BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Kay Builders, Inc.

Phone: (610) 395-6857 Fax: (610) 395-6858 View Additional Phone Numbers 5930 Hamilton Blvd  Ste 10, Allentown, PA 18106

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kay Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kay Builders, Inc. include:

  • 22 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Kay Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 22

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1962 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated: 09/26/1969 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Koze Jr., President Ms. Barbara Kline, Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Barbara Kline, Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Richard Koze Jr., President
Business Category

Home Builders


Additional Locations

  • 5930 Hamilton Blvd  Ste 10

    Allentown, PA 18106

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 395-9464(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new town home, it was delivered more than 6 months later than original contract date, and the firewall is concrete block with drywall glued to either side. I am able to hear normal conversation through the walls. I am able to hear my neighbors sneeze, blow their nose, take a shower, urinate, and even more personal noises. This is unacceptable. The builder has written me a letter basically stating they will do nothing, this is part of living in a town home that you sometimes hear your neighbors and I could talk to my neighbors about "reducing their noise output". This is a simple privacy issue. I have lived in other townhomes and never heard more than a thud or bump coming from next door. Never could I understand what my neighbors were doing and recite conversations they have.

Desired Settlement: I would like the builder to fix the noise issue by whatever means necessary - an additional wall with insulation or some other means of sound attenuation, not sure what other options are available. Or buy me out of this home. Put me in a properly soundproof town home, put me in a single, or buy me outright and I will leave the development.

Business Response:

Although I do sympathize with her situation, the sound attenuation rate provided by block walls with drywall exceeds code requirements. We have chosen block walls, although more expensive than other type of party walls, because it provides greater structural support and much greater levels of fire protection while providing good sound protection.  We have also chosen block walls because other party wall systems must be precisely installed according to manufacturer specification to reach their stated levels of sound attenuation.  We have found that a proper installation of these materials is almost impossible to achieve in the field while block installation is very straightforward yielding less installation error.  Therefore I stand by all marketing claims we have made and continue to make.

 

There are many factors that impact sound transmission and acoustics is a very subjective art.  Depending on the configuration of a unit, versus neighboring units, sound transmission may be greater in one multi family unit than another multi family unit.  Each unit has different acoustics and how they are configured with other neighboring units causes variance in the amount of sound that might be heard.  It also depends on ones sensitivity to noise and the time and level of noise output from neighbors. I have also found that talking to neighbors asking them to reduce noise output later in the evening works well and people usually understand this part of multi family living.

 

Fitting certain parts of a new home with a customized sound mitigation system recommended by a sound specialist could potentially help reduce the problems you have explained to me.  In addition to thickening the wall or adding acoustical tile in certain areas there are other tips that can help.  I am attaching an article that may be of help.

 

I am sorry for the problem she is having, and hope she finds some ways to improve her living situation.  Just keep in mind that sound transmission, sound attenuation and acoustics are a very subjective art and no one can claim to eliminate noise.  Unfortunately there may be some trial and error involved as you seek a solution.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

While it may be true that the sound attenuation provided by block walls exceeds code requirements, they are not providing that level of sound attenuation in real life. I should not be able to hear my neighbor urinate. That is unacceptable and the builder should be responsible for fixing the issue. 

Regards,

***** ****








Business Response: Kay Builders is in the process of finding options for sound remediation.  We would expect to have that information by mid next week.  At that time, we will contact the homeowner to discuss.

Consumer Response: Hello **. *********, 

I am not accepting the builders response/resolution to my complaint. 

I have included some correspondence between myself and Kay Builders to explain.   

My complaint is that I can hear every little noise coming through the walls in this brand new townhome, with concrete block firewall construction.  I can hear every cabinet door close, every time a chair is moved, I hear conversations and arguments I can recite them back word for word, I hear the microwave and the laundry, incessantly barking dogs, I've even heard my neighbor sneeze, blow his nose, and urinate. 

When I had my walk through, Kay Builders told me "do not hang anything on this wall, as any nails in the concrete will transmit sound".  However, they have attached furring strips directly to the concrete, with nails, in both the kitchen and bedroom 3.  I don't understand why they continue to build this way when they know it creates a sound problem. 

After my formal complaints to the BBB and the ****** ****** Builders Association (****), Kay Builders proposed work on bedroom 3, the hall bath, and the water closet in the master bath - they were going to split the cost with me and my cost would be $2,250.  I have declined their offer because it doesn't do enough to address the problem (the entire first floor is untouched) and the cost is outrageous.  They are selling this "upgrade" for $3,000 to new owners for an interior unit - many more rooms than in my home. 

Please let me know if you need anything else.  My personal email address is:  ********************** 
***** **** 
Business Information Specialist, Group Products
Tel ###-###-####  •  Fax ###-###-####   
**** ******* ****** ********** ** *****
*******************

 

The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America

www.guardianlife.com 



----- Forwarded by ***** ****/TheGuardian on 04/14/2014 08:23 AM ----- 

From:        ***** ****/TheGuardian 
To:        "Barbara Kline" <barbarak@kaybuilders.com> 
Cc:        Chuck Hamilton <chuck@****.org>, jessica@****.org 
Date:        04/10/2014 03:54 PM 
Subject:        Re: RT 284 - Drywall fastener - 3.14.14 


Hi Barb, 

I am well aware of the upgrade cost for sound insulation in an entire townhome (for an interior unit, not an end unit).  Your offer to remediate just 3 small rooms in my home, compared to the cost for a full home and considering the fact that Kay is contributing half the cost, is absolutely absurd and I will not be taking you up on that offer.   

Had the level of potential sound transmission been explained and had an upgrade for sound reduction been offered at time of sale, I would have easily rolled that cost into my monthly mortgage payment.  As I mentioned before, I've lived in two townhomes prior to this one and have never experienced this level of disruption, so it never even occurred to me to ask about sound reduction options.  Even researching online, a concrete firewall "should" provide very good sound protection along with the added fire protection benefits.  I never expected to hear my neighbors conversations or hear every little noise of daily living.  I wholeheartedly believe this disruption is due to the type of party wall and Kay's construction methods - and by that I mean attaching furring strips directly to the concrete firewall with nails when that is a KNOWN transmitter of sound.   

I invite any of you to come into my home so you can understand just how bad the situation is.  The Code Requirement for STC under BOCA, living unit to living unit, is 45.  An 8" CMU wall construction should exceed that and provide a level 50, but with all the penetrations in the wall, the STC is severely reduced.  If I hired a testing company, my home would not come anywhere close to meeting this requirement. 

I would appreciate a second review and a more reasonable offer.  Sincerely, 

***** **** 




From:        "Barbara Kline" <barbarak@kaybuilders.com> 
To:        ***** **** <Tammy_****@glic.com> 
Date:        03/14/2014 11:06 AM 
Subject:        RT 284 - Drywall fastener - 3.14.14 



Tammy, 
  
Kay Builders has been using this method of building for many, many, years.  It is unfortunate that you are having a sound issue.  Our offer is generous. 
Please review the offer Kay Builders has submitting to you and let us know if you would like us to proceed. 
  
  
  
Barbara Kline 
(P) ###-###-#### 
(F) ###-###-#### 
  
Kay Builder Logo FINAL redo border 
  
5930 Hamilton Boulevard, Ste. 10 
Allentown, PA  18106 
  
barbarak@kaybuilders.com 
www.KayBuilders.com 
  
  
From: ***** **** [mailto:Tammy_****@glic.com] 
Sent: Friday, March 14, 2014 11:00 AM
To: Barbara Kline
Subject: Re: RT 284 - Drywall fastener - 3.14.14 
  
Then build a wall and attach to headers and footers / ceiling and floor joists.  Why put nails in the concrete when you know that transmits sound?  Does it really cost that much more to provide quality of life and privacy for the homeowners?
***** **** 
Business Information Specialist, Group Products
Tel ###-###-####  •  Fax ###-###-####   
3900 Burgess Place, Bethlehem, PA 18017 
Tammy_****@glic.com


The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America

www.guardianlife.com






From:        "Barbara Kline" <barbarak@kaybuilders.com> 
To:        ***** **** <tammy_****@glic.com> 
Date:        03/14/2014 10:40 AM 
Subject:        RT 284 - Drywall fastener - 3.14.14





Tammy, 
 
Kay Builders needs to fasten the furring strips for the drywall install and glue alone is not an acceptable application. 
 
 
Barbara Kline 
(P) ###-###-#### 
(F) ###-###-#### 
 
Kay Builder Logo FINAL redo border
 
5930 Hamilton Boulevard, Ste. 10 
Allentown, PA  18106 
 
barbarak@kaybuilders.com 
www.KayBuilders.com 
 
 

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my home in early 2013 and within a month I had water leaking into my basement via a crack that is visible on both the inside and outside of the house. At that time Kay Builders contracted ********** ************ to make the repair. Since that time there have been 7 attempts to repair the leak. After the last heavy rain I actually had water come out of a pin hole less than 2 inches from the original leak. During each request for repair Kay Builders has been very slow to respond if at all. I have had to have multiple follow up phone calls just to continue to push my issue. I have felt that this is done in an attempt to make me give up as I have become so frustrated with even trying to get a response on an issue. Now at this time with the leak having moved it is clear that the water is in the wall and will continue to work its way into the basement. During my last phone conversation I was told that water may be pooling at the front of the house and they will try to raise it up to make the water go away. However this doesn't solve the issue of water having the ability to penetrate my basement after a heavy rain or from pooling in my neighbors yard just inches from my home. I truly feel like they are doing the minimal amount of work just to stop me from complaining or string me along until the end of my warranty.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to repair the crack from the exterior of the foundation. There has been numerous repairs made to the inside of my home with a lot of my time invested in staying home and waiting for the repair man / work.

Business Response:

We have made several attempts to correct the issue of water penetrating the front elevation ********** wall and ******* has been extremely patient in allowing us to make those attempts.  On October 24th we returned to add soil to the front elevation in the area where the leak is occurring.  It is our belief that the ground in that area was low causing water to pool and seep down between the ground and the foundation.  By raising the soil in that area, we believe it will stop the water from pooling and allow it to flow away from the foundation, thus not allowing water to penetrate the ********** wall.  ******* has been asked to check the area during the next rainfall and to notify us if water did or did not penetrate the foundation.  We have told ******* that if our latest attempt does not remedy the situation that we will return, even after his official warranty has expired, to ensure that it is corrected.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
The issue of water pooling is a separate issue altogether.  If my property was not graded properly I would ask that the builder to address it immediately.  I have several issues with the builders statement of adding soil to that location.  The first is that the small divot at that location was created by the contractor that the builder hired to repair the leak as he was inspecting the location.  I also never witnessed any water pooling at that location.  I told both of these statements to the builder twice before they attempted this.  Second, the location of the leak is near the joint wall shared with my neighbor.  This places it close to the property line and the property line meets in a "V" shape.  This means that no matter how much the builder builds up my property there will always be runoff from the neighbor seeping into the ground near the crack.  Third, the builder put down a small amount of mulch.  Mulch is not a soil and is not a long term solution to grading.  Fourth, the warranty states that the basement should not leak.  So now that the basement has been identified as leaking it should be repaired.  If there is an issue with grading on my property I would expect the builder to resolve that issue as well, but it is a separate issue as the basement is designed to keep out water.  Since it is failing to do so then there is a flaw.  As stated in the warranty documentation, the basement should not leak.  Fifth, the builder continued to push me off on their contractor stating the contractor was the expert up until the point where the contractor said there was nothing else they could do but repair from the outside.  Now the builder is the expert in repairing the leak with mulch.  Lastly, the basement is still leaking as shown in the attached picture from the most recent rain.
 
A warranty is useless if the party providing the warranty isn't willing to actually fix the product.  They take excessive amounts of time to respond (exceeding a month in several instances) only to respond after I have continued to contact them with less than adequate solutions requiring multiple attempts at rework making the entire process costly and time consuming to the owner, likely with the hope that they will go away accepting the work.
Regards,

*******








12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We settled the purchase of our home from Kay Builders July 2012 and are now completing year end repairs. We have repeatedly contacted customer service by phone and email and received no response. This is the typical behavior of the representative and the owner of the company has not responded to two letters which were hand delivered to his office. At this time we are awaiting a date for the completion of the repair of our sunken driveway which represents a definite hazard. The homeowner has had recent back surgery and prior to surgery fell in this area due to their negligence. We are also anticipating their answer to our complaint of overcharging for a Trex deck and the issue of the deck spotting.

Desired Settlement: We expect to have our deck replaced with current materials which will not have the same spotting issue. We also expect to have the driveway repair completed within two weeks.

Business Response:

During the ****?s first year of occupancy, they had requested service fourteen times.  To date all of those repairs have been completed; with the exception of the driveway and deck. 

At the time the ****?s reported the driveway settlement, they were made aware that it is common practice in the construction industry to make settlement repairs after a period of time to ensure that additional settlement isn?t going to occur.  The ****'s have been notified of a repair date - Monday, 10/14 (weather permitting).  Also, Kay Builders has no record of a call from them of ***. **** having fallen in the settled area of the driveway. 

On September 4, 2013, the ****'s were contacted and a visit was made to their home to examine the deck.  After that visit, we contacted the supplier of the decking material and sent photos of the deck issue.  On September 20, Trex replied that the deck needed to be cleaned.  The same day they were emailed to inform them of that response.  At that time, we offered to send the Kay Builders service tech to apply the cleaner.  The ****'s refused, stating that they would take care of the cleaning.  Several days later we were contacted by them and informed that they were not satisfied with the cleaning results.  A call was placed to Trex requesting that a representative visit the home to examine the decking.  To date we do not have a date for that visit, but as soon as we do we will notify the ****'s.

In closing, the statement regarding the overpricing of the decking - is a ludicrous statement.   Kay Builders has a standard markup on all materials/labor and that formula was used when pricing their deck.

 

It is our intention to contact the ****?s as soon as possible regarding the deck issue. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  the complaint remains open.  Our complaint included reference to two hand delivered letters which were not responded to by the president of Kay Builders.  Also our driveway repair has been completed but again we were NOT notified of the date of repair and were fortunately at home to remove the vehicle which was in the way.  This is typical of the behavior of the customer service representative.  The response from the deck supplier was dated Sept 6 and the homeowner was not notified until our follow up request of Sept 20.  As of this date, approximately one month later, we have not received further action or satisfaction.
Therefore we do not consider this matter satisfactorily resolved. We request immediate follow up with the Trex deck manufacturer and further notification of the response.



Regards,

****** **** and ***** ****



10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Built the house and seeded yard in November . In November they Said they would come back to reseed yard in April because since it was November the seed would not take. Was told by sales rep and customer service rep. Also Foreman agreed in July they would reseed .

Desired Settlement: Get what I paid for nothing less and nothing more

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We put a 10% down payment on a town house to be built by Kay builders on Jan 5, 2013 with a completion date of end of September in their **** ****** community in ***** ******** Twp. Kay has continually delayed the start of our home with what they deem as valid reasons, which we do not agree as valid. We tried to cancel our contract in April as they had not started the house, nor had any intentions of starting the house until all units were sold. We were never told the block of houses could not be started until all were sold. We also learned Kay had let one of the people who had put a down payment on a home out of their contract in this block but refused to let us out. They refused to release us from the contract, they refused to return our calls or emails. The only person we are allowed to discuss anything with is the on site sales person, she refuses to provide us with names or allow us to contact anyone else. I have researched their company and found out who the people for customer service, as I demanded when I sent them the cancellation notice of who it had to be sent to, still no one at Kay would return any calls or emails. We went to Attorney ****** ***** to determine what our options were. Per *** ***** we could not terminate the contract regardless of the fact the home had not been started or that no one would return any calls addressing our concerns on the start and completion of this home. The on site person when I called to find out who the project manager was said if we were to agree to drop our challenge the builder would guarantee we would be in the end of September and no later than the middle of October and everything including seeding, driveway, etc would be complete. As of today June 23, I went to the site, they have had the foundation poured for over 3 weeks, they gave us a paper that said now the home would now be completed at the end of October, but per the contract they are not in default until the end of December as in their contract they have 90 days from the original completion date to complete the home before they are in default. I again asked why it was being pushed back, again the on site person just says well they have given you a date and guaranteeing it to be complete. She again refuses to let me discuss why this home is continually pushed back and why there is no real progress to getting it completed, as she says it is not Kay's policy to allow people to talk to their management as they have four developments going and they are busy, They have had over $27,000.00 of my money since January but I am not allow to talk to anyone, and they want more money to cover changes we want to make, but they have not done anything but they are demanding more money. We put down 10% then found out afterwards they only required 6% but it seems you never get a straight answer at anytime and I cannot fault everything on the on site person as she is just stone walling us per her companies policies. The whole development is being managed poorly, lawns have not been put in for some people who have been in homes for more than 4 - 6 months, it seems they are just concerned with taking deposits and signing contracts. There does not appear to be any coordination or concern They are demanding more money but have no concerns for my interest or honoring their contract. This continual delay will cost me more money as interest rates are rising, but again them honoring their contract is not a concern as they feel and per their contract they have until Dec 31, 2013 to complete the home. If this level of regard to their customers, and customer service exists before the home is even started I can only imagine what it will be like if there are issues with this home.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel my contract as I requested back in April

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We settled on our house we bought from Kay Builders on 11/30/2012. Since then, there have been many problems. We were instructed to contact **** ***** with any issues. However, **** is slow to respond and sometimes does not respond at all. We currently have an issue with our gutters in the rear of the house. They were not installed properly and water is pouring between the gutter and the house (potentially leaking into the attic area) and creating a massive puddle right outside of our basement, leading to potential issues. We noticed this issue with the excessive rain we have had over the last few days. I emailed **** last week saying this was an issue we needed to have corrected as soon as possible since it poses potential future issues or potential damage to our property. I received no response. I sent a second email asking if she had been in receipt of the first email and received no response to that as well. This is not our first issue with ****, and have heard the same complaints from other homeowners in our development. I need to have this issue corrected right away as my home is in danger of being damaged because of this. (this isn't the first time our home has sustained damage due to Kay Builder's negligance. We also had a leak in our shower, from improper installation of the tile surround, which lead to a buildup of water in our ceiling which then poured through into our dining room - when Kay finally came to look at the problem, after the plumbers had been there, they told us that this was a 'known issue' with our model and I should've called them before the plumber, which I did, but the plumber responded first).

Desired Settlement: I want the appropriate repairs made to my home in a timely fashion to avoid any potential damage. I'd also like for their customer service person to do their job and respond to my requests.

Business Response:

On Wednesday, 6/19/2013, Kay Builders scheduled their Service Tech to examine the gutter/downspout on the rear elevation of the house of

*** ****** and *** *********.  *** ********* reported that water was overflowing the gutter and running down over the siding.

It was noted during that examination that a satellite dish has been installed on the edge of the roof directly above where the gutter/downspout issue was reported.  Our examination also revealed that a plastic wrapper was covering the gutter where it meets the downspout.  We believe that the installer of the satellite dish opened a package of screws and forgot to take the plastic wrapper.  That wrapper covered the opening of the downspout, thus causing water to backup in the gutter and the overflow of water onto the siding.

As a good faith gesture, our service tech did remove the plastic wrapper from the area in question and we believe this will solve the issue.

 

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

 

******* *****

Kay Builders, Inc.

Customer Service

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
******* **********

6/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Builder failed to fix the water infiltration issue to my basement. The issue has been ongoing since I bought the brand-new house from the builder 3 years ago. Company attempted to fix the issue twice, but failed. When I follow-up, company's customer service keeps saying they will fix the issue, but keeps delaying it and saying they're busy.

Desired Settlement: Repair the problem, and provide guarantee that it will not re-occur.

Business Response:

 

From: ******* ***** [mailto*************************
Sent: Friday, May 31, 2013 5:30 PM
To: ********************
Subject: ******** complaint #*******

 

****,

 

I can’t access complaint #******* – ********.

 

My reply is as follows:

 

*** ******** has been having an issue with water infiltrating his basement and Kay Builders has made several attempts to correct the issue.  Unfortunately, our attempts were not successful.  On May 13, 2013, our Production Manager and Service Tech visited the home and removed the J Channel and siding in the area we believe the water was infiltrating.  It is our belief that during an extremely heavy rainfall that come from the south and has gusting winds/rain, the J Channel fills with water.  When that occurs, the water cannot drain quickly enough from the channel and therefore infiltration occurs.  It is important to note that each house has different requirements; and that just because one home has a channel installed it doesn’t mean that another should.

 

In an effort to eliminate the issue, it was recommended to *** ******** that the channel not be reinstalled but instead silicone be used in its place.  The silicone would act as a dam for the water.   *** ******** did not agree and insisted the channel be reinstalled.  We honored his request.

 

We are hopeful that the issue is resolved, and will revisit if needed.

 

 

******* *****

(P) ************ * **

(F) ************

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installed a paver patio of a different color other than what was what we chose and is on our original contract, we did not sign for it during our walk through, because it was not installed. We also were mislead from the beginning by after the initial writing of our contract we were told that we could not have a stamped patio because of township regulations. That was wrong information. We would have just needed to adjust our dimensions. We settled with the paver patio. They installed it incorrectly. I notified them. I was told it would be handled in the spring. Spring came, they came back with excuses with why we had to pay for extra for polymer sand. At the same time I wanted to extend the patio so we asked the contractors if they knew where Kay's purchased their pavers from. They told us the *********. We went to our contract and ordered the exact brand and color do paver. The only difference was size. They didn't have the 4 x8 in stock so we ordered the the next size up. As long as it was the same color we would be happy. Well we ordered it and picked it the next day. The pavers were damp and appeared slightly darker in color, so we just assumed it was because they were wet and because ours were dirty because they were covered with dirt from all of the property that has yet to be landscaped and seeded 6 months after we closed!!! (That's a whole other issue!!!!). So that pavers were laid and we ended up putting the polymer joint sand in between ALL of the patio pavers (which was ANOTHER big fiasco). The following day after everything dried we looked at this patio and realized that something went wrong somewhere down the line. After my wife did her research, she found out that what we picked out in the sales office for our pavers and what is on our contact WAS NOT installed as our patio. Now we have a mis-matched patio at our cost of $4045 and at Kay's mistake. They will not respond. We have also closed almost 6 months ago and our yard is still entirely dirt. Well that's false, we have some beautiful weeds popping up.

Business Response:

Kay Builders had installed a paver patio using 4 x 8 Traditional Prest Brick pavers in Chocolate/Tan at the rear of **. *****'s property in December 2013.  At the time of settlement, **. ***** accepted patio as installed. 

On 5/17/13 **. ***** informed me that he visited the paver provider in an attempt to purchase additional paver to enlarge his patio.  He stated that when he tried to purchase additional pavers to match, he was told they were not available.  He then decided to purchase another style and size paver in the same color, Appian, 6x9 with rounded corners .  Upon completing the extension of the patio, he believed that the colors of the pavers were different. 

I have scheduled a meeting **. *****'s, the provider of the pavers and myself at his home for Friday, May 31, so that we can examine the pavers and determine if their is an issue. 

After that meeting, I will let you know our findings.

 

Regards,

******* *****

Kay Builders, Inc.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
**. ***** is incorrect. We did not"accept" this because it was not completed at the time of settlement. We did not sign off on it.

Regards,

******* *****








Business Response:

On 5/31/13 ******* ***** and ****, of the ***** ****, met with **. ***** to examine the brick pavers that **. ***** believes are the incorrect color.  It was determined by **** that the colors of the pavers are as ordered and as per specs.   **. ***** stated that when the pavers are wet, they do appear to have a more uniform color.  It was agreed by all parties that if a color enhancer was applied, the pavers would have an appear **. ***** would be satisfied with.  Kay Builders has agreed to supply **. ***** with that enhancer and **. ***** has agreed to apply.  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a sprinkler head that is recessed into the wall in my laundry closet.

Desired Settlement: Have the recessed sprinkler head to sit at the proper position.

Consumer Response:

Problem
Nature of Complaint: Repair Issues - An improper or inferior repair
Problem:
The repair man was supposed to repair separation issues in the kitchen, up the stairs going to the second floor, in several locations on the second floor. The work was never completed. He only repaired the separation issues going up the stairs to the second floor.

Desired Outcome
Desired Settlement: Finish the Job
Desired Outcome:
I want the job to be completed correctly
Nature of Complaint: Repair Issues - An improper or inferior repair
Problem:
My master shower leaked water through the master subfloor and has caused water damage to the dry wall on the first floor. The areas affected are, the wall above the sliding glass door and the ceiling in the living/dining room with a possibility of mold growing in the wall and ceiling.

Desired Outcome
Desired Settlement: Replacement
Desired Outcome:
I want all of the water damaged dry wall and wood trim to be replaced. Also I want an anti mold solution sprayed onto the subfloor to prevent mold from growing since my wife has mold allergies.

Business Response:

Dear *** *********

Our office received a call from *** ******** on Thursday, March 14, 2013, stating that after a shower in the master bathroom, he noticed water on the trim at the first floor sliding door.   An appointment was scheduled for Friday, March 15 at 7:30 am., to examine.   Our Service Technician found that the shower in the Master Bath had a grout void which he believed allowed water to leak to the first floor at the sliding door and the ceiling in the dining room.  During that visit, our Service Tech repaired the voids in the shower area.  

Our Tech returned on Tuesday, March 19, to remove and replace the damaged tape seam in the ceiling of the dining room.  Because the tape/spackle repair require drying time, a third visit was necessary.  On Tuesday, March 19, we  scheduled a third visit with *** ******** for Monday, March 1st at 7:30 am., for sanding and painting of the repaired area.

The above repair will be completed on Monday, March 1, 2013.

Sincerely,

******* *****

Kay Builders, Inc.

Service Department

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new town home May 2011 from Kaybuilders. We were able to choose many of the finishes. We asked for winter milk color carpet which we did not get. They just say that the carpet is from a new lot but clearly it is different. We also paid an upgrade of 4490.00 for hardwood floor on first level. We ask for dark walnut and got a light walnut. I have all my emails saved from the sales associate and I and the customer service representative and I. We had a meeting at our house with the hard wood floor installer and the customer service representative. Their excuse is that they are to only put 1 coat on the floor, which makes no sense because when you want a dark color, multiple layers are required. They promised us, based on the samples in the sales office and in our contract, 2 very distinct samples that we clearly we did not get. The customer service representative has been giving me the run around for almost 2 yrs now, saying things like "give me a couple of weeks to see what I can do" but she never has an answer. She has refused to give me the owners contact information. I tried to settle it between us but not getting any where. I have an email from the sales associate that they still have to put another on the floors.

Desired Settlement: Refund for hard wood floor is number one, replacing carpet is number 2.

Business Response:

Dear *** *********,

We have received the complaint from your office regarding *** ********* at *** ******** ***** ********* **.  Kay Builders prides itself on our quality construction and our commitment to customer service.  Our position is that the complaint  *** ********* has submitted is not a warrantable service issue.  The facts pertaining to this issue are clear and the supporting documents attached herein support our response.  *** ********* attended a pre-settlement walk through of her property at 12:30 PM on May 31, 2011 as indicated on the Pre-Settlement Walk Through List attached, and there was nothing mentioned pertaining to the incorrect flooring color to the Kay Builders Customer Service Representative at that time as indicated on the List attached herein.  The only communication that we received from the *** *********  regarding the flooring color was on a list submitted to our office on June 4th 2012, 1 year after her settlement.  This list was prepared and submitted by *** ********* at the end of her one year warranty period.  Several of our team members have met *** ********* at her house to review the circumstances regarding the flooring, and we have tried on numerous occasions to explain to her that these are not warrantable items. Unfortunately,  *** ********* becomes very unreasonable and has engaged in aggressive language.  She has demanded that we replace all of the hardwood and carpet in her home and most recently she requested that we fix some drywall that was the result of a leak in her washer.  These items are not warrantable items and if they were, we would have addressed them within a reasonable time period.  If there was a concern with the color of her flooring, she should have brought this to our attention prior to taking possession of the home and we could have addressed her concern at that time.  Any service issues that *** ********* has brought to our attention have been addressed to date.  Our goal is to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction, however in this case,  *** *********s’ claim is  unreasonable and  not a warrantable item.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions. 

Respectfully,

**** ******** **** ******** ********* ************ ** ***** ***** ************ ********************* ******* ***************** ******************* **************************** ************ ************************ ********************* ****************** **************************************** ************** ******** ****** ********* *********************

************ ******************************************* ************************************************************************************

11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service