BBB Accredited Business since

Cardano Group, Inc.

Phone: (215) 540-9183 View Additional Phone Numbers 1730 Jarrettown Rd, Dresher, PA 19025

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cardano Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cardano Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cardano Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 1992 Business started: 05/01/1991 Business started locally: 05/01/1991 Business incorporated 02/20/2007 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA043504.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James E. Cardano, President Ms. Carol Calvert, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carol Calvert, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. James E. Cardano, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
The Cardano Group

Additional Locations

  • 1730 Jarrettown Rd

    Dresher, PA 19025


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with The Cardano Group to renovate our home with a completion date for the job in the week of April 14th. The contract was signed on March 17, 2014 at our new home and a retainer of $5,000 was submitted. The work was promised via the contract and never delivered. The Cardano Group removed our existing 14 X 17 deck; removed all fixtures, floors and tile in three bathrooms; removed siding from the exterior of the home; damaged drywall throughout the home; damaged brand-new carpets and moldings; removed portions of the family room and basement ceiling and walls; damaged the entire family room walls; replaced windows and provided no insulation; installed a new broken window in the master bathroom; damaged the interior closet in the laundry room; removed interior windows sills, cut several holes in the bedrooms, garage bathrooms and removed the garage door opener. These items have not been repaired or replaced. A total of $28,476 has been paid to date. After four and a half weeks, none of above items have been replaced or repaired. Now, the Cardano group is now requesting an additional $16,000 and none of the contracted items have been completed. We have before and after pictures and to show that our home is no longer livable due to the actions of this business.

Desired Settlement: Our family has suffered a tremendous lost of the use of our home due to the damages created by The Cardano Group. We cannot move into our home because we have no functioning bathrooms and ceiling and walls have been removed. We would like Jim Cardano to stop demanding, harassing and sending threatening emails asking for additional payments on work that has not been completed. We have asked for a itemized breakdown of the additional items and he has failed to provided this information. We are asking that he stop contacting us regarding this matter as our family has suffered enough through this process.

Business Response:

May 2, 2014

Dear *** *****,
This letter is in response to your letter dated May 1, 2014. I have also attached documents for reference as noted. Please be advised that I do not believe that this issue will be resolved outside of the legal system. We are prepared to present this matter to our attorney who will be filing a lien against the property and a possible civil lawsuit as well as compiling documents for presentation to law enforcement for filing of fraud charges. So from BBBs standpoint, the settlement of no contact from Cardano will be achieved because only Cardano's attorney and the authorities will be communicating with the ***** going forward.
summary, on March 17, 2014, the ***** returned a signed contract
(attached Proposal dated March 17, 2014) for renovation work as detailed with a cost of $38,205.00. On 3-18-2014, the ***** paid the $5,000.00 retainer per the contract (***** check*** and Cardano Invoice **** attached). The necessary demolition work began. A progress billing for $11,476.00 (Cardano invoice **** attached) was presented for review and payment on 3-25-2014. The ***** check (*** attached) for the billed amount was received on 3-27-2014.
While the renovation was proceeding, on and after 3-17-2014, there were numerous emails and telephone conversations with ***. ***** regarding the possibility of adding a 4bedroom to the house renovation. The cost of this revision to the scope of the project was determined to be an additional $25,000.00 which was approved in writing by the ***** on March 27, 2014 (Change Order 1 attached). Work was still ongoing and a second progress billing for $25,190.00 (Cardano invoice **** attached) was presented for review and payment on 4-8-2014. The ***** check (*** attached) for partial payment of $12,000.00 was received on 4-15-2014. This is when ***. ***** informed me that that they would not have the money for the balance of Invoice **** until they received their tax refund in approximately one week. Cardano agreed to continue work at the ***** home to get the renovation completed in a timely manner by waiting for this payment. Later, I was informed that there never was any tax refund or the funds were already expended.
However, on April 16, 2014, due to a reassessment of funds” ***. ***** requested to only have certain portions of the work completed and to leave other portions of the work incomplete and receive credit for the uncompleted work. This is when I realized that the *****’ wanted all of the work included in the Proposal and Change Order 1, but they never had enough money to andor never intended to pay for the work, There are numerous emails supporting this phase of the issue including excuses about the completion date, etc... This said, a renovation project requires multiple projects to be ongoing at the same time. This is the reason that the *****home is in the condition it is now. This is why I believe the *****have committed fraud.
Hopefully, this lengthy response satisfies your request for an answer to the complaint.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service