This business is not BBB accredited.

Home Designs Unlimited , LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 960-0295 Fax: (717) 960-9744 199 Beagle Club Rd, Carlisle, PA 17013 http://www.hdupa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Home Designs Unlimited , LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Home Designs Unlimited , LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2010 Business started: 02/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/31/2003 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA027283.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Thompson, President Ms. Karen Agar, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Thompson, President
Business Category

Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    199 Beagle Club Rd

    Carlisle, PA 17013

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1005

    New Kingstown, PA 17072

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We closed on our new home on July 26th, and was told that we needed to call the fireplace technician to hook up our new fireplace within 10 days to uphold our warranty. When he arrived in 6 days he informed us that the fireplace was installed incorrectly and he was unable to access the fireplace due to the hearth being too large. He advised us to email our builder to get in touch with the stone company (********* ***** ****** ***)to fix the problem, so he could complete his job. We emailed, and called that day and was told that the stone company will be in touch. About a month later, still no word from HDU, or the stone company. In the month of September we played phone tag trying to get the situation fixed to no avail. In October HDU came out to inspect the fireplace and agreed that the hearth was too large, and said the stone company would be in touch, which they never did contact us. Tonight we received an email from HDU stating that the stone company is focusing on exterior jobs since the weather is getting colder. It is the end of October, and we still have a non functioning fireplace.

Desired Settlement: We would like our fireplace which we have paid for fixed.

Business Response:

November 18, 2014

Dear *******,

I am reaching out to you regarding complaint #******** that was filed by **** ****** ********. This issue has been successfully resolved in full. In following up via e-mail with **** ********’s husband, ******, I received the following email message, which I have also attached:

“Everything turned out great. Very friendly and efficient. This was a much better experience than the last!”

The entire team at Home Designs Unlimited, LLC is pleased that we were able to satisfy the ********’s fireplace issue, and a positive relationship with them has remained intact.

Please accept my apologies for not replying to your e-mail communications. With the amount of ‘spam' and fraudulent email messages that we receive on a daily basis, I was leery to follow any links from somebody whose identity I was not 100% certain of though it looked legitimate, I’m sure you realize that people have gotten very skilled with making things look official. We are extremely cautious, given the amount of hacking and identity theft that has happened recently. It was never the intent of Home Designs Unlimited, LLC to ignore or deliberately not follow up with the Better Business Bureau. We did maintain continuous communication with Mr. and **** ******** and were able to successfully resolve this issue with them directly. As a suggestion moving forward, perhaps a mailing sent via USPS or another courier might be helpful and give people confidence that they are being contacted on an actual matter.

If you have any further comments and/or questions on this matter, please feel free to contact my office at (***)******** or via e-mail. Best wishes to you for a happy holiday season!
Sincerely,

David T., 

President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Home Designs Unlimited , LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)