BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Keystone Custom Homes, Inc.

Phone: (717) 464-9060 Fax: (717) 735-2034 227 Granite Run Dr  Ste 100, Lancaster, PA 17601 http://www.keystonecustomhome.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 24, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Rutt, Owner Ms. Deirdre Kozma, Administrative Assistant Ms. Cindy Kreider, HR Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Rutt, Owner
Business Category

Home Builders


Additional Locations

  • 227 Granite Run Dr  Ste 100

    Lancaster, PA 17601

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service representative was changed between my settlement date and the 11 month warranty work timing. He did not follow through on completion of any of the work listed during the inspection except for TouchUp paint. My foundation had started to crack. Now 5 months later, there are even more cracks. I have made phone calls, sent letters to the home office with no response. Considering the interior slab in both the house and garage were cracking before settlement, I would say the concrete work is substandard. The framing of the house also began when the concrete was still wet.

Desired Settlement: To repair the foundation as well as to do Follow up on other 11 month ite** to complete the job. My house construction and completion was so under supervised by Keystone that I don't expect glaring cosmetic issues to ever get resolved.

Business Response: Dear **. *******:
 
          I am writing in response to the above complaint.  **. ******** settled for the purchase of her new home from Ridgewall, LLC on June 26, 2012.  Since that time, Keystone Custom Homes personnel have responded to various warranty claims by **. ********.  At the 11-month walk-through of the home with **. ********, Keystone personnel and **. ******** developed a punchlist of items to be addressed.  All items on the punchlist were completed, and **. ******** signed off on the work as having been completed on June 14, 2013.  Keystone’s service records and **. ********’s Customer Relations Manager indicate no contacts from **. ******** since June 26, 2013, when the last service on the home was performed. 
 
          At the time of the 11-month walk-through, a hairline foundation crack was discovered.  Hairline foundation cracks are a normal result of settling of a new home. Keystone new home warranty guidelines, developed with consideration of acceptable industry performance standards and applicable building codes, establishes objective standards for evaluating things such as foundation cracks to determine whether such ite** should be covered by the warranty.  The crack in question was not of sufficient size to be covered by the Keystone new home warranty.  Nevertheless, as an accommodation to **. ********, the crack was sealed by Keystone personnel at no expense to the homeowner.  No other cracks were noted at this service interval.
 
          Regarding the issue of framing, the home has been constructed in accordance with industry standards, the applicable building code, and local regulations.  The home was inspected by the local code enforcement officer/building inspector, and a Certificate of Use and Occupancy was issued. Keystone stands by its homes and its construction procedures; this home has been properly constructed.
 
          As an accommodation courtesy to **. ********, Keystone arrange for a representative to again visit the home and inspect any foundation issues.  Any issues found which are covered by Keystone’s new home warranty will be repaired.  Although **. ******** signed off on all repairs arising from the 11-month walk-through, any ite** that are deemed incomplete by **. ******** from the 11-month service interval punchlist will be reviewed; any items that are covered by the Keystone new home warranty will be addressed.
 
          Thank you for your consideration.

****** ** ******
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. ***
Fax: ###-###-#### 
rweaver@keystonecustomhome.com
 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

There are some definite mis-statements in the response from the business. And I surely don't want to agree that they, Keystone, are doing me some favors by re-visiting my 11 month inspection. The pre-settlement walkhrough, the 30 day punch list as well as the 11-month inspection ite** were all never completely addressed.

 For the 11-month inspection, I signed a list of items that were yet to be addressed. And I never received a copy of the the list. It was generated electronically so of course it could be modified. I had contacted the customer service manager assigned to me about some of these. Since I didn't receive responses, I sent a letter dated July 6, 2013 and had it tracked by USPS so I know it was received by Keystone. I attached those documents for your review. Other than touch-up paint, all they focussed on was the mis-positioned bracket and electrical box for my air conditioner compressor, which is probably in worse shape now than at the 11-month inspection.

For the entire construction project of my house, there was minimal Keystone oversight of the sub-contractors; they operate basically as a brokerage for sub-contractors. To allow a house to go to settlement where the plumbing system had not been tested (hot water line to kitchen sink was ruptured) and to deny such testing was skipped is unacceptable. What I had been hoping for our communications would be that Keystone Custom Homes would be less  likely to allow this to occur again because consumers would be aware of previous practices. Keystone definitely picks and chooses what they spend their time on construction and associated customer service.


Regards,

******* ********








Business Response: Dear **. *******:
 
I am writing in response to ***. ********’s response forwarded to us on November 6, 2013.  In her response, ***. ******** raises no additional concerns, but expresses general dissatisfaction with the response filed by Keystone.
 
As promised in Keystone’s response to ***. ********’s complaint, Keystone arranged for a representative to again visit the home and inspect any foundation issues and the issues on the 11-month punch list.  This visit took place on November 12.  This visit was followed up with an e-mail to ***. ******** the same day:
 
-----Original Message-----
From: ***** *******
To: *******
Sent: November 12, 2013 11:42 AM
Subject: Meeting Summary- **. ******** 11/12/13

**. ********

It was a pleasure meeting with you this morning. Please find below, a list of items that were still considered open from your previous punchlist over the last few months.

- Front and garage door locksets/catches need adjustment.
- Flush rear hose bib siding block and seal around to prevent air infiltration.
- Level AC/bracket
- Adjust AC disconnect. Drawn tight to siding causing buckling.
- Level/adjust master shower door to even up reveals at frame.
- Garage door photocell relocation, if feasible to prevent door from malfunctioning.
- Seal gap at slab and foundation wall at left side of garage.
- Sikaflex/seal foundation hairline cracks at both sides and rear of home.
- Powerwash/acid wash public walk and apron.
- Investigate if an upgraded weatherstrip is available for kitchen slider.

Items discussed that will be monitored.   As reviewed, the warranty standard for slab on grade cracks is, 1/4" in width or 3/16" vertical displacement.  Pictures will be sent for my review of cracks prior to the vinyl install.   Per our meeting today, there were no visible warrantable  cracks observed. Secondly, the gutter/splash guard system at the front roofline over leadwalk/porch will be monitored for performance after your upgraded gutters were installed.

Exterior items noted, that were installed per plan and approved by the county/town were the driveway/front yard, and rear swale where water is holding after heavier rains. A recommendation was made at the side yard to install a homeowner supplied small yard drain that would daylight to the rear yard /wood line to handle neighbors run off.

Please confirm the above is a complete comprehensive list of action items from our meeting today. Also, please provide me a day that you will be home 2-3 weeks out so we can schedule an action day to wrap everything up.  Thank you for your continued patience and we look to bring quick resolution to the open items.

Thanks and have a great day.

Respectfully
***** *******
 
***. ******** responded to *** ******* the same day with a series of possible dates in late November and early December when she is available.  Mr. Karotko will be following through. As previously indicated, items covered by Keystone’s new home warranty will be addressed, and items raised in the 11-month walk-through, but remaining uncompleted, will be resolved.
 
As always, it is Keystone’s goal to make its customers’ homebuilding experience a gratifying one, and Keystone will strive to meet the ********s’ expectations.
 
 
****** ** ******
*** ******* *** *********** ***
********** ** *****
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. ***
Fax: ###-###-#### 
******************************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution proposed is satisfactory to me. Of course this dependent on the work being successfully completed as described.  Thank you.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, Our complaint is about the hardwood flooring that is through out our 1st floor. There is paint/drywall dust that is permanently stuck between the boards and on the boards themselves. We tried to remove the paint dust ourselves, but the situation only was made worse by mopping or dusting because the dust only smears around the floor. We have been complaining to our builder representative about the floor since before we moved in, and we were told that "it would come up." We have also had Keystone's own cleaning company come twice to clean the floors, which again only results in a white layer of dust smeared around our hardwood. Our last attempt at getting this out of our floors was hiring a professional cleaning company to come in, and try to get the paint dust out of the boards by hand. They tried for 10 hours and were unsuccessful, as to which there professional comment was "the contractors Keystone used have ruined the hardwood floors." We paid a lot of money for the hardwood only to not be able to enjoy it and risk the chance of our child and us getting sick from the paint/drywall dust that can't be removed. My wife is also 37 weeks pregnant, and we do not want our infant crawling around on this paint dust and risk getting sick. We are filing a complaint to have the hardwood replaced by Keystone, and in a timely manner. Thank you

Desired Settlement: To have all hardwood replaced on the first floor.

Business Response: Dear **. *******,
 
We are responding to Complaint No. *******, filed by ***** ******.  Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. (“Keystone”) has been in ongoing discussions with **. and ***. ******, both prior to and since the filing of **. ******’s complaint (activity began on this matter the first week of July when the issue was first raised by the ******s), attempting to resolve the issue the ******s have with their floor.  It has been only 1 month and 6 days since the ******s settled for the purchase of their new home.  Various methods of solving the problem have been tried, without success to date.  Most recently, representatives of the flooring subcontractor visited the ****** home on August 12.  At that time, **. ****** raised another issue, again with the floor. 
 
The flooring subcontractor is presently exploring alternative solutions to the dust/paint problem and is consulting with the head of the company and, I believe, the manufacturer regarding the new issue.  Of course, Keystone intends to resolve the issues the ******s have with their flooring; Keystone will strive to provide the ******s with the quality home they expect.
 
Unfortunately, this is a new problem (as stated above, the ******s have been in the home less than 6 weeks, and resolving issues of the this magnitude routinely takes longer than that. In addition, the new issue was raised only 2 days ago).  We cannot report that the issue is resolved.  We can report that Keystone is doing all it can to resolve the situation, and **. ****** seemed satisfied with the progress on Monday, August 12, when the flooring sub-contractor representative visited the home. 
 
We will advise you as we continue to work to resolve this matter.
 
 
****** ** ******, Esquire
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. ***
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************

Business Response: I also have an update:
 
1.       ***** ** ***** Flooring sent a representative to the ******s’ home on August 12.  The representative discovered drywall dust/paint in the cracks between the floor boards.  It was also found that some of the finish on the boards is flaking/peeling off, probably due to the use of an incorrect type of cleaner on the board surface.  This may have been by the cleaners engaged by the ******s, as ***** ** ***** did not use any prohibited cleaners. 
 
2.       A Keystone representative spoke with ***. ****** on August 13; she indicated that ***** ** ***** was unable to clean the hardwood and that they had discovered a “film” on the floor which the technician was unable to remove. 
 
3.       The Keystone representative spoke with a ***** ** ***** representative on August 14 and was advised that whoever had attempted to clean the hardwood floor had damaged the finish.  She indicated that the finish on the entire floor is damaged.  We are awaiting receipt of photographs documenting the situation from ***** ** *****.
 
4.       The Keystone representative then tried on August 14 to reach the ******s by calling each of their cell phones twice; there was no answer.  The representative indicated that he suspected that ***. ****** was at the hospital delivering her baby.  He will follow up once he hears from the ******s.
 
If you have further questions, please advise.  Thank you for your consideration.
 
****** ** ******
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. *** 
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

There was no resolve to the complaint yet. I am attaching photos of the hardwood floor's so that you can see the obvious paint spots and dust that are all over the floors. You can also tell that the dust and spots that are on the surface of the floors that came up from the cracks are starting to scratch and ruin the floors more than they already are. It has been a month and a half since we moved in and made these problems known and they are still here. We have taken the best possible care of the hardwood using only the recommended hardwood cleaner and soap and water to try and get the paint dust up bust as you can tell from the pictures there is so much between the cracks it just keeps coming up and ruining the floors. Again we have used professional cleaners to try and get it up and can provide their name and number if needed as they have tried for hours using soap and water and a brush to get it up with no avail. They too have told us that the paint dust has ruined the hardwood floors. We just would like our floors to be in a brand new condition as we have paid for them to be when we settled and they have not been since we moved in.


Regards,

***** ******








Business Response: Dear **. *******,
 
We are responding to **. ******’s most recent response regarding Complaint No. *******.  Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. (“Keystone”) continues to work with the ******s to resolve their problem.  On August 20, the Customer Service Representative responsible for the ******s’ home visited the home to review the situation following the visit by ***** ** *****.  Although the ***** ** ***** representative expressed the opinion that the finish on the floor was damaged by someone utilizing improper cleaners on the floor, the Keystone CSR determined that the finish on the floor is not, in fact, peeling off.  Rather, it appears that whatever cleaning material was utilized on the floor left a clear film, which is now peeling off.  The CSR was able to remove this film from several boards with careful cleaning, and the finish on these boards is fine.
 
The CSR suggested that Keystone have the entire floor steam cleaned, and the ******s were agreeable, as long as the cleaning process does not involve chemical solvents.  Keystone will be going forward with this cleaning, which should remedy the “peeling” situation.
 
Keystone can then address the white material between the boards.  This material does not appear to be drywall compound, but paint, as it has a rubbery consistency.  It is yet to be determined whether this condition can be addressed without removal of the floor.
 
Keystone remains committed to “making this right” for the ******s.  We very much appreciate their patience with this process.  As noted below, I will be away for a period of time, but work will continue on the ****** situation in my absence.  We can report on progress upon my return.
 
I will note that I will be out of the office from August 23 through September 9.  Therefore, I will be unable to meet the 10-day deadline for responses to any inquiries which we receive prior to September 3.  We therefore respectfully request in advance an extension of any reply time to September 3 if the 10-day reply time expires prior to that date.  Thank you for your consideration in this.  
 
 
****** ** ******
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. ***
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
There has been no resolve to the case. We are still waiting for Keystone to make a decision on replacing the hardwood or not. It is still in the same condition as before. They are sending a cleaning unit over next tuesday now to see if steam cleaning it will help but at this point nothing has been resolved.


Regards,

***** ******








Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: *** ****** <***************************>
Date: Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 8:44 AM
Subject: ***** ******-Complaint No. *******
To: "******************" <******************>


Re:       ***** ****** 
          Complaint No. *******
 
Dear **. *******,
 
Regarding the above matter, Keystone representatives have continued to work with **. and **. ****** in an attempt to resolve this matter.  Keystone has had professional steam cleaners in the ****** home and has made every attempt to properly clean the floor.  We very much appreciate the ******s’ cooperation and patience through this.  It has been determined that the only remedy for the problem is replacement of the hardwood floor at Keystone’s expense. This floor replacement is being scheduled for October 23 or 24.
 
The replacement of this floor should resolve this matter.  It is out hope that the ******s will now have the floor in their dream home for which they planned.  As always, thank you for your consideration as we have worked through this situation. 
 
****** ** ******
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. ***
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have on several occasions attempted to contact Keystone Customer Service about cracking in the basement of our home constructed by this company. The warranty clearly states that any cracking that allows water to flow through and/or that is larger than 1/8 inch will be repaired. We have severe cracking in the wall that allows water to flow through and a large crack measuring larger than 1/8 inch in a few spots on the floor of our basement. The first time we called Keystone sent someone out to look at it but nothing was done. Since then Keystone will not return our calls on this issue as well as an earlier issue we had with our driveway sinking. They came out an repaired the driveway once but it sank again in the the exact same way and Keystone has refused to follow up with us or do anything else about these issues.

Desired Settlement: We want Keystone to honor its warranty and come out to properly fix the cracking in the basement. Not just "patch" the cracks but completely fix the problem so that no more water can penetrate the walls of the basement. Also, we want the driveway repaired correctly this time so that it does not sink a third time.

Business Response: Dear **. *******:


I received this complaint this morning, June 17.  We will be providing a timely response.

I want to note, however, that this complaint is labeled "SECOND NOTICE".  Today is the first that we received this complaint, and this is actually our first notice of it.

Thank you,

****** *. ******

Business Response: Dear **. *******,


After you resent the original complaint of June 6 this morning (which, as I have indicated, I never received), I had the company's SPAM filter checked. ***hough your e-mails have never been intercepted before (and your e-mails today were not intercepted), your June 6 e-mail was; I found your e-mail buried in collection of SPAM.  I have made sure that you are now a "Safe Sender" 

Sorry for the inconvenience.

*** ******

Business Response: Dear **. *******,
 
I am responding to the above complaint, which you forwarded to us.  **. and ***. **** purchased a new home April 30, 2009, more than 4 years ago.  It should first be noted that the ***** purchased their new home with a 1-year comprehensive limited warranty and a 20-year structural warranty.  For your reference, I am attaching a copy of the *****’ acknowledgement of receipt of a copy of the warranty booklet.
 
The following is an excerpt from section 5 of the limited warranty, which lists items excluded from the warranty:
 
“5.     Keystone does not warrant or guarantee the following:
 
          d.       The existence of a “dry” basement;”
 
The following are excerpts from the Keystone Custom Homes residential Warranty Criteria and Guidelines as Recommended by the National Association of Home Builders, which is part of the limited warranty:
 
“2-7.   Observation:  The basement floor is cracked.
          Performance Guideline:  Minor cracks in concrete basement floors are normal.  Cracks exceeding 1/4 inch in width or 3/16 inch in vertical                                          displacement shall be repaired.
          Corrective Measure:  Builder  will repair cracks that do not meet the performance guideline. . .
 
11-8.   Observation:  Driveway imperfections.
          Performance Guideline: Maintenance of the driveway including sealing and any repairs due to flaking, scuffing, cracks, sunken areas, or puddles is                                     the homeowner’s sole responsibility.  Builder does not guarantee the driveway.
          Corrective Measure: Please see ‘Your New Driveway’ booklet”
 
***hough the *****’ first complaint regarding the driveway was made more than one year after the date of purchase and the driveway sinking is not a warranted item, even in the warranty period, Keystone Custom Homes personnel responded to the *****’ concerns that their driveway was sinking in early summer, 2010 by having the affected section of the driveway cut out and replaced, the work having been completed October 20, 2010. Keystone’s records indicate no subsequent service complaints regarding the driveway until receipt of the Better Business Bureau complaint.
 
It has now been more than four years since the ***** made settlement for the purchase of their new home.  ***hough not covered by the *****’ warranty, the driveway was repaired more than a year after settlement at Keystone’s expense as an accommodation to the *****.  Driveways are the subject of many variables outside the control of the builder, including water flow conditions, degree of use, weight of vehicles utilizing the driveway, and homeowner maintenance, and  effects of these and other factors over a term of more than four years is beyond the builder’s control and, therefore, beyond its responsibilities.  Any maintenance or repair of the driveway at this point must be the homeowners’ responsibility.
 
Regarding the crack issue, it should be noted at the outset that the complaint came to Keystone initially in the spring of 2012, more than 3 years after settlement and 2 years after the expiration of the limited warranty.  In addition, it should be noted that such cracks are not “structural” and are not covered by the as20-year structural warranty.  In the spring of 2012, a Keystone service representative and the vice president of construction for the company visited the **** property in response to the *****’ inquiry. A small crack was found, which was less than 1/8” wide.  There was a damp spot in the area of the crack, but no standing water.  They walked the area around the home and noticed that there had been some settling of fill; it is the homeowners’ responsibility to address such settling in order to maintain storm water flow away from the home.  It was determined that no action would be taken by Keystone, and the ***** were so advised by e-mail.  Again, there were no further service calls recorded until the receipt of the BBB complaint.
 
A Keystone representative notified **. **** that he would stop in at the **** property on Saturday, June 22 to look at the crack situation.  He did so, but no one was home. Another Keystone representative scheduled an appointment with **. **** to visit the property on Tuesday, June 25, again to inspect the cracking situation.  **. **** left a voicemail some time Monday evening (June 24), canceling the appointment.  So at this point, Keystone has been unable to observe the present  conditions.
 
In conclusion, the driveway matter is one not covered by warranty, and the complaint has been  made more than 4 years after settlement and nearly 3 years after a portion of the driveway was cut out and repaired at Keystone’s expense.  The cracking situation at the time it was last observed was within performance guidelines and required no repair.  Even if the crack now exceeds performance guidelines, the home is more than 3 years out of warranty.  At this time, Keystone cannot offer any remediation for the problems concerning which the ***** have filed their complaint.
 
Thank you for your consideration.
 
 
****** *. ******, Esquire
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. 179 
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************

Consumer Response:

CID ******* Date Filed: 6/26/2013 10:04 PM 
 
Complaint Detail
We filed a complaint (#*******) about two weeks ago. We recieved one email and two phone calls from the company but nothing has been resolved or even scheduled to be looked at. This company has terrible customer service and no initiative to satisfy its customers. We feel like we are getting the "run around". It has been over three years of avoidances from this company and now even after we have contacted BBB it has been two more weeks with no resolve!
Desired Settlement
We want the company to honor its warranty and word of delivering a quality product. We want more than just an apology email or phone call. We want someone to come out to our property and view the damage and FIX IT! We want this done within a reasonable time frame. No more excuses!
Desired Settlement: Repair

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** **** **** <**********************>
Date: Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 1:14 PM
Subject: Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. (********)
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>
Cc: "************************** ***************************

We have an active complaint on your site for Keystone Custom Home.  The site states that all complaints against this company are resolved.  Our complaint is by no means resolved.  We received one phone call but no action has been taken by the company.  We would like to know why your site doesn’t reflect this.
 
Thank you,
**** & ****** ****
*************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ****** **** <*************************>
Date: Mon, Jul 8, 2013 at 1:24 PM
Subject: Concerns
To: "info@mybbb.org" info@mybbb.org

We recently submitted a complaint against Keystone Custom Home
(#******* ) within two days of our complaint ****** ****** from
Keystone did contact us by email to set up a time to come out and
inspect the claims.  We received his request while we were on vacation
visiting our family.  We responded to his email in which he offered us
an 8am or 10am meeting with him.  We did choose the 8am meeting but
**. ****** never responded to our email back confirming our meeting on
Tuesday at 8am.  Additionally, while we were on vacation we were
contacted by **. ***** *** about 3-4 times via phone call.  Again we
were on vacation and were not able to respond.  In one of his
voicemails he left a message saying he came to our house but we were
not home.  We did not ask for him to come at that time, nor was an
appointment scheduled.  In subsequent phone conversations with **. ***
he admitted that our driveway had indeed sunk in the same spot it did
the first time and that they "were going to help us out, but he had to
turn things into his supervisor first."   He then told me to take
pictures of the cracking in the basement floor with a ruler next to
the largest cracks.  He did not ask for any pictures of the cracking
where the water is entering our basement.  We also told him that we
had active pictures and video of the water running down our wall in
the basement.  When asked if he wanted those he said it would not be
necessary.  On Monday night prior to the meeting with **. ****** that
he never confirmed with us, I contacted **. *** to ask him if he knew
if **. ****** was still meeting with us the next day at 8am.  He said
he knew nothing about the meeting and would not be able to contact **.
****** until the next morning due to the time of the evening.  At that
point we had to cancel because we already had previous commitments in
our professional lives that we were willing to cancel, if we knew 100%
that we had a meeting with **. ****** confirmed.  **. ****** did not
respond to our request to cancel the meeting, nor did he offer any
subsequent dates or times he was willing to meet with his.  It appears
as if his requests to meet with us were superficial, and only look
good on paper, especially when written by a lawyer.   In regards to
**. ***, he did not return any phone calls or emails following the
texts I sent him of our basement floor pictures with rulers in the
picture for over a week.  My wife then contacted him with no response.
 I then called him again left a message and he responded to me while
on vacation.  He said at this time he cannot do anything further
because we had filed a complaint with the BBB and the matters are out
of his hand at this time unless things are resolved through that
avenue and his supervisors tell him to do anything differently.  What
was the point of sending pictures to him?  If we filed a claim or
reported problems, why should we have to take our own pictures and
send them to Keystone?

We did receive the rebuttal letter from Keystone's lawyer, regarding
our claims.  It is disappointing to see that a lawyer does not have
accurate information, yet is representing a company such as Keystone.
We did not settle our home in April of 2009 as stated.  We closed on
our home in August of 2009.  By that fall, our driveway was already
sinking.  At time we contacted **. ***, he told us to turn our gutter
spots off of the driveway, even though they were initially placed
there by Keystone's contractors.  We had ALWAYS parked our two cars in
our garage and followed the driveway maintenance 100%.  During our 11
month walkthrough with **. ***, we were able to get in touch with his
supervisors, who initially refused to correct the driveway failing.
Additionally, during that same time I also contacted the company who
installed our drive, SQUARE-ONE PAVING.  In an email from the company
that admitted they offer a standard ONE year warranty on all driveways
they install, yet Keystone told us there is no warranty's ever, on any
driveway, from any company.  When **. ***'s supervisor learned of this
email, we were asked to forward that email to him.  After such,
Keystone agreed to only have the part of the driveway dug up and
corrected where the sinking had indeed took place.  We had other
driveway companies out to inspect this work and ALL companies informed
us that unless the whole driveway was repaired together as one
cohesive piece, we should expect sinking in the same place, if not
worse than before, which is currently happening and has taken place.
Since the driveway failed within the first year, the driveway company
who Keystone hired should have replaced the driveway 100% and at all
costs.  It failed again after the "corrective" issues were taken, and
should again - have the entire driveway replaced by the driveway
company AT THEIR COST TO KEYSTONE.  However, we have to go through
Keystone to have this action put forth, to which they seem to be
negligent on their part to participate with.

In regards to the basement foundation issues, both floor and wall.  We
did contact **. *** before our home was three years old, last August,
but also out of the "limited" home warranty.  We have constantly
contacted **. *** on several occasions throughout the first three
years of home ownership.  His response to our inquiries have been less
than acceptable.  He takes weeks at times to respond, and when he did,
he would inform us that he no longer works in our community.  However,
when asked for the new person **. *** would contact that person on our
behalf and have them contact us, and in one case, he even accompanied
this person to our property, yet no longer worked there as he
indicated to us.  We feel during our issues that this is a clear
implication of stall and delay tactics, which makes the home owner
look bad as we would have to pull out year's of phone records to show
our repeated attempts to call **. ***.  We do not have our phone
conversations' recorded either, which makes it a case of he said - he
said as to what was stated in those conversations and what the outcome
of those attempts were.  Unfortunately, we do not have the resources
available to defend ourselves and prove that we did make efforts
consistently as these events have occurred.

In the spring of 2012 we initially contacted **. *** about the
cracking in the basements.  He and **. ****** came to our house,
without any appointment, and applied a sealer only to the cracking on
the outside of the foundation wall.  Not sure of the reason for this
as this immediately failed to prevent water from entering our basement
as the foundation cracked through that sealer within a month's time.
We continued to contact **. *** but again, no response came.

Next, **. ****** contacted us in late Summer of 2012 regarding the
basement issues and did come to our house.  He indicated that the
floor cracking was not deep enough to be covered by any warranty, yet
took no measurements to disprove this.  He also said the width of the
crack was not wide enough to have anything done as well.  Yet there
are several spots where the cracking has produced one-inch plus pieces
of concrete to come off the floor, yet this cannot be covered per **.
******.  Regarding the walls, he said because the water was not
actively running down the walls or pudle(ing) on the floor, and we had
no evidence of that at the time to show him nothing could be done.
Immediately following his appointment with us, the next rainstorm
produced water running down our wall in about a length of 8 feet.
There are three separate spots where water runs down the wall - we
filmed this and took several pictures and sent them all to **. ******.
 No response was ever returned from **. ******.

It was from this point that we continued to monitor both of these
situations and explore options available to us, since we did not have
a highly-priced attorney available to us such as Keystone currently
employs at their disposal.  We figured contacting the BBB and filing a
claim would be an honest way to get their attention, since both **.
****** and **. *** over the past three plus years have been less than
stellar in their attempts to respond to our claims either through
email or phone conversations. This seemed like an honest way to get
their attention and help resolve these issues.  However, it appears as
if the Company in this case does not like that avenue, yet gives the
green light to it's employees to knowingly not respond to concerns of
their customers.  This August the 19th will begin the 4th year and
anniversary of buying our home through Keystone.  It was disappointing
to know that Keystone's lawyers feel we have already lived here for
four years and have such skewed the timeline of events to their
benefit.

It was also disappointing to see so many complaints filed with the BBB
on Keystone's behalf - exceptional customer service.  We have been
mislead by Keystone since the first day we contacted Keystone and it
has continued to ALMOST four years later.  I guess when you build a
new home for over $200,000, you do so expecting outstanding quality
and to also avoid issues that you would expect with older homes, which
is why we decided to build with Keystone.  Yet these issues, and
several others, happened immediately, and it seems like once Keystone
has your money, they want removed from the picture and to not be held
responsible for the work of their vendors who they hired.

I'm not sure that the fact that we went on our only two family
vacations of the summer should be held against us - especially when we
contacted Keystone within 12 hours of our return from vacation.  The
first time we saw the letter from the BBB containing Keystone's
rebuttal letter from their I was at work and we left the next morning
at 6am for our 2nd and final vacation of the summer.  I opened this
letter on the 27th of June and when we returned today (the 8th) I went
to respond and reject Keystone's rebuttal and then found out that it
was closed.  Because we were on vacation and did not have access to
our records we did not have time to sit down and write a response
accurately.

We apologize for missing your deadline by one day, but we are asking
that you re-open our complaint with Keystone.


**** **** ****
****** *. **** RT (R) **









Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: *** ****** <***************************>
Date: Tue, Jul 16, 2013 at 11:07 AM
Subject: **** **** **** & ****** *****-Complaint No. *******
To: "******************" <******************>





Re:     **** **** **** & ****** R ****
          Complaint No. *******
 
Dear **. *******,
 
I am responding to the *****’ request to reinstate their complaint and their rejection of our response, which was sent to us on July 9, 2013.  I was out of the office from July 8-July 15, but am now responding.
 
As set forth in the *****’ response, Keystone representatives have been trying to contact them (unknown to the representatives, the ***** were on vacation).  **. ****** was finally able to meet with the ***** on July 10 to address the three issues raised by the *****.  At that time, the ***** raised new issue:  vinyl and sub-floor.  **. ****** followed up with an e-mail on July 11.    The e-mail is copied below and thoroughly addresses the issues raised:
 
From: **** ****** 
Sent: Thursday, July 11, 2013 3:43 PM
To: **********************
Cc: ***** *****
Subject: Visit Follow up
 
**. ****,
 
    Hello. I want to start by thanking you for meeting me yesterday on short notice to go over the issues of concern. The purpose of yesterday's meeting was to inspect and discuss the following reported issues:
 
   1. Driveway settlement
   2. Cracks in foundation wall that leak
   3. Cracks in basement floor
 
After careful consideration and thorough discussions between our management team and I, the following has been concluded:
 
Driveway settlement: 
 
  The section of driveway that was repaired during the warranty period has settled once again, causing water to sit for up to at least 48 hours. The patch has slightly cracked at the junction of the initial driveway and the patched area. Both conditions have caused negative water flow. We are proposing to conduct the following to mediate the situation. 
 
   1. Cut and remove a large portion of the driveway to allow for proper slope for water drainage. We will need to remove more than just the section that was patched to establish the proper slope. 
   2. Properly back fill and stabilize the area with stone. 
   3. Install new asphalt in the area that was removed. 
   4. If needed, address any areas in the landscaping that was disturbed during the service of the driveway. 
 
Foundation Cracks (4):
 
   During the visit four cracks surrounding the egress window were pointed out. All the cracks were within industry standards and within our warranty guidelines. The cracks have been reported to leak at times during heavy rains. At the time of the visit there was no visible evidence of water penetrating the basement. Upon request, you provided me with pictures and videos of water penetrating the foundation cracks during heavy rains as of recent. Due the cracks allowing water to enter, we are proposing to conduct the following to mediate the situation. 
 
   1. Drill into the four cracks and inject a two part epoxy from the interior of the basement. The cracks on the outside have been sealed by you the homeowner with a masonry caulk to prevent further water penetration.  The cracks can be sealed from the interior and do not need any further attention from the exterior.
 
Basement Floor Crack (1):
 
During the visit a crack in the basement floor was pointed out. As I had stated we do not warrant cracking of basement floors after the one year warranty period has expired. Due to the age of the home and that there is no water penetrating this particular crack, we cannot warrant this issue. There will be no further action taken to seal this crack by KCH. As stated previously, I recommend sealing the crack with a masonry sealant that can be obtained at a local hardware store. Please note that this crack is purely an aesthetic issue and is not of structural concern. 
 
  In regards to the issue that was pointed out during the visit with the vinyl and sub-floor, I will issue a service order for our service technician to schedule an appointment to inspect it. You will be contacted shortly in the next few weeks by our concrete vendor, asphalt vendor, and service technician(KCH) to schedule appointments for inspections and service. Please feel free to email me back with any further questions and or concerns. Thank you for your continued patience while we work on resolving these matters. 
 
Thank you for your time. Enjoy your evening. 
 
******* ******
Customer Relations Manager
Keystone Custom Homes
Cell: ###-###-####
Regarding the settlement date, the ***** settled for the purchase of their Lot on April 30, 2009; a copy of the deed is attached for your reference.  The construction of the home was completed in August, 2009, which is the date to which the ***** refer.  There has been no attempt to “skew the timeline” in this matter; the fact remains that the completed home has been occupied by the ***** for nearly 4 years.
 
With reference to the home warranty, the warranty is characterized as a Limited Warranty under applicable law.  A Full Warranty is defined as having no limitations at all; any warranty which has any limitations is, by law, called a Limited Warranty.  As is clear from the warranty documents, there are some limitations (most notably, time), and the warranty is, therefore, a Limited Warranty.  The ***** indicate that they raised a number of issues with **. **** over the initial 3 years of their home ownership.  I note, however, that none of the issues raised now were raised during the first year of home ownership, which was the warranty coverage period; I am attaching a copy of the 11-month review signed by **. **** for your reference.
 
We do not understand the claim that the *****’ vacations are being “held against” them.  As indicated above, a number of Keystone’s attempts to contact the ***** came during a vacation period, but no one at Keystone was aware they were on vacation.  Keystone has no control over the response schedule established by the Better Business Bureau, which apparently resulted in the initial closing of this matter, but we are pleased that the matter was reopened and that we have an opportunity to respond.
 
We have reviewed  records regarding service requests by the *****, and we cannot document the *****’ claims of not having calls returned, etc.  I will note that, from time to time, the assignments given to Keystone customer service personnel change.  Since the ***** moved into their home, **. **** was transferred to another area, and **. ****** is the customer service representative for the ***** at this point.  The ***** have been advised of this.  We certainly regret any dropped communications in this matter and are striving to help the *****.  Keystone objects to and expressly denies any implication that the ***** have been mislead by Keystone employees.  Further, Keystone strives for superior customer service and certainly does not give “the green light to it's [sic] employees to knowingly not respond to concerns of their customers”.  I note again that all issues raised by the ***** have been raised outside the warranty period, and the ***** have been so advised from the outset; although Keystone has no legal responsibility for these matters, we highly value the ***** as our customers and are extending the offers of help conveyed in **. ******’s e-mail as a customer service  accommodation to them.  It remains Keystone’s goal to provide customer satisfaction to every new homeowner, and Keystone’s record certainly reflects this.
 
It is our hope that the ***** will accept the proposals made by **. ****** and that we can go forward with addressing their concerns. 
 
****** *. ******, Esquire
Keystone Custom Homes, Inc.
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. *** 
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************
 
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

While we do accept and are grateful that Keystone is agreeing to finally address and repair the issues we have raised we do not completely agree with the most recent correspondence letter they sent to the Better Business Bureau. 

Firstly,  Keystone never called us to say that ***** **** was coming out to the house to look at the issues.  He just showed up and we were on vacation.  In their first rebuttal letter Keystone tried to use this fact to their advantage, implying that we have been uncooperative with their attempts to contact and meet with us, which is completely untrue.  It should be noted that over the course of the almost 4 years that we have been customers of Keystone we have been blatantly ignored by ***** **** on several occasions when trying to contact him on issues with our home.  We were honestly relieved when we heard he was reassigned and our contact was changed to ******* ******.  ******* was quick to respond the first time we called him and arranged to come out to see the cracks in the basement wall.  As stated there was no active water coming through the cracks at the time of his visit (oct 2012).  We did email him pictures and videos as requested at that time.  We realized that this was outside of our 1 year "limited" warranty as **. ****** ****** explained in this letter.  However, the issue with the water penetrating and trickling down the wall is included in the 20 year warranty.  The warranty clearly states that if water is actively trickling down the wall and pooling on the floor (which our video shows) it is covered by the structural 20 year warranty.   After **. ****** left that day we never again heard from anyone at Keystone despite our numerous attempts through phone calls and emails.   In our opinion, we were being ignored because we had proof that it was an issue included in the 20 year warranty and Keystone did not want to honor it.
 
The driveway:  We realize that it was never warrantied but again as **. ****** is falsely claiming we did bring this up to **. **** during our 11 month walk through (well within our 1 year warranty) and he advised us that we should reposition our gutter downspouts from where Keystone placed them to redirect the water away from the driveway which we did that very day.  Obviously the water coming down our downspouts was not the issue it was the ground underneath the driveway.   Again, we were avoided on numerous occasions and by the time we finally had caused enough commotion on the issue we were told that "even though we were outside of our 1 year warranty" that Keystone would come and repair just the sunken section.   Even though we were told by the company doing the work, and we notified Keystone that repairing just the sunken section would be a "Band-Aid" and it would sink again Keystone chose to do it this way.  Within 6 months of repair the driveway again began to sink in the same spot but now worse.  When we tried to notify Keystone we were told to not park our cars on the driveway (which we had rarely done anyway as we have a large garage)  Again, in our opinion, Keystone's attempt to avoid responsibility.   In **. ******'s most recent letter it is stated that again the plan is to repair the sunken area and not the entire driveway.  We believe that this will again sink and become an issue.
 
The basement wall cracks:  it is purposed that Keystone will have a company come out and "Drill into the four cracks and inject a two part epoxy from the interior of the basement. The cracks on the outside have been sealed by you the homeowner with a masonry caulk to prevent further water penetration.  The cracks can be sealed from the interior and do not need any further attention from the exterior".  Again we are concerned that this will be a "Band-Aid" fix.  Obviously the cracks go entirely through the wall to the exterior.  We did seal the exterior cracks that are above the ground as instructed by Keystone but what about the exterior cracks that are underneath the ground?  Those will still allow water to penetrate.  Injecting an epoxy from the interior will not seal the exterior and will allow water to penetrate behind the epoxy which will cause erosion and issues overtime. 
 
The vinyl and sub-floor:  we recently discovered this issue when our vinyl began separating in our kitchen/hallway.   When **. ****** was out and looked this over he agreed that the deviation in the subfloor was enough that it would fall into the 20 structural warranty.  We expect that this too will be addressed and repaired properly.  It appears that Keystone is going to inspect this.
 
**. ****** states in his letter " I note again that all issues raised by the ***** have been raised outside the warranty period, and the ***** have been so advised from the outset; although Keystone has no legal responsibility for these matters".  This is completely untrue.  We brought up the driveway sinking during our 11 month walkthrough with ***** ****.  The water coming through the basement cracks and the sinking sub-floor is well within the 20 year warranty and confirmed to be structural by **. ****** when he was out to inspect these issues.  Again we feel that this is an attempt by Keystone to avoid responsibility but appear that they are "doing us a favor" by repairing these issues.  This just confirms our frustration and dissatisfaction with this company.  It was not until the BBB was contacted that Keystone is even attempting to hold up to their own warranties. 


Regards,

**** & ****** ****








Business Response: Dear **. *******, 

I am responding to the most recent (the third) correspondence from **** **** regarding the **** home, sent to us on June 17,2013.  

I will first address **. ****’s repeated complaints regarding the Customer Service Representative assigned to them.  Although **. **** acknowledges that **. ****** has been assigned to the project for some time, there are continued complaints regarding **. ****. I believe that the record in this matter clearly establishes that Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. (“Keystone”) has made every attempt to address the *****’ needs. It is unfortunate that some of the matters raised have been raised outside the warranty period.  But all of Keystone’s homeowners go into their homes with the same warranties, and they are advised of these warranties prior to their settling for their homes. 

Addressing **. ****’s first point, **. ******’s proposal to resolve the wall cracks it the method prescribed by Keystone’s concrete wall vendor. The vendor has reaffirmed that exterior sealing is not required to complete a quality repair to industry standards. This is the recommended warranty repair for this problem. 

Regarding the driveway, we have addressed this previously.  The new home limited warranty which the ***** received provides in part as follows:

 “11-8. Observation:  Driveway imperfections.           

Performance Guideline: Maintenance of the driveway including sealing and any repairs due to flaking, scuffing, cracks, sunken areas, or puddles is the homeowner’s sole responsibility. Builder does not guarantee the driveway.           

Corrective Measure: Please see “Your New Driveway” booklet” 

As a courtesy and accommodation to the *****, Keystone did provide for repair of the driveway one time. As a further accommodation, Keystone offered in the e-mail to **. **** dated July 11, 2013 to make a further repair, although this is not covered by any warranty: 

From: **** ****** 
Sent: Thursday, July 11, 2013 3:43 PM
To: **********************
Cc: ***** *****
Subject: Visit Follow up **. ****,    

Hello. I want to start by thanking you for meeting me yesterday on short notice to go over the issues of concern. The purpose of yesterday's meeting was to inspect and discuss the following reported issues:    

1. Driveway settlement   
2. Cracks in foundation wall that leak   
3. Cracks in basement floor 

After careful consideration and thorough discussions between our management team and I, the following has been concluded: 

Driveway settlement:    The section of driveway that was repaired during the warranty period has settled once again, causing water to sit for up to at least 48 hours. The patch has slightly cracked at the junction of the initial driveway and the patched area. Both conditions have caused negative water flow. We are proposing to conduct the following to mediate the situation.     

1. Cut and remove a large portion of the driveway to allow for proper slope for water drainage. We will need to remove more than just the section that was patched to establish the proper slope.    
2. Properly back fill and stabilize the area with stone.    
3. Install new asphalt in the area that was removed.    
4. If needed, address any areas in the landscaping that was disturbed during the service of the driveway. . .

That is the extent of the repairs to which Keystone will agree. 

Regarding the subfloor, as I indicated in my previous response, this matter was first raised by **. **** when **. ******* visited the home recently.  As indicated in my last response, this matter is being addressed; Keystone is having the situation inspected and will determine a course of action, if any, after the inspection is complete. 

Finally, I believe that Keystone’s course of conduct in this matter refutes **. ****’s statement that “It was not until the BBB was contacted that Keystone is even attempting to hold up to their own warranties.”  Keystone has constructed quality homes for its thousands of customers over the years, fully honors its warranties, and makes every attempt to make each homeowner’s new home building/buying experience a good one.  Keystone will continue to go above and beyond to meet its customers’ expectations. 

As you can see, **. **** has really raised no issues in his third submission.  Keystone is always pleased to be able to respond to customer concerns, including any inquiries processed through the Better Business Bureau. But we believe that there is really nothing to be gained by anyone by repeatedly requesting a rehash of the same issues once a full and thoughtful response has been filed.  It is therefore our hope that, unless some new issue arises, Keystone will not be asked to again respond to these same matters. 

Thank you very much for your consideration and for your efforts in attempting to resolve this matter. 


****** *. ******
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ###-###-####- Ext. ***
Fax: ###-###-#### 
***************************

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

We have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution thus far is acceptable.  However, we are still awaiting the outcome from the subfloor inspection and expect correspondence from Keystone as to what will be done about this issue.  We want to Thank the BBB for their assistance in mediating this situation.  

Regards,

**** & ****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We built a home through Keystone Custom Home in ************* and we identified the following issues before the settlement on 5/7/2013, but the builder told they will resolve all the following issues by 5/31/2013 but still not resolved. I contacted the Builder, ******** ****** at ********************************, the Assistant Builder, **** ******* at **************************** (Phone: ************) and then the Senior Builder and Regional Customer Manager, ***** ***** at *****************************] and Customer Manager, ***** **** at ***************************** and then the Administation Deparment, **** **** at **************************** and nothing happened as of today. (6/8/2013). We request you to talk to the builder and help us resolve the issues as soon as possible please. I spoke to all the neighbours and they also had lot of issues with this builder. 1) The kitchen tiles has cracks in three places. 2) The tile near Master Bath Vent has cracks. 3) We still didn't get the three elongated toilets for which we paid the money before construction. 4) The lawn was not installed properly and only a little grass came with lot of weeds. Because of there is no grass in the clayey soil, the driveway gets clay during the rain and caused the stains in the asphalt driveway. 5) Also the driveway has concrete and need to be cleaned. 6) The driveway stones are not properly put and stones are chipping up and need to be re-paved. 7) We didn't get the 10th plant and the 4 trees yet which we paid the money before construction. 8) The hardwood flooring has several scrachtes and the ***************** contractor came and took pictures, but still the floors are not fixed. 9) Also the builder didn't mow the lawn/grass in the water easement, which has lot of weeds with thorns. 10) The Second Bathroon Vent is not working. I don't see any cold or hot air coming out of it. The builder address is as below: Keystone Custom Homes *** ******* *** ***** ***** *** ********** ** ***** Phone: ************** ************

Desired Settlement: We request you to talk to the builder and help us resolve all the ten above mentioned issues as soon as possible please.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: *** ****** *****************************
Date: Fri, Jun 21, 2013 at 8:19 AM
Subject: Complaint ******-*** ***** *******
To: "******************" <******************>


*******

*** ***** *******

 

Dear *** *******,

 

I must again apologize.  I received the above complaint this morning, labeled “Second Notice”.  Today was the first I received this complaint.  I immediately went to our SPAM filter, and there was the complaint, which was sent to you the same day that a message was sent by *** ******* directly to me, with exactly the same language (he apparently just cut-and-pasted the two messages).  Our team has been working on this since we received *** *******’s notice on June 11.  Some of the items are ongoing matters, according to or service records, while others are raised for the first time here (we were apparently given no opportunity to respond to these items before *** ******* filed his complaint with you).  

 

As I indicated previously, the SPAM filter has been adjusted so that BBB correspondence is not filtered out, but that did not help this complaint, which had been captured before the adjustment.

 

We will be responding to this complaint.  Thank you again for your patience with our electronic systems.

 

****** ** ******
*** ******* *** *********** *** ********** ** *****
Office: ************* **** ***
Fax: ************
***************************

 

Business Response: Dear *** *******,
 
First, we find it very odd that *** ******* filed his complaint with the BBB on June 8, 2013.  *** *** **** ******* settled for their home on May 10, 2013, less than a month before filing the complaint.  As is Keystone’s standard procedure, a “Zero Defects Meeting” was held with the *******s and a Keystone Customer Service Representative on May 10, 2013, to develop a “punch list” of items which needed addressing after settlement.  A copy of the report prepared at that meeting (and signed by *** *******) is attached for your reference.  Only items 1, 3, 4, and 8 listed on *** *******’s complaint are listed on this report (they are, respectively, items 9, 1, 4, and 7 on the “Zero Defects” report.  As you can see from the report, all 4 of these items are scheduled for correction.
 
On June 11, 2013 (3 days after he filed the complaint with the BBB), *** ******* raised the issues set forth in the complaint for the first time in an e-mail, which was apparently cut-and-pasted from the complaint with identical wording.  They builder in charge of the project contacted *** ******* by e-mail on June 12 (of course, at that point Keystone was not yet aware of the filing of the BBB complaint; this contact was in the regular course of service to Keystone’s new homeowner in the regular service process) and arranged a meeting with him for June 18.  The June 18 meeting was held as scheduled and resulted in minutes of the meeting being sent to *** ******* by e-mail the same day, outlining steps to be taken on the additional issues raised.  A copy of those minutes is attached for your reference.
 
At this point, the *******s’ concerns are being addressed.  We do not believe that the filing of a BBB complaint is appropriate when filed less than a month following settlement, during Keystone’s regular customer service process, containing issues not raised with Keystone prior to the filing of the complaint.  Keystone’s normal customer service process is an ongoing undertaking, and Keystone has acted promptly to address the*******s’ concerns (please  note that *** ******* was contacted the day after he e-mailed an itemized list of his concerns, and the meeting with *** ******* was held 3 days before Keystone received your e-mail transmitting the BBB complaint).  Once Keystone has addressed the matters in question, we can provide you with information on the results.
 
I should note that the *******s did complete a customer survey, which Keystone requests after 30 days of home ownership.  This is to provide feedback to Keystone and to enable Keystone to improve customer service.  We regret that the survey filed by the*******s was quite unfavorable and showed a great deal of dissatisfaction.  In the comment area, they wrote:
 
“I hate the home after so much defects and nothing corrected. I contacted the PA Attorney General's Office, BBB, State Senators, National Association of Home Builders and and Federal Trade Commission, HUD. I have an attorney and planning to file civil suit against keystone custom home”
 
This survey and these comments were filed just 7 days after settlement, several weeks before the 30-day punchlist was developed.  It is most unfortunate that the *******s have determined that, rather than work with the builder to correct any problems, the appropriate way to deal with their situation is to bring as much difficulty to Keystone as they possibly can.  Keystone strives to make every home buyer’s experience a positive one, and Keystone has thousands of satisfied homeowners in its family of communities. Keystone  will continue to make every effort to make the *******s’ home owning experience a positive one.
 
One issue which can be addressed here is issue 9 on *** *******’s complaint:
 
 “9) Also the builder didn't mow the lawn/grass in the water easement, which has lot of weeds with thorns.”
 
An examination of the plan for the ******* community will show that the stormwater easement to which *** ******* refers is just that:  an easement over Lot **, which is the ******* property.  Each homeowner who purchases a Lot which is subject to a stormwater easement has the responsibility to 1)  not alter the grade of the easement, 2) not plant plants, trees, or bushes which could impede water flow in the easement, 3) not place any structures in the easement, and 4) maintain the easement, i.e. keep it properly seeded, mowed, etc.  I note that *** **** ****** ******** ******* ***********, with whom the *******s contracted for the purchase of their home (Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. is a home building contractor, with whom *** **** ****** ******** ******* *********** contracted to build the *******s’ home; the *******s have no contractual relationship with Keystone Custom Homes, Inc., and all service performed by Keystone is performed at the request of *** **** ****** ******** ******* ***********) is not the developer of the ******* community and has no responsibility for maintenance of swales or other stormwater facilities in the community. The developer of the community is:
 
****** ***** ************ ****
**** ** *******
**** ** *******
**** ****** ******
*********** ** *****
 
If the *******s have any complaints regarding maintenance of swales or common areas not within the lot limits of Lot **, these complaints should be addressed to the developer, not to Keystone.
 
I trust that this addresses the issues for the present.  We will report regarding the addressing of the issues as the customer service process progresses in the ordinary course.
 
Thank you for your consideration.
 
****** ** ******, Esquire
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancée and I settled on our brand new home in December 2012. We took before and after pictures of our lot. This builder left a very large "mountain" of rocks and dirt, just off of our property line. My fiancée **** **** has tried numerous times in speaking to **** and has been unsuccessful in a resolution. **** is trying to say it is the responsibility of the property owner, ***** ********** to remove this large pile of rocks, who is refusing to. **** and I are being lied to by ****, and we have photographs to prove that the contractor themselves left these rocks!! We have neighbors who have even brought the issue up to me, and stated they watched he builder create and leave this large pile. There is also another home with the same issue, and we have photos of that lot because it was also considered when deciding where to place our home. THERE ARE OTHER HOMES on our community starting to break ground by keystone and there is no reason they can not remove these rocks, as they already have equipment on site!!

Desired Settlement: Remove or bury the rocks in a trench now before my children are hurt.

Business Response: Dear *** *******:
 
I am writing in response to a complaint filed by ******* ******, Complaint #*******. The complaint was filed against Keystone Custom Homes, Inc. (“Keystone”). Although *** ****** has not purchased a home from ********** *** ************), the equitable owner of the lots in the community in which the address given by *** ****** is located, we do have a file on a home at this address, purchased by ******* ****, and I assume that he is the fiancée to whom *** ****** makes reference in here complaint.  The rock/dirt pile to which *** ****** refers (picture attached for your reference) is located on property adjacent to the home purchased by *** ****.
 
********** *** is party to a contract to purchase lots in the ****** ******* community from ********** ***** ******* **** **, and ********** ***** ******* **** *** owners of the property (collectively “**********”).  ********** is developing the community in phases.  Although the **** lot is located in a phase of the community which has received final plan approval and has been improved, the lot adjacent to the **** lot lies in a phase of the community for which no plan approval has yet been obtained and which has not been fully improved. 
 
Part of **********’s obligation under its agreement with ********* is to blast and excavate rock from foundations on lots to be purchased by *********.  This blasting in the phase of the community in which the **** lot is located was accomplished some time ago.  ********** moved some of the rock debris to a pile located on the area of the community which is not yet an approved phase and which has not yet been developed:  the area adjacent to the **** lot.
 
*** **** purchased a lot in a community which is under development.  We understand that ********** contemplates obtaining approval of the phase of the community on which the pile is located in the future.  When that phase is being developed—graded, blasted, etc.—we understand that the pile will be removed.
 
Neither ********* nor Keystone has moved the material or excavated the material which is on the pile in question; ********** is responsible for this material.  In fact, neither ********* nor Keystone (the construction contractor engaged by ********* to build the **** home) has any access to the area on which the pile is located; it is owned and controlled by ********** and is not the subject of an agreement to sell lots to ********* at this point.  
 
*** **** has purchased a home located in a community which is under development.  As is the case in any community which is under development, evidence of construction activity, including the presence of storage piles for rock, fill, and topsoil, will be present in undeveloped areas of the community until development is completed.  *** ****’s home is located on the edge of an approved/improved area, adjacent to an unapproved/unimproved area, and this evidence of construction activity will remain in the unapproved/unimproved area until the area is developed by **********, over which neither ********* nor Keystone has any control.
 
We are pleased to have *** **** and *** ****** as part of the ****** ******* community, and we hope that we can make their home ownership experience a rewarding one.  We regret, however, that we cannot address the problem of which *** ****** complains, as it is clearly the obligation of **********.  *** ****** expresses concern that the rock/dirt pile may present a safety hazard.  I again note that such piles are common in areas of construction, and although some hazards may, in some cases, be inherent in construction sites, the site is on private property over which neither ********* nor Keystone has any control.
 
Thank you for your consideration.
 
****** ** ******* *******
227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ************* **** ***
Fax: 717-735-2034 
***************************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Your statements are incorrect. You are giving me the run around.  This pile is not just rock, but is also dirt, tarp, and other construction related material. Keystone's contractor’s deliberately put this right off of our property while digging the foundation, obviously to have it ran with the boulders which already existed. Pictures are attached of the progress of our home and this issue I have also reported this to the ***** County Government. Stop treating us like this, as we have invested everything into this home, to have it ruined by something like this. I have several friends and a coworker in the process of purchasing a home with Keystone, and have stated they will not continue if this matter is not resolved. A ******** home 2 houses down from us had the same issue, and ******** buried their rocks in a trench, in the same area our rocks are. Check out another home built this fall by Keystone in our development. Same issue mixed with dirt. I have included pictures of the stages and the pile becoming bigger. There was already a pile of huge "boulders" off of the lot, which I do not mind staying there, as they would look nice. From where the well pipe is and to the left of the photograph is what Keystone has left. This needs to be removed or addressed immediately. This pile continues across my entire backyard. Since it is so obvious this was put on the "********** ********" property by Keystone while digging our foundation, why is it so difficult to just remove it? I shouldn’t even have to be resorting to this. There is an entrance by the playground that a truck/equipment could driive up and easily have access to this issue without destroying any homeowners property. A lot in which the foundation has just been poured backs to this area also. Perhaps it was too much money for the company to just remove this mess while they dug out the foundation, just as it was leaving the unstable tree on our lot, which hovers over my house, instead of cutting it down.

Regards,

******* ******







Business Response:

Dear *** *******:

 

I am writing in response to ******* ******’s response to our answer to her complaint, Complaint #*******.  I apologize for the delay in responding.  *** ******’s response arrived only a few days before I was scheduled to be out of the office for an extended period of time, and our team did not have adequate time to review the situation before I left.  Thank you for your patience.  For ease of understanding, any terms used in this response which are defined terms under my original response to the complaint shall have the same meaning here as in the original response.

 

The pictures to which *** ****** refers in her response were not forwarded to us, so I am unable to respond to them.  Our representatives have again visited the site to confirm conditions there.  The builder has confirmed that all excess material excavated by ********* from the **** site was hauled away and not deposited on the pile to which *** ****** refers.  As previously noted, ********** has responsibility for blasting of the lots in the developed area of the community, of which the **** lot is one.  We understand that ********** did move some of the blasted material excavated from the **** lot to the pile. But this is not *********’s responsibility.  As I indicated previously, this pile is located on property not owned by ********* and to which ********* does not have authorized access.  This area is an undeveloped area which is not the subject of an approved subdivision and land development plan.  ********* is prohibited from depositing excess material on this pile, and it has not done so. 

 

We have been in touch with **********, and they have advised us that when a final subdivision and land development plan is approved for the undeveloped area in which the pile is located, and when ********** has completed blasting and grading there, they will relocate the pile. 

 

As stated previously, *** **** has purchased a home located in a community which is under development.  As is the case in any community which is under development, evidence of construction activity, including the presence of storage piles for rock, fill, and topsoil, will be present in undeveloped areas of the community until development is completed.  **. ****’s home is located on the edge of an approved/improved area, adjacent to an unapproved/unimproved area, and this evidence of construction activity will remain in the unapproved/unimproved area until the area is developed by **********, over which neither ********* nor Keystone has any control.

 

It is unfortunate that *** ****** is apparently misrepresenting the situation to other potential buyers for the community.  It is our hope that she understands that improper interference in potential contractual relations with these potential buyers is a serious situation.

 

I trust that we have clarified this matter. Thank you again for your patience and for your consideration.

 

****** ** ******

227 Granite Run Drive-Suite 100 
Lancaster, PA 17601 
Office: ************* **** ***
Fax: 717-735-2034 
***************************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this time, and will reevaluate the issue closer to completion of our development. Thank you.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1