BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Homes of Virginia

Phone: (703) 491-0700 Fax: (703) 491-0708 12620 Darby Brook Ct, Woodbridge, VA 22192 http://www.buildwithclassic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Homes of Virginia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Homes of Virginia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Homes of Virginia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2002 Business started: 11/30/2000 Business incorporated 11/30/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705062021A.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chaman Puri, Member/Manager Ms. Tipi S Murray, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chaman Puri, Member/Manager
Business Category

Home Builders


Additional Locations

  • 12620 Darby Brook Ct

    Woodbridge, VA 22192

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three years ago we contracted with Classic Homes to build a home for us. The home was built in approximately nine months and we moved in 2011. The first year we lived in our new home there were some issues that we communicated to Classic Homes which they mostly addressed. One issue that is still pending is our granite counter tops. We purchased and paid extra to have custom granite in our kitchen. The counter tops in the home are granite however the counter tops were different colors - although the colors were very similar they were not the same. This was communicated to Classic Homes during the walkthrough and they did not seem surprised. They did try to convince us that it was the lighting and that they were the same colors. Eventually they did concede that they were different colors and did switch the main counters. Classic Homes did not however, change the island counter top so the counter tops are still two different colors. We communicated this issue with Classic Homes and they have offered us $1200 to replace it ourselves or do whatever we want with the money. However, we believe the cost will be much higher when you consider the cost of the granite, installation, and plumbing for the faucet. This is a minor problem considering that in year two we are having problems with water coming into the basement due to improper installation of the waterproofing system around the house. When we signed the contract to have our home built we were very concerned about the potential humidity of the home. Our home at the time was very humid and had a lot of mold due to the humidity. Therefore, we mentioned our concern to Classic Homes and they assured us that the new home would have proper drainage and waterproofing outside and inside of the home according the ******* County regulations. This year or year two we decided to enlarge the front windows in the basement. This was something that we had mentioned to Classic Homes that we wanted done during construction but we were told that it was too late for them to do it. However, they stated that we could undertake the project of enlarging the windows at a later time and it would not a problem because the drainage system was already in place. During the enlargement of the windows we noticed that the water was not draining properly due to the heavy rainfall. Additionally, we found water inside the basement as it was coming through the foundation of the home. This prompted us to contact Classic Homes through email and check the waterproofing drainage under the window. We dug down to the concrete footing and draintile and discovered that the waterproofing did not look like it was properly installed. After referencing the blueprints we noticed that the draintile was above the concrete footing and there was mud inside the draintile. According to the blueprint the draintile should be level or below the footing and the draintile should be properly wrapped with gravel and filter. To make sure that it was indeed installed incorrectly we decided to dig in another area of the house and found the same type of installation. When Classic Homes arrived we took them to the holes that we had dug up to show them the waterproofing installation. They stated that everything looked fine to them and then they left and we have not heard back from them. We contacted them a second time by email and included the owners on the distribution list - we still have not heard back from them. On the second email we even sent pictures showing the installation of the draintile on top of the footing to support that it was not installed according to the blueprint. In the meantime, we have been obtaining quotes from several waterproofing companies and they have each stated that the waterproofing was not installed properly and surprised at the condition of the waterproofing system since the house is only two years old. This waterproofing issue has been ongoing since July and the granite counter top issue since we performed the walkthrough two years ago. We would like to finally resolve it as winter is around the corner and we fear that any snow or low temperatures will delay repairs.

Desired Settlement: We would like for Classic Homes to have the waterproofing system repaired or replaced. If that is not an option then to reimburse the cost of us contracting with a company to repair or replace the waterproofing system. For the granite counter top we would like Classic Homes to replace the island counter top to match the rest of the kitchen. If that is not an option to reimburse us for the replacement of the island counter top.

Business Response:

March 18, 2014

Dear *** **********
Reference is made to your Complaint ID No ******* regarding some construction issues on the house we built for **. ********** *******.
*** ******* has stated two items in his complaint with you. The first item is leaking basement due to alleged defective waterproofing. We disagree with *** *******s assertion that the waterproofing is defective and the draintile is installed wrong. After installation the water proofing and draintile they are inspected by a independent third party inspector and the installation passed inspection and Fairfax County approved the inspections. Our production chief Mr. Guy C***** inspected the hole dug by **. *******, and it is installed properly, The cover and stone was removed by *** ******* to expose the draintile. Our inspection revealed that the leak is not because of draintile or waterproofing issues but due to the windows cut in the concrete foundation walls by *** *******. The windows have window wells and that is where the leaks are in the basement. Furthermore, our warranty does not apply if the homeowner does any modifications. It is so stated in our written which was signed by *** *******.
The second item is the granite countertop on the Kitchen island. Granite as you know is a natural Stone, It comes in slabs which are cut to size needed for the countertop installation. One slab does not cover the entire Kitchen countertop. So the Kitchen countertops were cut from two granite slabs. No two slabs are going to be exactly similar. Even if we replace the island countertop now, it will be from a new slab and it is not going to be exactly similar to the countertop in the rest of the Kitchen, it is natural Stone and not made in factory from synthetic materials. The granite countertop is not defective and within normal variances between different slabs of the same specimen of the Stone. We offered *** ******* $1200 as a goodwill gesture which he did not accept.
Thank you
Sincerely
Chaman P***

Consumer Response:  Complaint: *******

We are rejecting this response because we would not have realized that the waterproofing was defective or improperly installed if we did not dig the window wells to install the windows. Classic Homes was fully aware that we would be enlarging the windows because we had originally asked them to do this for us. They indicated that it was too late for them to do it but it would be fine if we had them enlarged once they were finished. So, if it were the windows wells that is causing water to enter the house why would Classic Homes tell us that it was fine to enlarge the windows. Additionally, if the waterproofing is supposedly installed correctly why would water come in through the window wells? The water should just drain through to the waterproofing drainage regardless of a window well or not. In Classic Homes response they indicate that an independent third party inspected the waterproofing and ******* County approved the inspection. We’re going to assume the independent inspector works very closely with Classic Homes which makes us wonder how independent they are. Additionally, by what Classic Homes has stated we’re also going to assume that a ******* County inspector never actually came to our home and inspected the waterproofing. If this is the case, ******* County’s approval of the inspection conducted by Classic Homes’ independent inspector doesn’t give us much comfort that it was installed correctly.
As we stated in our original submission we had this home built because the old house (at the same address) had issues with humidity. We were very specific with Classic Homes about this concern and they assured us that it would not be a problem with the new house. Fortunately for us we had an unusual amount of rain that exposed the defective waterproofing now and not several years down the road and by digging for the window wells it allowed us to see the ineffective waterproofing system.
Second, Classic Homes did make a “goodwill” gesture by offering us $1,200 but this was basically to make us go away. The $1,200 offered is not enough to replace the countertop when you factor in purchasing the granite, installation, and cost of a plumber. We are not even considering the time and effort to search for matching granite and coordinate installation and plumbing. So, offering us $1,200 was not enough to cover a new granite counter top. We paid a significant amount of money for a complete product and that is all we are asking.

Regards,

********* & *****








Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Homes of Virginia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)