BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Pride Air Conditioning & Heating Services Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 330-6036 4613 Twinbrook Rd, Fairfax, VA 22032 http://www.prideacandheating.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pride Air Conditioning & Heating Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pride Air Conditioning & Heating Services Inc. include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Pride Air Conditioning & Heating Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 12, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2005 in VA Business started locally: 07/01/2005 Business incorporated: 03/28/2006 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2705125499 A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frederick R. McCollum Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frederick R. McCollum Jr., President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair

Alternate Business Names
Pride Air Conditioning Company

Additional Locations

  • 10435 Balls Ford Rd

    Manassas, VA 20109 (703) 330-6036

  • 4613 Twinbrook Rd

    Fairfax, VA 22032

  • 6969 Gateway Ct

    Manassas, VA 20109

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician keeps on fixing the AC/Heating unit and the unit keeps on failing. This happened 4 times within 60 days. Interestingly, the first visit was for preventive maintenance. They did nothing in the first visit. Interestingly in the second visit AC Unit is out of freon gas & in third visit they repaired another part. After all it gone bad again after 4 services to the AC unit. After complaining the issue on 6/29/2013 around 10 PM, no body from Pride AC Heating company called the customer. Customer kept on calling the company with no response from technician.

Desired Settlement: Please check the AC unit thoroughly and do the appropriate service.

Business Response: I have check our system and have no record of this customer with the address given., ******* ***********
***** ********* ** 
******* * ** *****
Daytime Phone: ###-###-####
E-mail: ***********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bi-annual air conditioning and heating service contract from ******** **** ****** Warranty (***) in May 2013. On May 30, 2013, a technician from Pride Air Conditioning arrived at my home to perform preventative maintenance service on both of my air conditioning units. I explained to the technician that both units were working well; however, within the last 10 days it seemed like the upstairs unit was not keeping up with the set temperature as well as it normally does. For example, the unit was set on 71 degrees and it was 74 degrees in the upstairs. After inspecting the units, the technician informed me that the upstairs unit was 1 pound low on freon and I had to pay $75 for the 1 pound to be added. I paid with a check and the technician added the freon. Soon after the technician left I went upstairs and it was 82 degrees. Warm air was blowing out of the vents. I called the technician. He told me to turn the unit off for 15 minutes and then turn it back on and then to call him back. I did so and it did not resolve the problem. It was approximately 4 pm. The technician told me that he was already home for the day and was not coming out but that he may be able to come out the next day on May 31st after he finishes all his services calls. I told him that I would call the office. I called Pride Air and explained the problem. ********, I believe was the representative's name, was rude and told me that she was not going to send anyone out and that she did not have room on the schedule to send anyone out until after 5 pm the following day. I explained that their website says that they have 24 hour service, that their company caused the problem, and I had to work the evening of the 31st so I needed them to come earlier. She said that she would contact the manager and call me back. She called me back shortly and told me that the manager said that they are not sending anyone out until the evening of May 31st. I explained that I had to work and I needed the service in the morning. The representative ******** told me that she would call some of the senior technicians to see if anyone could come out in the morning and would call me back. She did not call me back. Meanwhile overnight on the night of May 30th, morning of May 31st, the downstairs air unit stopped blowing out air. On the morning of May 31st, I called Pride Air. The representative at this time was very polite and dispatched a technician to my home right away. The technician found that the upstairs unit needed 2 lbs of freon removed and that the downstairs unit was completely frozen over. The technician removed 2lbs of freon from the upstairs unit (the same unit that I paid $75 for a pound to be added the day prior). I have a work order receipt ticket number 21073 stating that the technician removed 2 lbs of freon. Because the downstairs unit was frozen, another technician had to come out on June 1st. After the technician left on May 31st, the upstairs unit continued to blow out cold air but not much air was blowing out of the vents. Thus, as of the afternoon of May 31st both of my air conditioning units were not working appropriately (the upstairs was barely blowing out any air and the downstairs was frozen over). Mind you, the downstairs unit never had any problems, is a fantastic unit. On the morning of June 1st, the 3rd technician came out and was not able to tell why the downstairs unit froze over but he inspected it and cleaned it and turned it back on. It has been working since. On the upstairs unit, the technician said that it did not look like the outside fan had been cleaned (which was part of the preventative service that should have been done on the 30th). The technician cleaned and serviced the upstairs unit and found that the motor was not working properly which was causing the air to not blow out strong enough. The technician went to every vent in the home and read the air temperature coming out of the vent prior to leaving my home. They were all reading between 58 and 62 degrees. He told me that he would get the motor ordered and someone would contact me. As of Monday, June 10th, I had not heard from Pride Air. I called and was told that they would have someone out to my home on Tuesday, June 11th between 11 am and 3 pm. Because I had to work, I found someone to stay at my home during that time. At 3:15 pm I called Pride Air because I had not heard anything. The representative did some checking and told me that the technician was running late and might be able to get to my home in about 45 minutes. I told them that was fine, but I explained that it seemed like poor customer service to not have notified me that no one would be able to come out in the designated timeframe because I did have to get someone to stay at my home. Instead of replying, the line went silent as if the representative hung up on me. I waited and ********, the representative from May 30th came on the line and apologized and abruptly told me that the technician was running late. I explained that it was okay and I was on my way home but I was a bit concerned about the customer service and asked if it was their general practice to not keep customer's notified of when a technician was running late. Instead of answering my question, she repeated that someone would be out in about 45 minutes and if that was not okay then I could reschedule. I told her that it was fine. When the technician arrived at my home, the first thing he said was that he had to collect $75 (for the freon that was added on the 30th). I cannot remember if it was on the 31st of May or the 1st of June when I called Pride Air and explained to them that I would like my $75 for the pound of freon returned to me. I paid for a pound to be added (that did not need to be added) and the 2nd technician had to take out 2 pounds. In the two years that I have lived in the National Capital Region, every company that I have dealt with for any service at my home has been fantastic, provided great customer service, and been fair about their fees. I do not mind paying the $75 if it was needed, but if the technician had to remove 2 pounds after adding 1, it seems like they owe me $75.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $75 payment returned.

Business Response: I responded to this complaint when I last receive it from the BBB which I printed and have documentation of. *** ******'s check was already in procees to be return to him and was mailed the Friday before this compliant came in. 

As a stated in the last response to the BBB this needs to be removed from our file as we did nothing wrong and the check was returned within 5 days after it was requested!!

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for your response. However, the complaint had multiple issues. My request for the refund was only one of those issues, and was the only issue that could be resolved. Since my original complaint, I now have an additional issue that is at the end of this response. First, I will address your response to my refund. You stated that the check was returned within 5 days after it was requested. My first request for my refund was on June 1st, as this was stated in my original complaint. I was told that my money would not be refunded. It was not until my home warranty company, ******** **** ****** (***), had to intervene and request my refund from your company before you agreed to return my money. Thus, my first request was on June 1st and the check was dated June 21st.  My original complaint had to do more with the service that I received from your company. When your technician came to my home on May 30th, this technician broke my unit. I immediately called your company after the technician left to report the problem and was told that you would not send anyone out to fix the unit. It was only 4 pm when I called. Although your company advertises 24 hour service, and you were responsible for breaking my unit, you refused to come back out and correct the problem. Additionally, I was told that I would have to wait to see if one of the technicians could fit me into the schedule at the end of the next day. I also complained because on June 11th, your technician was to come service my unit between 11 am and 3 pm. At 3:15 I called your company because no one showed up at my home or called to tell me that the technician was running late. When I called to inquire, ******** was once again extremely rude to me. I do not want to restate the multiple issues that were in my original complaint. If you feel as though your company did nothing wrong, I ask that you again read my original complaint. In summary, your broke both of my units, refused to fix them in a timely manner, provided very poor customer service, and would not agree to refund my money until *** requested it. Since the time of the original complaint, I now have a new issue.

I had an appointment scheduled for June 21st, at 8 am. At 8:30 I called your company because no one showed up. I was told that the appointment was cancelled and I needed to call my warranty company. I called *** and was told that you, your company refused to fix my unit (the one you broke) because I filed the complaint with the BBB. Please keep in mind, that your company broke my unit on May 30th, and as of June 21st, it was still not working.


Regards,

**** *******








Business Response: *** ******* , I apologize for the confusion on the refund I was given the ticket to process the refund on June 11, if someone in customer service told you that we would not refund your $75.00 I was not informed of that , and I will most certainly take that up with them. As far as us breaking the equipment we found the existing motor in the system running backwards and the replacement motor was ordered. Inspections that are scheduled from *** are dispatch to inspection technicians not service technicians, so I realize that this is where the problems started with your service, it is our intention to repair units the first time out to the property. *** was notified of the orginal complaint and it was *** who decided that they would dispatch another company to resolve the issue. As a company it was our responsibility to contact you to advise you that they had transferred the service request to someone else so you could rearrange your schedule. I completely apoligize that your experience with our company was a horrible experience, our industry is customer service based and I am extremely disappointed in our performance. 

I hope that you can except my sincere apology
**** ********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pride AC/Heating was contracted to inspect the proper working order of the heating/cooling units in a home we were purchasing. Within 1 day of ownership of the home, the furnace unit in the basement was leaking water onto the floor. We immediately contacted a HVAC unit to come to our home and within 30 seconds of looking at the furnace stated that "it is very obvious what the problem is". He said "the conduit line running from the pump attached to the AC/furnace unit is undersized causing the pump to short out. We paid $600.00 for them to run a new copper condensate line and replace the condensate pump. Our second unit upstairs stopped working this week March 4th,2013. We have had 2 HVAC companies take a look at it this week and they unanimously state that the air handler is not wired to code, the handler's two lines running into and out of it are not correctly installed. The heat pack that is inside the blower is too big for the unit's power source that it is hooked up to which causes the unit to overheat and trip the breaker.....a fire hazard!!!! The unit is not in working order.....we have no heat! We are asking to be reimbursed $1300 to cover the cost of the repairs. We will be gracious and not ask for the inspection fee to be returned although clearly they didn't perform the work they said they would do.

Desired Settlement: We want them to reimburse us 1300.00 to cover the cost of repairs.

Business Response: Yes we were contacted to do a Air Conditioning inspection of this property on June 6 2012, 45 days day i received a email that the condensate pump in the property had failed and instead of contacting us to come out and look at the problem this home owner called another company ( whick is fine) , but wants us to pay the bill. The office informed the home onwer that the equipment was in working order at the time of inspection. these pumps, will pump condensate water out multiple times through out the day, and that we can't predict part failure.

then in Feburary we received another email that the heat was not working so again thaey didn't us just think that we should pay the bill when we were contracted to inspect the unit in June. 
It is unfortunate that this home onwer is having problems with their equipment , normal failures will happen at any given time. 
we have responded to this home onwer back in July when we first received thier email and offered to refund the cost of the inspection. No response from the home owner on a refund. 
They expect us to pay for all and any service problems that they experience while in this home.
I would like this complaint be removed from my account, because we as a company have done nothing wrong and tried to refund thier money when we found out they were uphappy with the service after 45 days.**we offer a 30 day warranty and it is stated on our service invoices...
**** ********
Pride A/C and Heating 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Our view of the situation is slightly different. As a military family, we depend on our home inspectors to provide an accurate picture of the condition of a new home when we move to a new location. When we hired Pride A/C to inspect our heating and cooling systems, we assumed they would do a complete inspection of the systems.   It would seem to be a valid basic assumption that the inspector would inspect all of the component parts of each system and validate that they are in working order and that no obvious flaws or safety issues were present. They clearly did not meet this minimum requirement.

Pride A/C did not meet this minimum standard on either of the two systems they inspected, causing us to incur over $1500 of unnecessary expenses that could have been avoided if they had done the complete inspection they were hired to do.

I will lay out our areas of concern with both Heat Pumps for your review and comment.

First, the downstairs heat pump was leaking when we took possession of the home and we contacted our home warranty to address what we believed was a new problem. The contractor, hired by our home warranty company, informed us that the leaking and shorting out of the condensate pump was caused by inadequately sized 1/8 inch drainage tubing attached to the pump. The tubing was both half the size necessary and routed in such a way that the water was backflowing into the pump and causing it to run constantly.  The contractor observed that the this flaw in the drainage system for the HVAC (a component part of the heat pump/condensate pump system) was an obvious flaw that any HVAC inspector would immediately identify and flag for replacement or repair. Pride A/C gave the downstairs system their full approval.

Second, we have had difficulty with our upstairs Heat Pump since needing heat in the winter and fall. Again, we contacted our home warranty company to address this “new” problem. They informed us that the upstairs heat pump was a fire hazard and any knowledgeable inspector would have seen three major issues immediately by visual inspection of the system. First, the wiring and ground to the system were aluminum not copper (a significant fire code violation that a general homeowner would not be aware of).  Second, the heat pack in the air handler was oversized for the system, causing the breaker to continually switch off . Third, the drainage pan for the system was vastly undersized and had no water sensor.  These issues should have been easily and quickly identified during the inspection. Pride A/C gave the upstairs system their full approval.

My wife and I have been very disappointed with the customer service of Pride A/C and think they had they competently executed the inspection of our HVAC systems none of these issues would have been our responsibility. None of the issues identified herein are “new” issues that have happened since the inspection. All are pre-existing flaws that were not noted in Pride A/C’s inspection. Each of the three HVAC contractors were used to address these deficiencies would be happy to provide documentation on the clear and obvious nature of these issues and the fact that they were clearly pre-existing. Their employees identified the issues within a minute of arriving on site. We would ask that this company exhibit some professional pride, admit their mistake, and compensate their customer for the flawed effort they did in June 2012.

Feel free to contact my wife and/or I with any questions regarding this matter.

LTC *** *******

US Army


 






 

Business Response: Once again, i we where never contracted by the home owner to look at the equipment again ( which we would of done under a warranty) even though it was well past the 30 day warranty listed on the service ticket. They decided to call another contractor and not us to look at the failed equipment. Therefore we are not responsible to pay retail cost for the repairs that where made. If the home owner would of contacted us to do follow up at the time of the failure we would of been happy to work with them, they never called!!

We are sorry to hear of the problems that they have had with this home but unfortunately things fail in the home and is not Pride fault. If the equipment was working at the time of the cooling inspection that is all we can do. 
This service call was set up as a cooling inspection only, as part of the $79.95 inspection, the electric heat is a heating inspection and that was not part of this work order.
Pride has done nothing wrong in this situation and the home owner should be upset with their home warranty company for denying payment for the claims. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Pride is refusing to take responsibility for their part in this situation.  They need to step up and do the right thing.  If they do not take care of this blatant error that they made, then we will be forced to handle this through the local media and then small claims court.  I do not want this to happen to other families, especially military families that rely on inspectors to let them know the viability of a hvac system in the homes they are buying.   I hope they do the right thing and admit their error and reimburse us for their negligence.

sincerely,

Regards,

******** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues