BBB Accredited Business since

K. Hovnanian Homes of Maryland, LLC

Phone: (301) 772-8900 View Additional Phone Numbers 1802 Brightseat Rd 5th Floor, Landover, MD 20785 http://www.khov.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K. Hovnanian Homes of Maryland, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K. Hovnanian Homes of Maryland, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K. Hovnanian Homes of Maryland, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 01/19/1964 in MD Business started locally: 06/14/2002 Business incorporated 06/14/2002 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maryland Attorney General-MD
200 St Paul Pl 16th Fl, Baltimore MD 21202-2021
http://www.oag.state.md.us/consumer
Phone Number: 410-576-6550
Fax Number: 410-576-7040
consumer@oag.state.md.us
The number is 3149.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. A.Hugo DeCesaris, Corporate VP/President Md Region
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. A.Hugo DeCesaris, Corporate VP/President Md Region
Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
K Hovnanian Homes - Maryland Central
Additional Information

The company operated as Washington Homes until mid-2005. The company operates two divisions: one in Maryland and one in Virginia. A separate report and file is maintained for the Virginia Division.


Additional Locations

  • 1802 Brightseat Rd 5th Floor

    Landover, MD 20785

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to file a complaint against K. Hovnanian Homes of Maryland, LLC; specifically, **** ******, Sales Consultant at the ***** ***** *********, MD community. We are typically not the type of people to make formal complaints against companies and/or individuals; however, in this situation we feel it is warranted based off ****’s unprofessional and dismissive behavior in an interaction at the sales model on Saturday, 6/7/2014 (a few short hours ago). We initially contacted and were escorted through the model by a sales associate by the name of ***. He was very pleasant, knowledgeable, and professional. Towards the end of our visit **** returned from another home site and very quickly made our experience very uncomfortable and decisively negative. I had asked *** whether K. Hovnanian’s lending arm had a rate lock program. He said he did not know, but that he would ask **** (just arriving from another appointment). After introducing himself **** proceeded to dismiss the rate lock option opining that rates would not go up anytime soon. His confidence was so resolute, although most likely not guided in any real understanding of the financial markets, and of course belies the speculative nature of the bond markets which have influenced mortgage rates historically. After stating that he was sure I would understand that any rate lock cost to offset the lenders risk would not be worth it because rates weren’t going anywhere, **** proceeded to quickly probe for a home purchase timeframe and budget. We are generally conservative people and I mentioned a low end budget to ****, because honestly we are still in the information gathering stage and I was not prepared to discuss numbers at this point regardless. Upon mentioning to **** that our budget was in the 750-800k range **** immediately suggested that we look elsewhere. He was selling homes in the 900-1mm range and that the lowest model was at 756k without any options. He also made mention of Ravens and Orioles (maybe he was just highlighting local bird species because he did not specify coaches or players, or for that matter trainers, janitors, etc) – I can only assume this was to denote the companies lofty client base and that somehow we were in the wrong place. In my mind even if the range we provided was valid, a base price of 756k plus ~50k in options should be a reasonable sale in the last phase of the development and one I would hope K Hovnanian would welcome. In actuality our budget may go far above that. The logic however is beside the point; my concern is more with the cavalier and condescending attitude. Regardless of whether we were potential homebuyers looking to squeeze into a neighborhood at the lowest possible price point or homebuyers willing to max out options – I would expect a company’s representatives to treat us with dignity and respect. I can assure you that this single experience has ensured that we will never do business with K. Hovnanian now or in the future. Further, our sphere of influence is made up of a large, diverse, and well respected community from all walks of life – we treat them all with the same level of dignity and respect. If asked we will share our experience from today honestly and openly.

Desired Settlement: In addition to an apology - I would like **** to go through a formal sales training program which emphasizes listening skills, sensitivity, and fair and equitable treatment of customers.

Business Response:

We appreciate you as a customer; we at K. Hovnanian pride ourselves on the integrity, dignity and respect we give to our customers and homeowners. We do apologize that you felt your experience at one of our communities was neither fulfilling nor pleasant. We sincerely hope you give K. Hovnanian a second chance and find the home you will feel comfortable in for you and your family. K. Hovnanian handles all of our customers with care and sensitivity as well as fair treatment in helping a future homeowner finding the home that best suits their needs.

7/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing in regards to ***** ****, sales representative for K Hovnanian Homes at the ***** ** **********. In November 2013 I arrived with check in hand to purchase a home and I was brushed off when inquiring about available lots. I was told that a specific building had not yet been released. **. **** mentioned she was able to put a lot on hold for a couple who was “serious” about purchasing a home and adding their own options from the ground up. When I requested a hold on a specific lot I was denied. On May 17, 2014 I returned to ***** ** ********** ready to make a purchase once again. And I was met with condescending remarks such as . “I know you don’t have your checkbook so why don’t you just come back another time.” I corrected her and stated that I was there to put a lot on hold and she told me she didn’t have the time. Later she said, “I must admit, after the first time I met you I may have crossed your name off my list because I didn’t think you intended to buy. That’s why our lender didn’t contact you.” From the very beginning **. **** has been very unclear with me and has not put certain things in writing, despite requests from my Realtor and myself regarding specifics of the home. She said her word was good and, unfortunately for me, I kept good faith in her as a representative from K Hovnanian Homes. During my appointment at the design center to choose the options I wanted in my home. Much to my surprise, I was told that most everything **. **** told me was included with my home at the agreed-upon price were indeed options totaling more than $8,000, specifically hardwood floors throughout the main level of the home and an above-the-range microwave, which I was led to believe was included in the gourmet kitchen. When I went back to discuss this with *****. She stated that she may have been "confused" and describing the home as if I had opted for a 10k design center incentive, stating that she had gotten into a car accident since then and it may have been during that time where she was on pain medication that she could have "said anything". I requested to both the VP **** **** ********** and the Division President of K. Hovnanian in MD that they consider my request that the “options” I was told were included in my new home be given to me free of charge. They offered me a microwave and the refrigerator I was promised by the sales rep but nothing more. They defended their sales rep and refused to accept responsibility for this bait and switch she pulled on me. They also tried to put the responsibility on my realtor stating that she should have requested things in writing. Which we all did on several occasions. This entire company see** to not know their product at all as I have asked several questions only to get conflicting answers or answers that are only changed later. I have had several meetings with the sales representative because she has been so unclear only to be notified that most everything we had discussed was false. She remains evasive and has an incredible lack of integrity and principle. By having it not be honored it causes me to question the entire organization and their culture.

Desired Settlement: I would like K Hovananian to assume responsibility for their sales associate, ***** ****, misrepresenting K. Hovnanian to my family, my realtor and myself and honor what she stated would be included in my home.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to **. *****’s complaint.  K Hovnanian’s goal is to make sure our homebuyers are satisfied with their home and in tandem a satisfactory or better experience throughout the process.  In reference to her claim that occurred in November, 2013, **. ***** set up an appointment to proceed with a contract and failed to make the scheduled appointment.  **. ***** ****, our sales consultant, was advised by **. *****’s realtor that her client was not ready to make the decision to move forward.    Upon **. *****’s return to purchase the home **. ***** and her realtor was treated with the utmost respect and integrity.

After my conversation on June 16, 2014 with **. ***** as well as with our Regional President,  **** *********, it was clear as well as acknowledged by **. ***** that it was very important that we have a happy customer and we were leaving the decision up to **. ***** to move forward without the hardwood on the first floor.  We provided **. ***** the choice to terminate the agreement without any penalties if she was unable to move forward accordingly and be satisfied with the purchase before and after closing as her grievance appeared very upsetting to **. *****.  After several days and further clarification via e mail from **. ***** and me so she can make her final decision on the purchase itself on June 18, 2014 she informed us that she would like to indeed move forward.

There are supporting e mails on the conversations that took place with **. ***** since she raised her concerns on June 13, 2014 through an e mail from her realtor, **** *****.   **. ***** decided to take the discount of the design center credit off the sales price of her home at the time of contract.  If she chose to utilize that credit towards the design center options, her hardwood price could have been part of the credit.  **. *****’s hardwood credit was reallocated when she elected to receive the advertised incentive off the original sales price of her home at the time of purchase. 

 

6/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Microwave Hood is not eliminating the cooking odors, carbon gas and smoke and recirculating them back into the kitchen. The only way to eliminate these hazard smoke has been to open windows and doors [not exactly what we wanted to be doing the past winter]. Unbeknownst to us, it appears that the Microwave Hood is not installed properly and has not vented to the outside. We have several attempts to resolve this issue with KHOV Waranty service department, but our request was disregarded in spite the fact that KHOV admitted that ventilation in not working effectively.

Desired Settlement: Please re-install Microwave Hood the efficient way so cooking odors, smoke and carbon gas to outside

Business Response: *****,

Please find my resolution below addressing the issue with the microwave(hood)

Resolution:

********* ***** contacted K. Hovnanian's homeowner services on 4-10-2014. Stating it appeared the microwave (hood) has no outside venting. The issue was assigned to **** ***** in homeowners services. A technician was assigned the same day the complaint was received. The technician found the microwave (hood) was installed correctly and it is installed the same in all the other townhomes in the community. The technician further explained to the homeowners that the microwave is a self venting microwave and does not need outside venting.

Respectively,

******* *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There is much better option available to install this type
microwave, but builder fail to correct the issue.
Even the Waranty specialist admitted that 
the way builder installed microwave is not effective.
smoke and cooking odor coming back to the house.
I could not consider KHOV as a good quality builder anymore
in-spite I bought 4 houses from KHOV in past.
KHOV does not care any more about the customer satisfaction. 
Sincerely,
**** *****


Regards,

********* *****








Business Response:

The Microwave (hood) was installed correctly according to ** Installation manual for microwave model : ***********  and County code. Please find attached ** Installation manual for this product.

Respectively,

******* *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

According to the installation manual provided by builder
there are two option available to make Microwave working 
effectively, but the builder chosen  the cheapest option
available that does not do the work ( actually this statement 
made by the repair technician as well as  KHOV Waranty service
Representative )
The inspection make a true results - ventilation is not 
Working as expected.
Please make the unnecessary repairs.

Regards,

********* *****








9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service