This business is not BBB accredited.

Castle Master Homes Inc

Phone: (410) 326-7045 2385 Stoakley Road, Prince Frederick, MD 20678

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Castle Master Homes Inc include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Castle Master Homes Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Castle Master Homes Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 2003 Business started: 04/23/2001 in MD Business incorporated 04/23/2001 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
The number is 94256.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Amy Chaffee, President Mr. Christopher Chaffee, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Amy Chaffee, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Additional Locations


    2385 Stoakley Road

    Prince Frederick, MD 20678


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into an agreement with a builder through a local bank in my area. The bank shared with me that I had to pay the builder $10,750 upfront and that this money would be held in an escrow account to be used to make any additional modifications that I may want to the new home that I was having built. The builder also has outlined in her contract that all monies will be held in an escrow account and that she will not begin any work until after settlement. The builder also has outlined in her contract that all monies will be returned to the purchaser if the seller does not execute the contract. I was assured that if the money was not used that it would be returned to me in full. The bank also shared with me that based on my credit score, assets and the appraisal of my home would ensure that I would not have to bring anything or very little in terms of funds to the table at the closing. My husband and I have a credit score of over 750, we have over $100, 000 in savings and my home came back appraised at $390,000. Towards the end of the process, I was told by the bank that my home only appraised for $100,000, but I have paperwork indicating $390,000. When I contacted the appraiser, he stated that he did not want any trouble with the bank, but what I had in writing pertaining to the $390,000 for the appraisal was correct. The original loan was supposed to be for $237,000. Once I paid the $10,750, this should have been subtracted from the loan. In addition, I received a grant to replace my septic system from the county for $12,000, but was later told that what the builder had projected in the loan amount for $15,000 would stay as a fixed cost, because the grant that was supposed to pay for 100% of the septic financing through the county, now for some reason did not cover everything. The bank has shared that they are not liable for the $10,750 that I gave to the builder, but the bank wanted documentation that the $10,750 had cleared the builder's account. In addition, the bank made the deposit a condition of the loan. I did not go through with the loan because of these concerns and the fact that I was being asked for $40, 000 for closing. I did have some debts with a furniture store, but the total for these debts were $12,000. The contractor and the bank also swore that the loan closed on September 18, 2013, but in actuality the loan was set to close on November 20, 2013. The builder has refused to provide me with my money or receipts for her alleged payments. The builder's contract clearly states that she was not supposed to conduct any work until the loan was approved, but she did not follow the guidelines set forth in her own contract. I believe that the builder and the bank were in collusion on this matter and I have documentation to prove this. I also believe that they were trying to take advantage of the elderly. I have worked very hard to save my money and I was finally able to see my dream of a new home materialized, but this was cut short by fraud. Thank you, ***. ******* *****

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the $10, 750 dollars returned to me at once.

Business Response: *** *****,

I am in receipt of the complaint filed with you.  You have a company I own listed who never entered any contract with ******* *****.  In a addition the company she did enter into a contract with she was notified in writing that she is in default of the terms and conditions.
A deposit was not taken when the contract was signed.  Money was taken two  months later only after her and her husband received a bank approval for their construction loan.  This approval was contingent on the *****s obtaining the following permits for the construction of their home.
They needed a demolition permit, a habitability inspection, a septic permit, a grading permit, and a building permit.  
I also obtained a grant on their behalf for a septic system that was to be installed prior to construction along with the demolition and some of the funds from the construction loan were to be included to pay for the septic and demolition.
Not only are the *****'s in default, ******* stated that she was really buying the home with her son who shares the fathers name not the husband.  This is fraud and is illegal and will be addressed in court.  There was not one cent taken up front.  
The money given was for the engineering for the site plan, septic and well location, building plan. Another engineer was hired to draw plans for the home they selected. It clearly states the money is non refundable once they qualify and it was immediately used to obtain the permits. An excavation company was hired to perform the perc test required for the permit because of human waste was backing up. 
The Health Department was going to condemn the house because the septic sludge was higher than the water well. 
All the subcontractors were hired and were supposed to start on the Monday.  They defaulted on the Friday and there is no refunds on permits, as they were obtained, no refund on engineering as it was all performed, not refund on perc test or excavators as they did the work.  **. and ***. ***** have active and paid for permits on their land and that they can use anytime with any builder as the permits are in their name and on the property they own.  The fact that she field a claim with your agency using my other companies name will be presented in court as she is trying to cause myself and my companies as much harm as possible.  What ******* ***** has done and the fact that  ****** ***** is on the contract he is equally liable  for the actions that have been taken against me and my companies and the attorney will file against them accordingly as the actions are illegal and come with civil penalties.

I lost out on revenue, ten companies that counted on the work throughout the holidays suffered losses and caused my company losses due to the *****s default.  The home they live in is in terrible disrepair so much so the ******* County Health Department wanted to condemn it.

As for the complaint that ******* filed against Castle Master Homes, Incorporated this is a false accusation and liable. 
I never entered into a contract through any bank I am an independent company.  The *****s spoke with numerous Builders. The bank never told them they had to pay anything upfront.  They said that in order to obtain the loan they had to have a certain amount of money invested into the project and permits qualify.  There was never money put in escrow as without the money the permits could not be obtained.  I would not pay for permits on someones lot that I had not legal right to.  Just imagine if I had paid I would be out of the money and they would own the permits.  As it is they own the permits and they paid for them.  It did say if they didn't qualify they would get their money back however I never took it until they received an approval conditionally on the obtaining permits as the bank can't lend unless it is a buildable lot.  The purchaser executed the contract the work was done and now they somehow feel I owe them something.  They owe me my profit and the revenue I lost due to the default.  I performed every task I had to to ensure they were ready to go to settlement, she committed fraud.  The house they lived in was only apprised mostly per land as the home is in terrible condition.  The under part of the home has been excavated out and the home is sinking in the middle without the building supports.  The paperwork ******* is referring to as to the value of 390,000.00 is the value of the home I was going to build not the home they are in.  The home they are living in the roof is leaking the well and septic not in working order as required by the Health Department of ******* County.  The contract was 237,000.00 and less the 10,000.00 they would have owed me 227,000.00.  There are fees associated with loans and I have nothing to do with that.  These fees are in addition to my contract price.  She goes on to accuse me of collusion with the bank this is also slander.  I did everything I said I was going to do and they decided to default on the loan because they thought it would only take the 10,000.00 given for permits to start construction.  ******* stated numerous times after the default on the phone that she was never buying the house with her husband she was buying it with her son and was using the Husbands VA benefits for the loan.  This too will be brought out in court as I have a vehicle that has hands free which means every worker in my car heard her say that.  In conclusion the *****s can take the permits they have to any builder and start construction tomorrow.  They have lost nothing and feel that they were taken advantage of.  In addition *******s son, and brother called me and acted in an aggressive manor towards me on the phone.  What you should be asking is why did ******* filed suit against me and ****** did not nor was he included on this complaint.  In court he is also in default and equally liable.

I appreciate the opportunity to explain my side of the complaint and will use this documentation in court in the slander and civil side of the court case.  There will be no refund and I will be seeking liquid damages along with additional funds for slander and liable and default.  

*** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******* I am rejecting this response because: ***. ******* has not provided accurate information. I will provide documentation indicating this fact in court. Regards, ******* *****

3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired castle master homes, *** and ***** *******, to build a kitchen and second story bathroom addition in June 2013. The addition began July 2013 and was to be finish in September/ October 2013. The problems begin almost immediately although myself and *** ******* had started planning this project in April 2013, there were problems beginning with the layout to organizing the plumbing and electrical work. I have been understanding and patient to the unexpected work that can arise during a remodel, but these issues shouldn't leave my house abandon and no work being performed for weeks at a time. Since this project begin I have not been able to live in my home and at this point my 6 year old son and I have had to stay with family and friends who have the room to spare. I have expressed my concerns on the amount of time and lack of work to my home many time to *** ******* yet I have been given multiple excuses as to why my home now February 2014, still has not been completed. The excuses are from companies having the Flu ( four times?! ) to her email or phone not working, *** is then unable to organize the schedules for the work that still needs to be completed. I was required to pay for 90% of the cost for this remodel back in August and I did so as required by our contract. The siding was not placed on the addition until December and a gutter was never installed which caused my front door to leak and the floor inside the door to "bow" and the insulation under the house to get wet, trash is left on site at this point I have two large piles of trash in front of my home, since its February and the trash has been outside for six months its wet and often has snow piled on it. I have offered to hire my own people to finish this work anything to get it completed. I don't know what else to do at this point. *** assured me everything would be completed by this week, yet work has now been moved to next week and I have been unable to get an explanation and my multiple phone calls and emails go unanswerd

Desired Settlement: The addition and services completed as specified in the contract by February 21,2014.

Business Response: This letter is to address a complaint from ********* **** who hired my company to do a home improvement to her rental home.  **. **** was not living in the house when this started she was renting it out.  She was moving from one place and was moving in with her Mother and was never going to be in the dwelling during construction.  So I certainly never made her move out of the home to do the job.
There have been issues with this home.  Issues that were both expensive and not included in my price. One issue required that we
excavate the footers of the existing house to ensure they were up to code. This included digging up the footers and hiring an engineer to certify their integrity.  This stopped me from obtaining inspections until it was done, which I had no liability for, but paid and performed the work to move this project forward.  These issues were both expensive and labor intensive, and the financial burden of these repairs landed on us.
The downstairs bathroom was to have the tub/shower and sink replaced.  In addition we had to replace a toilet and drywall.  The toilet was broken as was the drywall.  This was done by us without being paid.

The contract states that the washer and dryer hook ups would be done.  **. **** was going to buy a cabinet but it was very expensive.  We built a closet for the washer and dryer, and installed drywall, doors and trim. This was not included in the contract.   The upstairs bathroom was to have a 48 inch shower and we changed it to a tub/shower combination and added a closet, drywall and doors.  These were not included in the contract.  There was also a dishwasher hook up that was included, but there was not a microwave/hood included nor was the hook up.  These were additional and not included in the price given by me or included in my electricians cost, it was extra. 

In addition the home had termites and required additional framing replacement. These included three men four days of labor and hundreds in materials to stabilize the decayed part of the dwelling.  

This project required multiple contractors which included a plumber, electrician, engineer, HVAC, flooring and laborers.  All of
these contractors work for themselves, and set their own schedules.  There was a breakdown in scheduling between the trades.

This home was done for a fair price had there been no complications.  This home was delayed many times but the only time that calls and or emails went unanswered was when there was a medical reason.

We were in a very serious accident in December.  Our business is a small company and three of us were involved.  I had injuries that affected my ability to communicate and ***** had to communicate during my recovery.

This project went way over the budget and there were items done that were never even included or paid for.  **. **** changed
items, such as adding closest for the washer and dryer in lieu of a cabinet, adding a closet upstairs in the bathroom including framing, drywall, paint and doors. In addition for a couple of  weeks now she was finishing her floors and encountered a chemical breakdown and had to refinish them again sending us an email stating " No one can enter the house this week" which means no inspections so I can’t obtain my use and  occupancy.  This is when I get myBBB final check to pay my subs and the balance on the cabinets. .
This project was defiantly not the experience either of us desired and I am sorry.  However; we made every effort to complete this job despite the thousands of dollars it ran over budget. In addition to the shortage of funds we had to rely on other jobs to finish this one as it had far exceed what we had charged and what we had been paid..
 As to the trash we have made many trips to the dump from this job and all the trash was not ours.  **. **** had her own HVAC, and flooring people who also added to this trash. 
There is a balance on this job of $5000.00 not including the extras.  This does not include the extras such as the door, closets,  engineering certifications that were required but not included in my price.
This job is done; the homeowner did the HVAC, flooring and had some unfinished items in the home, not the new work that she hired others to finish.  This job was defiantly not what our company would like to have happen. Not to us by the extra costs or **. **** the extra time.
We did however meet our contractual obligation and the home is ready for inspections.  I have sent email and texts  asking if items she had done such as removing switch plates and outlet covers and a railing that was remove to paint have been replaced.  I have not
received any reply.  I am calling in the inspection for Wednesday March 19, 2014 for the final. At this point when the inspections pass the final payment is due.  These funds are owed to the subcontractors and for the cabinets.
I am sorry for how this project took longer to complete and that it ran so far over budget.  My goal was to finish the job so she could move in and complete my obligation.   We have done that, not as efficiently or as professionally as we would have liked but it is done.

I appreciate the opportunity to respond to **. ****’s complaint.