BBB Accredited Business since

Service Specialties Inc.

Phone: (703) 968-0606 View Additional Phone Numbers 14522B Lee Rd, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.ssihvac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Service Specialties Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Service Specialties Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

65 Customer Reviews on Service Specialties Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 65
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 65

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 1994 Business started: 09/19/1979 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2701022299 A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russell Murphy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Murphy, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Alternate Business Names
SSI

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having an HVAC contract for 4 years and plumbing contract for 2 years, I had a late night plumbing leak from upper bathroom to dining room. Called 24 hr hotline twice for service based on my plumbing contract. No call back. Had to wait til normal business hours to call and get a response. 1st guy came to house, said storm related; after cutting 4x8 hole without measuring to determine source in ceiling with electric saw and not razor blade to diminish drywall dust, left. I escalated to the manager. Was promised a phone call that day with no follow through. Had to find the leak myself the next day and call them for return. After arguing that weekend rates shouldn't apply because the guy on Friday couldn't find a leak, a competent plumber did the repair. When I escalated the dust issue and question the 1st plumbers competence to the owner, since manager did not follow up as promised, he passed me off to the same manager without even acknowledging the email. The manager called, was told he would follow back up with a plan to resolve the service issue. After a week, no response. Followed back up with owner and manager requesting resolution, no response.

Desired Settlement: The cost of my annual plumbing contract, the service fee that I paid, the fee for replacement part should be refunded since they did not respond in accordance with the contract. Their "experienced plumber" spent 1.5 hours looking for a leak but failed to find it as he did not do a thorough inspection. In addition, they should pay to have my house cleaned due to his failure to take reasonable steps to minimize dirt and dust from cutting into drywall. Members of the company verbally admitted the necessary precautions were not taken.

Business Response: *** ******, 


Good Morning, Mr. M***** and I have received your message about the complaint submitted to you by *** *** *******.  I spoke to *** ******* on Monday (6/29) after the incident on Friday and Saturday.  He did send an email (6/27) to Mr. M***** and it was forwarded to me as this is my department that he had a complaint about.  I also told *** ******* that Mr. M***** received the email and was sent to me because this was my department.  He describe to me what happened and I spoke to all parties involved to investigate the story.  After speaking to the plumbers out at the house we determined to refund the cost of the service call he spent ($39) on Friday and apologized for the experience he had and assured him that this is not the way we do business.  I also wrote a letter and I sent it to him on 7/2.  When I emailed this to him I did misspell the email address therefore it delayed the response and I resent it telling him on (7/9) and showing him that I sent it to a wrong email address.  I also have attached the letter we sent for you to review what we found and what we were going to do. 

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to call me.   

Thanks

Todd L*********
Residential Operations Manager, 
Service Specialties, Inc


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

65 Customer Reviews on Service Specialties Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart