been orange since we moved in. When first asking Joseph Nadu about this - he said "it will go away, its because it is a new system". After three months - our showers, dishwasher, clothes, sinks and toilets are stained bright orange/brown, my skin even has an orange tint from showering daily in my house. When we had the water tested - our iron level tested to be 10+. When this was brought to Joseph Nadu's attention - he said "his only responsibility is to make sure it is safe to drink and it is". Normal iron levels are to be <3 and our water is at 10+, how is that physically safe to drink?!! After we had our water tested again to see what kind of system we needed to clear the iron, we were told by the water company it would be $1,600 +. Beings that we have a 1 year warranty on the house, we asked Joseph N*** if this would be covered at all and he said "no because the water is safe to drink". A month ago, my fiance was standing outside with his family and noticed water leaking from the white pipe in the front yard while I was inside taking a shower. We called Joseph N*** and he said "he would send one of his guys out sometime that week". At the end of the week - I had heard nothing and call him back. His response was "oh, I sent my guy out earlier in the week and he fixed it, there was a leak in the pipe but it is all taken care of". He must have done this while I was at work because we had not seen anyone in our yard at all. That weekend, my fiance again was outside while the washing machine was running and the other pipe next to the house started pouring out water. When we called Mr. Nadu again about this - he said "we never told him about this issue before and he would look into it". The next day he had sent one of his guys out from "********* Sewer" to fix our issue. Again - as I was home alone, "Matt" came over and said he only needed 5 minutes to run a new connection from our basement out into the sewer system. After he left my fiance came home and noticed a golfball size hole drilled into our cement basement wall. We called Mr.Nadu and was unable to speak with him as he did not answer his phone. Two nights ago, we had turned on our central air (brand new unit) and set it at 70. Woke up in the morning and it was 83 in the house. When we called Joseph N*** about this problem because there was no sticker on the unit about who installed it, he said "he didn't remember who installed the central air system". Mr. N*** then told me he would call me back. After 2 hours, he never called back, my father-in-law came over to check it out and noticed all of the freon had leaked out because one of the bolts was never tightened. When we called Mr.N*** again about this - he said "the person who installed it is no longer in business and he would call one of his guys and get back to us". Again an hour later - we had not heard from him. At this point my fiance and I did not want anymore of "his guys" touching our house so we called Mr. Nadu back and asked him if we had a legit HVAC company come out THAT NIGHT to fix our unit, would he pay the bill. He then said, "no, I'll have one of my guys come out tonight to fix it, let me call you back". I then received a call from a "Josh" that states he "fixes air conditioners" and was asked by Mr. Nadu to check out our unit but could not come out until the end of this week. I called an HVAC company and was able to get someone out that night but did not feel like we should be paying for our BRAND NEW system to be filled with freon. When we tried to call Mr.Nadu back last night to inform him that waiting until the end of the week "for his guy" to come out, was not acceptable, he did not answer. My father-in-law and myself called several times and he continued to ignore our calls. After several left messages, we still have not heard from him today and he refuses to pay for anyone to come out any fix our BRAND NEW unit unless they are one of "his guys". We have a year warranty on the house and have yet to have anything fixed appropriately or sufficiently by any of "his guys" or himself. A friend who is in the HVAC business came over last night and said our unit was the worst put together unit he has ever seen. The AC unit is sitting on cut pieces of white PVC pipes, our warrenty covers things to be fixed and "his guys" do nothing but make things worse. My fiance and I don't want to ever have to deal with him again, but at the same time, he should be for a legitimate HVAC company to fix our unit, as well as a legitimate sewer company to come out and check our sewer system all covered the home warrenty and then we want nothing to do with him ever again. Please help us BBB!!

Desired Settlement: We want to be able to have a real company fix our problems and have ****** Nadu Construction/********* Home Builders pay for it, since we are still covered under our year warrenty. I'm afraid that he is going to continue to give us the run around and give us awful service and continue to "fix" things without really fixing them and by the time the warranty is up we'll be on our own to pay for all of the issues and problems HIS GUYS caused. Thanks you!

Business Response: YARD   We hauled in 10 loads of topsoil plus the original topsoil and spread over the yard then seeded and mulched  ,per  contract. DRYWALL  If color does not match or if repairs are not complete we will complete as needed and paint. WATER The water was tested and is safe to drink. Often times well water can be conditioned but is not needed for drinking.  SEWER The Township had a valve at the street turned off which caused the problem . It was turned on and ********* came out per Townships request to adjust/repair .  AIR CONDITION I got a call at aprox. 6:30 PM from customer that the air cond. was not working .I call **** ********** & left a message .**** **** called me back within 1 hour . He told me he would call the customer. **** told me he told them he would have someone to the house by 10 AM the next morning .They told him they would get back to him but did not. I then got a message from the Father in law he said that was not acceptable .I have not heard from them since . I will repair Any warranty  issues as I told them I would do.  I will also agree to pay $800.00 towards the water treatment system.      Hopefully this will resolve there concerns. Looking forward to resolving  this matter ASAP  Joe Nadu  ********* Home Builders                                                                                                               

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 10097473

I am rejecting this response because:

Yard: Absolutely no mulch was brought into our yard ever by the builder or anyone from his team - we paid for it and spread it ourselves. I can't respond to the "10 loads of dirt" because I was not home when these were delivered, but I do know that "10 loads" of dirt for a 1/2 + of acre yard was certainly not enought to spread 6" of top soil. Again, this "dirt" was fill dirt and was not top soil. As far as the seeding - that was done, but per the contract not "all visible glass was covered" and we picked up at least three 10 gallon buckets of glass ourselves, as well as full glass bottles. We had to buy and spread extra grass seed as many areas were not growing.

Sewer: This does not resolve the hole in our basement wall. I understand "*********" came in to resolve a leak but who is now liable for the hole in our basement wall? No one is taking responsibility for it and it needs to be taking care of since the last two storms we have had - our basement floor is now filled with water.

Air Conditioner: At 6:30 pm (approximately) I personally contacted Mr.Nadu and after I informed him of the issue and he told me "he didn't remember who put in the unit" and that he would call me back, I did not hear from him for about an hour untill I called him again. I then called Mr. Nadu again (since an hour passed and I did not hear from him) and my father-in-law (who I personally handed the phone too after Mr.Nadu was trying to again tell me he was still working on it) then informed Mr. Nadu he was able to get someone in here that night to fix it if he would pay for it. Mr.Nadu said "that's what he was trying to do and would call us back". About an hour later, I then recieved a phone call from "Josh" from **** ********** stating he was advised to call me. Josh stated he could come out and fix it but it wouldn't be until the afternoon the next day. I then informed Josh I would call him back after I spoke with the builder since he told me he would get someone in that night (there are MANY HVAC companies that work 24/7). If Mr. Nadu really cared about the owners, he could have had someone in our house within a few hours. After speaking with Josh, I then called Mr. Nadu again (at least twice) and he never answered. Within the hour, I was able to get an HVAC company (on my own to fix) the air conditioner.

Water: ***** ****** ***** in **********, PA has assessed the cost to be at least over $2,000. This is not including the cost of damage the water has done to our dishwasher, washer & dryer and showers, sinks and toilets. Mr. Nadu personally walked through our house with me and cringed at the site of our visably orange/brown water stating "i've never seen water that orange before - wow, you said it was orange, but now that I see it myself, its REALLY orange". I cannot wash ANY white clothes and have to take our whites to the laundry mat. Isn't that ridiculous since we have a brand new house and a brand new washer & dryer that we paid for? My skin is orange and my nails have orange around them.

Mr. Nadu - I feel that everytime I have called you, I am being brushed off or told "you will call me back". At this point, I no longer know which route to take - we have taken pictures of the hole and water in the basement (and attached them to this message for you to see yourself), the awful lead stains in each and everyone of our showers (picture also attached, as well as a picture of the filter that we installed ourself for short-term use - keep in mind the filter was JUST changed last weeked), our brand new washer & dryer, our brand new dish washer, the buckets filled of glass that we picked out of our yard, the shower head sticking out of the water (along with the spackle that was left around it - picture included) and the many "cracks" in the basement floor & walls and have set up meetings with law firms in the area next week to discuss our options. We do not want to take legal action, but I don't know how else to get out problems addressed in an honest way, as they may become even bigger problems.  

You have said in the past that your work hours do not correlate with my fiances work hours, which is why I have asked my father-in-law to talk to you, as I felt like I was being brushed off and ignored (and you are now refusing to even speak with him).  We paid alot of money for our house (which we love) but the more and more I am being pushed around feels as if we are getting taken advantage of. We have a 1-year warranty with you and after the last 3-4 disgraceful attempts of getting things fixed, we no longer have faith in our warranty and the truth behind it. All I am asking for beyond this response is the cost of the air conditioner bill (which had to be COMPLETELY filled with Freon on one of the hottest days of the summer so far), the $800 that you have already promised in your last response, as well as the rest of the cost of the water tank and the hole in the basement to be fixed correctly by an honest and legitimate professional.

We will (and already have) covered up the paint areas since they were quite obvious and embarrassing. We plan on taking care of the shower head that was left hanging out of the wall (spackled but not sanded down or painted), since we no longer want any of your workers in our house when we are not home and we have already mulched & picked up the glass in our yard.  


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: ***,

After further review and consideration and as a good-will gesture only, we will agree to pay the $1600 for the water conditioning system, the $299 for the air conditioning repair a total of $1899. We would like homeowners to contact us and schedule the basement hole repair if desired.

As ****** ******* *** and ******* ***** stated earlier they love their home and it seems this is their only concern.  In return for us paying the full price of the water conditioning system we would like a good-will statement from them stating we have addressed all of their concerns, and that there will be no further negative remarks against ********* Home Builders and/or myself.

Upon acceptance, in writing, of this proposal we will mail the check in the amount of $1899 within one week.

We hope this will close this matter and ****** and ******* will continue to enjoy their home.

To avoid any type of miscommunications in the future, additional warranty work requests should be sent in writing to ********* Home Builders, **** ******** ***, ********* PA ***** (per our written warranty book). Note: if you do not have your copy of the one year warranty book we would be happy to send you another copy.

Sincerely,
Joseph G Nadu Jr

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10097473, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We (******* ***** & ****** ******* **.) accept the offer to resolve this issue from Mr. Joseph Nadu of ********* Home Builders, stating that he will pay the $1,899.00 within one week of our accepted response dated 7/23/2014. We will also agree, at Mr. Nadu's request, that once we recieve the payment of $1,899.00 in full, this will resolve any of our negative issues of ********* Home Builders and/or Mr. Joseph Nadu.

I understand Mr.Nadu is doing this out of good will and it has helped me gain respect for him again as he is paying for our issues to resolve our complaints for his customer satisfaction. Mr. Nadu, I want to thank you for your resolution and I do genuinely love our house and as I stated before, I think the features that you added into our house (crown molding, arched door frames, etc) are beautiful. I apologize for the negative back-and-forth disagreements and I wish it would have never gotten this far. I appreciate you fixing our complaints and I hope we can continue on with a positive business relationship in the future. Once we put our new water system in place, our house will again be my perfect home. We promise to send any future concerns and/or issues by mail to your requested address and hope to work together with appropriate communication in the future if any issues in our home arise.

Please mail the check to our address (**** ********* ***** ***, PA *****) within the next week and again, I truly thank you for resolving this issue appropriately. I also want to thank the BBB for handling our concerns/issues.

Regards,

******* ***** & ****** ****** ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nadu Construction Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)